(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

phyl, whr got time to catch transformer..
he alr having fever n runny nose. I oso sian 1/2 liao. U noe with cow's milk allergy, alot of things i hv to watch out, cheese, yoghurt, cake, chocolate n the list goes on. Even i myself hv to eat those food in moderation.

tara, no point questioning those teachers cos they're part timers. Even if i tell them, they will nto pass it on to the morning shift teachers. It happen so many times until i feel like a broken radio, kept repeating the same thing. When i say let him drink some water cos he is constipated, they will do it for 1 day and then the next day will nto give, i hv to tell one more time..almost everyday i hv to tell them. Even a stubborn child, after repeating so many tiems oso will listen, the teachers there is worse than a stubborn child!

jess, we tested for 10 allergens - cow's milk, soy, wheat, egg white, egg yolk, saline, cod fish, peanut, shrimp. consultation is $100 and the test is $135..

jappooh, we wanted to bring him to test for quite some time alr but heard that onie after 6month old the test is more accurate. each time he drink FM he will hv outbreak of rashes..n alr a few PD told us he is allergic to cow's milk so i juz wanted to re-affirm this. Frankly i alr very tired of pumping though i onie pump 4x a day n latch once..i oso feel tired. more so now tat i m having flu i m so tired and my workload is increasing daily. sigh

chantalle, nanny is out of the question cos the timing is not favorable to me. 7am to 7pm i cannot make it. i knock off at 6.30pm n i usually leave office ard 7.30pm..reach nanny's place surely abt 8.30pm..if like tat i will need to pay her OT everyday..haha.

wah liao, transformer is good huh..alot of reviews abt it leh. Summore harry potter coming soon!! I hope Zach recovers soon so that i can go watch this Saturday...haha. Too many movies to catch n i wanna eat popcorn.

Bur..it's true abt the boobs leh. Now i alr felt it sagging (if i dun wear bra n it is full), imagine if i breastfeed till he turns 3, wouldnt it sag few more storey?

Kath,

U r sooo funny sia....what sag a few more storey?!
Can i have the details for the PD u went to? me kaisu mommy, feel like taking jordan for the test le..but hubby for sure scold me, jordan is ok wad for let him suffer? They pricked him many times on the back to do the tests?

Snow,
Whr u bring ur gal for the allergy test also?

Snowger

Kath,

U r sooo funny sia....what sag a few more storey?!
Can i have the details for the PD u went to? me kaisu mommy, feel like taking jordan for the test le..but hubby for sure scold me, jordan is ok wad for let him suffer? They pricked bb Zach many times on the back to do the tests?

Snow,
Whr u bring ur gal for the allergy test also?

Snowger

oei.. rachel.. u pirated cd ah..repeat and repeat.. haha..

Kath, so u did ask around for nannies ah? Some nannies do night also right? Where u stay? I have an aunt who might be keen to be a BB care giver. My mum used to be a nanny too. What she do is, she go to the house of the BB and cook for the family and wait for the parents to come home then she go off. But my mum is high end nanny, she charge them $900 per mth. Now she retire liaO. U can find such lobang so no need to ferry Zach here and there.

Chantelle,

Paisei paisei, sent duplicate posts...

Kath,

Some nannies dun mind u working late one, if they are understanding enough..what abt ur hubby? Can he help to fetch bb Zach?

chantalle, tat's the kind of nanny i looking for leh. Coem to my house one..haha. Ur mom wanna come out from her retirement?? Kekeke..btw, i stay in punggol

rac, if jordan is ok, y wanna go for allergy test? but the prick is no pain one leh..the nurse let me try first before pricking Zach. he juz sit thr n play wif the toys while the nurse draw points on his back..now his back full of marker inks..haha. My hb works even later than me..sumtimes he works over weekends. We both work for the same comp diff dept but time wise is very demanding

jes/rachel,
CHOI CHOI!!!! Not my ger lah! I bring my NEPHEW to my ger's PD. So it's my NEPHEW who did the test...
Anyway her clinic is at Thomson Medical Clinic - The Pediatrician Clinic - Dr Ang Ai Tin. If you gals have the FBI card, the consultation is cheaper (I think $40). If your bb see her first time, consultation will be $100 and subsequently is either $45 or something...

Zachmommy,
They never use alcohol wipes to clean the pen marking?

Chantalle,
Ur bb is how old? Sometimes rejection of solids could be due to not ready. If not, u can try puree. I find that when u puree using a blender (hand held one), u get smoother cream-like consistency vs using a seive (which I TOTALLY AGREE with Tamms tat's it's super straining!).

Porridge:
I have started my ger on porridge already. So far she has tried:
(a) millet porridge (cooked w veg stock) - she likes,
(b) white rice chicken porridge (cooked with veg stock) - eh so so only (cos I kinda ran out of enuf veg stock so notti mom add water),
(c) white rice pork porridge (cooked with veg n pork stock) - MIL says she loves n will open her mouth aft she swallow,
(d) millet pork porridge (cooked with pork stock)- pending review from MIL today.

Tommorrow she going to have brown rice pork porridge... :p Sat and Sun, she going to have fish porrige...

Usually I very boring - I put carrots for all the porridge.

I find slow cooker good. I put the rice and stock inside and let it slow cook (overnite) for abt 4 hrs on High. In the morning, it's all nice n done. I just add in the meat to cook, then scoop out to puree using my hand held blender.

Hi, just came back from Huggies booth at Vivo...

I bought 1 pack of the Huggies Jeans Pants Diapers size L ($8.30 for 10 pcs) and will bring for photoshoot on 12 Jul 12.30pm onwards. Any mummies interested to buy from me $0.90 per piece, If yes, can do bank transfer and I will leave the diaper with the studio to pass to u or post to u ($1.10 per piece).

Too bad I din bring baby - they got v nice gap clothing and props (eg. motorcycle) for babies to take photo. Only thing is the photographer and camera all not professional lor... not like young parents event...

Gap baby clothings now 30% off !

Anyone got Iris contact? Din see her online for quite a while, not at facebook too.

Her slot for photoshot also released to others liao.

Snowger,

Wat is millet?

Rachel,

I agree with Kath, why do prick test when Jordan is fine. It is impossible to know wat food he is allergic to by doing such prick test in advance cause there is far too much food tat a baby may be allergic to, but common 1 is peanut, egg, dairy products (cow milk) n seafood.

Out of all these food allergy, peanut is the worst right since it can be life threatening.

snowger,
oppsss... paiseh paiseh!

ann01jan,
u bought $8.30 for 10pcs from their booth?? i paid only $7.90 for 12pcs (L size) at cold storage ler... hehe! so is it crowded?

Snowger

Dr Ang Ai Tin huh? Haha...she used to be emma's pd...very rush her appointments...not nice...

anyway, was reading about all the yummy porridges you have been preparing...do you still do allergy test? cos my dr keep telling me 1 new food a week...so i am still repeating the purees that i fed her before....

What ? !!! Sianzz.. lemme check again later

Not crowded when I was there at 1pm... yesterday they took a total of 50 to 60 photographs... mostly toddlers...

hi kath
me damn busy today. but i read ur post abit.
My heart goes out to you and Zach.. poor thing.. BF for so long and also need to look out for the food intake. Zach also poor thing.. SIGH...

You are a brave n strong mummy. Jia You!!!

chantalle, i was telling hb, if the next time zach fall sick again, i will get a nanny liao, then i will call u for ur mom's contact. Btw, can i ask ah..is housework included? :p

haha.. Kath, i called my mum just now to ask if she keen to be nanny again.. she says i make her heart itchy again coz she really love babies. Last time she worked in a terraced house with 2 maids, so generally she is in charged of supervising the maids with the housework and her main duty is to care for the baby. She also cook for the baby porridge and prepare dinner for the family of 9. She will do some marketing, run errands and light housework also.. washing the bb clothes and sweeping the floor, cleaning after cooking etc.

She is not caring for my Cayenne because she is staying too far from us alrdy, if not I will always prefer my mum to care for my bb. My MIL super not auto type but har.. i am now battling my war with solid and my mum will come over this weekend to observe what is wrong with my gal.. haizz no choice lah.. its always better to keep baby at home than to bring to IFC or some nannies home. Err..no offece to mummies who do so. I think its all mummies wish to be able to care for their own babies but reality bites.. Just my thots.

Jes,
No worries lar. Sometimes I oso read wrongly when the post is long... :p

ypg,
In chinese they call it 小米, it looks like small little yellow spheres. I buy from NTUC, can find it at the Organic section. can find out how it looks like via this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millet

Santorni,
She's pretty okay. After seeing her a few times, she is quite nice lady actually.
Just that she is super popular and my gynae says she's really good. Everytime I try to go with questions in mind. After she's done examining my dotter, I will shoot her with my questions. Sometimes very paiseh, forget to ask this and that so ask the nurse if I can go in again just to ask her 1 qn. :p

I did not do the allergy test. I only asked PD if can intro the meats to my dotter. She say "CAN!" I intro her one meat for 3 days straight. So I started off with Chicken (Chicken delight, chick porridge, chicken delight) then Pork (my poor ger has been taking pork porridge for 3 straight days but cooked with different types of stock). :p

Santorni,
I forgot to add leh... She was quite patient with my nephew when I brought him there to see her. His condition quite bad, so she really took her time to examine him. Plus I told her before that my nephew keep falling sick n spreading to my ger... :p

I think in general if it's a review, she will do chop chop. If bb sick, she usually more concerned... :p

Snowger,
Ur porridge after cooked for 4hrs in slow cook still need to puree ? I thought it will be very fine if cook by slow cooker. I plan to start porridge for my bb by next weekend after bb reach 7 mths old.

ypg,
May I know why u give the commend for "sweet potato (NO GOOD)" ? What do u mean ?

jappooh,
My boy is one day older than Baby Ervin, he also can't sit on his own yet. Seem like most of the Dec bb here can sit very well already.

I think don't need to worry too much coz our bb development might be a bit slow compare to the rest here but it seem like normal.

Snowger
hahha you sound like me! everytime ask ask ask liao. then come out. OH shit. then ask the counter ladies say can go in again?! forget to ask one question haha. so peiseh de. ^^

btw. can rice grain? can right?

Snowger,

Thanks for the link.

little_rabbit,

Haha.. Paiseh to confuse u. Actually my gal currently is ok with all food. Give her wat, she eat, not much problem. Only sweet potato. She eat sweet potato liao, she vomit her food. 1st time she vomit, so I label sweet potato as NO GOOD.

Think there is another mum who try sweet potato on the baby, bb also cant take the food well.

Hi ypg
my mum too dun like me to start with sweet potato.. she said it caused wind.. then other food like banana and mango, she said cause phelgm. Perhaps all these are old tale lah.. but since my mum said later.. then later lor... kekeke..

hi chantalle..
wow.. ur mum seem so good with babies
thats' sweet. Its a pity that u cannot let her look after but nevermind lor

hi fabbie
haha.. now also have this kind of thing? It makes me wonder if its good.. false impression to the baby that she can float herself? so when there is no float, she sink? Last time we dun even have all these when learning swimming lor.. the most a board, 2 arm floats or a normal body float.. haha.. wat waverider, neckfloat etc.. i all dun have leh.. kekeke

cayenne still dun take solid eh..

Hi little rabbit
every babies have different progress la.. i think its fine.. its a matter of time they will be on par physically
But understandable cos when Ashlynne dun flip yet, while her peers all flip over already.. i m kindda worry.. Now, she flip so fast until i " aiyo.. dun flip so fast la.. mummy changing diaper.." especially when she poo poo.. its can be a mess... LOL

jowin
ya.. now what era le. so many next things come up le.. hehehe. but its quite cute when they float on their own. ^^

ypg,
its my ger, she oso vomit out all her milk quietly the day after in her IFC when i gave her sweet potatoes, my mom say it cause a lot of wind in the tummy, then told me the chinese sinseh say must eat the sweet potatoes with the skin in order not to cause wind. so far i hv not tried sweet potatoes again.

tml going to cook porridge to let me ger try.. any mommies grind rice and cook porridge? cause i grind a small bt with the u-blender... hahaha... very fun to grind things... also grind a bt of ikan bilis i bought frm japan...my mom say must wash and fried b4 grinding but i grinded oredi without washing...

maureen, veg stock is home made or bought frm shops? if home made, its the liquid after i boil the veg for the porridge isit?

Hi Little_Rabbit,
yes i remember u give birth 1 day eariler than me.

baby Ervin out of sudden like to flip so much and very fast. YEsterday he manage to sit unspport for 20secs. When i put him on tummy see he wan to crawl at not. I put a toy in front but no reaction from him. When i put newspaper in front of him he start to kick his leg and wriggle his way to the newspaper.. SO funny.

Porridge:
My MIL just use the slow cooker and cook. By then is like a paste liao so just feed like that. YEsterday Baby Ervin finish 3 tablespoon of the porridge. He is very cooperative. Open mouth big when the spoon comes near him. if too slow he will shout. When it rice cereal he will try to move away and use his tongue to push it out.

YEsterday afternoon, the took the brown rice cereal with si shen powder from Eu yan sang. This he take also. So i give up on other cereal just feed him this.

Hey Tamms, thanks. Was helping my coll to lookout studio for her preggy pics. Btw, u mentioned u have some groups for the swim trial. Will u be posting the groups?

Echo, where u stay? I would like to borrow the yr book if u can spare me. TIA

Mommies any can tell the difference between heat rash vs saliva soak rash or eczema? My bb has this dry red patch on her chin and next to her mouth. Wonder what kind of rash it belongs n what cream can be applied on area soooo near the mouth since they love to suck their fingers now....

christine,

my ger always have red patches beside her mouth...it's due to her saliva, its ok one week & red another... sigh...PD/ NSC gave cream but oso no use...then my grandmom ask us to use overnite tea leaf, volia... she's much better oredi... still a bit red on & off but under control. my hubby say tea leaf got antiseptic qualities but its quite drying, thus i still apply cream after cleaning with the tea leaf liquid... am using california baby calendula cream...think its ok if she eats a bit leh...usually i put b4 she sleep...

kath, how's the aleo vera cream? u try oredi? me still using ur calendula cream but finishing, if aleo vera is good, i oso 1 2 buy...

ikeike,
my baby have that also. Btu worse his is leg and hand also have cos he have ecezema. His face is haev more due to the saliva. During in the day we will just use water the wipe and clean. When changing him to sleep then i apply the Zircot cream teh PD gave. then it will go away but few days later will come again.

Other time i just apply baby lotion for him for his body and mositurizer log cos his skin is dry.

Little Rabbit,
Ya I still puree althou it's soft (partially cos my pork is not puree mah). I noe my ger hates the grainy texture. She likes it smooth! If there is any bits, she make sure that small bit is picked up and pushed out with her tougue!

Fabbie,
Ya lor... Cos nvr write down on paper first. usually I have abt 4 qns. I will ask abt 2, forget 1 (ask at clinic) and oni rem the last one when I reach home... -_-" Rice can grind but I did not do so cos I dun have the appropriate "machine" to do it. If no grinder just use slow cook method.

bur,
I prefer to prepare my bb's food on my own so I made the veg stock based on the recipe in First Food Book. Adel has a recipe on her blog too. The ingredients used are the same but quantity is different.
After u boil the vegetable in the water, the stock is actually the "soup". The veg used to cook the soup can be strained and thrown.
I dun add salt to the soup.

btw, ur ikan bilis is salty one? If yes, then must wash first before grinding else very taxing for baby's kidneys. Did you keep the rice in the fridge aft grinding?

Jappooh,
Me purposely buy one small slow cooker to make porridge for her.
Actually tmr I will try giving my ger porridge w/o blending. Means I got to puree her meat seperately... :p

Talk about poo poo, may I know ask u all how many time ur bb poo for the day?
My bb used to poo every 2 to 3 day once before started on solid food. After started him on cereal + puree for 3 times per day, now he can poo 3 to 4 times daily but no that kind of LS one. His stool can be hard or sometime can be soft, depending what kind of food fed to him.

jowinbaby,
You know how I change diaper for my boy when he flip so fast and non-stop ? I used left hand to put him down and used right hand to change for him lor.
Sometime he will get angry and screaming till very very loud, I will offer his own clothes to him for holding and it can entertain him for a while till I finished the changing process.

ikeke,
I only know that heat rash will not look like dry skin or peeling type. There will be small red dots. My ger gets heat rash easily when it's hot (usually get it at the back of neck area, shoulder, her back, etc.). Milk rash will oso look similar but they will be in places where milk may flow to (e.g. chest area just below chin, neck area, etc).

Only ecezema look like dry skin...I think if peel too much will look red red... Jappooh correct?

Wah snow,

Ur gal is really a lucky baby le, mommy spends so much time preparing her food....my hubby bought a tefal steamer and maybe later will go get a small slow cooker lor..u mentioned that the farline 5-1 baby food maker is good? Do u use that to prepare the bb food?

maureen,

thanks, will boil some carrots and use the stock to cook the porridge then... dun know if the ikan bilis salty or not, will try it first tonite...i store both the rice & ikan bilis in the frigde after grinding...

Rachel,
Haha... Adel's boi is even luckier. Adel can cook n bake very well lor...

No leh. I was not the one who use the farline 5-1 baby food maker. I bought the Takahi slow cooker from Best Denki. Damage was $54 but it's worth it lar since she liek the porridge.

Snowger,
u are rite. My baby Ervin one is ecezema. Dry dry one so to prevent it from peeling and skin turn too red we ahev to keep apply mositurizer.

Both my kids are like that. Now my elder one is 3yrs old liao he skin gets better. Sometime will come back not once awhile.

The slow cooker is with us for 3yrs liao when my elder is born. It really good loh for cooking food for kids.

bur,
Carrots only dunno if the stock will be sweet. Aiyah I might as well share the ingredients here (can rem offhand cos I just did another portion last nite), they are:

1 to 2 BIG yellow onion (not the pink one!),
4 stalks of celery,
500g long chinese cabbage (I use wong bok),
1-2 ears of sweet corn and
2 medium carrots.

It's super easy - just get the correct portion, wash n cut everything. Bring water (abt 2 to 3 litres) to boil then throw everything in. Bring again to boil then simmer for 2-3 hrs.

Hmm Snow,
Not u with the Farlin 5-1? Then who sia?

Jumping:
Jordan loves to jump especially when hubby n i are around..this little boy loves attention and loves it when ppl clap hands and praise him! Those who have my fb have probably seen the videos of him jumping with daddy holding him under his armpits..

Crawling:
Jordan started to crawl, but backwards! Haha, damn funny lor...he will keep moving backwards then when he reaches the sofa then will stop for a while, then cry..haha..He will support his whole body up (tummy no more touching the floor) then crawl backwards, but after a while he got too tired then will just let go with the whole body "slamming" onto the floor...

Oh yea Phyl,

He is doing the h*$ping action like ur boy too!! Damn cute hehe..

ikeke here is the first group, but aquaducks has not reverted with a confirmed date yet:

Group 1
1. tamms
2. joanne81
3. echo
4. ikeike
5. jowin
6. ypg

Group 2
1. stellateo

Jappooh,
Hmmm so baby ecezema is same as adults. My grandma suffered from ecezema suddenly. It went away/is under control aft abt 1-2 yrs of treatment. She uses those wierd oily/cream looking stuff to bathe during treatment. Cos normal soap too drying...

Agree tat the slow cooker is good. At least, I no need to stand there n stare. :p I cook my porridge from 1am and it's usually ready by abt 5am. Then I wake up to put the meat and puree it so tat hb can bring to my MIL's for my ger.

Hi rachel,
we get from those HDB downstaris shop. No brand one lei. So far so good.

when prepare food i dun everyday add carrot hor if i remember correctly is due to the Vit A in carrot..Too much intake is no good for the baby liver or kindey i cant remember.

That why last time i alternate brocoili and carrot. I prepare food is use very way one lei. I boil the stock meat or ikan bilis with broclli.. Take out the brocili after ahwile and use the old method. There is this metal that we use to shed the veg. then stock and rice put into slow cooker and cook. When it abt ready add in the shedded veg then cook for another 15mins. ready to eat. I did use any puree, blender all that.. I am a lazy mummy

Snowger,
ya ecezema cant use soap..i let my kids use the cetpillar. That one soap free. So far so good. I ahve alot of diff mositurizer.. haha.. No choice lar.. This time not so worried during my 1st boy i nearly cry cos like so poor thing. Now i get use liao so keep apply lotion loh.. When red apply the pd cream no red liao lotion lotion and lotion.