(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

All the bills from Taka Baby Fair purchases came liao..next mth hv to eat grass liao..

Lately not much appetite.. my weight seems to be at the 60kg loom onie..not going up.. nor not going down..hopefully baby is growing though. I din hv dinner last nite cos i've got heartburn after lunch..really affect my appetite and not mention sleep. But I got so worried that baby will be hungry, i woke up at 5am to make myself a cup of milo..hahaha

Phyl..gymboree got additional disc..wanna spree?

Can check u all if u know how to "bu" during confinement if have c-sect? what can/cannot eat? Cos i'm consisdering c-sect as v afraid of pain, but some ppl said like tt v difficult to "bu" le...sigh....so headache

if by nature birth, can we hv epidual once we feel pain and all the way till deliver? is there limit on number of hours tt the epidual will last?

meilik & santorini
hmm. i yet to tink of wat to wear yet. onli tot of my noti boi's outfit. haha. mi tink wear white pants n white/green top ba. hehe.

meilik
ur child is model for cord life? =)

jappooh, hope i can be same as u. natural delivery w/o epi. so must really eat full full before admitting to hospital. but i think hor we sure panic and rush to hospital if my water bag burst, or see red, or pain...

phyl, i have also registered for the 'Baby's Coming' Talk. the talk is so long, from 12pm to 6pm but i think i will leave after the breastfeeding talk. haha....

emeraldbride, u organising gymboree spree? can i join? wat's the website?

xiaohwa, yup epi will only last for a few hours. i think my friend had 2 jabs of epi before she deliver cos she dilate very slow.

iemik0 - Yeah. Model for cordlife and for the baby massage. Have to see how he behaves tomorrow. Have been doing for Mrs WOng and cordlife for the past 1½ years.

iemik0 & santorini: can call my mobile when u are there. i can MSN u my mobile.

Meilik

yes, will call you when i'm there....so cute your baby is the model....heard from Mrs Wong that there will be a few babies on stage when she demonstrates the massage tomolo...didnt know one of them your son...

see you tomorrow then....

Just wondering, for those who are working, are you all intending to work till the day u give birth? Or taking leave before that?

Phyl
I already registered with my HB for the talk.. hahaha.. i post this link tat day ma

Bo lang reply me post here of going... so sad...

Hi Adelchia
I wish to work till the day i give birth..just hope waterbag dun burst in office.. haha!!! If can la.. if gynae wan me to rest, also no choice...BTW, i already told HR tat i be going back after my 3rd month.. 4th month will be flex, every monday off day.. See what HR n GM approve anot...My boss said i cannot take block leave like one full week for my 4th month...

Hi Emeraldbride
Now for certain items, gymboree has additional 20% off...Heng ah. the items i bought, no additional 20% off, if not i sure flip!! haha!!

Hi Adel

I intend to take leave (either AL/MC) 1-2 week b4 my EDD....hee hee. C if my doctor can give my HL la...then better

Jowinbaby,
I also wanna work till give birth, coz take leave liao also not guarantee tt bb will come out early. End up wasting the ML. Only worry is waterbag burst in office lor, same concern as you. Then all my barang is at home, unless pack another set put in office, so troublesome...
I'll be spliting my 4th mth into half days.... intend to work for a few mths half days.....

Xiaohwa,
Just wondering, what's the diff betwn HL and MC? Coz i know for my coy, any MC tt is taken 1 mth before giving birth is considered as ML. Dunno if treatment of HL is the same as MC....

luvudeepdeep,
No leh. me also in oil n gas MNC. but hor.. pay ok oni, benefit.. haha..i can oni claim my own medical fee n oni a small amount per claim..expate has soooooooooo much better benefit than us. we locals dun worth $$..

mum2ndx,

maybe ur expectation is high.. hihi! last time i always want to go in oil n gas company but no experience in that field, i was previously in electronic industry...

bought too many sets of NB cloth so wanna to let go some see who interested. Carter brand, size new born,cotton material...very very nice n soft!!!

1708080.jpg

S$8
1708081.jpg

S$8.50
1708082.jpg

S$10.50

xiaohwa,
During the natural delivery of my #1, I asked for epi right after I was admitted into delivery suite, & all the way ... until I'm ready to push, then stopped epi. So painless most of the time.. hehe

Jappooh,
wah, you managed to keep to a low wt gain! for me, I've put on about 6kg & bb is 680g at 24wks, gynae says wt is above avg. Compared to my #1, which I put on ~3kg after 6mths, this time can't seem to hold the record anymore...
bb is in head down position now, hope bb stays that way til birth.

luvudeepdeep,
I had epi for my delivery of #1 right from the start, and gynae allows me to hv a very light meal & the nurse gave me glucolin to drink for strength.

Justyounme,
please please, seriously reconsider the idea of giving up your baby for adoption. You wouldn't want to regret after that, right... When you deliver, the moment you see bb & hold bb in your arms, there'll be a feeling of wanting to protect this little life that you bring to this world... it's maternal instinct, afterall bb has been in your womb for so many mths. Bb is a part of you!
Yes, agree that $ is always a sensitive issue, but have faith that you'll be able to overcome it eventually. Your bb will be your source of strength.. because of bb, you now have a greater purpose in life!
Btw you can save a bit here & there by breastfeeding, using cloth diapers (like what some mummy mentioned earlier), ask for hand-me-downs for bb clothings, pram, etc
Hope you stay positive, okie
and hope your bb stays with you

i also hav my epi from right start ler (coz i'm very scare of pain), even before the contraction started, and they told me if i eat will vommit due to side effect wor... so this time die die must hav a goood meal b4 go to hospital....

Hi Adelchia
I believe, our HB will have to rush home for the bag.. no need to pack 2 sets la...

Only no time to bathe clean clean b4 we admitted to hospital if so suay, waterbag burst in office.. How embarrassed...

My case, if i gonna take half day instead of full day, i will get to work till 3-4pm cos my tasks endless so very not worth.. So might as well "Missing in action" 1 full day...

Morning ladies..

scarlet n luvudeepdeep, I also asked for epi once admitted liao. So painless for me too. In fact, I dun reali knw hw contractions is like!

But most of the mummies here are very strong, they wil request w/o epi.

phyl...who you going with for the baby's coming talk??i think i will be going alone...

you all wanna work till give birth?me already plan to take 2 weeks before my EDD, start of Dec1st will be on ML for 16 weeks...!!

when to stop work
I will clear my remaining annual leave (I have about 5 days remaining, but my company doesn't allow us to carry over our leave till next year) and then probably start my maternity leave at 38W. My gynae thinks that I will deliver early, before 40W, that's why I'm going to start early. But I will also consult her nearer the time about when she thinks I will pop, and then reconsider my decision about when to start ML, if necessary.

I don't want to work until the last day. I would like to take a few days to rest before giving birth. Don't want to be so tired until I don't have strength to push in the delivery ward.

maternity leave
I've already agreed with my boss that I won't take all 4 months at once. Will probably take 2.5 months at one shot and then space out the rest by taking 2-3 days off each week. I think I will leave this to be flexible, rather than fixing which days I'm off, depending on whether I have meetings that day, or if bb needs to see doctor, etc.

Hi jowin and Phyl,
I have also registered for the talk with my hubby
Hope to see you all there that day

But the talk quite long hor..12-6pm. Don't think I can sit that long leh. Think my backside will ache. Maybe I will skip the last one..

JowinBB, Phyl and Ivy:
me and Xuelyn going too.. think we response 2 days ago ba... this thread is moving so fast, mebbe dats y our posting got missed. I can recognise JowinBB and Phyl for sure, but dun knw how to identify Xuelyn and Ivy. Nvm lar, my HB will be wearing LFC jersey, so if u2 manage to see me beside my HB, just intro yrself to me lar =)

Delivery:
me actually try not to think of dat topic now... me ultra scared of pain one, so birth pain is the last thing on my mind currently. jus hope dat i will stay saint and dun say anything hurting words to BB during the process... hee...

Fong2:
yr EDD oso 7 Dec rite? hee... me delivering at Mt A, so mebbe our BB will have the same bdae ;D

For those of u tt have epidual right from the start b4 contraction, how long its take for BB to be delivered? the Epidual can last for how long? If really go for natural, then i will choose tt too, cos i also v v afraid of pain...haha

Carmen - Jowin & Phyl is going for another bb talk on 27 sept at Mandarin Hotel not this coming saturday's. R u going for the talk on 27th Sept too? Me still thinking abt it. I've been reading the birth stories of Aug & Sep 08 mums, just to get myself mentally prepared of wat may happen on the day of my delivery. Ya, maybe our bb will be born on the same day.

Hi echo
I wish for that flexibility too for the 4th month.. If i dun fix, i might consider myself losing all the 4th month maternity leaves.. There are endless tasks as i m one man show.. everytime apply leaves, always have to cancel in the end... sob sob...

Hi Ivy
I prefer to bring over my leaves to 2009 if i can... unless gynae ask me to REST... hee hee

Hi carmen
oh.. got post ah.. ya lor.. miss out alot of posting..
paiseh.. See u tat day...

Its really a long talk but then just go there see how, too tired, go off.. i wan to see wat refreshment to eat ma.. hahaha!!!!

Cordlife Baby Talk,
anybody know which sector wil the cord blood banking be? i have very tight schedule tomorrow so impossible for me to stay thru out.. if it's not the 1st topic then i wil not attend liao.

Hello Girls
I'm so busy these few days and will be for the next couple of weeks. Super lots of search work to do.

What talk is tat tomorrow?

mum2ndx: program schedule according to Louisa

1) Talk on cord blood banking
2) Effective baby handling tips & live baby masage
===Break===
3) Guide to successful pregnancy
4) Pain relief for easy labour
5) Give your child the best protection from day 1

I rang the MOM officer. Company is to treat Maternity Leave and Hospitalisation leave as seperate kind of leave.

If any Dr have given a patient hospitalisation leave nearer to expected EDD, it cannot be taken it as start of Maternity leave.

We can request from our Drs to write a letter to the companies and state that when your maternity starts and hospitalisation leave was required for preggies to rest before the EDD.

Hope it helps.

Ladies, thanks for the encouragement & advice. Didn't have time to reply yest coz boss in & want me to rush a powerpt.

a general reply to the questions/advices is:

- yes, 1st pregnancy, unplanned. actually no intention to have any kids lifelong. married at 23 three yrs ago. that time my husband still serving NS with $550 per mth allowance. we got a flat at same yr. v simple wedding, v simple home with lots of furniture being pass-down.

- i have did my best to recruit hand-me-overs and buy 2nd hand stuff for the baby. some of you may have seen me post in other threads of the forum seeking for items.

- since my husband refuses to shop with me to buy baby items, i have sent a list of things needed to my MIL & SIL. They have bought quite a lot of things. My in-laws are daring to spend type, that explains why my husband spent all his $ away n still on loan with me. Some of his relatives already passed hand-me-overs.

- Yes, will try to use cloth diapers... and try supermarket brand diapers... and if i can breastfeed, i will get a 2nd hand pump so as to express when i'm back at work.

- i did tell my husband if cannot afford, then do away with confinement lady. he insisted on having one, coz he is v sure i can't cope alone. We stay by our own now. I'm not in contact with my own family, so no mother to help in confinement or babysit when i'm back to work.

- as for my MIL, we can't expect her to help in confinement or babysit. how to expect when she knows her son is not saving at all and straight away she booked a malaysian CL saying sure need CL... she suggested that she can help by leaving kid with her, in the day she will bring to a babysitter & night she can bring back to her home. and we visit go to her home to look at baby. we have no car, to travel from work - woodlands & tuas to her home in bishan; and travel fr her home in bishan to marsiling will take up a lot of time. like that must as well, i hire a babysitter or infant care near my place. i also don't want just to bring the baby back only during weekends. anyway, my MIL doesn't know how to bathe babies. Her two kids are outsourced to caregiver till they are in pri sch.

- anyway, my MIL does know her son doesn't save. She did nag... but i think her household also not good in managing $. They have reminders (or threats) that utilties will be cut off coz of non-payment. They got a big flat which mthly installment is about $1K. They just don't switch off lights, fan, etc when nobody at home. They like to go shopping & buy a lot of cute/expensive things and willing to spend on styling themselves. well, my MIL is 49yrs old... so still kind of young & stylo-milo.

- my husband doesn't want any maid in our house. after seeing how problematic my boss' maids can be. i also scared to leave a maid at home with a baby.

- i have no extra room to rent out. and my husband doesn't want any outsider to stay in our house.

- thanks for sharing ur growing up experience. i grew up in a family of 4, my father is sole breadwinner earning gross pay of about $1.7K. that's why i never quite understand why my husband of gross pay of near $2K spend every cent, cannot save & owns me $$$. the baby isn't born yet!

- i have talked to my husband about $. if he doesn't want to save on his own, he can pass me some $. but 1stly he refuses to part his $$$ with me and also didn't want to account how his mthly expenses. he refuses counselling or mediator as well.

- i spoke to my husband about placing baby for adoption. anyway, he refuses for this option. of coz not all adoption families are good, nevertheless majority really yearn to have a kid (not like us) and usually of better financial status and working background, so they are able to give better stuff. from the earlier months till now, i'm always unsure whether to keep the child. earlier on, my husband also not ensure in keeping the kid until i spend $900 to test out my DNA & genes. coz i got an intellectually-disabled brother & two cousins also like that. of coz we are both worried about that.

- i'm not v sure that having a baby will make him change his way to save n contribute for family. at least having a wife and own house doesn't quite change the thinking.

- i think i have a split personally. you are right to say i develop some chemistry with baby. i have done preparation for baby's arrival - reading, childbirth class, getting/begging stuff. but on the hand, having a v unhappy childhood & not so happy w husband, have left me with zero confidence how the child is going to grow up in this family. no idea how to love the baby, not much of concept on how to do that. pple always say joyful in pregnancy, i don't feel that. pple say excited with baby's arrival, i don't feel that. when i think of how to bring up a kid for next 20yrs or so, i feel miserable. i think i have poor attitude - i see kids as burden n trouble, instead of gift and joy. i v scare of other pple's kids.

Jazlyn - a diaper bag can only put diapers or more stuff? i'm not getting one, just curious.

iemik0 - i see. so it's true that from now onwards, if we need to see a Dr and no appt, we should go to KKH delivery suite (the one beside ADC) straight, instead of going to 24hrs women clinic at Basement?

mum2ndx - like that eh, i think i will have a good meal before admitting myself in.

Jappooh - how come the nurse push u into delivery ward when it's just 3-4cm? is ur contraction v hard & fast?

AdelChia - my EDD is 23 Dec. taking maternity leave fr 22 Dec. but i have a feeling may popped earlier. coz always have cramps at cervix area.

juzyounme,

you're expecting a girl or a boy? What other stuff do you need? I would be happy to help you out if I can with any extra stuff or hand me downs that I have ..

who is going for the talk tomorrow??still dont know if i wanna go for the talk a not...who is going for the baby's coming talk?

bubblepearl
sure ting =) pm u my contact

juzyounme
yipe. go straight to delivery suite. more dan 6mths hav to go there for monitoring one.

Fong2:
no leh... think i need a break on 27 Sep for myself and HB. These few weeks super tight with visitng my FIL, going for class and clearing BB stuff. So i will give the Shichida talk a miss this time ba.

Juzyounme:
think u have ans most of the questions yrself, i think it's tough for u as yr HB has not shown any sign of change. I gather if im in yr position, i will be juz as helpless and negative too. im blessed with a few good frens who are very proactive in finding hand-me-down for me (like breast pump, BB clothes, etc) and giving me lots of encouragement. But of cos i knw in the end, i have to reply on myself as God helps those who help themselves.

Not sure if this sounds good but if yr part time studies allows u to take a break, you may want to halt for a semester after Nov exam, wait after BB arrives and is ard 6mths old, then u continue? if not, it may be very tough for u to juggle werk, studies and BB concurrently. But trust me, after u manage to pull thru this difficult period, nothing can daunt u in future! =)