(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

hey gals are u ah. anyone know kaki bukit one of the factory selling strollers? head is very famous for selling stroller in the factory. anyone happen to know the address that can post here?

hippo,

Yup I got the set, tot it was quite worth it. Pigeon also giving free wipes with every $80 spent. I wanted to get strollers but quite disappointed, the selection at the fair so-so. In the end went to Baby Kingdom to buy stroller and car seat. Wanted to get ameda breast pump but was going for $388 bundled with freezer bag and cd teaching you how to latch-on.

Today going to pop by robinsons to see if can get good deals =)

Mimi - was wondering if at 22wks still don't feel anything then how...

i will just use those $13 wrapping blanket for the baby. i still don't quite understand how they can tahan s'pore climate while being wrapped.

RED DATES...so i just get the milk sample from them for my baby then i will get the swaddle blanket?

Metro or baby fair better for us mummies to shop???thinking of getting playpen instead of cot...any playpen for sale at the fair?

which breast pump brand is good? anyone can recommend?

thanks sam for the address.. will go down this weekend ^___^

Ivy,

It's in my package when I rec'd it, so should have, mayb u can check with Dumex, they will call u when they rec'd ur online sample request. You have to register as member on their website.

hippo,

robinsons got 20% storewide again for this weekend, but some items not applicable for discount.. wanted to get breast pump but no discount...

I bought the book "bonding with your bump" hehe.. so happy... read for the weekend!! =)

bumped into carmen wor... Carmen ah, for adult chicken pox, ur scar is very nice liao wor! still pretty!

Avent ISIS UNO is having a better buy at the fair. today's ST say its $279 + bundle pack.. erm.. a few freebies i assume.. BHG is also selling that price with no freebies..

Sam, later i going to queue for TOTO.. haha.. buy at 8pm tonite!

Thanks for the info AdelChia.. will go down and take a look on monday..

Oh ya.. today got toto.. later must remember to buy.. see got baby luck anot.. hehe

Hi Fabbie,
I was at TMC for my detail scan and overheard the nurse recommending the nursing mom to buy Medela Pump-In-Style. but it's v. exp...$700+, she mentioned that the drawing of milk imitate the baby's sucking unlike Medela's single or swing pump..
I now sourcing for milk bottles, think will buy the wide neck evenflo bottle that prevents colic and B-free. its 4 bts at $55 at taka.... but dun know good or not.

Fabbie/ah bur,
There are two types of Medela Pump In Style (PIS). One is normal the other is PIS advance.

Can get cheaper Medela Pump In Style (PIS)/Advance fr First Few Years (FFY). Pumps r imported fr US and abt $200 cheaper than if u buy from dept stalls. They give adapators n warranty will be thru shop only.

There is a FFY outlet in Paragon n one in KKH. I may consider buying from FFY if dept store not offering any discounts/deals tis yr end.

any mummies can address my queries:

- how to sterilize milk bottles through "traditional" way? the pot method? should the water be full pot? boil water first then put bottles in for how long? how often to sterilise bottle? is it everytime u want to make milk or just once everyday?

- where to buy the red dye powder to make red eggs?

Juzyounme,
Red powder shld b able to get at baking stores/market dry goods stall! There r 2 types of red: Buy e "char siew" red/brighter one 4 a nice red! My aunty became lazy trying to hunt for the powder, she use those liq colouring (in bottles- mostly use in cakes or agar agar) tat can be bought from NTUC.

m on MC today. yest down with stomachache. i guess i must had too much cakes... greedy
will drop by taka baby fair over the weekend to look c wat to buy.

loveangel,
can PM me ur blog url? i oso very kpo to see what you bought.. Me just blew $400+ so now got to go easy on shopping.

Sam,
i was completely hopeless at BF my baby boy. He would suckle for sooo long, then when we thought he's done and tried formula just to make sure, he gulped down the formula :'( felt really low and hopeless.
Hoping that this time around things would somehow fall into place and i'll succeed.

Is SwaddleMe a brand or another type of blanket?

Ivy,
i would recommend getting cot instead. Once baby gets bigger (couple of months) and moves in sleep, the entire playpen is going to shake too and wake baby up. I had a playpen at my mil's place and each time my son moved in his sleep, the noise fm the playpen woke him..very tedious. Plus i think cot will last longer and easier to put babe in/out. Just sharing my 2-cents

Juzyounme,

Why not get a steriliser? They don't cost very much and use very little water. Plus the entire process takes around 8mins (depending on what brand you buy). Extra benefit is that you have a place to store all your bottles/teats..Neater..

yes, juzyounme,

I agree with LLIG, the problem of sterillizing the "traditional" way is that sometimes you forget about the bottles left in the water boliing and end up ruining them should they get melted .. the pot too ... and it's dangerous ..

Get either an electric sterillzer or those microwave ones ... they really last a long time ... My Avent microwave sterilizer takes just 4 mins to sterilize the bottles and teats.

Taka Baby Fair
We just came back from the fair and my goodness, what damage it caused to our wallets! hahah

Having said that, I must say that the fair is really worth going. Here some of the stuff that we have bought today:
1. 2 Britax Combi Car seat (at $199 each!!! Bought 1 for our car & 1 for my in-law's car)
2. Pigeon Sterilizer set that comes with food & milk warmer application.
3. Two different swaddle wraps (one with covered booties)
4. Baby Bjorn Air carrier (S$168)
5. Gaia baby toiletries (promotion buy 4 get 1 free)
6. A couple of hooded towel
7. A nice romper
8. Containers for milk powder, travel fork & spoons, multi food containers
9. Pigeon Adhesive disposable breast pads
And I cannot remember the rest liao :p

Ok for the amount we spent, we redeemed a free Little Tikes scooter & a mini chair.

hei hei.. i also got back from Taka.. total damage abt $230... bought the following:

1. Pigeon Steriliser set ($159)
2. SwaddleMe wrap ($23.60)
3. Munchkin container for milk powder ($7.10)
4. 3-set of Pigeon baby clothes ($19.80)
5. Pigeon breast milk storage ($14.10)

forgot to check what we can get for free, but nvr mind lar...
Jo, u were there as well? I tot I recognised you... u were the one with Isetan bag and loads of Taka bags?? Hahaha.. U were in Central restaurant for dinner?

Not going to spend for this mth alr.. today itself i spent nearly $500 (half of it for baby and half of it for my mani/pedi package)..:p

Oh yes, we are quite pleased with the cot price, $359 with loads of freebies. Hb mentioned that we will go get it ... can be converted to toddler bed and can withstand weight of up to 50kg!! Quite a steal..

Sam,
Yup will try to bf again but really afraid that there won't be any milk again. My son latched on fine but prob was there was nothing for him to drink. By the time i got engorging and a few pathetic drops came out, it was around 4days later and i was already getting depressed and feeling useless. How to ensure that there's milk? All the women who were around me kept 'braggin' about how well they fed their babies from day 1 and how me not well-endowed..(i think that added to the depression)

Checked out the SwaddleMe. Looks like what i bought. Hoping it works cos my son was impossible to be kept wrapped up..

Snowger (snowymum)
Any website to share for the Medela Pump In Style (PIS)/Advance fr First Few Years (FFY)?
I believe need to get adapter cos US have different voltage... And got no warrenty rite <..>

LuthAdel (luthadel),emeraldbride (emeraldbride)

Wow u mommies really shop till drop... I'll be going down with my wife this coming sunday...

Me went Suntec to shop for maternity clothes. 3rd time buying liao. Realise I dun wear the ones tt I wore for my 1st preg. Total damage at perfect mum for 7 pcs of tops are $350.

Bought the carters pack rompers @ BP. Though material not that gd, its still worth the buy. My girl has been wearing it for mths and its worth the money.

ya just try .. I have a fren that tried twice with her 1st and 2nd babies ... but everytime she latched on direct, she would end up with very sore nipples (till they bled).. think her nipples were just very very sensitive .. in the end she resorted to expressing which didn't cause any soreness at all ...

So don't feel depressed if you can't ... I know how ppl around u or those lactation nurses will tell you that everyone can breastfeed but I'm sure that there are women out there who just can't ... for one reason or another .. it doesn't make them failures as mothers ... there's always formula what ... my 1st born was on formula after 3 weeks or so on expressed breastmilk .. and she is FINE .. most of us weren't breastfed too wat ... we're fine and healthy !! ..

One of the things you can do .. is just to latch your son on as often as you can ... with breastfeeding, you can sometimes have NO schedule ... the baby can be drinking almost the whole day long (that's how it feels sometimes) cos breastmilk is easily digestible and so they get hungry pretty fast ... anyway, the more you stimulate your breasts and feed him more, the more your breasts will produce .. resist the urge to make him formula .. especially at nite ... firstly, at such a young age, it can cause nipple confusion and also sometimes, babies start showing a preference for the silicon teat and formula .. then it's game over for you ... cos he might start howling everytime you offer him your breast cos he wants the bottle - cos with the bottle, they don't have to work their jaws very hard .. just suck a bit and milk flows out of the teat ...

if you get engorged, then that means milk IS there ... trying expressing with your hand to clear the milk ducts ... for me (when I feel engorgement happening which usually does those first few days cos baby tend to fall asleep at your breast), instead of placing warm towels on my breasts .. i just stand under a hot shower .. aim the shower head at my boobs and voila! you start feeling your breasts soften ...

hi glenn
i really shop till drop.. from 2pm till 10pm... leg sore liao. haha!!

Hi emeraldbride
yes yes.. me there.. with isetan bag n taka bag n at central for dinner... u din call me????

Hi gals.. today my total damage is $260...

Sam,
Mine bled a little too (me sensitive skin, baby end up with eczema). Thanks for the comforting words. Deep down, i think i have a better chance at making it this time around.. You see, the 1st time, i was surrounded only by people telling me that i wasn't doing it right and that i was a bad mom. This time, i've been reading up a lot and getting support (from the pros..like U!) even before i start..
Erm, after you deliver, are you still going to be surfing the forum regularly? Think i would trust advice from you should i run into any problems.. Just in case la..

Luthadel you really brought alot of stuffs! even car seat so fast buy also hahaha. how much is ya real damage? as you even got a Little Tikes scooter and a Mini car?! I know mini car is like spend 300. but scooter im not sure. lolx.

Jowin i was there like from 7+ to 9+ I already cannot take it, you still can shop so long! hahaha. Pei fu leh hehe.

My Taka Shopping.
1) Pigeon Steriliser set($159) <= gals this is a very good deal comes with warmer, 2 free bottle! and a starter kit which has 3 bottles inside! and they will give u 2 baby wipes too!
2) air-filled cotsheet ($9.90)
3) Bean Pillow ($15.90)
4) Pigeon Clothes 3 for ($9.90)
5) Benbeni package ($6.90) <= Newborn cap, Mitten and bootee
6) Kids Center Clothing 1 set (12.90) <= A Bib, top and a shorts. I quite like this as the Bib and shorts as a face of a hippo, damn cute! haha It suits only for gals only, didnt see a blue one.
7)benbeni ($3.20) <= Mitten and Bootee
8) 2 Panty Linners ($5) haha

Damage was $222.70 I have $130 taka voucher. so Total i pay like $92.70. not so bad. piew. hehe

I guess for the stroller and car seat later then i will buy ba. think is too fast to get one now. maybe next month then go kaki bukit to see strollers hehe But i see you all gals buy those kings that i didnt buy like breast pads.. or milk storage and so many things i felt i like buy not enff leh. =S

Fabbie,
what's air-filled cotsheet? never heard of it before..

Me also looking for car seat. Is the Safety 1st one at Taka Fair any good? The price advertised in the papers is so tempting...

emeraldbride i think i saw you at taka fair leh. cus i notice your hubby look like my frd. then today was viewing facebook to see who i know de, then i think i saw him at the fair with u. Haha so i think its u. Jialet duno is it correct anot. or i blur again.. kaka.

LLIg the air-filled cotsheet is like when u wana change your baby you lay the cotsheet on the bed. Its to prevent your bed not to get dirty, as in case baby pee on your bed hehe. the cot sheet is rubber kind de. =) Car seat im not sure.. as im not buying it now. waiting for a better promotion or maybe go kaki bukit there to see. As there are many choices for you to choose. ehehe

yup yup!! LLig ya still working NOWW?! Omg.. I woke up and pee like 7am + till now cant sleep so i just could hope in here and see see hehehe

Yeah.. Happy national Day everyone and have a long long weekend! if those have monday off. hehe So excited today hubbie promise me to bring me see airplane and fireworks. duno where he will bring me to see a good view. Hmm

morning ladies

wanted to go taka baby fair ydae but laz min gotta forgo my leave as my staff needs e-leave. =(

will be gg down ltr wif my hubby n noti boi. hehe. he knows that we will be gg shopping todae so he 'guai guai' slept thru out d nite so can gai gai todae.

how r u ladies getting on wif ur preg? mi experiencing pain at umbilical area. dono if its bcoz my umbi button is gonna pop out. it did pop out for my boi during laz preg but i don remember experiencing pain. mayb gonna check out wif my dr when i c her next wk.

hav a fun weekend! =)

Happy National Day everyone....

Had nitemare last nite.. dreamt HB have another woman outside.. cry my heart out ...told him i wan divorce and baby is MINE.....woke up.. cheeks n pillow wet. haha!!

My Taka Shopping.
1) Pigeon Wipes- 6 refill in 1 box <= $19.90
2) Pigeon wipes in container <= $6.32
3) Baby Lullaby CD <= $12.95
4) Pigeon Clothes 3 for ($9.90)
5) Benbeni package $3.20 X 2 <= Mitten and bootee
6) Pigeon Milk Storage bottles <=
7)Pigeon Diaper Liner X 2 <= $7.20
8) Disney Pooh Mitten &amp; Booties <= $6.32
9) Cheeky Bon Bon head cushion support ( newborn to toddler) <= $13.90
10) Anakku baby safety bath mat <= $13.90
11) Pigeon liquid cleanser <=$11.76
12) Pigeon liquid cleanser refill <= $9.90
13) Anakku cloth diaper X 2 <=$39.80
14) Anakku cotton wool <= $2.90
15) Gaia ( 4 free 1) <= Est. $80
16) Pigeon bolster <=$6.80 ( for mummy)

Total: $247.93

Shopping at Isetan
1) NUK steriliser ( free 2 big bottles +2 small bottles + brush) at $98

Total damage : $346.........

Hi fabbie
ya... me went with friends for lunch at 2pm.. then shop at Taka fair till 4pm.. went to Isetan to shop n ate our tea break at DOME.. then went robinson to check out price.. realise isetan cheaper by alot.. went back to Isetan again n went back to taka again at 7.30pm.. HB came at 8pm to help me with heavy stuffs till 9pm. After dinner his turn to see see look look till 10pm..

Shack shack shack...but fun shopping...long time no shopping like this...