(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Snow, dont be so critical and hard on yourself n abolish the idea of gvg Nic a sibling... U see yr hb is a good boy oso n he was from the factory which you had something against. It isnt't all entirely bad.

Seems easier said than done rite, afterall we are trying our hand at being parents and the older folks had already done tat and can't let us have our way?!.... While they are not always right, and we choose to look only at their wrong, we will feel very miserable. I'm oso in this kind of misery(conflicting ideas and methodology) so sometimes I suck in my breath and close my eyes(very buay song oso)..... I mean look at us, we have ppl whom are helping to care of our kids and we are unhappy cos they simply refuse to listen to our explanation(albeit from learned sources and references somemore). Furthermore these are our close relatives. Perhaps it will ease the misery if our child is placed in the hands of a body where you can instruct and trust them more to take care of yr child than the latter cos we can hold them responsible. Better perhaps? The part and parcels of parenthood

No.2 or Not
Actually still quite a huge issue to deal with is work environment. With just 1 kid, i've utilised all my childcare leave + balace 20days ML and some of my AL + MC during those bugs seasons and already bosses face are black whenever i submit a leave application.

Imagine havin 2 kids, 1 kenna, recover then No. 2 kenna...how like dat? Sure kenna kick out of company sooner or later.

*sigh* Baby bonus is useful only for a while but the real deal is our rice bowl. How to protect? Maybe the authorities can help to add that issue hor? :p

Adel

I totally agree with you...If you have little help, and need to take leave whenever baby is sick, then it becomes very hard to balance work-family life....

As women, I find that we have to do it all....
give birth, look after kids when they are sick, work and earn money, climb the corporate ladder...

so difficult....how to have a 2nd one when most of us are barely coping with one....???

Adel and Tara
With the above issues, with 1 kid, Know why i sack my boss??? Its so tough tat a company is pro-family, but then immediately superior is not... Then BF also cannot... Wat can working mothers do???

I wan No. 2... but i m afraid too.

Tara,
That is how I feel. I want to have more and if possible 4! However, the current work situation does not permit that thoughts. I'm already like cracking my brains out on how to arrange care giving if I really have no. 2. You should see the number or grey hairs I have now.....not possible to count anymore hahaha

I recall once when Bryan was down with very bad flu and cough (thanks to his old idiotic PD who did not wear a mask when he was having cough and flu and still check on Byran and give him his shotS! stiill damn mad at tat idiot)... okok back to where i stop.. that period was the hardest for me. I've no help and I can't send him to IFC, MIL refused to help and I had already taken like 3 days leave and my lady boss was calling me almost everyday with minor issues.
In the end luckily my eldest sis was on leave and came to my rescue.

Imagine if I've 2 and they suay suay kenna the same stuff one after another. I think I would be fired by now. *SIGH* HOW TO HAVE MORE BABIES!!!!!!

That's the thing about being a woman! Bearing such huge responsibilities.
I juz told hb yesterday that if we were to have a 2nd kid (he was toying with that idea yesterday after 2 person says its time to try for a 2nd one) i will want to resign and stay home. I will need:
1. Maid
2. Car
3. Money
4. At least 2 overseas holiday and 2 nearby vacation yearly

Tink I stress him out.. he better work harder. Hahaha

ikeke,
On the contrary, I am struggling within everyday.

While I think it's screw up to put my ger with MIL where the only one thing comes to my mind - "Pek chek, can i wring someone's neck pls?". I am still VERY thankful for her help.

Bcos, all mothers know for a fact that unless u find a perfect helper/IFC, the next best option is still wat I deem as the "screw up" caretaker...

Not to mention, being me, I can't just bottle it up and suck it all in... Not to mention, my hb is alr feeling SUPER irritated with me. Cos I almost "smoothered" her mum by asking her to report to me IFC style. Then my parents warned me that I should not critise my MIL in front of hb and I should just relax and let my MIL do wat she wants (to this I feel like reminding them that my grandma had proper discipline techniques n not wierd practices of being the "maid/slave" to the child!).

In essense, let me give 3 loud SIGHS... It's so difficult to be an overly-involved mother! I think my life would be easier if I just BO-chap lor...

Gals, Paiseh leh... I really need to vent. Cos I have been tahan-ing for 1/2 yr alr. If my hb reads this, I think he will just X-X...

Wah Zachmummy,
I oso wish. But my hb is not some big deal president/CEO of a listed company leh...

Some girls here might already be swearing that I have help still complain... Haha... Bo bian, it's just me lar...

Anyway, here is something to share:

The Wisdom in Hot Chocolate

A group of graduates, well established in their careers, were discussing their lives at a class reunion. They decided to go visit their old university professor, now retired, who was always an inspiration to them.

During their visit, the conversation turned to complaints about stress in their work, lives and relationships.

Offering his guests hot chocolate, the professor went into the kitchen and returned with a large pot of hot chocolate and an assortment of cups. Some cups were porcelain, glass, crystal, some plain looking, some expensive, some exquisite. He invited each to help themselves to the hot chocolate.

When they all had a cup of hot chocolate in hand, the professor shared his thoughts.

“Notice that all the nice looking, expensive cups were taken, leaving behind the plain and cheap ones.”

“While it is normal for you to want only the best for yourselves, that is the source of your problems and stress.”

“What each of you really wanted was hot chocolate. You did not want the cup . . . but you consciously went for the best cups.”

“And soon, you began to eye one another’s cups.”

“Now friends, please consider this . . .

“Life is the hot chocolate . . . your job, money and position in society are the cups.”

“They are just tools to hold and contain life.”

“The cup you have does not define, nor does it change, the quality of life you are living.”

“Sometimes, by concentrating only on the cup, we fail to enjoy the hot chocolate God has provided us.”

Always remember this . . . . . . . . . .
God brews the hot chocolate, He does not choose the cup.

The happiest people don't have the best of everything.

They just make the best of everything that they have!!

Live simply . . .
Love generously . . .
Care deeply . . .
Speak kindly . . .

Leave the rest to God.

~ and remember ~
The richest person is not the one who has the most, but the one who needs the least.
Enjoy your hot chocolate!!

Luthadel,
Thanks. Feeling much better now (cos I noe i'm not alone!) :p I must learn to "Kan-kai" (maybe like those HK drama, go to some temple in the mountains to meditate).

This weekend I going to haunt my hb to go "child care centre" viewing with me! This time I not going to let him off... Shortlisted abt 3 centres near my work place... keke... Hope they are good manz...

U letting bryan continue with CC in the same centre?

snowger,
phew, take a deep breath now tt u have let it out

tt's a very inspiring story, thanks for sharing!

Adel,
agree too, it's hard for us to judge with our limited amt of leave when our bb are sick, not to mention there still IFC close days = compulsory must take leave. Y only mummy must take leave??! cos Daddy says he cant handle bb alone! argh! Yes my Hb is helping alot with our boy, but still alot of things falls on us woman. whenever bb sick, childcare close, 1st thing sure is mummy take leave.

fabbie, yup reserve for u le. 2nd oct i dun think i joinin leh, must take leave again...i going to run out of leave...we arrange again la

Hi Pas,

Nice meeting u just now..btw, I love the bag very very much..thanks ya

Talking about having another child..just to share how I feel..For me its confirmed 1 enough liao..I realised my temperamental changed drastically these days, like mood-swing..can get frustrated easily..my hb always scolded me saying Im setting too high expectation liao..said I must take things easy..but for my character, easier said than done lor..

I nvr used to be like that..and its so much stress, plus no freedom (missed those days when im still single or just dating)..plus nw start thinking of saving $$$ for retirement..so we confirmed 1 enough can le..

Snowger, Its ok la.. everyone is facing different difficulty too...its good to let it out.

Like me.. people maybe scolding me.. stupid.. why quit when u have a job and then find another one...

Ladies.. for the whole month of sept.. i was at work on the 3rd and the 4th only.. tell me abt boss's face colour. yesterday hayden went to a&e.. was given more MC.. Zzzz

Hayden got bronchiolitis on the 31st then ok by the 2nd.. then after 1 weekend of trial classes, 7th he came down with H1N1.. i was down with it too.. was so miserable.. boss happily told me to go back during the wkend to take my lappie back to work from home. Then this monday, my monster got gastric flu then on Wed he developed high fever.. the dr says that he got a secondary infection from his H1N1.. i've seen dr foo 7times to day this month and 1 time a&e...

tara was telling me to get another opinion of hayden's sickness.. but i keep contemplating coz its now only the 18th and i'm eating grass already.. everytime we see dr foo.. minimum $40.. and when he starts new crap, usually $120 and abv.. i'm so frustrated with him being sick.. i'm so tired for caring for him coz he is so difficult.. but what to do? he is my son and i dun happen to have useful humans to help me.. my husband is useless.. cannot even change diaper for hayden when he LS.. dunno how to cook hayden's porridge.. dunno how to put hayden to slp n sooth him.. HOW to take turns to go to work? sigh... i really want him to get well.. i also dun want him to keep catching toopid germs frm god knows where!! Sometimes i really dunno what to do..

Tara.. i spoke to dr foo again and also the h1n1 nurse and they all tell me to give the antibiotics 2 days.. if by sunday he still has a fever then ward him for further test.. dr foo tell me to be patient..
2nd baby??? only if
1. IS a GIRL
2. can be programmed not to be sick
3. not a sensitive baby
4. not a monster
5. sleeps thru the nite
6. if i suddenly have a super competent relative that will help me take care
7. my hubby earns more than twice his pathetic pay now and i can tai tai

Phyl .. hope hayden get well soon
Cheer up .. Do go for 2nd opinion soon .. dont wait !

i guess all mummies are struggling in one way or another .. Take heart that we've a lovely baby .. and Yippee ..they're turning one soon .. Time flies ..

Cheer up all mummies
Have an awesome long weekend !

phyl, I empathise with wat u r going through. U r a strong lady! Don't worry too much abt the color of ur boss' face. Most impt is Hayden is recovering well and stays healthy.
Maybe you should follow Dr Foo's advise and seek an alternative care for Hayden. If you need my help in finding a babysitter, let me know. I have a few frens staying in Yishun and I m pretty sure they can activate their connections.

Sometimes baby juz keep falling sick over a period of time. Will pray that Hayden recovers soon ok.

Hang in there tough mommy..

phyl,
Hope Hayden gets well soon! Agree with Evanmummy that you shd get second opinion soon... Dun delay... Be strong for him ok! Its hard to be a good mummy, But you have been doing a great job for the past almost 10 months with no help! Keep it up!

XiaoPooh,
My temperament also went from bad to worse... the sleepless nights.. n work stress is a bad bad combination... My hubby like Phyl's is not much of a help. I'm just grateful that my mum is taking care of him in the day!

My biggest dream now is to sleep for 8-10 hours with no interruption!

heeeheee Phyl and Kath, your lists so cute :p ..

Phyl, you certainly are a strong lady. Hopefully Hayden will be well soon .. the older he is the stronger he becomes and he'll fall ill less. So like your doc says ... have to be patient lor. Of course it's easier said than done.

Jappooh,

I think my photobook is matte leh ... I think lar. I can't remember leh. Can choose meh? Gosh, I'm getting old.

ah pooh ah pooh
you LV bag not enff now COACH liao ah.. hahaha why ya hub scold you wor?

pas
ok np. when the bowl then we meet up ba.

Hayden jia you!! hope ya fever will down soon! jia you!! phy just think a good way. People say. at young encounter more sick as much as you can. then when older abit. they will be strong and will be healthy cus they have encounter all the sickness liao. I duno is it true anot.

nitestar, phyl ..

men are not useful lor when it comes to taking care of babies and housework. If I didn't have a maid, I would've run away aldy. CONFIRM. lol.

Pnyl,
You are a strong lady, sure you can gone through and wish Hayden get well soon.

My boy is totally rejecting milk since he fall sick on last month, after recovery still rejected. I tried all method like change FM, change teat, give milo, give fruit juice...but all failed. I'm struggling in each feeding, during night he wake up every 2 hours cry for feeding but only aceept water no milk, suck a bit then open his big mouth cry, give pacifier suck a while then cry again... whole night repeating and wake up few time till morning. Day time once he saw the milk bottle started to cry so replace milk by giving all solid. But night time how to take him up from the bed and feed him in solid ?

Photobook:
Finally finished my first photobook, sent the order and proceed for payment. Everything done but later notice by artcow that payment is failed, call up to OCBC check with the bank credit card officer told no transcation had been update and nothing wrong with my card, tried again still fails.Change to used Citibank the payment is finally success. Is OCBC credit card block to use for oversea purchase ? Seem like only can use in local just for Robinsons sales...*angry*

Hi Little Rabbit.
U experience the same thing?? I also use the OCBC robinsoncard and payment fail until i use the POSB everyday card and it went thru..

Why eh..?

Can you share your link here with us to see the photobook?

Hi Phyl
Empathize with your situation.. you really a strong lady and always so independent. Wish Hayden with good health and speedy recovery.

Beside 2nd opinion , perhaps can suggest PD to provide hayden with supplement to strengthen his immunity ?

Take alot of care.

phyl,
u're a strong lady, & u have to be a strong mummy. Hayden will recover soon, but in meanwhile u also got to take care of urself k!
I agree that u shd go for a 2nd opinion on Hayden's condition. tt's what i did when kayson was down w super bad diaper rash back then. 加油 加油!

xiaopooh,
yup nice meeting u! see u at the bdae bash!

fabbie
yup when the bowl arrives then we arrange again.

Lil rabbit,
how abt mixing some milk in his food during daytime? i.e milk n cereal? he needs his milk, if he doesnt take fm bottle how abt cup? My colleague's dotter also start rejecting milk fm bottle. so gotta spoonfeed. but spoonfeed also v slow n she wun take much. so she now turn to drink fm cup. (rem those doiby cups we got fm fabbie)
as for nitetime, i actually stop nitefeeds long ago before going back to work. its not necessary to feed at nite, mostly they wake up at nite is more for comfort. at least tt's for mine..he WILL try to find milk at nite, but i koe he doesnt really need it, so just pat him to sleep will do.

i also use citibank card , didnt koe cant use other cards leh...??

Sam,

I know what you mean.. I really feel like running away at times... Looking forward to the time when he can feed himseld.. but by then, they grow up n dun want us anymore hor?... sigh..

jowinbaby,
I also don't why the OCBC robinsoncard can't went through coz the credit card officer says no problem for doing internet payment to oversea merchat and ask me to check with the oversea merchant... my hb commends that maybe the OCBC robinsoncard not recognise by artcow lor...

This is the link of my first photobook for Baby First Studio Portrait :
http://www.artscow.com/share/b8zco2m91ozy

Reading all your bbs taking care woes, tat's bad. Tat's y I choose to engage a maid to take care of Faye. I'm really blessed to have a good maid to take care of Faye without me really worrying, thus I'm able to work with a piece of mind and can enjoy outing occasionally with my HB. My elder one is in childcare. My mil and mum doesn't want to take care of them, so I got no choice except to get a maid if not stop working. Of coz I'm worried about my maid taking care of my bbs initially, have to train and learn to let go. It's not easy, I dun wish to have an "outsider" staying with me. But I din regret my decision, my hb so relax and happy now. My maid is not going back in Dec'09, phew , I dun have to think of alternative. Sometimes really have to learn to let go and of coz depends on your luck to get a good maid. The first 3 mths u have to endure, coz like you working oso have 3 mths probation rite. Once you iron out the differences, it will be easier. I did not install any camera to jaga her. I treat her fairly and give her treats sometimes, of coz cannot be too nice until she climbs all over my head. I explain to her y she is wrong, just like explaining to my son like tat lor. At least she can understand and c my pt and she can cooks better than me liao.

Phyl,

Must be very hard and tiring for you to take care of Hayden. Take care! Hayden will knows who loves him most.

Good morning ladies...
Phew... reading the above... makes me feel not alone.. all mommy have the same problem juggling taking care and working..

Sometimes I think back, we have difficult task:
1. Be good wife, good lover
2. Be good mommy
3. Be a good housewife
4. Be good daughter / daughter in law
5. Be a contributer to the family income
and lots more...

And amazingly... we can achieve, eventhough its not 100%.
Sometimes getting tired and siaz of all this sigh.
But most important, we must be strong ok!

Phyl,
Take care, hope Hayden get well soon...

Have a good long weekend!!

jowin,
have u sent your artscow book for printing aldy? I want to point out an error.

if u have then u don't have to know aldy .. if not, then I let u know.

Little Rabbit and Jowin, both of you got nice books! Different cos one is studio shots, the other is showing daily living of Ashlynne...

Nice! Makes me want to do one too.. now hubby heartache.. cos we paid more at COMEX for our photobook vouchers.

Jac, dun heartache.. As i Know, artcow quality may not be as good as those from comex..

But for the price, i think its worth la.

Lets see the final outcome.

Yeah.. me no studio shots of Ashlynne.. cannot put in...

Hi gals..

Summer1979 had PM me and asked me abt Artcow, since i already explain briefly on the PM for her.. i might as well type here for gals to see how to do it.. Alot of also taught by the gals here on how to do it

Answering summer's questions..

You have to download the software call silverlight. Its a online software that you need to log in and do it. You cannot print it out yourself.

After downloading the software, you can upload your pics.

You can go to My Account, under Member area and click " my Album"... from there you can create a new album and start loading your pics in..Even you are creating ur photobook half way, u can also upload ur pics too. But save ur work 1st.

With pics load in, you go and choose a photobook
Where to choose what photobooks/ products you like, you can choose from here.. Many categories.
http://www.artscow.com/Create/Default.aspx

After select what you wan, go to CREATE IT then you start click your photos and drag your photos into the template. There are alot of functions that you can choose to create.. text, font, kit, background, theme...

Promotional code are usually e-newsletter that they send to us.. then we can use tat code to buy it free shipping, discount etc.

For this promotion at $3.33, it expire at 20 Sep. Promotion code at 299PBK40P

Jappooh taught me a way to double confirm your promotion and price

This is how she do it

1. Select a product which u know there is a promo (e.g. 8x8 20 pages promo code PBS699)

2. Create and preview it with no photo added (jus to pretend)

3. Click on Add to Cart

4. Click on Check Out

5. Fill in the Coupon/Gift Certificate Code

Then.. You will see the Final Total to pay liao!

Got it???

As for the promotion code, we can share around here.. if you receive the e-newsletter... or sometimes at their website banner, they did promote.

Jowinbaby.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">HEALTHY TIMES BP</font></font>

Gals, the HT goods have arrived at Fabbie and Snowger's side.

Both of them will contact you for collecting.

As for mine, HT only arrive on Tues.

Please give us some time to sort out the orders as its really alot.

I need to inform ladies that there are 3 items OOS
1) Farmhouse Country Vegetable - $2.30 each before 15% off
2) Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi - $2.30 each before 15% off
3) Vanilla Hugga Bear Cookies - $6.60 each before 15% off

I need name below who order these, to PM me their ac number, so that i can refund you by next friday.

1)iemiko - Refund $2.30 * 0.85 = $1.95 - OOS on Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi

2)ypg - Refund $6.60 * 0.85 = $5.61 - OOS on Vanilla Hugga Bear Cookies

3)Joanne81- Refund $4.60 * 0.85 = $3.91 - OOS on Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi 2 bottles.

4) Aeimich- Refund $6.60 * 0.85 = $5.61 - OOS on Vanilla Hugga Bear Cookies

5)ikeike - Refund $2.30 * 0.85 = $1.95 - OOS on Sun-Sweet Strawberry Kiwi

6) Nitestar - Refund $2.30 * 0.85 = $1.95 - OOS on Farmhouse Country Vegetable

THANKS

** As we have not sort out the goods.. we hope all is correct order and hope HT did not send us wrong items..

Cheers.

Jowin,
Thanks for the post...
And thanks for sorting out and oredering them to be sent to my place!

All gals who are collecting frome me, I have sorted your orders. Other than the OOS items, all items are correct. Below is the details for the collection:

<font size="+1"><u>COLLECTION VENUE FROM SNOWGER:</u>

IMM - Sunday 27 Sep 2009 (Time: From 4pm to 6pm)</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>2ndbaby</TD><TD>IMM</TD><TD>Contacted </TD></TR><TR><TD>Red dates</TD><TD>IMM (2nd BB)</TD><TD>Contacted via 2ndbb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD>IMM (2nd BB)</TD><TD>Contacted via 2nd bb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babywoofie</TD><TD>IMM</TD><TD>Contacted </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nitestar</TD><TD>IMM</TD><TD>Please PM me your contact number </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gui Shan</TD><TD>IMM</TD><TD>Contacted </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>IMM</TD><TD>Contacted </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+1">TARA's MUM,</font>
PLS PM me your contact number. I will tell you the timing for Orchard MRT.

<font size="+1">Gals collecting from Redhill</font>, I've sent u gals an SMS. Please reply. Thanks.

<font size="+1">Evanmummy</font>, pls reply my sms. Thanks.

Snowger,

oh the IMM collection pt is 27 Sep?

Like to check where are the other collection pt and time if i need to collect by thur?

Cos my HT stuff are running out..

Jowin,

wow, lovely 1st photobook .. makes me wanna do one for Evan .. I'm a lazy mummy ..

Btw, how long did u take to do this ? and when is the promotion ending ..

hmn, very tempting ..making me wanna to start today ...

Snowger, sorry i was out whole day and left mobile at home ..

Tues, I cant cos i've a lunch mtg ..I think i can only do it after 12th Oct cos after this wk, will be away on business trip ..so can only do it on 12oct .. thanks ya