(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

bur,
Ya... But veg is cheap! I buy the portions is enuf to cook 2 rounds of stock. my hb was so jealous, say how come baby got special treatment (i.e. i cook stock to make porridge for her).

I read at Adel's blog, can store in portions to freeze (store up to 2 mths). For me each portion of stock is enuf to cook about 2 -3 times porridge (erhmm... i cook porridge enuf for 1 person + 1 baby). So my hb has been eating pork porridge for lunch for the last few days. :p dunno if he minds or not, but his got special addition of sesame oil + pepper + soy sauce.

Rach,
I dunno leh. Not me lar. I nvr buy those baby food making stuff leh... :p I buy the old brand called Takahi...

Jappooh,
Eeks... I think my ger overdose of carrots liao... :p tmr I give her brocoli instead... :p u use the stalk of the brocoli or just the flower part?

How u give the meat to ur boi boi if dun puree? Cos I rather not blend the porridge. Lazy in the morning... :p

Have anyone tried beef or salmon for bb? any reaction?

Jappooh, baby Evan also has eczema .. You have started solid right? Does bb Ervin allergic to any food?

Evan is allergic to almost to any type of food.. Apple, peach, sweet potato strigger his eczema.. Rashes developed after 1 hour .. Apparently, apple, peach and sweet potato are low allergen food for bb ..

Have you try fish or beef? Cause PD recommend to delay till 9 months for Eczema bb

Ezcema moisturizer:
- Try Cetaphil ( Its really good. Can be use for non eczema baby as well)
- DermaAid ( 0.5% ) - mild with low steriod content .. effective to bring down redness. Can get it at any pharmacy.

ikeke,
my boy also has the same problem... red patches & very dry skin around mouth & chin area... i think it is caused by saliva (coz he drools a lot) although sometimes i do suspect tat it's eczema (which my boy has it!) ... i apply facial cream twice daily without fail but sometimes really cant help too & it will stay so long until more than 2 weeks, but if condition very bad then i will apply neoderm & it will go off after 2 days but then hor it comes back very often one... sad to see this sometimes!

actually both my boys also hav ezcema but #2 one worse, coz not only on face, sometimes legs & hands also hav & his skin is super super dry... oh ya sometimes his ear will hav 'cut' until can see the flesh one so i hav to use steroid cream to apply lor... if not it will get worse!

jappooh,
mine different fr u, i'm more worry this time coz my #2's eczema condition is worse... haiz!

jes, zach's eczema is oso quite bad till i can see that his skin is drying and the lines are so obvious - like old man skin..hahaha. OOh..n his ears too. It must be itchy cos he likes to scratch until it bleed. pains my heart to see him bleed one lor.. i always butter him up morning and nite with J&J oil follow by GAIA soothing cream..n i really butter thickly..haha

Evanmummy,
In that case, can give baby Evan baby white rice cereal? U got try other food like potato, pumpkin and carrots. For fruits, it's true that apple and pear (not peach) are low allergen food for bb.

Do avoid gluten products (e.g. thos with wheat). If ur bb got allergy problem, it's best to hold the meats till when they are much older (e.g. 9mths). I saw on the PD's chart (on food intro) that the earliest meat to intro shld be chicken. Fish is high allergen food. Not too sure abt beef n pork.

Come to think of it. I'll go take a picture of the poster at my PD's place n post here for u gals lar... Going to see her cos ger taking the "p" jab...

Snowger,
so far we didnt give him meat yet. I only give the brocoli flower part.

EvanMummy,
so far baby ervin try pear, apple, rice cereal, brown rice cereal, porrige cook with meat and ikan bils (didnt take the meat loh). He is taking well.

I have no intention to give beef but will try fish. maybe next wk when he turn 7mths. For my elder one i think we also wait lei. But will use fish stock 1st ba then let him eat the fish..

my kids have been using Cetaphil and QV

јës§ (luvudeepdeep),
is not that my 2nd one condition is better is more than i am used to it liao.

My 1st one already have very dry skin and specially eyes that part cut and bleed one. Till now the ear part havent outgrow yet.

my 2nd one same as gor gor will go and pull his ears till see the cut.

i am more like get use liao then worried loh.

Snowger,
thanks maybe i will tell my MIL to give baby Ervin fish after he turn 9tmhs.

Hi Snowger,

Thanks for the advise.

Evan is fine with cereal, brown rice, barley, oatmeal, pumpkim, butternut, green beans, pear. Being an anxious mummy, wanna to start on meat or fish .. (SIGH).. And you know I cant be feeding Evan with the same food all day long .. I'm sure he'll get sick of it .. and pumpkim,carrots, butternut all are high in beta carotene .. so cant feed him every week ..

Wanna to try new fruits/ vege but trigger eczema and got scolded by my mom/ MIL and HUBBY !!

Wanna bring Evan to do the allergy test but H1N1 is spreading too fast .. just not sure if now is a good timing ..

Jappooh ,

Evan has very bad eczema and now he is in 24 x 7 airconn environment .. Seen skin specialist and said he is sensitive to dust and heat .. so no choice .. my electricity bill cost me $600 a mth ..

Evan has the same condition as your 2nd one .. I cried so badly when it bleed .. around underarms, joints area .. Sob, hoping he will grow out of it soon .. Btw, is your 1st one still suffering from eczema ? when did he grow out of it ?

EvanMummy,

Evan like same as baby Erivn lei. Those joint area always super red have to keep airing. cos his fats make it hard to clean as well.

My 1st one havent totally outgrown but was getting so much better once awhiel stil come back. The ear part more obvious. THat is the worst part since young.

Been following this thread since my baby also a Dec08 baby. She has eczema too and is always scratching herself especially behind her ears. PD advises no fish in porridge for the time being. Instead, try pork, beef or chicken. She also recommends to use QV or Cetaphil...

This is my baby at 6.5mths... very light weight (only 6.4kg at 5mths) even PD give up liao hehe

2643901.jpg

stella,

$600 electricity bill? u stay at private house is it? I cant complain about my $250 electricity bill liao.

bur,

I also stay off sweet potato till now. My gal dun like sweet potato n potato. In 1 word, she hate potato.

For mummy who try butternut,

is it the same as pumpkin?

Kath,

u so funny! say u butter Zach, sound as if he is a piece of bread. Haha...

Enzema,

Seems that many baby got it. Is it inherited from parents? My hubby got seafood allergy (including some fish), will my bb have it? Now crossing fingers...

yogi08, what do u mean by PD give up liao ? My boy also considered lightweight... what methods u tried ?

6 months is gowth spurt month !

kath,
yalor, the skin so dry until can see the lines one... like 小老头

jappooh,
so sad hor to see our children having this problem... haizz!

Evanmummy,
wah ur bill so high ar? but if he always in air con environment wouldn't his skin get worse coz air too dry? dunno ler but i ever heard my fren mentioned b4 tat she has relative who stay in UK, who also has eczema & she always suffers coz the dry air cause the skin condition worsen...

but anyway my sis who also has bad eczema since young also like to turn on the air con until very very very cold & she said if too hot her skin will feel itchy wor so everynite she must sleep with air con on...

snowger,
btw, i read a food chart given by my PD & it says that fish is one of the allergen food ler, but pork is not... but hor guess a lot of ppl believe tat pork is 'dirty' but fish is more healthy... like one of my gal fren who she said she prefers to giv her gal gal fish & not pork coz pigs eat everything one...

ann01jan,

Everytime i go to the PD she will ask me to up the milk intake, intro solids early at 4mths. But all also no use coz she just does not put on the weight! Even if I try to up the milk intake, she will just refuse to drink more. No point forcing her as long as meeting the developmental milestones, it should be fine.

ypg,

yes they inherited from me. and my kids have sensitive nose as well inherited from my hubby.

јës§ (luvudeepdeep),
ya loh so heart pain wat to do. Yes when the air become too dry they will scatch also. So need aircon (cos too hot also gena) and i use humifier in my elder boy rm (so air not so dry). Both my kids sleep in aircon rm. So now i monitor to see my elder boy gets better cos i only bought it 2 mths ago. B4 that he keep say here itch there itch. now dun compaint abt that liao. So i hope that helps. Keep my finger cross.

If humidifer helps i will get another one for my rm cos baby Ervin sleep in my rm.

ypg,
eczema is a type of allergy condition & if there is allergy history from the family then the chances of getting it is higher... but doens't mean tat child will not get at all if the parent does not hav allergy history juz tat the chances is so much lower...

like myself i hav very sensitive nose (esp comes to dust) & i'm inherited from my dad who also has sensitive nose, while my sis worse coz she has very bad ezcema condition since young & i remember i always see her scratches until got cut & can see the blood & flesh one... but my bro is the luckiest one coz he does not inherit any of this...

but now my sons inherit from me liao... my elder has asthma, mild eczema, sensitve nose/eyes while Daniell has ezcema... i'm crossing fingers everyday tat he wont has anything else!!!

jappooh,
for my case i always very headache one when comes to this topic - to let or not to let him sleep in the air con room... this is bcoz he is not supposed to sleep in air con room due to his respiratory problem, but if let him sleep w/o air con, he will scratch his skin non stop due to ezcema condition... haiz!!

jess,

Think my gal also inherit my sensitive nose cause she sneeze quite often. But it is not flu, guess it must be the dust in the air.

Just crossing finger that she dun inherit my hubby enzema tat is caused by eating not so fresh seafood.

Will getting a humidifer help to reduce dust in the air? Paiseh, me dunno about such things. My mum ask me to get 1 tat give cleaner air but I dunno wat she talking about n wat to get. So need to find out more from u all.

Yippee! It is Friday and long weekend cause Monday is school holiday.

Ya, mummies .. $600 ..cos we switch on the aircon in the living room in the day time.. and the one I'm using in the living room is bigger voltage to cool the entire area.

Aircon will make the skin drier .. thats why I also invested in humidifier .. in rooms and living room. Evan is an expensive bb but no choice .. I rather spend than to cry everyday seeing his skin breakout and gets watery.

One of his limb nodes behind his ear will swell when he has bad ezcema.. PD said due to infection in his skin ( when it gets watery) .. You can now imagine why I have to pay $600 a mth than to see him suffer..

now he's coping better but no outdoor activities for him.. so sad ! whenever he bring him out has to be in aircon places .. so even when we bring him to visit friend .. has to ensure they turn on the aircon .. else, redness will come within hour ..

giving the following supplement can help to combat and reduce eczema..

Give:
- Probatic
- Omega 3 oil
- Vitamin C

Evan is taking all the above .. i dont know whether bcos of his confinment in aircon room or also bcos of the above supplements ..

Mummy can try the above .. hope it helps!

rachel,
it's me using the farlin 7-in-1 bb fd maker ah. good for making puree.. saw it at kiddy palace $20+. but if u moving on to porridge soon, then thk just get a blender st ah, since can blend meat also..

ypg,
the humidifier is to add moisture into the air. i use it when i on e aircon, coz my boy's nose always got dry dry pi sai, PD says good to put.

btw, u still want e tin of mamil gold? i dunno wat to do with it coz i using enfalac..

re: thermal suit
anyone interested in a blue bb thermal suit size 1? got it from sgmambo, letting go at purchase price of $38 coz i got another one now. PM me k.

ypg,
ya the one that u mum mentioned should be air purifier laa... i used tat too, it supposed to help purify the air bah but i dun think it really help coz me & my boy still sneeze in the morning even though i turn on the purifier for while nite...

Evanmummy,
yah Evan's condition sounds bad, do take care!

Thanks ladies. I stupid mum. Dunno wat is humidifer or purifer. But think wat my mum mean is purifer.

echt,

Yes, I still need the Mamil Gold. I am going broke soon. My gal drink 5 times a day (my maid got to wake up twice in the night to feed) plus 2 full porridge meal. Even if she is on growth spurt, also cant be so crazy right. Haha...

I will despatch my hubby go collect from u soon. Thanks.

Kath,

Ur tin of mamil gold still available?

yogi08, I dreamfeed once every night cos he sleep through 8 to 9 hours...

Sounds like my boy also has eczema and is worsening...

aiyoh ypg, tat mamil gold is on offer for so long liao! U want??? It's my fren's one actually..but she dun need it. I ask her for u ok?

I have 2 tins of Enfa (1 opened and 1 new) and 2 tins of Similac (new unopened) 400g to give away.. first come first serve ya..

jes,
I not sure if the chart is the same.
But I do know that Pork is good due to the heme-iron that it has. Chicken dun have leh... I would like to give my ger fish cos fish got oil which is healthier than pork oil lar.

Evanmummy,
Evan's condition sounds bad... I agree that we mothers will do anything to make our little ones suffer less!

ypg,
Ur mom may also be referring to the ioniser too. There are so many different types of purifier. But I think the most important is to keep ur home as clean as possible.

My hb n I are thinking if we should invest in e Delphin vaccumm cleaner which cost like $3k (SO expensive right?). But it acts as a purifier too and can vaccumm the dust mite from the mattress. If u gals intrested in a free demo at ur place, can let me know. I give u the woman's no.

Ur ger is not having enough in the day. Include a breakfast for her plus give meat too in the porridge. Then in the mid afternoon, can give her a snack (like biscuits) after milk lor...
But drinking milk is still good (dun wanna start my lament abt my girl's milk intake).

Yogi,
Ur ger and my ger can be good friend already.But my ger is even smaller than urs... At 6 mths, she was 6.3kg... My PD also ask me to give her solids starting 4mths, weight gain still the same. Recently give up cos my ger is meeting her milestones n is a happy baby lor. Ur ger still on BM or FM? My ger oso refuse any extra milk if I try to give. She will SCREAM like I pinch her lor.

Snow,

My hubby bought the Delphin vacuum cleaner...it costs him 3.4k!!

Tell u wad, its good to get the free demo but they will keep psycho u to buy til my hubby buey tahan...end up we didn't use it as a purifier...cos we seldom turn on the air con..

That reminds me...i shoud start using my delphin!!

jappooh n rachel, can!!! How to collect?? me staying in Punggol n working in Raffles..Rach, u're staying in Tampines, aft work can go to my hb's office to get from him if u want.. take the opened enfa lar.. i onie use like 3 scoops.. wasted leh

Snowger,

Your ger and mine indeed good frens coz we go to the same PD - Dr Ang!! Yup she always very chop chop if it's just a normal review or jabs. I stopped bf at 6 months so she's on total formula now. Coz of her eczema, was advised to give her NAN HA. She will flatly refuse to drink and push out the bottle when she has enough and scream murder! I also give up trying to force her to drink more. When it comes to solids, i think her bib eats more than her!

Oh if anyone is interested, watsons having offer for kodomo baby wipes at $1.95, buy 10 get one free.

rachel,
I got do the demo and got a free pot from them. Wonder if it's really so good cos me n hb got sensitive nose lor... I dunno whether to believe that the dust does not exit the vaccumm cleaner (cos it goes into the water)unlike normal conventional dust bag type of vaccumm cleaner where dust can exit the filter.

They got phsycho me n hb to buy. I dun mind using 24 mths instalment. So it's abt 100 per month? But i think my ah ma will say i ki tao hong if she learns I buy a vaccumm for $3k...

U buy already MUST use!!! $3k plus leh!!!! If I buy will ask part time maid to help me vaccumm my bed... Har har... :p

zachmommy,

can i collect from u at Raffles place MRT? U let me knw the time.

so far my boy didnt use any bib lei. He dun like things to be tie at his neck. But so far so good when eating still quite neat. We have a wet handki standby to wipe him.

Yogi,
thx that time i stock up alot i think i still have 15pkts..haha

rachel,
i got that demo 1 yr ago also dunno get a free give that i didnt use till now. Is it spray vaccum or something like that.

I didnt buy. U know there is another company call Rainbow. Recently call me i say i saw demo b4 liao.

Tangs basement sometimes hv those kindof product demo and they showed one particular steam vacuum at 180deg that will kill dust mites.. quite good leh. I tot of buying tat cos i m very very particular abt dust etc. Summore now zach like tat, i even more worried. Everything oso must go through hot water except his expensive clothes lar..sigh

yogi,
Haha... I still giving my ger EBM. I always try to give the bottle aft she pushes it out. And she just turn her head, if i try, she tries to flip in my arms.

My ger likes to eat the bib while having solids (evidence:http://snowiesnowiegal.blogspot.com/2009/06/its-mum-mum-time.html)

U serious abt Kodomo baby Wipes... WOOOOHOOO!

CALLING PHYLICIA and AH BUR,
quick go grab!!!! Dun clean out the branch at AMK hub ok? It brings back such fond and sweet memories when we were still preggy! keke... I wonder if Pearl Centre one got the same offer...

Wow seems like eczema attacks alot of bbs!! Hmm... Shannon's dry skin peels looks like it is a case of eczema liao

Tamms, can't wait for the trial swim lesson!

Jappooh,
There are a few companies (Delphin, Rainbow and Lux). They all sell the SUPER high class expensive vaccumm cleaner. Delphin gave the steam spray cleaner the last time. Now is the casserole pot (3 layer - super heavy but quite good leh).

The Rainbow person got my no. from my neighbour and she's bugging to come to my place for demo. I told her next week lor...

Zachmummy,
For using on the mattress? Won't ur mattress be wet wet? dustmite abv 65degrees die liao, 180 degrees to fry the dustmite? :p

DUSTMITE:
Just to share, if u really wanna kill dustminte there is this spray tat u can buy from PD to spray on mattress to treat/kill dustmite. Maintainence (i.e. use the spray) every 3 mths (dustmite's lifespan). For bedsheets, blanket, etc - just wash in washing machine with temp abv 65degrees can kill dustmite.

Snowger,
ya i got the steam spray cleaner. It still sit in the box. I prefer to have the casserole pot..haha

Ya this rainbow ppl called me but i dun let them come liao. Not free lei..

Yogi08, ur ger so cute!!!

rachel/maureen, i bought the rainbow vaccuum years ago... just finished last year paying a 2years installment... which reminds me... should use it to purifer my hse... hahaha...

maureen... hahaha,ya.. phyl wipe out the AMK watson's kodomo wipes last year...sweet memories!!!

Hi Jo,

Jordan has been drinking friso but that time when i asked for the mamil from u wanted to let him try, but after that hubby objects le, he said jordan drink friso OK wad dun keep changing, so it's eben sitting in my kitchen cupboard til now lor..

Jordan was on enfalac since birth, then when he was 2 months old i changed him to friso.. now since he is so skinny im thinking if i shd change him back to enfalac..me silly mommy...any advice on whether or not to keep changing FM?

Re Delphin vacuum cleaner
Eh, i got both the pot and the steamer? How come u all got only one? Hmm..

Snow,
U so cute when u say abt 'frying' the dustmites hehe...

Phyl & Ah Bur,
Dun worry, there are hundreds of watsons islandwide so u can definitely stock up the wet wipes til next year!