(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Kath

Once again thank u soooo much for the enfapro and nestle products..didn't know u would give me that also!

Shall we organize a small gathering sometime this month? Who is willing to open up her hse as the venue?

sorry to disturb but was wondering if anyone would be keen on a photoshoot from foto-u studio as David (the photographer) is gg to have a BP on it....we still need a few more ppl to kick start the BP. So take a look if u r interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1246609349

$450 album promo:

1. 8r album (16 pages).
2. 1 hr 30 min shooting.
3. return all images.
4. 35 images in album.
5. 1 x make up and hair do.

Usual price for this costs more than $800! I have been waiting for something like this for a long time liao but not enough ppl signing up so do consider this offer if u plan to take some studio pics for your little one.

HellO all!

Wooh.. How is all mummies and babies doing?
I had a very busy weekend!

Saturday i went to IKEA with Hubby and we got 2 fitted baby cot sheets for just $12! The quality is quite good too. Also got the finger puppets for Cayenne for just $2.90! She is quite amused when i wear it on my fingers to play with her.. haha..

My mum also came over to cook fish and pork porridge for Cayenne and i am so surprised that she did not cry during feeding and even managed to finish half a bowl! Finally my gal is "eating".. felt so relieved. Going to try puree for her this week.

Btw, anyone of you own a OPC (off peak car)? Mind sharing what is the costs like? And also,pros and cons you have.. etc. Hubby and I thinking of getting a OPC coz we realised taxi fares on every weekend for one mth is really very xiong!! Might as well get a car..

Chantalle,

Besides the monthly instalment, you will also need to consider the running costs which can be quite substantial. This will include road tax, insurance (can be quite hefty now as they have recently increased premiums), parking (at own plc as well as when u go out), petrol, maintenance. Maintenance will be about once every 6 months, I estimate average cost will be about $150 per servicing. As for petrol, it pretty much depends on usage, my guess will be about $150 per month since it is an OPC?

The pros of course will be you can go practically everywhere! The cons is that the roads are really very crowded these days and getting parking can be quite a nightmare! Also, Singapore roads are not that user friendly so be prepared for rude drivers especially if you have not been driving for a while and a bit uncertain on the roads.

jappooh..can i meet u tmr instead?? PM me ur contact number?? So sori..

Rach, no problem lar.. since zach cannot eat oso. I juz realise i oso hv teething biscuit which he oso cannot eat but it is organic one. Super hard lor.. not nice ..haha

zachmommy,
sure no problem. I will meet u tmr then. I have PM u my contact liao. U can sms me. Thanks.

I bought the baby bites for Ervin he love it lei.. My elder one also eat..haha.. That one not hard and it will melt quite easily.

Chantalle,

yogi08 is rite .. and unless you are prepared to leave your house early on a Sat/Sun .. it's very hard to get parking in town on a weekend once it's past 11am or so. and the roads get very congested !! .. esp in town. My hubby and I stay OUT of town area on weekends ... if we go, we aim to get there before 11am.

No matter what your taxi fares come to .. it's not as big a headache as having your own car sometimes ...

Sam,

Yah strictly no town on weekends, it just drives you crazy esp when you try to park at taka. Even parking at the malls in neighbourhoods are horrible! Try parking at AMK Hub on a weekend! everytime I drive, I always end up cursing and swearing and gotta remind myself baby in car haha

iemik0,
oic kinderland close today har.. Your boy go kinderland har.. not cheap hor..

My boy one is those neigh school. Cheapo one..hee

I onie park at Tangs on weekend. Saturday is expensive n we always max out the parking $$ which is abt $15.. i must say when owning a car, alot of hidden cost. Parking over weekend itself can cost us abt $50..which is actually quite similar to taking cab but of course wif car there is a convenience, i can buy loads of stuffs or bring almost everything that i needed for bb use like warmer! Yeap, i bring his warmer everywhr i go though places like Tangs, Isetan do have warmer n steriliser provided but Robinsons dun hv.. hehe

yohi08,

Taka can on weekends .. but must go early ... reach there at 10 plus I find is the best. And can park near the lift lobby ... lol
So ya la, we do sometimes end up in town on a weekend but I'm very particular abt being there early and getting a lot near the lift lobby. lol.

We STILL haven't been to AMK Hub .. lol. The long q outside the car park is such a turn off. And I can't be bothered to drive there on a weekday. I figure it must be like any other suburban mall la. No big deal. lol.

Even BIG HUGE Malls like Vivo the parking is a nightmare on weekends ... again, I make my hubby get there before 11am to get a lot near the lift lobby. hahahahahahah !!! He gets so irritated with me sometimes.

Chantelle,
We owned an OPC and I find that due to the low cost of road tax and car pricing plus it suits our usuage timing, it is a great help to us to move around with Bryan.

I hate having to carry my baby, bags + any other misc like shopping bags etc and having to queue for a taxi. However the only set back is that on Sat, we can only head out after 3pm if we want to save $20 for using the coupons. Otherwise, it is great having a car to carry all the extras for baby when we are out and about

Japooh,

It melts easily ? What brand is that ? It is safe .. I'm so worry that evan will bite off the biscuit and chock him.

I bought bellamy - organic teething biscuit .. Its very hard..

EvanMummy,
i bought the wangwang baby bites loh.So far i didnt let my baby hold it. I hold it for him and when he eat and see the biscuit melts.

I bought from NTUC.

Evanmummy
baby bites

xuelyn\iemik0
okai.. still waiting for the person to reply.. arghz.. why everytime so slow.. haha

Jappooh
mine i just give it to her. and she bites. aiyo.. i see liao i buay tarhan. so YUCKS. and dirty. i feel like getting baby gloves for her to use next time. btw here got sell gloves? HAHAHA

I’m hoping to hear some suggestions on food schedule for our 7 months bb.. Not sure if Evan is eating too little:

Food Schedule for Evan:

8.00 a.m – Formulae milk 180 ML ( About 6 ounces)
10.30 a.m – Cereal (oatmeal, mix cereal, brown rice) 3 tablespoon + vege puree ( 40-60 ml)
1.30 p.m - Formulae milk 180 ML ( About 6 ounces)
4.30 p.m - Formulae milk 180 ML ( About 6 ounces)
7.00 p.m – Fruits puree ( 40 ml) + Cereal 3 table spoon
10.00 p.m - Formulae milk 180 ML ( About 6 ounces)
1.00 a.m – Optional/ sometimes only Formulae milk 150 ML
5 .00 a.m - Formulae milk 150 ML

I'm not sure if Evan is drinking too little .. I know they should be taking 600-900 ml per day after started on solid ..

japooh
ok la. if i put him at neighbour one, everydae gotta rush to pick him. plus i gotta pick up bb n hb 1st den come home. so put him at kinderland, juz in front of hb work area. hehe.

fabbie
glove for bb? hehe.

yogi, we always go amk hub during weekends..dun park at amk hub..try those hdb carparks..easier to get lots and foc so more..we are kiasu singaporean..always look for foc or cheap places to park..haha...my hb always buay tahan me..weekends will be ikea or giant..cos near our place and foc parking

EvanMummy,

I tried Bellamy's organic rice cereal. wa lau. not nice leh. I give up on rice cereals. You say the teething biscuit is hard? I'm not buying that brand anymore. Try Heinz farley's rusks - they have a new one with reduced sugar. quite yummy and not so hard but at the same time, as long as u sit there and supervise should be quite safe. I give Calista the whole thing to munch on ..

Now I buy the Heinz jars and feed her that. There are fruits with oats (for morning I give her that) and lunch and dinner .. I give her the more savoury ones like tender beef mash and I buy the fruit gels or custards for dessert.

Your feeding schedule looks ok what. Too little formula meh? Formula is quite filling leh .. and what with solids .. how much can his little tummy handle?? I think it looks fine.

Kristal,

Yup, all the organic cereals taste pretty bad .. I dont think I'll eat it .. but guess bb are like a piece of blank paper .. Trying to mould him ( hahah) I ever try salmon puree once on Evan and my mom scolded me .. Evan was puking as she feed him. I bet it tasted really yuckee bcos of the fishy taste.. Since I didn add any seasoning ( I simply steam it)

I didnt try any other teething biscuit but he seems to enjoy the Bellamy's one.. Its super hard and i thought is pretty safe since he wont swallow it ..

Solid FOOD:
I was surfing website for reference and most of the bb food schedule is pretty packed ! They drink a lot and 1.5-2 hours they will feed solid .. So i just wanna to get ASIAN reference ..

Thanks for your info.. what about other mummies. Mind to share your feeding schedule?

stella, ur schedule is ok ah..infact, i felt ur boy drinking quite alot hor..haha. Zach's schedule is quite similar.

8.30am - 1 scoop Cereal (Barley or Brown Rice)+ 45ml of Puree (potato or carrot+pumpking or avocado)
11.30am - 180ml of BM
2.30pm - 180ml of BM
5.30pm - 180ml of BM
8.30pm - 3 tablespoon of Brown Rice + 45ml of puree
11.30pm - 150ml of BM
4.30am - Latch

On weekend, I will replace the 5.30pm of milk wif cereal or porridge

Hi Zachmommy,

Thanks for the info ..

Btw, how do you get nice avocado ? I bought so many of them ..and in the end, they were rotten or with lots of black black thingy .. And I threw most of them .. I tried buying unripe (keep at home and keep for few days) or ripe one .. But still not successful ..

Cant seems to get those serve in Japanesse restaurant..

Avocado is really great food with lots of nutrient.. but just cant to get it right .. Only manage to feed him once .. How to you do it?

I read from website must get those with lots of bumps (sweeter) and darker in color..when u press it, it is slightly soft but not 'nuah nuah'.. however, once u scrape them off, they will develop / change color to be darker it is normal n is okay.. if u dun want it to turn dark, squeeze few drops of lemon juice but better dun lar cos bb tummy may not be able to take it. U dun scrap too near the skin n see how lor..take those yellowish flesh nearer to the seed.

Chantalle,

I want to get the finger puppet too. I saw $2.90, I want to buy. But strange when I pay at cashier, it is $12.90. No way I am going to pay so much so I put it back. Now u say it is $2.90, it really puzzle me. Guess the puzzle will onli be solved in my next trip to Ikea, which is very soon.

Stella,

I try avocado too but it is unripe despite I put inside the fridge for quite some time.

stella
Avocado will turn black when it is ripe. When you buy it from supermarket its green, leave it outside to ripen, do not ripen in the fridge. when it is completely blackish and slightly soft can cut to eat already. Sometimes when you cut them open, you may see black marks on the flesh near the skin. That's cos its been pressed too hard or too many times...

This is my schedule:
8am milk
1pm cereal + puree total 100+ml
3pm milk
6pm milk
730pm Cereal + puree total 100ml
830 milk

Sometimes she forgoes the 3pm and 6pm and just drinks once at 430pm.

Phyl,
Thank you very much for ur info. Today got my THERMOS Food Jar and Container at robinsons in very good buy, Robinsons having sales for THERMOS brand at 20%+20%(card member)+5%(card rebate). I bought the 6oz food jar at nett$27.97(Bp price:$31) and 16oz food Container at nett$34.05(BP price:$36).
Happy happy!!
can use it to bring my son's porridge for our outing in the coming weekend.

ypg,
For unripe avocada, can set it aside at room temperature and it should be ripe within 2 to 5 days instead of put inside the fridge.

jappooh,
My boy loves baby bite.
I like to break it to half and let him hold by his own hand to bite. He can finished it very fast and ask for more. I try to limit him only one piece per day coz worried it may lead to heaty if taken too much. I bought Bellamy's organic rusk for my boy, it's very hard till can even bite(tried personally), my boy so angry with the rusk and threw it on the floor. I let my boy tried Organix's organic soft rusk, it can be break easily but found it's too dry coz my boy always cough when he was eating it.

My boy's schedule:
7.00am - 150ml of FM
11.00am - 4 scoop cereal + fruit Puree 60ml + FM 30ml(replace by porridge soon)
2.30pm - 120ml of FM
5.30pm - 4 scoop cereal + Veget+fish/pork Puree 60ml + FM 30ml(replace by porridge soon)
8.30pm - 4 scoop cereal + Veget+fish/pork Puree 60ml + FM 30ml
1.00am - 150ml of BM

plan to start him on porridge once he turns 7 mths by end of the week.

Hey Tammy,

Is the Aquaduck trial class still going on?

Can one of my friend join us? Her bb is also a dec bb .. but not a member of this forum..

Hi Tammy
I opt out of the aquaduck trial.. sorry..
Today brought my girl for her 1st swim... quite ok. Enjoy so much

Hi stella
wow. i thought ur boy drink quite alot compared to Ashlynne..=P

This is my schedule
8am- 180ml BM
12pm- 2 tbsp cereal + 30ml puree ( veg puree)
2pm 150ml BM
5:30 - 6pm - 70ml Fruit puree
7:30pm - 150ml BM
10:30-11pm - 180ml BM

I also thinking of starting porridge soon

Jowinbaby,
Yeap, my little gal is in the 1st tooth club for quite sometime already...
now she just slightly open her mouth can see the teeth liao. :p I think she might be teething again cos she's starting to take a long time to fall asleep... :'(

Luthadel,
Congrats to Bryan!!!
It's the bottom two right?

My little ger's schedule:
6am - Milk
8.30am - Breakfast (4 teaspoon of cereal)
11.30am - Lunch (Porridge)
2.30pm - Milk
5.30pm - Dinner (Porridge)
8.30pm - Milk

Little Rabbit,
Can I ask a question abt yr feeding schedule? Is there any reason why yr bb is having 2X solids back to back? i.e. is it "tea" and "dinner"?

Baby Teething Biscuits:
I have not tried rusk on my little girl. I bot a box of it and it's in the cupboard. May wait till she's older cos it contains sugar... If not, mummy might just finish it first...

But I bought the Healthy Times Teddy Puff (apple n cinnamon flavor) and she likes it... Am going to try the Arrowroots biscuit too! Heard that it's nice. At least the Healthy Times stuff do not contain sugar and sodium...

So annoying!!!my boi keeps grinding his teeth!
seem like he has been doing it since the top one was out. SIgh.. Today while cutting his nails, he tries to bite me like a little vampire. LOL

snowger, your gal wakes up so early to drink milk?? I'm a Lazy mummy, can only give him
8am - 6 scoops of HT cereal with 30ml puree
10am - 7 oz of milk
2pm - 8 oz of milk
5pm - 5 tablespoon of congee
830om -8oz milk

Is he underfed huh??

Snowger,
My boy loves solid food instead of milk.
Previously I used to feed him milk at 8.30pm but he only drink 30ml or 60ml out of the 120ml. After replaced milk to solid food, he finally can finished all this cereal within 10min. 1.00am feed is so important which can't miss out coz his milk intake is super low. Only can feed 150ml to him when his is not awake from his is sleeping. I did talk with PD regarding his milk and solid food intake issue, PD say is ok to give him solid food up to 3 to 4 times per day to replace his milk feeding(without solid food he also do not drink much milk). But try to feed him in milk as much as possible lor.

Jlow,
I read from childcare books that if ur baby is still establishing solids, they should take approx (minimum) 600ml of milk per day. Ur boi one is 7+8+8=23oz*30=690ml. If he does not wake up in the middle of night to drink, then I think shld be ok? :p

Little Rabbit,
Haha... sounds similar to my ger - i.e. low milk intake. she seems to prefer solid food (BUT only those that she like! e.g. pork porridge). I have since given up in trying to up her milk intake (i.e. I have cut off the dreamfeed/midnite feed)... *Haiz*

Sorry ar, what's this 1st tooth club about?
and.. can i know do ur bb poo poo everyday?

my boi only poo every 3/4 days, not very healthy right?

Little Rabbit.. keke.. no prob.. i felt quite bad for being so "fierce" to the spree org.. but then she anyhow wrap n mail it to me.. sianz.. well, at least i got the themos last sat!! kekeke.. She abit too much la.. clear all the self collect then dun bother the mailed out ones.. she charged $3 for postage!! its alot lor... well.. just my luck ba! Glad u got it at a better deal!

Hayden's feeding schedule
8.30am- 6scoops Frisocream
11.30am- 180ml
2.30pm- 180ml
5.30pm- 180ml
7.30- 4tablespoon brownrice + 1 bb cube of fruit
9.30- 180ml or latch
Thru the nite latch....

This is our best case scenario.. keke.. hayden not feeding very well recently.. he wanna be a cat.. eat biscuits n drink water only.. keeps puking his Friso 2 out n HATES porridge n veges... also dunno how... i tried pumpkin, butternut, avocado, spinach, carrots, potatoes, brocolli... sianz~~

little rabbit, u got a very good deal @ robinsons!!! n i agree with Phyl that the organiser did indeed charge quite high on postage..n end up our thermos is more expensive than buying outside..haha. Oh well..

Phyl, could it be Hayden is teething tat's y dun feel like eating?

Zach has been very nottie these few days..used to wake up once every nite to feed but lately twice!! And once he had enough but din manage to empty my breast, I will try to ask him to drink more by pushing my breast to him.. u noe wat he did?? He bite my nipple!!! Immediately woke up n cannot sleep liao while that little monster went back to his la la land..

Morning mommies!

Hmm...Robinsons got sale meh? Woa Little rabbit u have got very good deals hor! Hehe..

Jordan's feeding schedule:
830-9am - 200-220ml of FM
11am to 12non - 3 teaspn of nestle rice cereal + the avocado + apple puree hubby made last weekend!
2-3pm - 200-220ml of FM
4-5pm - 3 teaspoon of nestle rice cereal + puree
7-8pm - 220ml of fm
(sometimes) 12mn to 1am - 20ml of FM ~ Am really thinking of cutting this midnight feed..jordan always suck a few mouths then dun wan liao..he rather sleep...

Little Rabbit,
U make me heart pain lar. I shld hv waited to go Robinson sale to buy the stuff... :p But it's ok, I bought other stuff during the sale (including clothes).

Phyl,
I saw ur post there, really a bit hostile... :p But then again, me self collect so I got no complains lar...

Rach,
U can try to skip the midnite feed and see how it goes... If he sleeps thru, it means no need liao lor... If not, then u either increase the solids u feed him or give him e top up before he goes la-la (if it's aft 8pm b4 12 mn).

Hey gals thanks for the feedbck and suggestions on OPC. I will check out a 2nd hand OPC this weekend and think about it again. Haizzz So headache when it comes to cars.

YPG: The finger puppets costs $2.90 for those little people - Theatre series. The animals are more expensive at $12.90. Hope this solve your puzzle. lolz

Rach,
My ger sometimes oso... I dunno why leh... But u try see if feeding him plain water helps. (i.e instead of giving tutu, try feeding water?) I haven't got a chance to try... cos when i prepare, she dun wake up. When I do not prepare, she wakes up! -__-"

Chantalle,
It's a BIG decision to invest in a car. Me and my hb thinking of changing car. Think very long liao, still thinking... *haha* But now, cars not very cheap in terms of COE lar... So got to think somemore...

now back to HQ so cant log in so frequently and chat here.

here's zayden's feeding schedule :
6.00am - 180ml FM
9.30am - 150ml FM
11.30am - porridge (abt 200ml)
2.30pm - 150ml FM
3.30pm - fruits puree
5.30pm - porridge (abt (200ml)
7.00pm - 150ml FM
11.00pm - 180ml FM
3.00am - 180ml FM

nottie boy only wake up for 3am feed if he sleeps with me, if he sleeps with my mum, he will sleep through the nite.