(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

llig,
Reason to clear bowels, esp for natural birth, is that when mommy pushes bb out, the stools may also be pushed out if it's still in the bowels. Imagine if bb is facing down & his/her encounter upon arrival into this world is.. kena sai! haha.. not too gd right..

recently my stomach feels weird...like cramp/hardens....and sometimes when i lie on my back...the center area around my navel area will sink in.....anyone knows why?feel so weird and scary when see the area sinked down....

Thanks Gals.
My gynae did say tat bb is lower so I may feel pain. Forgot to ask what kind of pain. My pain is not down there. The pain is higher - somewhere at the top of the pelvic bone...Will keep track on how frequent I feel the pain and call clinic if it gets too frequent. Think bb is getting all "squashed" up inside - movements are pronouced n can get quite uncomfortable. Sometimes when I stand up n bb move, will feel sudden urge to pee.

Actually is it normal for the bb to get lower at wk 35+?

reddates,
I think I pulled the vein of my left calf tis morn too. E leg totally went stiff with pain. So became paralysed with my hurting tummy. *sob*

Gill,
I thot e empty bowels thing is a standard procedure. Else when give birth, mummy might poo poo. I read somewhere tat on the day of birth, the body will trigger a chemical which will cause mother to poo more than usual thus clearing the bowels. Maybe the nurses forget. If I get admitted n nurse nvr ask me to do, I will ask them for it. :p

scarletGal,
i know what you mean but there is research done to say that baby being 'pooed' into the world might not be a bad thing.. haha.. but it does sound gross..
The last time i did feel like passing motion but nothing came out.. had a catheter inserted to help with pee cos i couldn't control bladder either..

gill, In TMC, the nurse did administer enema for us. Or perhaps, mine was induced so its one of the procedure.

Dee, that's right.

finally can connect to the internet, was unable to connect the past 2 days.

updates : i am having regular contraction these 2 days liao. this morning had regular contractions every 6 mins but not very high so gynae say gynae is ready liao and might come out anytime. the day before i experienced menses like cramp but still bearable, not very pain. so gynae has already schedule my csect to be on 17th nov (monday) when 35w. he doesnt want me to bleed again then proceed with csect cos by that time i might need blood transfusion liao cos he says that every episode of blooding will be heavier than the previous one.

stretch marks - guess i am also one of the lucky ones cos so far i dun have any. *touch wood* hope they wont suddenly appear after i pop.

emeraldbride,
Me taking time off. Wanna conserve the leave for taking as the date draws closer. Was actually thinking of using leave to do 4 day wks... :p

Scarletgal,
I think it's about 2 yesterday, once in the afternoon n once in the evening. This morn (4am) I had one... Is it considered frequent?

Maternity Pads:
Think i'll just buy a pack. My mother passed me quite a lot of super long tena pads... Will open e kotex one to see if the kotex one is really sofer (hehe)...

Ivy,
Mine too! the sides of the navel will "sink". I guess it's the position of the water bag n baby inside? :p

snowger...sometimes i also feel pain arnd pelvic bone...like bb is moving down...will check with doc on next visit next week...

so excited...will be seeing our little ones soon...cant wait to see my bb...

anyone knows of the sinking in of navel area?

Snowger, I got time off for 0.5day onie.. by right i can take MC for noon, but i tink my boss will not accept my MC liao..hahaha. This time round, i will ask gynae for HL for me to rest from 9th Dec onwards!

8th Dec is me n hb's 1st ROM anniversary. wanted to get him a Tag watch.. for anniversary and for thanking him cos he stand by me throughout my 9mths of pregnancy with all my tantrums, several spoilt handphones etc..hahaha

Llig: Yep i read that if you can't control bladder or pee into bedpan, they'll insert a catheter into you! Sounds very scary...how does it work? Painful?

Mimi: Looks like you'll be the next one to pop...next Monday! Wow! See if you can take any tonics? All the best...and keep us posted ok?

Snowger: I think it's normal for baby to "lower/lighten" a few weeks before delivery. Don't worry!

ScarletGal: What's the difference between the maternity Kotex loop & the Kotex adhesive maternity pads?

Jo: You sound very tired & in need of rest. I feel very "bu kan yuan" for you cos you're heavily preg & yet your company/boss isn't being sympathetic. *hugs*

Juz: I'm reading that Neil Humphreys book.
Quite interesting perspective of pregnancy from a husband's view. I like his books & writing style. Always make me laugh.

Fabbie: I like your artistic tummy shots!!! Cannot tell it's your tum at all...very nice.

Snowger,
My next appt on 22 nov.. din know Dr going on leave. Now have to pray hard tt bb stays inside till dec... i was still telling bb to come out quick.. woops...

gerry
heartburn is slightly beta. now i 6pm onwards NBM. onli plain water. =(

gill
kkh still provides maternity pads as its charged to our package. hehe.

juz
i dono wat's d package for subs like. but tink it shud be included la.

ivy
will be gg to honeypot. saw from net tt it cost $63. i juz told them i preg when i made appt. hehe.

Phy, I was in white. My hubby in army uniform.

I think all hospitals typically provide one pack of sanitary pads right? Plus diapers and whatever that we need there.

emeraldbride,
yes breastfeeding help me to slim down lei. I didnt take alot of food i take as per normal. After birth i think i lose abt 4 to 5kg ba.

Chantalle,
actaully i watch news once that saying actually for baby below 6mths we shouldnt feed them with water. Just breastmilk or fm will do. I cant remember why i knw they say is harmful.

gill
kkh dun ask ppl to clear the bowel one. When i give birth to my 1st boy i push and the poo come out lei then the nurse clear it b4 my baby is out.

maternity pad:
i prefer to use the kortex adhesive than the pureen. I find it softer. I didnt use the loop one b4 so cant comments.

today i went to see my gynae cos my down there feel itchy and pain. I was having infection and was giving presery to insert, 1 cream to apply and antibodies to take.

My baby was now 2.3kg in 33wks 4days. Quite surprise cos he gain 600g in 2.5wks. Now my total weight gain is 8kg.

juz.. i dun think i will divorce my hubby la.. its just an after thought from reading my friend's blog.. i am so prepared that my hubby will continue to be a block of wood that is only interested in swaddling his precious CAT! i guess some men do change.. but i dun expect a change in him.. keke.. i love my block of wood!! he is so MU TOU and so CUTE being one!

2ndbaby, did u double check with jayne that the package can go into the mail box? coz initially she wanted to post to me but she told me its too big for my mail box it will end up at the post office.. so i opt to meet up to get from her..

eh.. haha.. then not u liao.. i saw a mummy thats pregnant.. wearing pink.. a bit funny if i went up to her and ask her if she is spaghetti.. later kena slap.. kekekeke..

snowger, sayang sayang.. hope your pain will go away..

jo.. sigh.. dunno what to say la.. how i wish u are in my situation.. keke.. then u can rest n relax...

Mimi,
17th Nov is real soon! I think you must eat more this period to booast up both u and baby. All the best..do update us on your birth story

Fabbie,
Wow you really very artistic hehhe..so thats the real apple stump?

Hi jappooh,
My gynae told me that from 32 or 34 wks, the baby will grow at around 200gms per wk. So your baby is around there..Btw I din put on weight for the last 2 wks from 34-36wk dunno izit normal..coz gynae seem to be concerned..

Hi Merydith,

for the pass 2.5wks. I put on 300g only. My gynae didnt mention anything.

who use pesery b4? How to insert? Like a bit scary lei..

merydith no.. its painful if i poke it there LOLX. copy and paste. photoshop! lolx.

Ah.. pray today baby will be engage! cant wait to see my woody today!

i jus ate geylang beef hor fun last nite. i cannot eat durian leh cos i got GD, but gynae say now i can eat anything cos he say now dun affect baby liao, but think now dun have good durians (i only like bitter ones).

Hi pris
Yes,i m very tired n stress... seem tat i can't rest properly n everyday met up with new obstables with fickled minded bosses...

Everyone has been telling me not to stress.. But then... how?? deadlines to meet.. Unless i resign right away now..Giving 1 month notice also too late.

Just hope baby will toughen up n be a person tat can be strong n good.. as mummy is very " tough" right now.. haha!!!!

Hi Emeraldbride
come n walk walk for the bazaar lor.. nothing to buy la.. haha!!! I m not of any interest to put in 100% effort right now, so it can't be any better.. When i away on ML, see how they die...cos no one bother to do my job.

CNY promotion starts on 02 Jan.. so must finish planning before i leave, so that they can implement it. BUT i cannot progress with much , as these 2 bosses keep giving me obstacles to deal with..

....i also wan beef!!!cant wait to give birth then after confinement can go Hog's Breathe to eat their prime ribs....!!!!

so afraid that i gain excess weight this mth..cos havent really been following the diet...pray hard that i use up the energy/sugar i intake in my meals!!!

iemiko...what if they thought you are just pregnant...and not due soon....think better check to confirm...i also wanna wax..but am afraid...

Fabbie: All the best for your checkup!

Mimi: Drink some chix essence, eat beef & C-sect will lose a lot of blood too...so load up on iron!

Jappooh: Pessary is just insert into your vagina. It's easier to insert if you are in a half-squat position or after a warm shower cos body more relaxed.

If your baby is on TBF, then they don't advise you to give water. BM is already "watery" and our babies' kidneys are not ready to handle/process large amounts of water yet. So if your baby drinks too much water, may get water intoxication.

Merydith: Don't worry! Last Sat when i went for my checkup, my baby put on 400g but i LOST 200g instead. As long as baby is putting on weight, don't worry.

Jo: *hugs hugs* I can sense how stressed you are. At this stage...sigh...your bosses are like inhumane! I wish you can be at home resting too.

iemiko: Better check if you can wax. Maybe you wanna tell the therapist you're due soon?

mimi....i also have GD....your gynae tells you it wont affect baby already?how many weeks are you? i am afraid i will cause the baby harm due to GD...feel so guilty!!

jo, are u starting ur ML early? or taking leave before ur EDD?

loveangel, i hate chix essence leh. think the only way is to stuff myself with beef.

ivy, me 34w4d today. this morning he jus told me now have minimal effect on baby, ask me dun be stress cos this moorning my reading is a bit high.

gynae never mention anything...so am afraid...but is it due to the bb age so it wont have any effect...or depends on the mother?i am 35weeks today...

emeraldbride,
Like tat might see u at TMC! :p Btw, the baby's kingdom opens from 10am onwards. I might go early if I can wake up early.

Adelchia,
Just tell bb no no between 26 Nov to 30 Nov. :p He did say he will be ard my EDD (12 Dec). So bb btr stay in tummy till then! I wan to carry bb to 40 wks (like less fragile n small).

Jappooh,
U eat so much durian until need to use pessary huh... I cutting down sugar n carbs since it's causing my recurrent fungal infection... Pessary can also be inserted by standing on one leg n putting your other feet on toilet bowl cover. But make sure u hv good balance orh... Do it before u go zzz!

Ivy,
Mimi going for c-sec in 3 days leh, so mayb tat's y less effect? Know how blardy difficult it is to keep sugar n carbs low for breakfast, lunch n dinner. I am experiencing difficulty not to take just 1 sip of coke n not hving rice!

snowger, the hospital knows that i have GD and my diet is kept at 1800 calories. i am having white rice for lunch and dinner if i choose chinese meals. and still eat rice lah and i am given apple, pink guava and orange juice leh. also give milo kosong for my beakfast and tea break. as for coke, my gynae nurse did say that if i really crave for coke, i can drink 1 can of coke light once a week.

Good Noonie everyone! No time to come in and kaypoh in the morning. Feeling very sleepy after a heavy lunch of sushi, toast and ice cream! The shit talk somehow managed to keep me awake!

High 5 Loveangel. u reading Neil Humphrey too? Yeah, he is a singaporean ang moh.. I love his writing style too. He writes occasionally for Today Newspapaer forum as well.

One thing i realised, Maternity pad dun have wings ah??

Mimi,
Thanks for sharing! I am still eating rice/noodles for lunch n dinner. For dinner I will cut the portion. Hehe, yeah I can drink coke! Just one can per week n not more than tat! *Yippy! Must tell my hb!*

My gynae's nurse tell me to cut bread n cakes (which I hv not been taking) too. And take wholegrain/multigrain stuff where possible (i.e. biscuits n bread).

The control of sugar n carbs is due to the yeast infection. Have had 4 episodes since end of 2nd trimester! I am so sick of taking the oral medication n pessaries.

Mimi,
Wow..you'll probably be the next 'graduate'. Good luck!!

Iemik0,
How many maternity pads are in the package? Only one pack or more or doesn't matter how many you use so long as you use in hospital....?

Juz,
Subsidised patient should have the same la..toiletries, diapers, pads.. Last time i was at C ward i was given the pads too.

Jo,
Play punk la.. Ask your gynae to give you MC then make them work. You and baby health is priority now.
PS: Which bazaar?? Where?

Loveangel,
Inserted very fast. I was already on epidural so perhaps thats why i didnt feel anything. Just suddenly realised that i didn't need to pee anymore and the nurse happily say cos my pee in the bag liao.. Duno how painful/uncomfortable it'll be without epidural. Removal also done very fast and minimum discomfort. I expected the area to be sore after but was normal..no soreness.

Maternity pad,
i bought the Kotex adhesive ones the last time around but no point la.. Cos keep changing and the adhesive also not like super-strong or anything.. So in the end i just used the loop one but without belt. Relied only on disposable undies to hold it in place and it worked.

snowger, i have been eating bread in the hospital too. before admitted, i only ate wholemeal bread but now at Mt A, they gave me normal white bread for breakfast, jus ate french toast this morning. they also gave me banana cake for tea break leh, so i think eating bread and cake once in a while is ok.

llig, yeah.. think i will be the next graduate. the nurse jus told me my gynae has already booked the delivery suite for 17th nov at 2.30pm.

Mimi, longan water, and longgan water and more longan water lor.. Wat else?? Oh ur list got MILO, Not bad.. my list only got Longan water. Sianzzz

Jo, ur bosses are really a**h***..pardon my language but i cant stand such ppl. Fickle-minded n sometimes u wonder how come they can be bosses!! Its good tat u adopt the boh chap attitude.. simply do then take ur ML and stay home, dun answer calls from office..hahaha, say busy taking care of baby! See how they die.. I bet they will call u everyday during ur absence man..

I juz had a very very filling lunch @ Marmalade Pantry. The food is really good and their dessert, yummy yummy! Hahaha..

Llig, the bazaar is at Jo's working place @ Raffles Place.

I got a list of items to bring during our admission and one of the item is maternity pad leh..so i suppose for TMC they will not provide lar..haha

Snowger, u mean this Saturday? I can't leave the house before 1pm.. anyway, i may not buy from them, heard that they always mark up their price then give discount. I will go thr to see which model, then on sunday go to Tangs and Robinson to take a look as I gotten $200 vouchers from both as gifts..hehe

Gill,
That's what my neigbour said abt the maternity pad. I din quite believe her when she told me the pad can stay in place without adhesive... :p If I am not wrong the loop one is cheaper?

Mimi,
I guess cos bread uses "yeast" which I am suppose to avoid (so no Marmite)... :p Keep us posted aft u've graduated with ur birth story n bb pics!

My MIL oso told me no drinking of "plain water". Only logan-reddates water niah. If can drink Milo, think I'll just hv milo kosong all e way! *haha*