(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Eh u guys have started on porridge oredy ar? I have not le......sigh...again lazy mom..

Sorry le have a few stupid questions to ask:
1. U guys oredy stopped giving cereal to ur bb, then move straight to porridge? No more cereal in between?

2. Veg stock - u add it in when cooking porridge?

3. Using slow cooker to cook porridge - Wah SLOW cooker is really SLOW...i cooked for 12 hours straight but the rice still like those in the fish porridge...how to make the rice as fine as like those in pork porridge? Then end up i throw the porridge away cos it's overnight liao..

bur

you lucky nini always poop in school...

emma will poop first thing in the morning...and my hb always tell emma to wait until she's in school then poop...save us the trouble of cleaning her up in the morning...

hihi EvanMummy,jowinbaby, kristalangel

My bb girl finally bomb! I mean poo poo...the texture was super soft and no cries at all this time. I fed her about 50ml of prune juice in the morning and pear puree about an hour ago

Thank you all...

She is turning 7 mths next week and i thought of starting her diet with porridge but i scare she constipate again...very paranoid!!!

Could u share with me what's good for a start...i mean porridge compliment with what sort of food...

Rachel, u can use pot to cook the pork + vege + water till it boiling. Concurrently cook the rice in slow cooker until it boiling (soak the rice before hand for 1, 2 hr). Then pour the pot of pork + vege + water into ur slow cooker.

My parents way of cooking.

Rac,

I will give Faye porriage in the noon, then brown rice cereal for dinner. If go out during weekends will give cereal only. Ur slow cooker really slow leh, double boil it then.

BF: I have stop breastfeeding liao, have to stop it slowly, I drag each pumping time and wear tight bra, the first 2 weeks really quite xiong, engorgement leaking, but endure it coz dun 1 2 take med, let it stop naturally. Think I stop for a mth+ liao, but no leaking or engorgement liao, but when I squeeze the nip , there will still be milk. Wonder can start all over again and bf anot? Since now I resign liao but not going to be SAHM lah.

Wah Chantelle,
U purposely went stomp to see if u can find my video there? LOL...Anyways thanks for letting me know!

Lil' Victoria,
Must i put pork first then vege cos vege tend to cook faster? Also, how tiny should the pork/vege be? Will the slow cooker cook it til very fine?

rachel
1. Still give cereal sometimes, but no need to transition in between.

2. I do not add stock, but will cook the fish for about 1+hr. Will just add in my pureed pumpkin/carrot/spinach before serving.

3. My slow cooker can cook the porridge to the right texture in 3-4hrs... 12 hours is really very long, did you put in boiling hot water??? If you use room temperature water it will take forever

reddates,
First of all are u on my fb? If not, add me at [email protected] okie?
Sigh, very jialat le.. what is double boil? B4 giving birth to jordan i damn seldom cook, so i dun know what all these terms are..mind elaborating?

Marilyn,
Congrats that u dun hv H1N1! bTW, since u work in KKH, did they buy insurance for staff to cover them for such diseases?

tamms, can share again how you pureed pumpkin/carrot/spinach??

never tried before and don wish to spend on retail shelf types..

Tamms,

Can add fish so fast mah? Coz fish cook very fast, normally I will get my maid to add in when it's almost done, if not overcook liao.

My mum told me not to give my kids chicken until they turn 1 yr old, coz will have bad breath next time, dunno how true, but better be safe then sorry.

Bubblepearl : Butternut? Wat's tat? It is nuts? Think cannot give bb nuts first rite coz scared got allergy.

Rachel,
Put pork and vege (carrot & potatoes) in the pot for boiling at the same time, ur bb is not going to eat them so no need to have sequence, we only want to get the vitamin out in the water ma. Dun throw the water away hor.

Pork and vege cut into big dice, for my case sometimes little chunk of carrot or potatoes fall out then i'll use spoon to mince them and let bb eat. After 2-3 hrs the porridge should be smooth lei. But u need to agak the water la :p

taybaby
Just need to steam your vege, for pumpkin I will mash with a fork cos its very soft. Carrot/spinach I puree with my philips hand held blender. Its easy to use

reddates
I add the fish earlier so that it will dissolve into the porridge when I stir! Lazy to flake the fish before feeding ...

ah bur
she tat's not teething. I fed her the sachet tat Pd gave last round. she's jus not eating! driving me nuts.
I filling her swimming tub rite now. the plan is to get her to used her all her energy.. guai guai drink milk and sleep!!! i hope it works.. cross my fingers!!

Tamms,

ic, I oso bought a Braun Handheld blender for pureeing, but think not much use leh, coz my maid prefer to use fork to flake/mash up the fish, carrot, potato etc....

oohbaby, 50ml of prune juice is alot leh! i do hope u dilute it with water first..haha..actually u shuld prepare the water urself.. juz buy apple, decore it (no need to de-skin) and then boil in a pot with water for mabbe 1 hr till the apple is soft.. let bb drink the water n the apple can be pureed for later.

reddates, butternut is a type of pumpkin. Can be found in ntuc..keke

rachel, i oso use room temperate water for double boiling leh but when i cook porridge, onie take 4-5hrs..of course i turn the heat to High for first 1.5hr then Auto after tat..
good thing abt double boil is tat dun hv to worry abt burnt porridge :p

rachel,
wat kinda cooker u use man? 12hrs! keke.. i use tap water only leh, put in a piece of pork (for taste), plus veg like potato, carrot, it's done in 2hrs. will mash the potato & carrot & feed tog w porridge. but i buy the short grains rice (the one we eat is usually long grains) coz easier to cook. me stop cereals totally coz bb enjoys porridge more. Mil even add steam apples into porridge =)

reddates
you can retire your blender liao. Your maid very good, if only you knew that earlier, cld have saved some $$!
We got the blender when there was no maid and I was straining all my baby food. can die...

<font color="aa00aa"> soak rice for 1 to 2hrs then boil. No need to cook long also, put in e bowl later then stir with spoon to smash a little like that can liao.</font>

Cindy
Where hv u been? Didn't see u online for days oredy?
Hmm im using Takashi slow cooker le..wonder why it's taking so long. I guess it's becos i didn't soak the rice first and didn't put in boiling water..

Zach,
Again ad is double boil?

Reddates,
If u have a Cold Storage near u, u can also find butternut pumpkin there..

tamms.. need to add any water when blend (puree)?
then can freeze in ice cube and keep for 1 or 2 days is it?

think i have some carrot at home.. wish to try it hee hee.. carrot need to steam also?? for how long?

oh mummies, overhead this conservation when i went shopping. someone was telling her fren cannot buy shoes for bb. first pair of shoes must be bought by grandma.. heh.. curious, wat kinda logic behind this old wives tale? anyone heard or it?

rachel,
been having off site mtgs ah.. so din surf while in ofc. at home now i keep playing FB Zuma game.. haha.

i also didnt soak e rice leh. just wash them clean only..
dbl boil means u put a pot inside another pot.. keke.. hope u get wat i mean. porridge in small pot, put inside big pot with water to steam.

rach, double boil - put the rice n water (stock) in a small pot (crockery) and then immerse it in another bigger pot. For my case, i use a small crockery pot (that is used to boil birds nest), fill up 3 soup spoon of washed clean rice n half pot of stock then put inside my 5litre big slow cooker. I fill the slow cooker wif 1/4 water n put a clean cloth at the bottom to support the small pot.
if u dun understand, u come to my place lar this weekend, i teach u.. since u oso need to take ur enfa from me

Cindy,
I did see some double boil pot in stores...must buy a seperate pot for that ar?

Yvonne,
Normally i steam the veges then blend it. It's much easier. For my blender its those big type (Not handheld) so need to add abit of water to puree it. Once u blend it its all done and ready to be served!
PS: Wanna come over my place this weekend to try? Hehe.. U can also teach me how to cook porridge if u know?

Kath
Oh, i'm getting a bit idea of double boil now..Haha..can go to ur house meh? Can bring Jordan or not? Should i? Hmm....

taybaby
After you have steamed your carrot, there will be some residual carrot stock in your bowl, you can add that in your blender to make it easier to blend, up to you. Carrot can freeze.

Hahaha..butternut is like pumpkin har, scared the wits out of me, I give my gal pumpkin. Heehee...Should go and find butternut liao, more variety.

Yah lor,should not have bought the blender, who keen to buy from me? Only use for a few times nia.

Rac : Double-boiled is u use one pot fill with maybe 1/4 full, put a cloth in, then put a bowl with rice, meat, vege etc... of coz with water lah, cover the bowl with a plate or saucer, then cover the pot, simmer the first and cook, like double boiled soup. So ur porriage will not get dried up and the taste will be retained inside. Things taste sweeter when double boiled, but take longer to cook lah.

ha ha rachel.. i was about to tell you to learn from zachmommy when you collect the enfa.. then teach me the porridge she cooked wor.. ha ha

we both cannot make it.. ha ha ha

at least u still tried the vege puree.. i think i have a blender at home.. if i don remember wrongly ha ha

Ocean mum, i bought Del monte prune juice...eh the instructions didn,t mention anything about diluting the juice but i did add some water... is that brand ok???

reddates,
Butternut is a type of pumpkin. Bcos of creamy plus nutty taste, so the pumpkin is called butternut...

Rachel,
Ur slow cooker's heating element is only at the bottom of the slow cooker? Mine is all around the sides one (so may take faster to heat up). Usually, I cook rice using "Low" for 4hrs, the porridge come out nice n soft. If I wan all the rice bloat until a lot, I will put the slow cooker on "High". I used my rice cooker which has slow cook function: abt 2-3hrs, the porridge oso will come out nice.

Just to add, I usually use stock from the fridge... confirm is cold lor... :p

I dun soak rice (cos old pple say will have wind) and I dun grind rice either (cos I dun have the tools).

Porridge:
I usually puree it cos I have meat inside... If not puree, my ger will pick out the bits of meat n push it out with her toungue.

My method of cooking is:
1. Pour stock into slow cooker and turn on the heat
2. Wash the grains for porridge
3. After slow cooker is heated ( i touch the crock pot is warm), put all the grains into the porridge.
4. 3hrs later, before serving, put diced meat n vege (if carrots, I will put in to cook with grains) into the porridge to cook until meat is done.
5. Scoop out to cool &amp; puree...
6. Serve! Yummy!

rach, of course u can come to my house lar.. u can bring jordan along oso can play wif zach..my house is like a mini nursery. He dun like to sit on the mat, then play wif the activity station, else play basketball wif zach or play wif caterpillar..else watch dvd lor.

that it.. will start with carrot puree first.. that seems the easiest ha ha.. thanks tamms

erm.. wait.. sorry tamms, steamed not boiled?? so steamed as in put the carrot on a metal plate and steam over a pool of water where the carrot will not touch the boiling water?? am i right?

sorry for being so stupid hee hee really not a cooking wife or mother type

zachmommy,
I will heat up lar... If too cold, my ger dun wan to eat!!! She is one fussy missy... :p

TIP for meat stock:
If you are cooking the meat stock and wan to remove the oil, follow the following (I tried and it works!):
1. Cool stock n put into container
2. Put in refrigerator
3. Once the stock cools, the oil will coagulate at the top
4. Use a skimmer to remove the oil...

Great ideas must be shared... Muahahah. I dunno if u leave at room temp easier to skim the oil or not. Anyone tried it before?

Wah mommies
Thanks for the advices! All these instructions are giving me headache liao! LOL

Kath
Thanks for offering le! Will talk to my hubby first.. If i go wad do i need to bring?

Yvonne
Haha me too not a cooking wife type lor..thats why i also dunno anything..

zachmommy, is 50ml too much...oops...

U R welcome! ocean mum, it didn't indicate at all, but it the label says there's no preservative added...so i guess it's ok...

rach, dun hv to bring anything..juz bring urself n ur son can liao. let me know if u're coming ok.. tis saturday cannot lar cos got aquaducks but sunday is ok..

ya going to read through all the post for today again to consolidate the receipe or cooking advice ha ha

another thing.. i haven intro porridge, can I mixed the carrot puree with the cereal instead?

taybaby, carrot on its own is quite strong in taste. A few babies here dun really take well to it so u may wanna add carrot to cereal or porridge. Of course u can try to feed ur bb wif it first n then see what is his reaction. For zach, he will give me that i wanna puke face even after i mix wif cereal..haha