(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

wah.. serious ah.. i think its utterly ridiculous lor..

OMG.. i'm going to be so nottie during confinement!! kekekekekeke..

raining sian.. need to go down to raffles place to meet the mummy to collect the wall decals.. zzzzzzzzzzz....

Ikeike, U like ur Face round round ah? Bui swee bui swee arni kwan.. haha! Me opposite! I want to have Gua zi lian!!! Maciam Sammi Cheng! wooH Swee ah! But in my nxt life lah! My mum use a projector + compass to manufacture my 360 degree round face. Even I slim down my face also round de. Jealous bo? hehe..

Phyl, I tell u har, ikeike can join us as kaki liao.. she also good in talking cock sia.. Potential member! hahaha.. neh neh small to begin with, have or no have = no diff. Great logic!

i wanna slim down leh..i find that my face too round and my shoulder also broaden..so different from last year.

can see the diff fr my blog: http://tecknkath.blogspot.com

reddates, Leanne is a nice name..

Chantalle, Pamelyn is also nice ah.. u can call her Pam for short..dun call her Ah Pam lar..later sound like the pancake, Apam .hahaha

Jappooh,
I also lost weight during my previous confinement. Could be bcos I don't eat alot back then.
When I weighed myself after coming home from hospital, I've lost about 5kg, which is about half of the total weight gained. Hopefully the same goes for this pregnancy.

2nd baby, pastilies, Loveangel, Scarletgal,

sorry I was out visiiting my fren's wife who just had a baby at Mt A ..

Ya, I dyed lor ... cannot tahan .. I have A LOT of white hair .. people will think I'm like 40 years old if they come visit me in hospital after I deliver .. better dye now .. I've done it before for all my pregnancies la ... so it's safe for me ...

still haven't gone to thread my eyebrows though .. dammit .. I'd better not go into labour tonight or tomorrow morning !!!

As for rebonding, I won't do now ... quite siong to sit in the salon for so long ... usually I wait till baby is 6 months old and and can go without breastfeeding for a few hours then I quickly rush to the salon to rebond my hair ...

reddates, Leanne is a nice name .. I like it too .. we're thinking of naming our girl Calista ...

I called Strip, they said for pregnant women, they will request them to get approval from gynae for brazillian waxing. I will only see Dr in early Dec, so will be giving this discount a miss. Anyone who has not been to Strip before and keen to go by 30 Nov 2008, can PM me with ur mailing add for the discount card. It is for selected outlets: Strip Buddy@ Wheelock place, Strip@Malacca Centre, Suntec & Holland V. http://www.strip.com.sg/

Jappooh - the problem is that baby keep pushing tummy so hard n sometimes will pain pain, until i don't know whether when can consider contraction w tummy harden.

reddates - what's meaning of "Leanne/Leann"? and surname?

Hello Ladies

Finally I've graduated!! Sorry for not posting for so long as I was only allowed out of bed this morning and had no time to update my birthing experience

Here are the details of my birthing experience:

6.30am Checked into the labour ward observation room. Change into the hosp gown, took urine sample and CTG reading plus cleared my bowels.
7am Moved into Delivery Suite and started the induction via IV. The insertion of the IV needle was so blardy painful.
8am Contraction readings starts to climb above 100 but I don’t feel any pain at all
8.30am Gynae came to do the 1st cervix check and I was still 0.5cm dilated. So she allowed me to have my breakfast (some miserable sandwich)
10.30am Gynae came to do the 2nd cervix check and I was now 1cm dilated. Good thing was that she did not tell me that she was going to break my water bag and I was surprised when she told me she did. No pain experienced.
11am Contractions started to get heavier after the breaking of the water bag.
1.30pm Gynae came to do the 3rd cervix check and I was at 3cm dilation. At this time my contraction was still bearable but the backache was getting intense. Check with gynae to get an estimate of how many hours to go before i can reach full dilation. The answer was 8-9 hours
2pm The backache was reaching an excrutiating level while my contraction pain was still bearable. At this point HB’s wrist was getting really tired from the heavy massage on my back so I decided to opt for Epidural as I don’t think I’ll have the energy to push if full dilation can only occurs after 8-9hours
2.30pm The anethestist came in to administer the epidural. At this point, the contraction had gotton really intense and my backache was at a point of no return.
3.pm Epidural started the effects and my legs are getting numb. The right leg was more numb than the left and that is a normal symptom.
4pm Gynae came in to have the 4th cervix check and disappointingly I was only achieving 4cm dilation.
5.25pm Gynae came in to have the 5th cervicx check. At this point I’m thinking to myself how far can I go, most probably 5cm. However the look on the gynae’s face tells a different story. So in my heart I thought ok, maybe i got furhter into the 6-7cm range. She then gave me the best piece of news, I was fully dilated and ready to push!
At this stage the midwife started the preps to get me pushing and at every contraction, I will have 4 attemps to push my baby out.
6.05pm I was getting really breathless from all the pushing and baby has yet to move. At this point I asked the midwife to check if my gynae can assist with vacuum. Gynae arrived within a minute, administer the vacuum and I started pushing again. Each push took ounce of energy from me and i’m sure i burn hell lots of calories too!
6.30pm Bryan finally made his entrance. Gynae took about 1 hour to stitch me up due to the massive tear I sustained despite having an episiotomy.
The reasonsfor such extensive tear was:
• that my vaginal was already swollen from all the pushing way before the vacuum was administerd.
• Baby’s head was facing up towards the ceiling instead of facing the anus.
• I have very delicate skin

I'll be posting little Bryan's picture soon and thank you all so much for all the encouraging smses & comments on our blog

Adel, congratulations!!! We saw Bryan's pic from ur blog liao! Look so much like his daddy..and Bryan has such good weight.. which is a good thing.

U hv a long labor hor.. but still it must be joy carrying Bryan in ur arms.

juz, i always go Browhaus which is juz next door to Strip and i ask them abt brazillian wax, never mention need gynae's approval leh? U mean in writing ah? So mah fun meh?

hey ade thanks for sharing, so happy for you that you last min no need to c-sect! ^____^ congrats for ya baby boy! take care ya.. hugs hugs

Wah. adel 1 hr can open till 6 cm sia! thats very fast wor.. eheheh

btw gals... Whats IV needle?! is it DRIP?! sound scary.. T____T damn i scare needles sia.. Im not scare of birth.. But scare of injections and stitches. Sighz.. how am i going to over come it ah...

Ok from my experience, do bring front button down nightgown if you intend to breastfeed. Those that has only 5-6 tiny button down front will not be the ideal as it will get in the way. Also do bring 2 full pack of sanitary pads, you'll need to use 2 pieces per change (ie one ontop of the other to reach max length).

Jia You to all the mummies!!!

emeraldbride - i contacted Strip Buddy@Wheelock place. they never said approval in writing or verbal. to me, if i badly want to go, i will ask Dr to write short memo. but since my appt is like another 4 weeks time, i won't be pushing my appt forward just coz i want to do waxing. btw, i always have this "luck", where i have to go thru a lot of nonsense & can't really get what i want. (if u have read my previous post abt getting subsidised instead of private). So if urs don't say anything, it is good.

Fabbie, dun be scared!!! If u opt of epidural, i don't think u can feel the cut or the stitches. My gynae say the moment u r 8cm dilated, u cannot opt for epi liao..so if u want epi, better ask for it earlier...hahaha

Adel, really 2 packet of sanitary pad?? Alot leh.. 20pcs in total!!! U mean it will leak from the top one to the bottom one? Geng...

Lots of post todae. Too buzi in clinic to come online. =(

Phyl
Got no idea if pain anot for waxing. My fren say no pain. Dono lei. Will be doing it for d 1st time next wk. hehe.

Kath
Hot wax is beta ah? Mi gg to honeypot @ pacific. Fren recommend to go there. Hehe.

Japooh & juz
Heartburn is killing mi sia. Don wana eat meds as it makes mi vomit. Hope it stops soon. Sob.

Gill
Mi book next wk as will be 37+wks by then. So shud be juz nice. Hehe.

Chantelle
If total breastfeeding bb, don hav to give water. tt’s wat we teach all our pts. =p

Reddates
Leanne is nice. =)

Ade
Wow. Means bb Bryan was in breech position when u gave birth? Good ting is no need c-sect. Ur wish came true. =)

Fabbie & Emeraldbride

Fabbie, if you need to induce you'll need the IV needle for the drip.

Yes you do need that much sanitary pads, 'cos the moment you can walk and shower, the nurses won't come and change for you and your flow will be heavy.

jialet leh.. after seeing adel's experience my heart pounds very fast.. T____T how to overcome those injections pain?

emeraldbride i would be taking epi lor.. but i still canot overcome that need to DRIP. as i heard Drip is damn painful.

OKai whats IV needles??? DRIP?! fwahhhhhhh

*GONE*! wahhahaha i think im going to talk to my baby gal more liao.. yes. im going to do it. hope she will just engage.. and cervix open big big when i reach hospital and had a inject and thats it! Right.. i must calm myself down now!! *breathes*

Adel must be tiring of you sia! so hows the feeling now? happy? tired? have more rest ya! *huggies*

IV needle is the one that poke to ur veins on ur hand..intravenous needle. Not pain one lar unless of course u keep moving ard lar..hahaha

Thanks Adel, i onie pack 1 packet, i will put in another packet then..hehehe, i bought 2 pack, one string one and another stick on

Fong, I also packed Pureen pads. But packed 5 pcs only. Better go add in more.

Ade, very detailed birth story. Thanks for sharing. Dr Chan actually come so often to check for dilation. The last time I was checked my mid wife.

emeraldbride and ade, nw that u all mention IV needle, I recalled its very painful for me. More painful than labour.

haha 2nd Baby
Now you'll really scare Fabbie!!!

I must say Dr. Chan is a very professional and sensitvie doctor. She came very frequently to check me as my water was really low, I hardly have any heavy lokia after the birth and she cleared a lot of blot clots for me b4 stitching me up (fabbie, go for epidural and you won't feel a thing, even the stitches)

Today, she ordered some strong pain killers for me (inserted to the anus type) as she needs to take out the huge tampons she inserted due to my massive tear. Very very wonderful doctor indeed

For those who are going to deliver in TMC, they have a very good disposable underwear which they'll use for all mums and you can get it at the pharmacy at $4 a piece. I bought 10 pieces as it is really very good and airy. BUY IT!

Chantelle/Juzyounme,

My Hb surname is Wong, so will be Leanne Wong.

I will c how the chinese name will be, hope something like Li4 En1 or similar so can choose Leanne for the English name.

Adel,

Good work there! I saw Bryan pic at ur blog as well, like the daddy, photocopy men...

Heartburn:
Me too, cannot eat too much, will feel so xinku.

For C-section: Not much Lochia, so dun have to bring so many pads, But I will bring abt 16pcs oso.

2nd Baby/LuthAdel - Wow, really need so much pads. Think i better stock up more for confinement period. Currently bought abt 8 packets of Lauriel (35 cm type). Maybe still not enuf.

LuthAdel - how many pieces of disposable underwear did u use during ur hospital stay? I packed abt 10 pieces in my hospital bag. Hopefully will b enuf.

Fabbie, dun be scared. I m afraid of needles, thats y i find it more painful. Yes, for epi, u wont feel any pain when gynae stitched us.

Ade, that's nice of Dr Chan to come often to check yr dilation. The diposable undie is reali gd. I still have it with me from my first preg cos I bu she de to use it. Very comfy. I packed only 2 normal disposable undies this time round cos wanna buy the ones from TMC.

Ade, the rm u are staying in nw isit renovated?

Fong 2
I used 2 pieces so far + 1 for tomorrow when i head home, (i.e the disposable type from TMC (it is like boy shorts but super comfy and airy and holds the pad well. You need undies that can tuck all the way up 'cos you'll need to have super long back support to hold the long pads. Those cotton disposable that i got will not be able to do the job well

Adel..

Congrats!! Thanks for sharing ur birth story.. I'm definitely getting epidural.. is it cos bb facing upwards, that's why u have such intense backache?? Some call it back labour..

I had IV plugs set before leh.. Not pain one.. Even when I was 8, I didn't think it was painful.. And I dun like needles at all.. I think it is more the anticipation of having a needle sticking into ur skin than having it in already that is scary..Hehe...

Chantelle..
Haha!! It is good to have Dr Google around.. I think so long as U drink enough fluids.. ur bb should get enough from the breastmilk lah..

Maternity pads..
Oh no.. Must bring so many.. I was thinking of just bringing 12... would the hospital provide?? Me delivering at Mt. E..

Hmmzzz.. Shouldn't u lose weight during confinement?? =)

2nd Baby
I got the old room on the 5th floor but thank God this room is really nice and cosy, not old looking at all

Yesterday was a super busy day for the nursery due to the 11/11/08 date so was quite noisy with eager relatives hahah

Gerry
Yes, my intense backace was due to baby facing upwards. Normally at birth, the baby is facing your anus but for mine, he was looking into my gynae's face
That also resulted in my massive tear.

Disposable undies
I don't recall seeing it anywhere else. I bought 10 pieces today for my whole confinement. By the way, they are washable too but i won't recycle those that I used in the hospital lah :p

So as an advice, for those of you who knows that your baby's head is facing upwards, go for epidural 'cos your backache will be the one that sucks your breath out.

Gerry, so far, I only see the disposable undies in tmc pharmacy.

ade, 11-11-08 indeed was a nice date. My fren delivered her bb by Dr Chan ytd too.

Thanks Adel and 2nd baby...

Will check out TMC pharmacy.. Sigh.. A bit out of the way..

Adel..
It must be REALLY nice to hold baby Bryan in your arms finally.. =)

Gill..
As promise..I finally got my camera back.. Hehe.. This is me at 36 weeks...
1875689.jpg

Hi Luthadel
Great to see ur posts..Take alot of care..N rest more.....

Actually i can't wait to carry Baby Bryan...
afterall, he is my ger ger's classmate too.. haha!!

Bcos of Baby Bryan, Mummy Jowin get to eat alot of goodies from Mummy Adel....

haha.. me getting siao

Me still working in office.....

LuthAdel - Those non low-waist cotton disposable undies not long enuf to hold the long pads? Oh dear, then hv to get fr TMC pharmacy.. Me delivering at Gleneagles. Wonder if the pharmacy there hv these type of disposable undies or not. Will check it out this friday when i go for my appt. Also will check wif my gynae if my bb is facing up or down.. Hv a feeling she's facing up cos keep feeling her kicks & squirms often.

argh. having stupid heartburn again now. waonder wat time will i get to slp tonite. sianz.

i/v plugs
can be painful depending on where d dr insert it. i got one inserted on my wrist, slight above my thumb previously n it hurts so bad tt i ask d nurse to remove it. rather hav another one inserted in a better location.

maternity pads
for kkh, they will provide 2 packs of maternity pads. so can bring along one more pack for in case. =)

backtrack a bit..u all were toking abt what oil oil stuff earlier? What is it ah...i am confused..

BW: suppose to go last fri..but busy at work...i have package w Revive wellness and i just call and tell them i want to make appt..i dun think will trigger contraction? will go this fri..week 37 for me too..believe me..BW not v pain lah...and after that...u will see mei mei "Mei Mei" liao..hahaha