(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Ivy, yes I have been followed up by a gynae here and made all the necessary arrangment. Just cant wait to be there.I missed singapore too much.

Regarding combi stroller. What do you mean by stable? I used to have one for my 1st son and it broke when someone fell on it accidentally while he was walking backwards. When the man fell on it, he pinned down the stroller with my son in it from the side and that broke the stoller at the join and it was beyond repair. Fortunately nothing happened to my son. The combi stroller I had was the old type dont know if the new type are more robust.

umlogmann..is it sturdy to use?is the stroller safe to use other than the man falling on it and breaking it. Really don noe what choice to make...combi or capella...but the weight difference so really a lot..near double..

need advice....

is anyone interested in getting combi strollers together...i trying to ask for a better price but the person is asking me how many i am ordering. So if anyone interested please PM me. Thanks!!

Hi lilee, snowger an jowin,

The soy products thingy affects the male more due to female hormones.....so if you are having a baby ger....should be acceptable....but again loh, must moderate....

and it's true that if you crave for soya bean stuff, better drink soya milk rather than eat Tou Hua coz of the gelo substance.

Speaking of those baby strollers, not going to get one at the moment, think it's best to wait till baby shower, see if there's anyone giving it foc or vouchers, then can utilize...

and i also find strollers quite heavy, so dunno should get it or not, as i'm thinking if i'm taking my BB out for a walk all by myself, might just put BB in the Babybjorn baby carrier, then carry a backpack to put all the baby stuffs...ha

For breast pump, recommendations from a few of my frenz is Ameda as it is a dual pump which saves time, less exp than medela pis....and not so noisy....so better deal

And my fren recommends this shopbug.com to get pigeon wipes & etc at cheaper price....outside selling about $9.30 to $10.10, i saw from that website, think only $8++....but no idea if there's any delivery charge.

hi Ivy,
oohh icic...ok then will check out the quality of the baby clothes in bK before getting..haiz, i still kept waiting to go BK & get..thought will be cheaper;p

anyway thanks for the feedback on baby cot.

hi mummies, any more advise on baby cots VS Playpen?

pastillies, i bought capella s705. both me and hubby like the reversible turn handle, the leg rest, the fully covered cover, etc. we dun find it really heavy and it's affordable. my sis also asked me not to buy combi cos of it's lightweight and might not be very stable.

i went to isetan scotts Gap sale again yesterday and bought 2 more tops for my boy boy. stocks are getting lesser as compared to fri. quite worth cos of the 60% discount.

am going to buy the 6pcs bedding set (mickey mouse) from Aussino later!

i am considering between capella and combi...think will be going out todAY and trying the strollers again...but are you able to carry the capella if we mommies go out alone? not too heavy?

aussino having sales??

Morning Ladies

Ivy Tan
Yes, my nick is a combo of my HB's and my name

Baby's weight
It all depends on yours & your HB's build as well. If you are both tall, naturally your baby will be taller and bigger (heavier).

For me, I'm 1.64m & my HB 1.78m so my boy is within the ideal growth chart. If my baby weighs as much a yours at 24wks, he will be considered large. At 23wks4days, my boy only weighs 559gm. If you have any concern, you should check with your gynae just to see if your boy is on the large side and what you can do.

Glucose test
Both my HB & my family have diabetes cases so I was rather worried if I'll be hit with gestational diabetes. So the results put my heart at ease
Dun worry too much. Just make sure you fast the night before your test.

Hi chrysalis
Yeah.. checked with gynae.. 1day 1 glass of soya milk will be fine..
Moderate and not drinking soya like taking plain water.. tats no good.. Tou Hua also moderate.. 1 week 1 bowl..

Yes, the soya do affect male fertility as i heard this from my TCM doc, when we went to see him...

As for the stroller, i m temporary using the free one when we bought the baby cot. Unless baby dun like this FOC stroller at all, we decided to bring baby to try out the stroller then

As for the bjorn carrier, its good but very expensive. Carrier can use from 2nd months onwards.. but then compare a carrier to a stroller.. stroller can use till baby quite big.. but carrier cannot.. till certain months, no more carrier for them.. unless u wan to use a sarong sling...

I did consider Ameda pump too.. Just tat i saw that FFY also selling PIS original at $419, while ameda is already $380.. I will get my pump after deliver bb...depend on my milk supply.. if no good, i definitely get PIS to boast the supply. If i have lots of milk, i think just normal electric pump will do... But definitely, getting a DUAL ELECTRICAL pump is my choice.. save time.

hi mimi,
my exact sentiments! i like the features of the capella S705, esp the longer leg rest & easy reverible handle

hee aiyah but u bought urs already, if not can combine orders togetther to get. so which color u got? i'm going to get the red one...i koe the pink one is so so so sweet! but mine baby boy, cant get pink so gotta get red- more netural.

Hi Ade, how's yr check up ytd? Did Dr Chan comment that yr bb legs are long? HEhe

When is yr EDD? Dr Chan asks me to get ready in mid Nov.

Hi 2nd Baby
Hahaha, as usual she said that my bb's leg is long and he was touching his butt during the scan until the last part, he shifted to hold his knee.

We were asked to confirm our room type yesterday so after discussion, we have decided to go for the normal 1 bedder. You? However, she did not mention anything about getting ready etc, perhaps next visit (when we do our 3d scan) she will let us know.

My edd is still 25/26Nov.

Ivy,
TMC, you?

Now that i know you, I would suggest you do a check with your gynae to see if your baby size is doing ok. Otherwise it may be tough on you when you deliver

i at KK-TPS. Gynae one mth ago did tell me the baby growth is fast and big ask me to cut down...but recent check she say everything is ok.

Have to monitor if can deliver normally...

Such a small world...what a coincidence to meet you here!! Hows your baby preparation??

Ivy
Hahah, small world indeed.

For me my bb's weight has been on the ideal since the beginning but for myself, i managed to maintain my weight since 24wks by cutting off rice and going on soupy stuff. I intend to continue the soupy and non-oily stuff so that I won't put on too much towards the last leg. I'll be entering my 3rd Trimester this coming tues and already i'm feeling the effect of the last trimester.

Hey, i've been catching up on the posts and some of you gals gained between 8-13kg at 26wks. Hmm.. Me only gained 5kg and my gynae keep telling me to watch my weight. Will ask her what's wrong with my weight gain

Ade, cos I was 3 wks plus early for my 1st preg so she commented to ask me be ready in mid Nov. Ya, I have told the nurse on the room. Staying in super delux room.

3D scan.. she didnt mention to me. In fact, I didnt kw she has the machine to do the 3D scan.

Fox Kids having 25% sale on new arrivals for UOB card holders. Very worth the buy. But sale started on Fri till Today.

Anyone signing with Rustic Nirvana for post natal massage?

pastillies, i bought the stroller at $235, through 'bulk purchase' in SMH too.... think we got a cheaper price before the supplier increase the price to $300+. i bought red colour, unisex colour cos mine is a boy.

mimi..and feedback on the stroller? i don noe to get capella or combi...do you find it too heavy if you were to go out on your own?

Pastillies, wat is BK? I bought majority of my stuff during the Takashimaya BB Fair and at Kiddy Palace.

For my case, I bought a playpen during the baby Fair at Expo since I wan portable and and move around. when baby grows bigger, I can remove the upper layer and let her sleep in the lower layer. Anyway, my mum said when baby is bigger should sleep at mattress.

I bought my stroller (Brand: Bon Bebe) during thr baby fair at Expo. The sales said for newborne up to 15 or 20kg. Not very sure is a good brand a not... I saw quite a number of ppl bought either Combi or Maclaren brand.

i bought the bean sprout pillow from taka baby fair at $12.90. It is said to keep the baby calm....think if you look at the BP forum will have someone selling..but more ex

Hi pastilles, you going to BKK too?
I just came back from there and still miss the shopping there
How many wks will you be?

Actually for baby clothes there are good quality ones. There is a shop at platinum mall selling the baby clothes at 199 baht. I feel the material is not bad. If you are buying for a girl..there are so many nice dresses over there. Too bad mine is a boy..nothing fanciful to get for him hehe.

Bobe towers also have wholesale baby clothes. Can check out ya

Fyi, if you happen to go to Central mall toysrus, you can get their breast pad 60 pc per box(buy 1 get 1 free) for SGD$8 plus and their baby wipes (buy 1 get 1 free too).

Pigeon long glass bottles at Siam paragon for $10.

ops ya i mean Bangkok.

Hi mimi, yup! i saw that Thread on the bulk purchase at $235, but too late when i saw it as was over already.
N like u mention they raising their prices so cant get back the $235 price

Yup i'm also going to get Red one (more unisex) though i really love the pink one (so sweet!)

hi Funshine, which Playpen u got? i cant decide still btw cot vs playpen. But am quite taken by the features of the Graco Playpen :vibrating mode + classical music+ nightlight + changing table.
hee ya, my colleague says when baby bigger, even if u want them to sleep inside cot they also dun wan, so she has no choice but to let them sleep on mattress (more roomy)

My MIL knows the beansprouts hawker in the market, so she got him to give her all the husks. Now the husks are all nicely dried, and we're planning to make out own pillows. Hee FOC!

Maybe can check if your market sprouts hawker can supply also? They're usually quite obliging.

if u have friends/ relatives going to BKK, ask them to help to buy the pigeon nursing pad.. My aunt went n helped me to get.. 90pcs in a box cost S$7.80..too bad her luggage quite full. only get me a box..My friend also ask me to stock these too if there are anyone going BKK...

Hi Meredith,
I will be 26wks by then.

where's Bobe tower??
ehh mine oso boy....ops nvm i'll go n "dig n dig" hopefully can find some nice baby boy clothes

wahh! seems like u really bought a lot of baby stuff fm Bangkok! haha cant wait for my turn...actually i plan to stock up on bras there..maternity bras , nursing bras, etc..

Hi spag.
ya.. my mum also help me to DIY the beansprout pillow.. but seem quite tough as she pick out all the bad ones n left the nice ones N sunning them in the sun again to prevent smell. hee hee... anyway, its AI Xin pillow for darling baby by grandma

Wow Meridith
Tats a good deal.. wat my aunt saw is only 90pcs at $7.80.. no buy one get one free

tempt me to go BKK .. hee hee

Hi pastilles,

Bobe towers or bobe market..it is near Prince Palace hotel. I am also not sure on the directions as I took taxi there.

yah I enjoy shopping over there so I bought alot of baby clothes there..Hooded towels, etc are quite cheap.. hee

Outside the bobe tower there is a aircon shop selling bra. I bought half dozen of nursing bra for $8 in total. I think inside bobe towers they sell it per pc too.

Btw maybe you want to get a doctor letter to certify you? Coz when I went at 24 wks the officer ask for my pregnancy stage. Maybe coz my tummy is abit big.

Hi jowinbaby,
Yeah, but I think only the pigeon breastpad, glass bottles and wipes are cheap..the sterilizer is 2x the price of what we can get in SG wor.
It seems BKK don;t carry alot of pigeon products ard leh..I search until my leg pain hee