(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Adelchia,
U are so right! I get e standard 3 qns too! During scan, he will point on e screen explain a bit. Then conclusion is: Normal or Good. Oni my hb ask him qn abt going to reservist b/w 1 Dec to 14 Dec. Hb not going to defer lor, taking time off instead...
My EDD is 15 Dec, using TMC.

Jowin/Santorni,
Me have the same EDD as u all too! We shld be in Wk 27 plus going Wk 28.

Adel,
Congrats on hitting the countdown! Me can't wait to reach 37 weeks then I can stop worrying liao! :p Me got 10 more weeks till then.

Phyl,
I hv been worrying abt my sugar levels too cos I eat quite a lot of carbo (e.g. rice, noodles). I think fresh fruit juice (those buy fr market stall one). I stare at uncle prepare so I know got no syrup. Sm sugarcane store will put syrup thou.

It's btr than drinking those fruit juice buy from supermarket (usually got sweetner lor).

cant wait to see my little one...

llig...cant vote for you...no access to the blog...you post the names here...

have decided on baby name...Jake Travis..both MIL n FIL like this name better...than Travis alone..

jowinbaby
same here.. will be seperate our 1st month. if not too squeezy! But whose side you all will celebrate first huh?

Cus im thinking is it baby at whoever house must celebrate 1month before getting out of the house? Hmmm

dee.. erm.. i will just wash lor.. but i was thinking of washing an empty load add clorox n use warm water to sanatize first.. then i will throw in baby's clothes..

like Adel, i put all of baby's clothes in ziplocs since i started buying.. so to keep them as clean as possible now.. then after i wash.. i will also place them in ziplocs..

eh.. sorry to say this, but if anyone is going to ask me to wash with my hand, i will tell that person to wash for me.. haha.. lucky i no have MIL n Mother to bug me... heng ah.. my logic is handwashing might not be cleaner than machine wash...

Hi Dee
haha... No choice.. MIL, we must tahan abit...
I think perhaps u just throw them in the pail n soak... then see if u can tumble dry with washing machine... I understand its hard to bend or even sitting on low chair to wash n squeeze dry those clothings... suffering...

If not hor, get the Husband to wash.. i intend to ask him to help me...if not... i can't be sitting there few hours to wash bb clothing.. either, i take a pail of water n wash at kitchen sink. At least we get to stand..

Ivy,

awww .. Jake is a nice name ...
glad you guys have decided .. hubby and I agree on VERY FEW names .. so up till now, we have not even come close to shortlisting any names ...

He suggested "Eden" sometime back .. "Eden Grace" .. I don't really like it.

I like "Summer", he hates it ..

I like "Paige" and "Kylee" ... he also hates those ...

so sian.

FORMULA MILK

I bought and brought my own FRISO FM to KKH on day of delivery thinking that i will give friso FM to my boy when my BM is not in yet. Then ah, the nurses said they will give what their supplier had supplied to them that month and will not make FM from our tin. Theirs are like pre-packed or what. In the end, my boy had their FM (Mamil Gold). I know i can still switch back to FRISO, but by then i was already more comfortable with Mamil Gold since he was consuming it well. My boy happened to merlion his FRISO twice when i attempted to switch him to that. Then i got frightened and had to give that FRISO tin away and continue him on Mamil Gold. So my advice is dont buy any FM yet unless you are really determine to use that particular brand.

EPIDURAL

Yes. the nurses will let us sign a consent letter regarding epidural listing all its side effects. Those are immediate side effects which we may or not experience. I got this 'water tickling' down my body effect which lasted fro 2 days. And also i felt very very warm for several days having to ask for standing fan when in the ward room. What i heard from other mummies is vomitting. etc etc..

As for future side effects.. old people always claim that we will get back ache or what. I do experience backache during confinement. But it went away after 1 month. wonder if its also effect of epidural boh.

phyl ..

i agree with you. Handwashing may not always be cleaner than machine washing .. plus you need to properly rinse out the detergent or it will cause your baby's skin to itch.

dee,
Not too sure, I thought they wont let us wash bb's clothes with adult clothes cos our clothes are dirtier and bb's skin is sensitive. My neighbour actually installed a nice BIG steel wash basin. At waist height, can wash n rinse without bending down. Good idea hor? Am thinking of installing one too!

jowinbaby/phyl/snowger/kristangel,

actually, wash only baby clothes in machine also not allowed..

ya.. agree that handwashing not clean at all.. furthermore, the clothes can be damaged.. quite alot of my #1 onesies have expanded due to handwashing! sigh..

but old-folks are old-folks, they have funny reasoning.. sometimes not make sense at all.. try to make them understand also, they think they are still right.. i gave up liao..

what-to-do? must close-one-ear and ignore if not i'll get pre/postnatal blues.. had that with #1 and she can even say during confinement cannot cry, else will go blind!!

2nd Baby
I m not working now.. still "nua-ing" at home..

Luthadel
will try again in few months time or when TCM give me green light loh..

kristalangel..keke..i know but i dun always do laundry..cos my mum just staying next blk..so in fact..my daily laundry is still done by her..except weekends..

Mummy30,

so you seeing a TCM now? which one? did you go to the one I recommended or Christine recommended?

it's good to "tiao" your health back first....

Santorini
i seeing TCM in marine parade.. no leh, i went to one which my FIL gave.. went oni twice.. if dun feel better, will change loh..

now we wash 1 white and 1 colour run per week. so when baby comes.. it will be seperated from ours.. erm.. i think of it both ways.. my clothes might be dirty.. but i also dun wish to have puke swirling ard my clothes too.. eeeewwwwww..

i'm super anti puke.. i see babies puke i puke too.. so hope it will be different with my baby.. haha

Hi Dee
haha.. heng ah.. lucky no one bother me abt washing...I tell tat person, you say so much, u wash for me.. haha!!

Like wat phyl said, hand wash may not be as clean too.. To me, as long as i seperate adult clothings and baby clothings to wash.. use the baby detergent, ok liao la... then use dryer to dry them... I cannot hang it out of my flat...Though i prefer clothing with the " sun" smell...

Subsequenly, will be staying at mum house, most likely get the maid to wash n dry them in the sun....

morning ladies,

so so sleepy. now is week 27 liao. approximately 10 weeks to go before popping!!!

ivy,

jake travis is a cool name leh....

dee,

y kenot wash using washing machine? my mum washes all baby clothing using washing machine. if u worry it may damage the delicate clothing, u can use the gentle mode.

Epidural
To add on to Pig07, some immediate side-effect includes shivering and nausea (think more common among asians). My friend had backaches during rainy days n when she carries heavy stuff. Of cos, the effect differs fr person to person. However during class, we learn that there is almost zero long term side effects to epidural.

Juzyounme,
Do you walk around alot? Do you stand very often? If possible try to get as much rest as possible. Stop all housework chores, carrying heavy stuff, etc. Concentrate on resting - sitting down more often and most importantly relax...

Does your tummy feel tight all the time? If yes, may mean u having contractions - may want to go see ur gynae. I usually get very tight tummy in the evenings aft a stressful day at work. Aft I relax and pong pong for the day, it will go away.

jowinbaby, so lucky!

phyl, usually if vomit or napkins, should rinse 1st.. if not may not be 100% clean even w/ machine..

jazlyn, MIL's superstitious rule loh.. handwashing (done by maid) already damage some of my #1's clothes.. when he wears them, he'll reveal his "sexy" shoulder.. haha..

Paige is a very nice name.. i like also.. but am having boy-boy again..

wow! so many of you start to wash baby's clothings... mine still with price tag and in those cloth boxes. think i can start buying ziplock bags and start washing the clothes liao...

luckily my mum is doing the washing since my parents are staying wi me. she has actually wash some clothings passed down by my sis.

me 26w now, 14w more...... my friends are all betting on my delivery date liao. pop after 37w is not consider as premature liao rite?

Hi Dee
Ok la.. making use of mum's maid.. tat why partly also choose to shift back to mummy place..Unless, the maid is going back, then HB or me have to do it lor.. can't expect mum to wash for baby.. she is already doing all the cooking etc..

But like wat u said, maid wash perhaps will spoilt some of the clothings lor...Give n take already

Mimi
Dun worry. u are not the only one.. my baby clothings n stuffs are still all untaken out.. still in the original paper bags when i bought them.. hahaha!!!

Mimi,
37 wks considered full term... cos bb's lungs will be fully developed and won't need NICU!
Tat's why sm docs induce bb's aft 37 wks when they find bb growing too big for mother to hv natural delivery!

Adelchia,
come to think of it, if bb is too big by 37 weeks. Dr Tseng won't even consider inducing? *Hmmm*

jowin, haha... i think i will ask my mum to start washing only after i settle the cabinet / toyogo drawer... cos havent decide which one to get.

snowymum, 37 weeks consider as full term? if after 37 weeks baby still dun wan to come out? btw, our EDD is based on 37 or 40 weeks?

Thanks Kristal and Jazlyn...my hubby like travis and i like Jake...so in the end with 2 names....

Think Paige is nice name...can ask for votes here...now am thinking about the chinese name...my mum says dont have to let any shifu calculate...just name our own...

Washing baby clothings
Phyl
Don't use Clorex on the baby clothings, it will irriate their delicate skin
I'm using Pigeon Baby Laundry detergent + Kodomo softener for my baby's clothings. No hand wash for me, all machine and later in the dryer to kill off whatever germs or bacteria that is present

Kristalangel
We are putting the Bugaboo bee for hold now since we got that free stroller from purchasing the cot
will see how it goes with that stroller first. Frankly, i still like the Bugaboo Bee (Yellow) :p

juzyounme: for your cramps, did the MO said its due to what reason? Cos when u are hook up to the machine, it actually monitor your contraction.
Sometimes pain is due to expansion of womb, this is what my gynae told me.

fabbie: For me, i be doing confinement at my mum's house. While my hubby will continue stay at our own flat, cos heard that a house cannot leave vacant for too long, else will hv 'visitors'. As for baby's full month celebration, that one will be most likely at my own house, cos hubby already not happy when i insisted doing confinement at my mum's house, haha

Heard that during confinement cannot touch water. So how to brush teeth and wash face? :p

My washing machine can only use low studs washing powder, is there's any baby laundry washing powder with low studs?

Mimi,
The placenta can support the bb in our tummys for 40 wks (plus a bit). So speaking, gynaes will count our EDD at 40 wks. Most woman carry bb's plus minus for abt 40 wks. But if early (i.e. 37 weeks onwards), bb very unlikely to hv survival problems lor.

However, bb born b4 37 wks are considered premmies (due to inadequate lung development).

Lavendery
Oh.. but most of us gals needs to be in our mum's house wor. if not let MIL do the job helping us. abit peiseh too wor. hehe okai. so ya baby one month will be celebrating at your own house liao huh?

But didn't hear anyone saying that baby 1 month must celebrate at the house there first then can go out hor? cus i wan to make sure. so that baby will be fine =)

confinement if dun brush teeth I RATHER DIE! haha. i think brush teeth aand face can ba. is just that bathing will affect our body bones will be aching here and there.

Sleep in the aircon room more often and blow fans. u wont feel sweaty or sticky de. heheh

LuthAdel ..

sell that free stroller and get the Bee!! LOL!

I just bought my Buzz but still thinking of getting the Bee or the Phil and Ted double stroller ... lol.

Hubby thinks I'm insane and cannot understand my obsession with strollers.

Kristalangel
hahaha, I wanted to do that but HB said lets try that stroller first and if Baby hates it, we will sell that and get the Bee!! I find that current stroller pretty heavy and bulky, not something I would like to bring around when i'm alone. Anyway, we bought the Baby Bjorn carrier, so will use that until BB gets too heavy

Adel, i dun use chlorox for clothes.. just use it for sanatizing.. and killing germs and washing my corridor.. hehe.. my washing machine guy told me that its good to occasionally let the washing machine wash an empty load.. i do that abt once every 2 months.. so i will select warm water and use 2 capful of cholorox..

dee - aiyo. whoever tell me cannot use washing machine, i will tell the pax to wash for me. ;P

Mimi - no worries, pass to ur fren. i will next check out possibility on my husband's colleague.

Mummy 30 - yup, i'm reluctant to spend anymore time & $ to see gynae this mth.

Snowger - tummy not really tight. i wish i can stop doing household chores, but nobody will help me to wash dishes, hang laundry, mop floor, blah blah... i'm not really on my feet most of the times at work, but i tend to have to carry heavy stuff, be it my own stuff or my boss one...

Adel, honestly i also think the stoller we got a little difficult to bring ard.. i definitely will be bringing baby from yishun to thomson to find his daddy.. so i think i will stick to a sling first.. even taking taxis is quite challenging coz like what your hubby said when we were at Randy's place.. its not 1 hand operated.. i very tempted to get the Maxi Cosi thing.. dunno what it is la.. but i think falls together in the same category as a buzz or so.. but.. hmm.. not very worth it also coz i got no car and baby outgrows very quickly..

iemik0
oh is like that ah? i didnt know.. hmmm so strict huh.

Btw. i realise my breast below having this beat, quite loud that i can feel it. And its not baby confirm. is only when im sitting down. when im lying down dun have, you gals have?

anyone can revert me about, is it a MUST? to celebrate 1 month old in the house whoever the baby is brought from hospital?

fabbie - i really never hear of such. we intend to ask my husband's aunt to book her function rm which should be foc, and we staggered timing for both his paternal & maternal sides & frens. will order buffet n full mth packs to give to whomever coming...

HI phyl n Luthadel
haha. tat stroller is free ma.. cannot expect much lor.. indeed its really heavy...I also intend to see how baby's reaction of the free stroller b4 buying a new stroller.

Hi fabbie
U can bring bb out even b4 1st month such as going to hospital for jab etc.. So its really flexible. I thought 1st month just avoid going shopping, restaurant etc...

As for me, i do not know which to celebrate with 1st.. in laws side or my own side 1st.. If my own side 1st, i would definitely invite my inlaws n SIL to join us 1st.. then subsequently invite HB relatives another day at my in law house.. I very stingy.. dun like ppl to mess my own house unless i m sure someone will help me to clean up my house.. So will hold it at my mum place n in law place.. Unless someone get me a condo function room for me to invite both side with staggered time. =P

Hi Juz
Friends, i dun wan to disturb.. A few relatives stay in bungalow .. worst.. only garden.. no function room
Only one relatives at Dairy Farm area.. too far for us.

Hi Juzyounme,
Ok will stick ard longer to wait 4u. In fact, last Sunday I was there all the way. Hehehe checked out several makan places at a go. HB skipped RT and kept me company to pig out!!! Last stop was dinner at Sticky Rice (the interchange lvl if I recall correctly) - Yum!!!

Meredith,
I have one extra set of Mrs Wong's books but its not the latest print. I can lend it to you but I would need it back next time (no hurry of cos).

Btw, I bought my front open PJ dress from AMK last Sunday for my big day @ $6!! Think its quite a steal yeah!!

Snowger,
I dunno lei, maybe must ask Dr Tseng what happens if bb is too big. Maybe what he means by "no induce" is provided bb is ok. If too big or in danger, i think most likely will have to induce.... i'll check w him when i see him on the 27th...

Water n confinement
If cannot touch water, then how we bath bb?

Ikeike,
Wah, $6 is so cheap! i bought during the JL 20% sale, $12.70 after discount... and i tot tt was cheap.. hahaha