(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

mum2ndx, my friend went for amino test too when her blood test result is high risk (1:200+). she deliver her healthy baby boy in May 08.

Hi mum2ndx
Oh.. its not inside the list. So sorry. Can you update me again and i put inside?

Jia you.. u will receive good results

scarletGal,
i didnt put on weight for my 1st preg. Total gain abt 12kg for the whole preg. Cos during 1st trim very bad vomite till loss weight.

maybe this 2nd one also will slowly gain weight. Cos my 1st trim MS is bad and cant eat much as well. Till now still cant eat much.

mum2ndx,
i understand your feeling. Cos when during my 1st preg my bb was scan with high risk of DS during the NT scan. Though every thing is clear after scan + blood test i am still worried till the day i give birth. B4 the scan + blood test i cry alot cos i think too much like thinking wat to do if baby really have DS.

So now u dun think too much 1st wait for the result of the ammio test. Though i didnt go through the ammio test but i do knw u have to rest well on bed after that.. Take care and update us. Jia you!! i am sure your bb can sense it.

Morning Ladies

mum2ndx
Have faith and be positive
As what meilik said, you'll need to rest after the test so do rest well and get some help from relative if possible with the housework.

All the best and i'm keeping my fingers cross for you. Jia You!!

Hi mum2ndx,

Understand your anxiety, though i have not been through the amnio test, but i read cases where people had Oscar or NT results which show high risk, and they went for the amnio and the end results are usually o.k...NT scans are not 100% accurate, therefore an amnio test will give you the peace of mind 100%...

i know that you will be usually given mc to rest after the test...so you must rest well...and do get your mil to look after your boy....

Hi mum2ndx

Jia you.....dun worry I'm sure everything will be fine. Please take good care.

Hi scarlet & jowinbaby

Think i put on most weight liao here...since 1st known i preg (5wks) till now (20wk) i put on 5.6kg le. Faint....think at least 80% go to me ba

Haha...xiaohwa..i also put on 6kg within 19weeks!

But still look normal cos 56kg is my normal weight.. previously was considered underweight. Hehehe.. so anything higher than that..can see my double chin.

xiaohwa, i am here to accompany u... haha... i gained 5kg since i know that i'm preggie (week 4). maybe bcos i dun have any MS, no vomitted and my appetite is good. hubby, mum and mil keep asking me to eat and eat.

My Last pregnacy i gain 14kgs. oh man! But don't look big. Gynea told me to reduce carbo load, that is no rice, no pasta, no cheese for the final 3 months and my weight maintained.

My friend gained 22kg man.

When bb was born, 3.2Kg, the rest of the kgs was water (loads of it), placenta (its huge) and water retention within body. It is amazing, that that i regained my weight back immediately after birth.

So mammys, doun't worry. haha. All will be beautiful mammys. Eat moderately.

But do note that at the last league of 3 tri, some may experience weight lost as it is a sign of labour is near. oh man! I think the gynae will signal you about it. Mine did.

Wow Mei Lik, How did u regain your weight immediately after birth? I know of some colleagues who are still carrying some of the weight after their maternity leave. Any tips?? :p

Thanks very very much for the support!!!! Mei lik, that was really useful. I din know that i have to rest for 1 week!! I just thought bed rest on that day after the test. oh no.. I just used up my leave + unpaid L for my boy's chicken pox..he can only go to childcare next mon.. mayb i have to continue to stay at home after the test.. boss sure piss..jia lat

jowinbaby,
my details as follows:
no. of kids : #2
Gynae : C H Koh
Stay : TPY
FTWM
EDD : 31Dec08

Thank u very much!!

so far i put on 3kgs, if i did not measured myself wrongly lah.

for supplements, i m on sangobion, fish oil n calcium. i take milk n some products from e.excel to boost my n bb's immune system.

Hi Mimi & emeraldbride

I also no MS lei, maybe tt y gain so much law. just eat normal 3 meals lei, but abit more than b4 preg. Hopefully i will not gain above 16kgs over all. Else think difficult to slim down le.
1598129.gif

mum2ndx: Good luck for your amnio...i hope that your baby will be fine.

phyl & carmen: Keep us posted about your detailed scans! I'm excited to know!!!

Snowger: Heh, i like the name Charlotte cos she's my fave character from SATC! Haha...

Beatric is a nice name!!!

Xiaohwa: I didn't get any MS at all. I ate normally but so far, have only put on 3kg. :p If you don't look at my tummy area, cannot even tell i'm pregnant.

Meilik: How did you lose all your pregnancy weight so quickly!??

i think i gain the most in here ba.. as at today, i gained 9KG and i'm only 22 weeks now lor.. i just can't imagine how much would i gain when i about to give birth...i think i gonna get depression if this continues... so sad to see my body growing fatter and fatter..

heard can lose weight fast if we breastfeed. all my friends around me lose weight very fast even though they nv breastfeed.

oh no... i am super sleepy now!

Mei Lik,
though i only gain 12kg but after birth there are still 7kg with me. Till now 4kg still with me after 2.5yrs.. BTW i breastfeed also but didnt slim down alot only slightly lei..

Seems like my column also gone....is tat the ""sign"" that im going to lose my bb boy????

Gynae mentioned my bb tummy got fluid....seems like bb going to...xxx.
but i hope for miracle that bb can resolve all the problem by himself...if not...the worst thing will happen.

Hi girls

Long time no log in. I went for my detailed scan today & guess what?????

Both my twins are identical & both girls

so excited & happy now...... can start my bb shopping now...

mrs ho.. y are u so pessimistic? The column is gone could be due to truncation, u can always ask Jowin to update it back, no big deal!! Think positively ok.. missing column does not equate to losing ur baby..*touch wood*

Gynae mentioned bb's tummy got fluid but did ur gynae say that ur bb's life in danger? Any precaution that mummy can take?

Loveangel,
I've a soft spot for girly names. :p Charlotte sounds v sweet! Me shortlisted a few girl names with sm input fr my hb & Jowinbaby. It's a pretty fun experience!

They are Beatrice Tey, Nicole Tey, Sheryln Tey, Alexis Tey, Annabel Tey, Bernice Tey, etc... :p

Since we are in the topic of names, can just go to this site for fun. See wat English name they will suggest using you n yr hb's english names. Me didn't quite like what they suggested thou.

http://www.babynamescountry.com/babynamesadvisor.html

Re Weight:
I gained abt 3 kg (no MS but appetite no gd in 1st trim). My friend was shocked beyond words cos she gained about 6 to 7kg by 20 wks. I dunno how much I gained since wk 19, dare not look at e weighing scale. *haha*

Mrs Ho

It must be a mistake that your name was left out accidently, please dun take it as a "sign"

Sorry to hear about the problem your baby has....I will pray for you...Be strong and stay positive...
Your baby will be alright...take care..

thanks for the concerned, sorry for too pessimistic..i really feel sad...
gynae given 3 options:
1) abort (must be done before 24 weeks, now im 20 weeks)
2) keep & see...(worst - abort / well - keep going)
3) treatment (but not 100% cure) need more $$...if cure..bb will premature...and ICU needed...and more $$ later on (gynae ask us to consider on our financial)

really dont know y this thing will happen...am i going to be blame???
really hope my bb will resolved the fluid and carry on to full term....

<font color="0000ff">hippomummy, loveangel, jappooh :</font>

I had c-sec. In the operating theater, my gynea and my anesthetist kept pushing my tummy downwards (although I can’t feel a thing, I was awake during the operation) but the whole bed was shaking. My gynae said they are pushing all the excess, water, blood etc out machiam massage so tummy will not have “airbag”. They even joked among themselves that they can be "Jambu massager".

6 hours later when the numbness at my lower body was gone, got up to walk, just felt amazed, my whole flabby tummy gone. I was so was so happy!

My neighbor (2-bedder) has c-sec too, but she looked like she was 5 still months preggy. She can’t walk for 2 days. Poor thing. I think her gynea was Dr Sim Lee Ngor!

<font color="0000ff">bubblepearl: </font>
Thank you. Will look out for the calcium.

girl80: Congrates on having Twin gaks

mrs ho: Sorry to hear about your baby.
It is not a sign. The table so far includes those active in this thread.

Maybe you can get a referal to KKH for second opinon as they may have other medical advise?

We will all pray for you! With Metta and Sadhu.

Mrs Ho
Don't be despair, I'll be praying for your baby to be ok too. Hey, did the gynae said if baby made it there will not be any ill side effects?

The other alternative is to seek second opinion. If baby can make it, all the $$$ paid will be worth it.

Be positive ok, so that baby can feel and be positive too

mrs ho.. did ur gynae say what is the cause? it is best to seek a 2nd opinion in this case. Sometimes gynae tends to over-exaggerate juz because they wants to be on the safe side.. hence 2nd opinion is the best!!

As long as the baby is safe, the money spent can be earned back..Best to consider all options before taking a drastic move. Must always remember, baby's life is God's gift..we must treasure it and if baby dun give up, we should not as well..

Mrs Ho
Not sure which hospital or gyn you are with. If you are worry about cost. I would think that if you are with the private hospital it would be better for you to go KKH. Incase if baby need ICU, KKH should be cheaper.

Mrs Ho,

Just let nature takes it course, if the bb is meant to b, it will b(Either good/bad). U can't do anything oso. Doc can't do anything oso.

Girl80,

mum2ndx: please remain positive. i have 2 frens who went for blood test and gynae told them their BB oso high risk of DS (1 boy 1 gal). Now both BB are very healthy and lovable. The boy is 1yo and gal is 8mth+. Im not sure if religion faith helps but both my frens pray very hard after the report and miraculously their BB turn out to be well. As for me, im oso praying very very hard dat my BB will be alrite after my chk pox bout. Checked with my gynae today, apparently there is no way i can check if my BB develops any complications, honestly im feeling so guilty thou i knw its no fault of mine. But i keep reminding myself dat i have to remain positive, so dat the positive genes will rub off my BB. dats wat my 2 frens told me. So let's jia you together ok?

mrs ho: i agree with emeraldbride, dun see things too pessimistic ok? i believe human faith can work miracles too. so if you have a religion, pray hard and keep a positive mindset. u dun wan yr BB to get all worried inside u rite? Believe me, i really knw how it feels to knw BB is undergoing some risks, but we need to keep remind ourselves dat our BB do have a survival instinct, so while they are fighting to survive, we as mummies must help them by eating well and keeping ourselves positive mentally. Jia You!

Girl80: congrats on having twin gals!

Ladies: sorri, i fell alseep after coming back from gynae at 1pm... now... the gender of my BB is *drum roll....* a MINNIE!!!

Yipee! i got my wish come true!!! hahaha... but my gynae do the detailed scan really fast, and th monitor is tilled towards my HB, so i can hardly see the face, organs, lips, etc... Grrr... but juz happy to knw dat the physical and brain development of my BB is normal. Now i can join in the name searching for a gal with Snowger and Phyl!!! hee... cannot stop smiling after knwing my BB gender (hoho... me a bit sexual discrimination hor) ;D

Side track a bit, today at gynae clinic, i saw the headlines for The New Paper is about a couple with a BB with heart defects. Despite the gynae's strong recommendation, the couple refuse to abort the BB and decide to do all they can to keep their BB alive. Honestly, im really touched and dat makes me even more determined to keep my BB healthy and positive. I must believe dat BB are all born to have a survival instinct, how else could we explain dat they can survive in "water" for 9-10mths?! The news oso teach me not to take my BB health (in fact anything) for granted. Wat we thot is "should be" may be a "wish" for others.

Hee... pai sey, inspiration kicks in so this is a long posting ;p

girl80,
congrats on your twin gals! Next time you can doll them all up and they will look so sweet holding hands keke

hi mrsho,
don't despair..baby is a life. What is the complication? I think if it is treatable, I hope you will keep it because the baby has already been fighting its way to come to this world..Hope all goes well with the both of you

KKH NICU shld be cheaper and I think can deduct medisave.

mrsho: I am MTB from Jan thread, I think u shld go for 2nd option at KKH. And touchwood, if anything bad happen at least u can change ur gynae to KKH and give birht at KKH. So when the BB is given birth, at least the hospital bill will be cheaper and they had all the facilities there. Ur BB will be well taken care.

Mrs Ho, so sorry to hear abt yr bb. Think you shld go for 2nd option like what the others have advised and you have to keep in a positive mind. The main thing is to share every worry you have with your hubby, let him know yr worries.

Looking forward to my nxt checkup on next fri!

Mrs Ho.

You may wish to seek other gynea in your hometown malaysia too, since your current gynea is in malaysia?

Everybody is supporting you mentally. It is hard to make the best decision...jia you.

piGgiCia - i also voted for "Calista"

mum2ndx - don't worry, most pple come out ok. i know my mum went for it 20 yrs ago. well... the sad thing is results show ok, but my brother is intellectually disabled which is not able to detect through that, have G6PD and 3mths premature. not to frighten you though.

girl80 - wah, identical twins. cute eh...

mrs ho - don't worry too much.

Sorry to interrupt your discussion

I hv a Brand new Philips 3 in 1 steaming centre for sale. Warranty card unfilled. Bought in Mar 2008
It can sterilize bottle, warm milk and steam food when baby is on solid food
A good long term investment. Save space since it serves 3 functions

If interested pls pm or email me [email protected]

thanks for all the support....of cos we will try the best for our bb...will update you all if there is anything....
now still waiting for kkh reply on other option...
....hopefully bb will give us the miracle...

mrs ho,
I am an advocator of second opinon (I did tat when I was spotting)! So if you can, do seek advise fr another gynae.
I agree KKH is a good place to start since it has a NICU too.

Carmen,
Welcome to Minnie's Club! Stay cherry!