(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

emeraldbride,
Me oso not buying fr there lah. I just wan to show my hb the playpen which smone is selling to me 2nd hand... Mayb I msg her to ask if she can take a pic for me or something...

think can drink milo, my mum and hubby say milo is 'pu' also. guess my birth story will be boring cos it's schedule c-sect leh. nothing much to expect. haha

ivy & pris
will check wif dr whether safe to do anot. hehe. c my dr tis sat. =)

gill
2 packs if i din remember wrongly. =)

emeralbride,
me too..

now office having fire drill.. me exception.. no need to go down 5 flights of stairs! hahaha..
so, alone in the office now.. :p

can i go back and sleep?? My eyes is struggling to stay open!! Reviewing documents is such a chore now..the words all not clear, like dancing away..haha

Jo, hang in there! My boss oso one kind cheap mouth "zuijian". Asked me my ML is 3 or 4mths in all. I told him 4 and guess wat he said "shdnt have hire u in the first place" Female species in my dept is going into extinction.... I think I better self extinct.... wat a thing (or joke if so he deems) to say to a hormone raging preggy woman!

My little Bryan has jaundice and we decided to stay another day to keep him company. I'm getting a little frustrated 'cos until now, I still dun hv my milk YET!!! My boss passed me her PIS set and I'm now using it to stimulate my nipples in the hope to see some signs of milk

Maternity Pads
I brought both Kotex and the ones with wings from Mothercare and after using both, I prefer kotex. The one frm mohtercare gave me "diaper rash" and i find it hot. So now, i use the mothercare pad in front and kotex at the back (just to finish up the pack)

Piles!
Yesterday i did my 1st pee and poo after the catheter was removed. After my poo, my piles came out. In fact I dun feel much pain from the rest of the sticthes now but the pile is giving me loads. So got the Sitz Bath from the Nurse (at $15) and it works!!!!! Now at least i can sit on the air tube and walk without much problems. Piles is very common after birth so ladies if you experience that, get the Sitz salt bath set from the nurses, it is really worth it.

Oh one more thing to add

Chicken Essence
When my gynae allowed me to have my breakfast, I wanted to take the chicken essence (as adviced by many) but the nurses in the delivery suite told me not to as it will cause heavier or massive bleeding during labour. I was adviced to take it only after delivery. So do check with your gynae on his opinion on that

hmmmm it's a personal opinion la emeraldbride. I don't like Graco .. a lot of the models are a bit old fashioned looking and BULKY - seriously must have a car to lug it around type. BUT it's stable and good for a whole day out ... most of the models are comfy .. with a tray in front for drinks, snacks etc .. so depends on what u want in a stroller.

but yes, Graco is a decent brand ...

Adel, dun give up on breastfeeding ya.. heard that BM will onie kicks in on Day 5 - now onie got colostrum. So u r supplementing with formula? But i tot i read that BB will not get too hungry for the first few days after they're born?

Hi Adeline

Be patient and continue to pump every 3 hours to stimulate your nipples. Mine also did not kick in immediately. The milk only start on the 4th or 5th day & its really very miserable. I only manage to pump 10 to 15ml from both breast initially. Now i can pump up to 40ml - 80ml each time from both breast. Must be discipline to massage your breast everytime before you pump & must pump every 3 hours to stimulate.

Jia You!! I am sure you can succeed.

emeraldbride & girl80
Thanks for your encouragements!! Ya, that was what Mrs Wong said, to stimulate every 3 hourly to get the breast going. Each time after the sessions, i'll feel contraction in my uterus so I take it as a sign that it may work soon.

Right now I dun even have colostrum so have been supplementing my son with formula as he was getting sleepy most of the time and very lack in energy.

Adel,
I heard frm my neighbour who jus give birth tat her milk oni comes in on Day 10. *Gasp* But her current 2nd bb, she got a gd breast massage n tat simulates e milk production! So instead of Day 10, she got milk ard Day 5. Dun stress, else really bo milk... Can ask the lactation pple to come in to teach u how to do e massage?

My auntie told me to add raw egg to Hot milo, very nice and "Bu" for confinement..hmm..mayb can try tat. Can drink prune water, oatmilk, five grains etc..just dun drink water as can cause water retention. Anyway u wun get thirsty easily during confinment. Normally i drink alot of water oso, confinement time, not alot.

Adel,

BM wun come in so fast, mine come in only on the 4th day of birth.

Luthadel
you are still in hospital with your baby right. Then you should breastfeed directly for better stimulation. Their sucking is more powerful then the pump.

Hi Juzyounme & phyl

I am using the Medela Dual Electric Pump now. But i find that the suction is not good loh. Also slow. Sometimes i will need to take 30 to 45 mins to pump out the milk. Really damn tiring. But for the sake of my gers, I will not give up as even the nurses at KKH encourage me to keep pumping as breast milk has the most nutrients for our babies.

So all mummies out there, we must Jia You!!!

Girl80,
Does the shield fit ur areola area properly? I heard that Medela pump has 1 problem for big areola area mums. U need to buy a bigger shield to fit the Medela pump (as oppose to Avent's pumps where it's one size fits all)>

Emeraldbride,
If bb nvr latch on properly, then will hurt lah. Tats what I hear from pple... :p

Adeline

Mine colostrum only kicks in a liitle bit on day 5 loh. So dun panic & keep stimulating. Trust me and dun be stress. Soon you will find your milk flowing in. I also told myself to relax & dun stress.

Ade, my milk ss came in only the 5th day. Sure have one, just be a little patient and do let bb latch on often.

Jaundice is very common among chinese babies. Worse, some PD will suggest not to give breastmilk as breastmilk is one of the causes of jaundice. But for me, I will still give breastmilk.

snowger, u mean the shield hv to cover the entire areola?? The one tat i got, Freestyle mentions that only the nipple needs to fit leh..summore i find that the M size is too big, how?? siao liao, who can we ask for help ah?

emeraldbride, nipples will be sore so its gd to buy those nipple cream. Dun have to buy the big tube one, just small tube will do. I bot Medela brand nipple cream.

2nd baby, some PD says that cos during confinement, mummies take alot of gingers which is one of the cause for jaundice. I love ginger leh..even during pregnancy if i go Din Dai Fung, I can take up to 3-4 gingers for noodles, rice, dumplings, etc.. :p

I went for my 37W gynae visit today. Baby hasn't really grown much in the last few visits. Her weight is still hovering around 2.9kg. I've been feeling some signs of pre-labour (menstrual-like cramps, lower back pain, pelvic and bowel pressure) and had brownish sticky vaginal discharge twice over the last few days. Gynae says that these are all signs of labour, and that the spotting was probably my mucous plug coming out. She did a VE for me and said that I'm already slightly dilated. Also, bb is already engaged and she thinks I will probably deliver sometime in the next 10 days.

She also said that the position of my umbilical cord is such that I am at slight risk of umbilical cord prolapse. Meaning that it could fall out after my waters break, which is not good. So she told me to monitor my contractions. If they are coming every 15 mins over a 2 hour span, I should come into hospital straightaway and not wait for my waters to break. I'll be going back to her next Wed (in 6 days' time) for my next check-up. She said that if I'm sufficiently dilated by then, she may even admit me straight away, rather than wait for other signs of labour to develop.

I'm a little little worried about this prolapse thing, but I think the chances of it happening quite low. I'm actually more excited to think that my baby will be coming very soon! I won't get to experience the drama of having my waters break when I'm outside, but at least this way I won't have to worry about being pai seh if I go into the labour ward too early, because I was just following what my doctor said!

wow echo!! So u will be next after Mimi..

don't worry, ur in safe hand with Dr. Soong..hehehe

So r u resting at home liao or still hv to go back to work tmr?

fabbie, my PD will check on my bb and advise the jaundice level if it is on the hi side. When u press on bbs forehead, u could see yellowish color.

emeraldbride
I was on MC today after the visit but will be my last day at work tomorrow! Whee! After that then, just rest at home and wait to give birth.

kath
graco prams not bad. juz tt its bulky. im using their travel system. =)

fabbie
to confirm jaundice, hav to do blood test to confirm d jaundice level in baby. another way is use ur thumb n press on baby forehead to c if got yellowish tint like tt. my boi had jaundice n was under phototherapy light for 4daes. sianz.

Adel: Thanks for sharing...my mom told me drink a bottle of chix essence before i get to the hosp. But now after reading your comment, i better check with my doc!

Jia you with the BM & don't give yourself too much pressure ok? Must be relaxed & have enough rest else your body won't produce the milk too. Normally milk won't come in until Day 4 or 5...so i'm sure yours will come soon!

Fabbie: It depends on how severe the jaundice is. If very very bad, baby will have to go for phototherapy after blood test. Usually the bad cases, even the eyes will turn yellowy! If not so bad, then you'll be allowed to bring baby home.

How's your checkup? Sorry just now stopped chatting cos Phy dropped by my house!

Phy: Thanks for your company!!!

Snowger: I hope your infection clears up soon! Maybe after this "round", you can go back to your doc and ask him to do another swab test for you to confirm that the infection is gone.

Regarding jaundice..

It is not the breastmilk that causes jaundice.. But cos confinement mummies tend to eat more ginger.. something in the ginger sorta affects the breastmilk and make jaundice worse.. It doesn't cause just worsen current condition..

Hehe! I dun like ginger.. Only ginger thing I take is ginger beer!! Haha!!

If not too serious, the bb need not be treated rite??

Breastmilk..

Yeah if baby is around and can suckle.. better to get bb to latch on to stimulate milk production.. some how looking at bb makes u feel more maternal..Need maternal and bb thoughts to help with expression... =)

So exciting.. more mummies are graduating!! =)

gerry
if jaundice not serious, don hav to be treated. hehe.

i oso don take ginger one. my boi had bad jaundice for 3wks so my whole confinement, i onli hav a few slices of ginger in my soup but don consume them. avoiding as much intake as possible coz i total breastfeeding him.

Adeline,

don't worry .. the colostrum/milk WILL come in .. and don't worry, baby is usually very drowsy the first few days .. it's not easy being born .. lol .. it's damn tiring for them too! ... Just keep at it ... and latch him on when you can .. I usually keep my babies with me the whole of my stay there and they only take my baby back to the nursery when they need to do vaccination etc.

if not, keep Bryan with you so the minute he wakes up and is alert and crying u can stuff your boob in his mouth ... try not to supplement if possible ... that'll encourage him to work harder for his milk and suckle more at your breast ...

we are all here to encourage each other !!!

I have breastfed my girls for more than a year each and I will gladly share what I know with you girls ..

So if we breastfeed, we cannot eat ginger? Heehee.. am thinking if i can use this as an excuse to avoid taking ginger during confinement. :p

hey all i just came from my check up!! i tell you. today im so nervous.. i keep chanting to my hubbie how how how my gal is still not engage.. i very scare is still not engage.. Im so stress and nervous! and im prepared to hear from doc that my gal is not engage..

I had my strep b test. and follow by the scan.. i ask him very softy.. cus im too nervous liao lar.. i ask him baby engage already?! he NOD!! i say har?! baby engage already. he say YA. WAHhhhhhhh im so happy till i nearly cry! my gal today 38wks 3days weight 2.7kg like that. NOt much different as last week. doc say again its normal. and i got my admission letter from him le! ^___^ wah.. i really duno how to tell you how i feel sia. but when i hop into my hubbie's car i keep crying.. cus i cannot believe it and im so scare that my gal is not engage.. But im glad and happy that. my timeless bomb can start now! =P

I ask doc about can dun drip anot. he say must drip ah.. i say can dun drip anot ah?! he say WHY?! i say im scare of dripping he say normally 1st time mother will do drip.. but he depends.. Oh well. anyway i cant still cant believe that my baby is engage!.. and is anytime!

Adeline,

ya the ladies are right .. hearing your baby cry and feeling those maternal thoughts often stimulates our breasts to produce the milk .. you'll notice later on that whenever your babies cry (especially those heart wrenching sobs .. you'll start to leak .. lol) ...

So for the first few days, we will not have enough milk. Does that means that we need to buy 1 tin of infant formula milk to standby first, while waiting for our milk supply to establish?

sam..

U are our motivation!! I really want to completely breastfeed my little ger too!! =)

Fong2..

yeah u can use jaundice as an excuse!! Haha!! I dun like ginger in the first place.. =)

Fabbie...

They usually will set an IV plug for u.. this is for the "just in case" situation... They dun want to wait till there is an emergency.. (touchwood) to go looking for a vein access.. And I heard with epidural.. they have to monitor the amount of fluids or something like that.. if u are low on something.. then they can immediately have access...

Does it feel different when ur bb is engage?? Like more intense pressing down on ur pelvis??

Fabbie, congratulations!! So now is the waiting game huh??

Sam, really motivated to read ur postings!! So much experience..once deliver, must log in more so that we can learn from each other and encourage each other to BF fully!! Lucky for me, my mom also encourage BF cos i told her i wanna buy a tin of milk to standby and she said no need...hahaha

snowger:
Hi-5! I recieved a call fr my clinic saying that I failed the swab test too. Hubby went to collect medicine for me.. I'm put on anti-biotics for 2 whole weeks plus 1 insert pressary was prescribed. 2 wks antibiotics means quite serious infection rite??

Santorini:
I've check w cordlife for their various promos. FBI is still the best deal (cannot be use together w other promos or vouchers). I jus signed up w them last wk. They r having promo, such tat its $0 upfront. wait till CDA $$ is avail, they will deduct $900 from there as 1st pymt. yearly mtnc fee will be deducted fr CDA $$ too. Tat way no need to come out w cash upfront
and the referal will give u another $50 off!

Sam:
Ur post abt TBF are inspiring! will look up on u as role model.. hee..

Gerry
i didnt feel different when bb is engage wor.. is still the same as usual. Too bad i duno when my baby start to engage. Hmmm

Yeah kath now waiting game starts! hehe at the mean time hope my strep b test will pass lor.

gee gals thanks ... I will definitely be on hand anytime to help with your questions about breasfeeding anytime

I can't live without the internet .. lol... sure must log on and surf even with a newborn!!