(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

jowinbaby - nope u did not. i think u came from same point as Snowger, that's why i don't wish to explain further. we are taking about the same thing but not on same point. well, if it is really illegal, i think my HR manager should warn my boss. I will ask my HR manager again.

Snowger,
for my case yes. When i pump one side the other side leak. But i do not knw abt other ppl lar..Cos i can collect 30ml from the leak so i collected it on another empty bottle. If u are usually dual pump then no problem. I am using the avent manual pump loh.

Juzyounme,
for the ML just let your boss and HR decide. Legal anot they should answer for it cos is their suggestion.. So not to worry. If is illegal i think they will knw lar.. No worries..

Jappooh, snowger,
tell u all hor, when my MIL is still the main cargiver to my boy, I was so worked up cos when he was a few month old he dun 1 me to carry him at all!!! U know after a hard day at work, all i want is to carry my dear boy boy, then he rejected me!!!! me so fed up after a few incident, one fine day, he did the same to me, i cant take it anymore n shouted at my boy infront of my MIL, "u think who give birth to u har?"
ok, i know i was too worked up, and i still feel so pai say til now...my MIL also good la, when we bring him back on fri, she will tell him, "go home mus let mummy carry u know" BTW, every friday night was a nightmare when we try to bring him home, cos he always cry like nobody's business!!!!!! xian... but not now anymore!!! hee...

mum2ndx,
for me is diff cos my MIL stay in my hse and only go hm during weekend.. For me is usually once i am hm i take over so i think is a rountine for my boy so he is ok. ofcos sometime he will fuss abit here and there specailly when he is sick. I think kids will knw who is the mother loh. I was glad that during the 1st 3 mths i am the only one who can clam my boy down when he keep crying. I think is due to the breastmilk smell on my body.

There is once i have really sick and it a weekend. My hubby cant handle my boy i ask him to wear my tshirt and really after that my boy stop crying and sleep in my hubby arms..

Hi Juz
I see.. its ok.. ya.. like wat jappooh said. illegal anot.. HR will tell u la

Its up to every company policy too..

Hi snowger ah.
There is a cloth tat call Breastfeeding cover.. something like this.. where u can slot over ur head , cover urself n bb when u breastfeed.. saw some women did this at public.. not obsence cos not showing anything...

it's almost time to go home! =)

Tummy broke out in a bad rash yesterday, went to GP to get medicine. He prescribed some steroid cream which din help, in fact rash got worse... in the end went to gynae today. He say steroid cream only good for rashes due to allergies, gave me Vit C cream instead.... Bb is 700g at 23wks =), but i put on 8 kg already...

Snowger - haiz, nope, u didn't ask me to explain. just ignore me. i can try one meeting room & hang a sign outside saying "Pumping session in progress".

Jappooh - ok, will try ur method of looking at baby. My desk is in a hidden area, apart from my boss, nobody really come to my area, or even see me. I have never lunch out in this company before. none of colleagues lunch out too. usually called those uncles who helped to pack food for us.

Juzyounme,
oic..then maybe u can try..Cos mine is open.. Cant do that.. And my section major are man..

Adel,
me counting down to go hm. On leave tmr till next tue.. Nex wk sending my boy to cc. So worried cos i knw he will cry till very jialut one as he is super sticky. Hope i can survive his cry..

mum2ndx,
Tat sounds like my elder sis. I heard tat she screams n cry each time my mum try to bring her home on weekends... I oso scared bb will bcome so close to my MIL, i bcom less of a mum... :p

Jappooh,
I read if bb crys v frequently when sleeping alone, hanging ur clothes (esp those got stain stale breast milk) one at his cot will keep him quiet n he will feel safer... It's the smell bah... :p

Juz,
I hv same thinking as Jappooh n Jowinbb. Let ur HR worry if correct or wrong!

Jowinbb,
Hehe... I dun mind bf bb in public (erhm ignoring stares fr those "hum-sud" ah peks). Will u be getting one? Nowadays I c most malls hv those baby rooms, few years back my nephew bf in the toilet!!! *gasp*

I will be more concious in office as pump will make sucking noises? Embarassing for me since I work in an overly "male-dominated" enviornment n if my cubicle is in the midst of them? *faintz*

O.O bf in public? siao.. i wont lor. NEVER! =P cus alot of uncle will look at you. even gals also look. example ME! hehee =X

Fabbie
Aiyo, cannot hear bb's hiccups lah. However, you can feel a rhthymic tapping, not those when they kick or push around but regular tapping and you can see the part of your tummy popping when they hiccup. Very cute

mimi,
thanks for sharing..so good got ppl gave seat for you..I dun have leh..so got to made extra effort to get seat for myself lor..

Ivy,
thanks for sharing too..btw, what baby cot u referring to? order from where huh? me havent buy yet..Im interested in the lobang..

Adelchia,
My tummy/hip area oso got lotss rashes marks due to my own stretching cos as its too itchy..Guess my homo change quite bad and now my skin, haiz..dun noe what to say..but I motivate myself that this is oso part of the beauty of pregnancy & I shd be proud of it..will tolerate the itchiness for another 3mths then can see my darling liao..I will persevere..

Snowger,
If at public, no la.. i go find baby room..or seclusive area.

But in office , if really no place, i consider the breastfeeding cover to BF at my desk lor... mine is half cubicle, behind my back is a huge wall.. I m still finding places to BF at my office... perhaps someone from RP can recommend me a place?????

Adelchia/xiao pooh,
U both hv rashes? Hmm... If u using Palmers, u may want to consider switching brands cos i read fr quite a few threads here tat sm mummies get rashes during late 2nd/3rd trim aft using it.
If u feel itchy, it's due to dryness, so just put more mosturiser or strech mark cream u hv. I would apply more Clarins Oil then shuang for the rest of the day.

Jowinbb,
Haha I won't oso unless I hv tat nice cloth thingie u mentioned jus now... Got those "Are u a "chicken"?" stare from "Chi-ko-peks" aft wearing a low top dress at chinatown some time back. Damn disgusted lor. Ur office dun hv rms (meeting/store)? I wonder if my office will hv aft reno.

My colleague like to annouce "I am going to be cow now", then she close the door n lock fr inside.

Hi snowger
meeting rooms has glass panels.. not enclosed.. storeroom too small lor... will see how also....I m trying to clear a storeroom empty , which use as a store of all the events items...Throw away all the unnecessary.. see if its possible anot

haha.. ur colleague so funny

Hi adelchia n xiao pooh
me ah siao one.. i apply clarins oil already then clarin stretchmark cream.. Both after one another... its good... but i still find one part little dry sometimes especially the sides.. apply n ok..

Juzyounme,
Nope, detailed scan was good. Suddenly just out of the blue started bleeding at 28wks. The placenta just shifted down..no explanation given. Infact, all along, i was told that the chance of that happening was rare so i guess i should have bought 4D but too distraught then to think about 4D. haha..
Its ok about 'mucus sucker'..i think that cotton buds are way better anyway

maternity leave
I will probably take 14wks at a go. Save the last 2wks for when my maid leaves and i need to be home to train new maid. However, if i manage to BF, then i will take the full 16wks cos expressing at work is going to be a nightmare. Will see how it goes..

My belly button popped a long time ago.

Initially, you will be shy to bf in public .. but I tell you it's no fun running to the family room everytime u need to breastfeed .. it's troublesome .. now, I dun care. Once you get the hang of bf-ing without lifting your whole top off, it's possible to be discreet and people won't know ...

I have breastfed in most places ...dun care. as long as people can't see my boobs, I have even breastfed in a foodcourt while I was eating my lunch ... multitask mah .. hahahah

I breastfed in Disneyworld, Florida too .. lol. Thing is, ang mohs have more sense .. they know you're breastfeeding, they dun stare ... not like those chikopek uncles here ..

but u seldom get those la .. especially in areas like orchard ... suntec ... vivo ... dun go to those heartland malls and try to breastfeed la .. sure get stared at.

Jo..don't cry ok!! Sometimes it is inevitable work is like tat..I also feel like crying sumtimes, but I always tell myself "I cant cry..will not cry". Sometimes being scolded by boss cannot be avoided, juz ignore it lor.

Kris, how are u? Becareful ya..better go see doctor!!

I don't hv to worry abt baby being close to MIL because baby will be taken care by childcare centre..hahah, mabbe closer to them and the other babies. Hehehe..

Juz came home from company dinner.. ate some crab.. yummy... one of my colleague told me that his wife dare not eat crab during pregnancy coz she scared that her bb will have itchy hand.. hehe...

jolnash, i went to isetan parkway bb fair this afternoon. i din managed to get anything from there.. my sis say isetan scott will have more things.. so i decided to go isetan scott next week.. hope not another disapointment trip again.

ivy, i went to pasir ris library to collect the born to read to bond package.. i think they shd be distributing the package in other library too...

Hello, I am a Dec mummy to be too (2nd round).

Would like to join in this thread and make more friends! :>

My Edd : 31 Dec 08
Doc : Doc Adelina Wong
Hospital : TMC

For mummies with Edd late Dec, have you gotten your confinement lady? Is it more expensive as it hit CNY?

I have not got anyone and I am really worry about the cost!

I am a Dec 1st time mummy, hope to join in this thread too!

EDD: 15-Dec-08
Doc: Dr Adrian
Hospital: TMC
Baby Gender: Girl

Just to check, whether you all will be buying any insurance for the baby. I am thinking of buying both the health insurance and the education plan for her.

Morning Gals,

Yippee, it's Fri, on leave tomorrow and Mon, going to enjoy a long weekend.

My belly button have not pop out yet.

If you ask me to BF in public, dun think I can. I just hope that this time round bb will latch on rather than me pumping the milk.

Jowin,

It's normal to be emotional now, me oso, just trying to "endure". Luckily my bosses quite understanding, they tell my customers not to give me too much stress now.;P But sometimes boss will still scold me one lah, inevitable, try to take it as a pinch of salt. "Fang4 Ping2 Chang2 Xin1" One ear in, one ear out, u will feel better tat way.

Welcome,
Smiley74, Yup, it's more expensive if your confinement near to/cross over CNY, it's by a fair bit, not little.

Rashes - Yah, I used the Palmer stretch mark cream. Stopped using after the rashes came out. Super itchy. Lucky the gynae gave me some medicine to help me slp better last nite and not so itchy. He prescribed a Buds for Mom Vit C Belly Cream to get rid of the rashes. Hopefully the red dots will clear soon. Maybe after tt I'll go and buy Clarins to use.... so sad, hope the rash dun become stretch mark.

Smiley - I also EDD late Dec. Got a confinement nanny already. She say if the confinement crosses into +/- 10 days of CNY, have to pay $800 more. I checked ard other nannies also, seems to be common practice tt charge more for CNY period.

Yesterday went to Isetan Scotts to look at the baby fair stuffs. Didn't buy much. The clothes were not cheap either, perhaps the only cheaper range was the '2 pcs for $6' range inside the wagon cart, but the clothes not nice, few varieties only.

Perhaps will buy playgym and Pigeon Thermal bag. Oh ya Metro is also having 20% storewide sales now.

Meantime, we will be buying education and hospitalisation plan for our baby. Hubby is an insurance agent, so he will know which company and plans are the best and most worthwhile to buy after doing all the comparisions, keke.

morning ladies! it's friday!

everywhere is having sale now! metro, OG...
john little having expo sale too.. but dun know if there is any good buys for baby stuffs

Morning Ladies
I feel super tired this morning and wish I've more leave to spare :S

AdelChia
Clarins is good, so far I've been using the oil (for night) and the cream (during the day) and it is very comfortable.

Tummy
This morning i got a shock when i look at myself sideways, my tummy is HUGE!!!!! From the front and back i dun really feel the bump being big but from the side....OMG!!! hahaha Geeze, next tues, i'll be in my 3rd Trimester, scarly thots :S

Samantha
How are you feeling? Baby ok? Do take care

Ladies, just to share with you on this info:

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

"Demo Pumps
The Group has demo pumps for nursing mothers or expectant mothers to try. For expectant mothers, you cannot try the pump directly on your breast but you can test it on your thigh area. Please note that any expressed breast milk will be discarded because of hygiene reasons.

The types of demo pumps available are:

Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump
Ameda Manual Pump
Avent Isis Manual Pump
Kaneson Manual Pump
Medela Manual Pump
Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump (single)
Medela Mini Electric Plus Breast Pump (dual)
Medela Pump In Style Advanced
NUK Manual Pump
Pigeon Manual Pump
Interested, please email [email protected] email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it or call our office at 6337 0508 to fix an appointment."

I contacted them via email for appointment. Understand that their office hours is: Mon & Wed 9am - 5pm, Fri 9am - 2pm. The operation manager replied saying that I can also come on Sat afternoon in October when they are running a workshop.

LuthAdel,

yeah, all fine .. thank goodness.

Gosh, yes .. I understand how u feel .. I have to get up early to drive my daughter to school everyday so even though I don't work .. there are still things and errands to be done ... very tiring now.

Halo all mummies, good am & so happy that its friday liao!!

Welcome Smiley74 & Gin Ping to this big family..I oso quite new here..juz joined 2 weeks ago..Very happy in this forum..

Was abt to ask anyone been to the Isetan BB Fair, saw some review like nothing much to buy ya..Im tinking of going down tonight, but hubby working late, so not sure if I shd proceed on my own or not..Scared if got buy stuff, no one help me to carry..troubled.

thanks lavendery & mimi for sharing on the Metro 20% storewide sale..Another option for me to shop at..

**LuthAdel, Jowinbaby & Snowger, do you all have any idea cos now in my case I have already stretch my skin till got marks & red dots liao..u tink if I then apply the Clarin Oil/Cream, will it help to diminish the marks or disappear??

morning all! yeah today is FRiday! ^____^

LuthAdel oh the tapping huh. i feel that. sometimes i feel my gerger like sratching me inside leh. is not a kick or a movement. is like can feel like lor little toes or little hands are moving inside. alittle sratching inside de. hehe .

xiao pooh can you ask phyl if she have the details of the cot...cos i did not save the thread link...she might have cos remembered that she is buying

today so lazy to work...took urgent leave.

Hi mommies & MTB. Sorry to interrupt, have some extra Lucas Papaw 25g ($10 inclu normal postage)& 75g ($19 inclu normal postage) available. Pls PM me if interested. Tks!!

About the seats at the mrt and busses.
I do encounter many times that there are good ppl, who give up seats to me, some students, uncles, ladies. Do appreciate them very much, even though I a bit pai seh to take up their seat.

But these few days, sigh... got 1 man mid age lah, he stands beside me at first, than got seat he purposely block my way to the seat, he walk slowly and take up the seat, after that pretend to sleep. Oh no! I just feel, too much lar this man! You take the seat is ok, dont purposely block my way to the seat mah! Haiyah! but its ok, just vent out my dissapointment only.

Hi Gin Ping (pipipapa),
I am also new in the forum.
I am also with Doc Adrian Tan (TMC) my EDD is Dec 6th.

wah..so many mummies w Doc Adrian...are most from SK one?

Xiao Pooh, u give me ur email address..i think i have the detail of the cot.

Mimi..i also have yet discuss w my boss abt ML..my HR ytd send out internal email to tell us that they are responding to the enhanced package that was announced by the gov this month...ask us to wait for the changes of the policy.

lunch time!

MRT seats - These few days got more ppl give up seats coz maybe tummy getting more obvious. But i feel the same as esther, quite paisei at times. There was once i was standing near a priority seat. 2 gals came in and saw me, then they started to stare at the guy who was sitting on the seat (but i think he din see them and din see me also)... then the two gals started to whisper loudly and point at me and point at the guy, shaking their heads... i was so paisei man.. in the end the guy saw me and let me sit down...

Yesterday after work, i took MRT. As usual the train was packed, there's one middle-age guy who seating slightly infront of me, he was rather kind, he gave up his seat to me despite that he was carrying a huge laptop.

Just as i was about to move to that seat, another lady who was standing beside me, she quickly moved and sat on that seat already.

I was like, huh?? Alamak, how come got such people in this world one, i'm almost approaching 6mths, still snatch my seat infront of everyone.. aiyo, not paisei one meh? Somemore its a middle-age lady, perhaps she never gone thru pregnancy bah?

Xiao Pooh
I think once the stretch marks are there, you can't get rid of it anymore. The clarins cream/oil can only help to lighten the appearance of your stretch marks.

lolx.. ya.. its so peiseh right. they offer us seats. haiz. sometimes i also very sianz to take mrt. cus hor. im thinking if i took their seat. and i take out my psp and watch my movie or play game will they think is not worth? will scold me anot. hahah

if i have like 5 stops more to go mrt. i wont take the seat. but if i have more than 10 i will lor.

lavendry,
I've encountered similar 'snatch seat' incident, and the one who snatched the empty seat near to me was a woman in her 40s. Really makes me wonder why women do that? Can't they sympathise with another women who's pregnant? Maybe women are more mean to their own gender??

AdelChia,
You brought a brand new Ameda lactaline dual pump? Was thinking of getting Ameda too.. btw what makes you decide on this?

Back from lunch...eat too full

Hi AdelChia (adel_gal)
Hehe..same same... feel pai seh.. but sometimes think back, only this time we got the previlege must cherish =)

Hi lavendery (lavendery)
Agree agree, I am also in 6th months. Obvious mah, dun tell me they think we overweight =) sigh sigh...

Hi bubble pearl (bubblepearl)
I think there are 2 doc same first name, 1 Adrian Tan, the other one is Adrian Wood.. ( I dont know how to spell).
I am with Adrian Tan (AJC clinic) at Thomson..

bubble pearl lolx. ya man.. station before them also peiseh. haha. if i take out my psp and play game or watch movie scare they will gossip say im taking it for granted lolx

Hi Bubble pearl,
Thanks so much for your help..me have pm you my email add liao..thanks

LuthAdel,
thanks for sharing..thought this will be a miracle oil/cream for me..

scarletgal,
i intend to bf even after going back to work, so have to get dual electric pump. My budget was max of $400, so was deciding between the medela mini electric plus and the ameda. But i read on some reviews tt the medela mini electric plus not meant for frequent and prolonged pumping. Also the medela website also says tt the mini electric is for occasional pumping. So i checked ard on reviews on the ameda. Seems quite reasonable and can sustain pumping for a few months w/o the motor spoiling.
So in the end bought the ameda. (din wanna spend too much so din consider the higher end medela pumps)

MRT seats - Haha, fabbie u take out psp or watch movie. I even too paisei to read my newspaper. Dun wanna appear too "take for granted"..

Xiao Pooh,
My sis told me she use a strech mark lightening cream that the dermatologist recommended. Mayb u can contact me n u go see him aft u give birth liao?

hi scarletgal,
I also bought the ameda pump coz highly recommended by my fren. She on both the ameda and medela pumps for me to hear, and the ameda one is only like 20% of the noise compared to medela! good if you intend to BF when you go bk to work.
Bought mine too quickly though. Robinson having 20% now, so it's only like $310, which is a very good deal! kicking myself now =S but you may wanna check it out =)