(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Hi scarletgal, me bought medela - Swing (Single pump). Cost $399, comes with 4 free milk storage bottles + 1 cooler bag + 1 purelan cream + 1 box of milk plastic storage bag (20pcs)..

Hee..hope I got milk supply after delivery..else waste $$..

scarletgal i didnt buy breast pump yet. cus i duno will i got milk anot. if no milk. buy breast pump also no use wor i guess.

Jappooh,
Luckily no more pain today. my friend say if no bleed dun have to see gynae.. Baby still kick actively inside.. thanks god! saw ur post regarding weight... R u still vomiting??

seem like most mummies are talking abt their weight now... for me, i lost arn 8 kg due to very serious morning sickness... killing me.. i recovered after 4th month.. now my weight is arn 2 kg bigger than my orginal weight mean i put on 10kg within 2 months... sign!!

sigh ..

I must tell you gals what happened today .. I slipped and fell on my bathroom floor this morning after my shower ... I didn't fall on my tummy but instead landed on my bum .. but quite hard ...

At first there was a slight pain in my lower tummy then it was fine .. a bit sore ... baby still kicking and moving .. no discharge and no bleeding ... but feel so angry that I was so careless !

haiya!

dear gals..
Paiseh, i start abt the weight topic.. i think we dun worry too much la ** although i m quite scare**... haha!!

We will all have healthy babies , which is the most impt...

Samantha,

Have to be real careful now, lucky nvr fall flat on ur tummy. Gals ,we have to b very careful now.

Today I just went to eat buffet for lunch, ate alot. International buffet. Guess will gain another 0.5kg liao, heehee...

hehe. tis seems interesting!

You will probably gain 6.8 kgs - 11.3 kgs during your pregnancy.

If you gained the average of the range above, this is where the weight would go (totals are rounded): You:
Uterus 0.6 kgs
Breasts 0.3 kgs
Blood 0.8 kgs
Water 1.0 kgs
Fat 2.1 kgs
Subtotal 4.8 kgs
Your baby:
Fetus 3.4 kgs
Placenta 0.4 kgs
Amniotic Fluid 0.5 kgs
Subtotal 4.3 kgs
Total 9.1 kgs

i've oreadi gained 8kg so far. tink i beta start controlling wat i eat. scare ltr hard to lose. oreadi having prob losing wt afta giving birth laz yr. pengz. =X

Sam, oh dear. Accident happens lah. Don't blame yourself. Hope no bruises and aches?

Aisah, I think I was a bit too enthusiastic when shopping for baby. My mum was so shocked when she went into the baby room...:p

I'm 10kg heavier now and baby is 660g. Gynae said baby will double in weight every month, so 660g should be ok lah....but 10kg for mummy is not ok. I look so puffed up now, by next year, can tie a string to my legs and use me as float during Chingay...

oh no.. i eat peanut butter bread every day also...

scarletgal, i bought the ameda lactaline dual electric pump....

kristalangel, glad to know that all is well. Next time be more careful. Today i also bent down to pick up something, then tummy became very pain..

Juzyounme,
I had bleeding and was diagnosed with placenta previa major. Condition where the placenta completely covers the cervix hence unable to deliver naturally. Fortunately for me, 2.5mths of bedrest made it move enough for me to deliver naturally.

Jowin,
Wow, thanks. Accdg to the link, i should gain btn 11.3-15.9kg! The same as the rest of you ladies. Hmm.. So far, gained 5kg (24wk) but why does my gynae keep telling me to watch my weight? Must ask her the next time i see her...

Sam,
Good thing all is ok

BF,
You ladies have other BF mummies in your office. For me..its a hugely male-dominated working environment. What BF room..? Ladies loo also sometimes a bit hard to find! Can forget about asking other ladies how they do it cos i seldom see other ladies, let alone someone who is pumping BM.. And don't let me start on our pantry..its such a mess, with lizards somemore.

kristalangel your next check up ask doc to double check for u. is better..

normally im in toliet i will look very carefully, cus i remember im not pregnant i also do slipped on the bath room.

hi Jowin, thanks for the feedback on TMH!

hi xiao_pooh, I'm also thinking of getting the Medela SWING pump. it's one of the more convenient electric pump rite? didnt koe pumps are so ex till i started checking them out.

hi emeraldbride, the salesgal show be hw the Medela Swing pump works..actually not as noisy as compared to other pumps leh..just a bit of running motor sound.

As for BF in office, i also tot my whole office not place to BF. MEeting rooms all got see thur glass panels, cant be blocking all with paper...toilet also the same, only 2 so not enuff. I cant be "hogging" the toilet... luckily I check with one colleague who just came back fm maternity & still expressing. she say no choice , have to use the storeroom.. not the cleaners store, just a small room where files are being kept...haiz. i think that might be the only place..

Hi Kris
oh dear.. be careful n take care..

Hi llig
yes.. exactly like u.. week 24 n gain 5kg... n gynae already keep me to watch my weight too...

I will be buying pump later. perhaps 3rd day after bb deliver.. will get my research ready and instruct HB where n wat to buy. I m buying later as i wan to depend on my milk supply.. if more, i buy cheaper one.. if no, i may need a very good pump to pump up the supply..

Luthadel, me met Mrs Wong at parentcraft yesterday.. she still remember me.. haha... asked me when i due.. and i said Dec.. she said Dec Xmas week she go holiday wor... i better dun deliver tat week.. haha .. if not she cannot help me with BF already... i told her.. " no la.. i deliver early Dec"... tats very nice of her
Then ask my bb "kuai Kuai" and be good to mummy.. deliver at early dec.. hee hee

thanks gals ... yes, spaghetti .. thank goodness no bruises .. I had nothing to break my fall cos my master bathroom is quite big so I hit the floor hard (plus I big and heavy some more .. made things worse) ... aarghhhh.

I've been moving around slowly today so I don't strain myself.

Hi fabbie,mimi, mum

Me also feel like gg for another holiday after giving birth. hee.But maybe some place relaxing..

Btw if you all intend to go bangkok must make a trip to Bobe towers. They have alot of wholesale baby clothes there. Platinum mall clothings are cheap but bobe tower clothings are even cheaper. 12 baby tops for $8 in total. I also bought 1/2 dozen of nursing bra for only SGD$8 in total.
So shiok..but its really hot there..

mum2x,
I also got quite worried when I heard about complications that can happen on the plane but lucky nothing happen and my gynae told me my placenta is posterior so it is safe for me to travel on air plane and also BKK only 2 hrs flight. The only thing is I feel very tiring after shopping for long hrs.

pastillies, ya I bought the swing at KKH Pharmacy..The promoter showed me all the Breast Pumps and strongly recommended me to get either Swing or Pump-In Style..I bought Swing cos its cheaper lah..Pump-In style cost around $600++ which I find it too ex liao..

Never get the mini-electri pump cos I heard not really that good. Esp the pump is made of plastic so can be painful. Whereas the Swing is made of fibre material and its really soft so will not hurt our breasts..

Now must eat lotsa fish so that can have milk supply ya..

morning ladies! nice weather to sleep....

kris, hope u are ok.... now we got to be extra careful.

meredith, where is bobe tower? never been there before. the nursing bras are so cheap!

xiao pooh, i bought a 2nd hand medela mini electric pump and change the funnel, membrane and valves. will invest in a better one if my bm flow is good.

met my HR director in the lift this morning and she commented that my tummy is small... she says that another HR gal's EDD is nov and her tummy is so big.

Kris.. be careful. Maybe you wanna get those non-slip mat for the shower. I am thinking of getting that.

Today moring raining heavily, on the way to mrt was walking REALLY SLOW, so scared i will slip.

Anybody's belly button has popped out yet?

Morning,

Heavy rain today, if only can sleep in. Traffic is terrible, late for work .

Yesterday in the middle of the nite, wake up feeling hungry, bb is kicking mummy, have to wake my HB up to make milo and ate some biscuits. Oh dear...so tired now.

scarletGal,
i used the avent manual pump when i have my 1st baby. Quite good just that very tired loh cos i pump abt 45mins during each session. But i lazy mum only pump 4x per day. Each time pump abt 350ml.

This time my sis pass me the avent manual pump again and my colleague will pass me her Medela mini-electic pump loh. Hope this time i still have as much milk as last time.

Quite a waste that i didnt bf longer cos i have quite good supply last time.

Gals u have to drink more fluid, take more fish and rest more for good supply. For the initial few days try to bf and pump as well though the amt might me very little. But frequent pump will send message to our brain that the baby dun haev enough milk and will produce more milk..

lilee,
now my vomit getting better liao. Just vomit once awhile. Just that i still cant take much food specailly during dinner. So i usually eat more during lunch..

Hi everyone, I went for my check up yesterday and doctor say baby is too big haha. She's 850 g and it's only 24 weeks. Anyone has same issue, haiz must not eat too much already...

fabbie - haha, i think we ladies have almost the same BMI before we are pregnant.

Gerry & Jappooh - i think i read somewhere in magazine about pregnant don't eat peanuts. i didn't eat peanut, except if it appears in nasi lemak. but recently i was given a peanut cream cracker which i find the peanut butter nice. so I eat lor... ;p I just given the peanut cream cracker & packet of peanut to our office china cleaner.

scarletGal - i will wait until the baby is born, see how's breastfeeding like, then see if i need to buy a pump. if i decided to just pump during maternity leave period, will just buy a manual one. but if i want to pump long-term, minimum 6mths, i will try get a 2nd hand electric pump. hmm, i haven't been studying which particular brand & model to buy... will check out some reviews.

kristalangel - all of us have to be v careful. read that pregnant women are v vulnerable to falls dur to shifting of gravity. heard one case that my boss' friend slipped in bathroom, landed on her tummy & skidded. the baby had head injury.

llig - i see... for ur previous pregnancy, did the detail scan already revealed that u have v low placenta or it was after that the position of placenta shifted way down? btw, i won't be getting the nose mucus sucker. bought Pigeon extra thin stem cotton buds.

Juzyounme, cannot eat peanuts har? recently i have been eating cashew nuts and peanut 'tang yuan' which i dun like previously. guess now got to cut down liao...

i also bought Pigeon extra thin stem cotton buds

hi Meredith,

ya where's Bobe tower?? I'm going Bangkok too in 2 wks time. haha i no matter what also want to travel at least once before i deliver! in fact my gynae is the one who encourgaes me to travel, says so that i will not regret in future

i already cancelled one Tokyo trip that was suppose to be in June as back then found out just pregnant & still not stable so cant go for holiday;p

my belly button also nv pop out yet leh...in fact seems like "sink inwards" to me leh...

btw, for my 16 weeks of maternity leave, my boss discussed with me to take the 1st 12 weeks first. if i'm ok to come back, then the company will pay me on top of what the government is giving me. if i really cannot come back, then she will ask the temp to stay another 1 mth. my husband & mother-in-law supported that, coz they said good mah, can get another 1 mth pay. for me, 3mths or 4mths also ok, of coz got another 1 mth to rot at home n sayang baby is good too... i think by then, we also quite dry n need more $$$.

mimizz - mine not popped out yet. But slight pain at the belly button.

jappooh/Kris - For initial start off, it is about 20-30ml combine or from each breast. Which day after birth did your milk supply kicked-in?

xiao_pooh- Is your Medala Swing's motor very loud?

Mimi - not that i can't eat peanuts. but just to play safe lah, they said peanuts can cause allergies to baby... even if still inside tummy. i think other nuts are fine.

the pumping time actually depend on individual. I have colleague that take only 10mins - pump using hand somemore. I need about 20 mins using electric pump.

morning all~! wah.. today keep sneezing all the way to work. i dun feel cold. but i keep sneezing.. Arghzzz. and i must keep kiap-ing my legs between in case i pee out! faints

i try to check out which essential oils unsuitable for pregnancy... seems like different sources said different things.
- i have been using camphor massage cream over my leg cramps area. now looks like i should not use?
- i have some bottles of essential oils for air purifier. looks like i have to skip clary sage & eucalyptus. wondering how about the rest.
- i think the body shop fragrance for candle burner should be ok to use?
- anyone good in this area to advise?

"Most aromatherapy guides use this caution for several essential oils. There is a lot of debate concerning this caution and I feel more research is needed. I do agree that caution should be used when using any herb while pregnant. However total avoidance of essential oils when pregnant is not necessary. The following is a list of essential oils commonly regarded as unsafe during pregnancy. Bitter almond, basil, clary sage, camphor, clove bud, eucalyptus, hyssop, sweet fennel, juniper berry, marjoram, myrrh, peppermint, rose geranium, rosemary, sage, and thyme. Inhalation of the above essential oils is probably not going to cause a serious reaction. Always check on the safety of any essential oil during pregnancy.

Nursing mothers will also want to exercise care that essential oils are not transferred to the baby when nursing."

meilik, ur belly button slight pain? maybe bcos of the stretch of our tummy.

Juzyounme, guess i need to 'play safe' by not eating peanuts too. your coy so gd to pay u that 1 mth of salary.... so far i havent talk to my project manager abt my ML. think will discuss wi him only sometime in oct.

juzyounme
when we are on maternity leave, we still get paid wat. Do you mean, you will get double pay if you go back to work on the 'fourth month'

Morning Ladies..

Went for check up ytd and bb is doing well. Every scan, gynae always say e same thing: bb legs are long. Haha.. Anyway bb is 822 g at 26 wks. Another long wait of 4 more wks to see her again.

Mei Lik,
first few say i latch my boy as well as pump but the first 3 days during pump nothiing comes out. From 4th day onwards i can pump at 60ml each time. Then slowly the supply increase..60ml i take abt 20mins loh. Is when supply comes in i took 45mins cos have to empty the breast if not the supply will goes down...

My 1st baby was on bf and formula for the 1st 3 days of birth. After that on total breastmilk till i am back to work.

morning ladies! finally i can post in the morining. Past 2 weeks very tied up at werk and can oni scan thru the postings here...

Morning traffic: for those who take buses or drive to werk, dun knw if u realise dat traffic recently has gotten from bad to worse! in fact, driving from yishun to my werkplace (near NUS), i took more than 1 hr! then going back home is just as horric! think everyone trying to siam ERP, so all took the smaller roads like me, last time oso nvr jam till so jia lat!

Kristalangel: goodness me! please be extra careful and take care. do see yr gynae if u do not feel comfy.

BF: i hope i have enuff BM too. for me, im lucky cos my company's lactation room is juz next to my cubicle! haha... so i can monitor when it is vacant and quickly go in (there are 4-5 BF mummies currently).

my fren just given birth at Mt A last week... a BB Boy, so cute.... hee... looking forward to see my Kasia in Dec... Mummies, kambate!

Adel: so good, u will get to see yr Byran 1st in Nov ;)

jappooh, eat quality food is more important than quantity.. i am trying to cut down junk like potato chips.... Dr oso advise not to eat too much mooncake.. that's all my favourite food... haiz

mooncake is very sweet... i tell myself not to eat any mooncake. think mooncake is high in carbo which will make us put on weight very easily

Linda Pasic...my baby boy also big...900 grams at around 24 weeks...

pigeon have a new electric pump..and it is said to be silent...arnd $300...think will be getting only after i give birth...see if milk flow is good...

anyone going for isetan baby fair today?

in the morning when i took the bus...it was so pack..no one gave their seat up..then the bus driver sudden brake and everyone nearly fell..i nearly fell..feel so bad...scared baby in shock..!!

my belly button is popping out..on the sides...

ya.. i went national library few days ago.. they are distributing free 'born to read to bond' package.. consisting: 1 heaight chart, 1 baby cd and 1 baby journal.... all babies born after jan 2007 are entilted to get 1 set each... i got one for my baby...
interested mummies can go and take alook...