(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Yeah I know, but I only half-believe my hubby when he said he'll remove the gate and convert to a small bed when the baby is older. Heee...I dun believe he will be so hardworking. My few colleagues all said in the end they just bought a new bed and redeco the room for their kids.

I didn't try the Simplicity cot's gate when I was at FFY, but the cot set does look pretty sturdy lah. Think Paragon's branch has the cot set up. Can go look see if you interested in this one.

Jappoh, I also scouted for a maid leh...keeping all options open. Either maid with MIL or infant care. I went to Beauty World last week to try try. Can just walk into an agency and they'll show you a stack of maid profiles to see. Some even ask if you want to interview the maid on the spot. I was a little bit stressed. :p

Snowger
My CL will sleep with the baby in the nursery (used to be our guest room). We bought a sofa bed from Ikea for that purpose, and after CL is gone, the sofa bed can be folded into a single seat. So save a lot of space.

Duck waddle
hahaha, I think i'm starting to walk like tat in the evening! I just hit 23wks today and now i feel that my tummy has grown even bigger. *sigh* hope the tummy will not over expand! :S

Hi ScarletGal,
I am staying at blk 437. Actually i just shifted to CCK last Oct so not very sure as well. When 2nd bb arrive maid will look after? U stay which blk? Have u think of if your 1st kid go half day cc who is gg to fetch her? Maid?

So your current kid is alone with maid at hm? Might wan to get a maid to help my mil when my 2nd bb arrive. I hope that i dun have to send my boy to CC cos i worry to hurt his feeling.

So decide to send him to 2 hrs playgroup and other time when i am hm i will teach him myself cos i am trained in early childhood.

Now just worry that dunno how to train maid to communicate with my MIL.

Snowger: i oreadi have a bed in my guest room, so my CL will sleep in dat room. But the BB cot dat we bought from Palmax will be in my room, cos the sale guy say the cot is too big to be moved from 1 room to another. so decide to put in my room. but lucky my guest room door and my room is juz 1 step away from one another, so CL will have to hop over if BB cries at nite. in any case, i will have to look after BB myself after she leaves.

Jappooh: yes yes i will bank BB's cord blood. there are only 2 choices in Sg: StemCord and CordLife. but me lethargic recently, so may be i will check it out in Aug ba =)

Carmen,
i bank in my 1st bb cord blood with CordLife. So now wondering wan to go back CordLife or go StemCord.

Winnie,
how much are u paying now with which company at motherfair?

emeraldbride, strongly recommend you run a google for reviews on the simplicity cot. There was a recall on the older versions of this cot last year.

The new dropside should have flexible tab located at the top of the lower track, and a permanent stop at the bottom.

i think my room door is bigger than normal doors coz i hack the whole wall out! so i think i can move my cot from my bedroom to living room and dining room.. wahaha.. why would i wanna go that.

adel, i literally dun move after i reach home coz i find it too much work to heave myself ard the house..

actually, my grandma also told me the same thing as what emerald bride said abt the 7th month empty bed thing.. but she also say that during 7th mth, the whole house air cannot be stagnant.. must change the "chi".. pls take this with a spoonful of salt! hehe

Thanks gals! My hb went "huh???" when I asked him. So I said his aunt (my CL)can sleep on e floor? *naughty me* Looks like can consider either foldable bed or sofa bed. :p

Carmen,
Act I wan to put cot in my bedroom too! But no space in bedroom due to e fat aircon piping tat is sticking out. So I guess the bb will be in the "nursery" room.

Luthadel,
My stomach grows "suddenly". i.e. the size kinds of float ard there then the next day it ballons. You got measure? I just told Jowin I expanded by 3-4 inches! Recently, my stomach like super streched n today is hard!

hi Mommies....

I'm back from my detailed scan!

Everything is good...Baby is normal & healthy. Dr Chia scanned & checked all the vital parts/organs. She also told us that our baby's nose bridge & lips are very nice...haha.

And today, Baby FINALLY opened the legs properly for us to have a very clear look.

Doc confirmed we're expecting a boy!!!

The scan took about 30 min & halfway through, i felt nauseous & faint. Doc said cos i was lying on my back and she quickly turned me to my side & propped my head even higher. So scary...she said that's why pregnant women shouldn't sleep flat on their backs.

And today, we also paid & signed our antenatal package with my gynae. Money fly away...

If you go to my blog later tonight, you'll see a scan of Baby Preston! (That's the name we have picked for our baby son.)

ivy, what time your scan? maybe we would see each other wor.. my scan is at 11am then 11.30 i'll be at TPS see my gynae..

i wanna donate the cord blood.. dun intend to bank it. i see more sense in buying a good insurance with the same amt of money instead.. the insurance will cover more things including hospitalization.

Loveangel
Congrats on your little Preston!!! Wow, i'm sure grandpa is going to splurge even more now since he is going to have a grandson!!!

Loveangel,
glad to hear that everything is well for your baby boy. Mine like so long. Cant wait.. All ladies here are going already and i have to wait for another 2 wks.

piGgiCia, my friend also had her cot moved around the house leh. She said very convenient, especially with her cats around. I think I'll be moving the cot around between the nursery and my room for night feedings too.

7th month empty bed thing: Sigh...already buy, so no choice. I not so pantang, so we have got a proper bed set up in the guestroom (soon-to-be nursery) since we moved in. The bed is empty almost all the time. But now, I think I will still go and pat pat the cot every day to give it a bit of "qi" :p

Loveangel: Congrats on the little prince!

it's been 1 week plus since i last log in..
Went for triple test last fri. just got a call from gynae that there's an increase risk in down.. n they detect bacteria in my urine. Oh dear, going for the amuim test this fri.. hope everything turn out fine...
can anyone been thru this tell me what to expect n what to do after the test? there's a risk in miscarriage right? then i may need mil to look after my boy after the test.

congratulations to all mummies have known the gender of baby!! So good can start shopping already. My detail scan is on 15 Aug, can't wait for the day already.

Regarding banking of cor blood, i almost decided to bank in for my baby but now considering of donating to public bank after consulting. His personal opion is that those companies are running for money. We'll never know what will happen to them and the quality of cord blood if(touch wood) we really need the blood. Further more, there is very little chance that the cord blood can be used for the same baby more for other babies (e.g. second one)
What do you mummies thinking?

Jappoh
i have sign up with cordlife. think they have a package. one is pay yearly, one is pay till kid 21 yrs old & another one which i sign up is for 10 yrs. forgot how much already but payment will be deducted using the co-pay account after the child is born

Loveangel: CONGRATS!!! now the mickey still outnumber the minnie in Dec08! Hoho... guess all the gals here will have plenty of boys to choose in future! haha...

Jappooh: i oso cannot wait to see my BB this Thurs... so excited =D

7th month bed empty:
without much thots, i put alot of toys on my guest room bed. And my very hardworking Dad (he is staying wif me) will vacuum and wipe the bed frame almost every nite! so sure have alot of my Dad's "qi" oreadi! but i oso heard of empty bed story in the past, so when i used to travel alot regionally, whenever the hotel room has 2 beds, i will put my lugguage and laptop on the other empty bed. better be safe than sorry when overseas mah. hee...

but at home, we always go in and out of the rooms, so sud be ok lar.

Congrats loveangel! btw. lying on your back will faint de meh? so werid de. then how u normally sleep?

Wah. so fast you name ya son! im still stuggling! faints.

Jappooh,
My #1 is currently attending 2 hrs playgroup in the morning. Ya, intend to let maid look after #2 while #1 goes to childcare. Let maid fetch #1 too. My SIL who’s not working helps to jagar the maid. I’m at northvale.

Can your MIL speak simple Malay? if so can consider getting an Indon maid. My helper is Indon. She's really a great help to my family.

scarletGal,
my MIL cant speak Malay. That is wat i worry abt. Did consider CC but my son sleep very late so i find it difficult also.. Really headache for me.

scarletGal,
by the way which agency u get your maid from? Any off day? If no one speak Malay can communicate with English?

We also decided on the name for our bb..but let's keep it a secret first..haha!!

I also started a scrapbook for baby liao..but even before born, alr used up like 10pages or more..need to buy refill soon

Jappooh,
from Nations maid agency. Started with no off-day but after 2 yrs, she asked for off-day & we granted her. She can't speak English when she arrived but slowly pick up & now quite gd. My PIL can speak some Malay.

My girl initially sleep after 10pm, that's before she goes to playgroup. Slowly we adjust her sleeping hours 15 mins earlier, then after that bring forward another 15 mins. So now she goes to bed at around 9:30pm.

scarletGal,
my boy sleep really late like 11 to 12 loh. Cos i am lving with in laws and they sleep late. Hard to adjust his time.

Hope i can get a good maid..If maid cant speak simple English then i dunno wat to do also..

Guess you'll need patience to train her lor.. I remembered when she first arrive, my helper couldn't even tell the difference between breakfast, lunch & dinner, so some of us had to use sign language instead.

If you want english speaking one, then probably have to hire filipinos. But filipinos will definitely ask for more pay & off-day.

ivy
but the problem is are you able to cope with it. unless you have experience. i don't think you will want to put your baby with a `new' nanny also who is looking after her own baby & other people baby.

Just my thought.

Loveangel

Congrat...so good now u can start shopping.
I'm gg to c gynae tonite, hopefully he able to c my BB gender la, then i dun need wait till 2/8/08 for the detailed scan le. Not even start thingking of BB name cos we thou to wait till we know the gender then start thinking la cos lazy to think of 2 name. haha

haiz, i'm on MC today. down w flu. didn't go work, but i still have evening class later. don't think i should miss it.

Carmen - u & ur baby should be well. if u r bo chap like me (i got acne scars all over my back, chest), can still wear bikini n low cut...

Fong2 - need to register for talk? who's organiser?

raven_1313 - r u on calcium tablets? i heard from someone that her mum always have toothache when her mum was pregnant as it seems that she lacks of calcium.

hippo/Mimi - cannot put salonpas? i thot of buying coz i'm aching all over.

piGgiCia/first time mummy - i'm planning to donate cordblood as well. already contacted them n will wait for them to contact me again on 32 weeks.

Jappooh,
My exclassmate gave some tips: Age, Married?, Has kids of her own?, Complete family nucleus back home (i.e. hubby is taking care of kids?). She usually find > than 20 yrs old, happily married w kids type cos they shld hv experience w kids.
U shld try to get her in during ur maternity leave to train n observe her.

Cord Blood:
I also intend to donate to the public cord blood bank pending final discussion with my hubby. Juzyounme, so just call them can already?

Loveangel:
Congrats on having a healthy M-I-C-K-E-Y!!!

Fabbie:
Yes u will feel faint due to the uterus pressing your other organs (like stomach,etc) upwards to your chest area. Hence if u go facial, do get them to prop u up!

Bacteria in Urine:
Sounds like a urinary tract infection which is common in preggy ladies. Implication: Untreated UTI may result in early births.

back from detailed scan too.. Baby is good and healthy. sonographer commented that baby has very very long legs...haha!! ( she was surprise at the length and thought she measured wrongly) BUT BUT BUT.. bb keep crossing legs
cannot see gender properly.. sonographer only have a glimps n said bb is a girl.. exactly like wat my gynae said 1month ago...the scan took abt 40mins.

I went to gynae to have my report analysed. He saw my sad face n gave me a short scan again.. BB cross leg again... ARGH!!!! Very shy darling

Nevertheless, we are happy that baby is very healthy... we got to wait 1 more month to confirm baby gender.. haiz.....

Hi loveangel
congrats on mickey... i hope mine will continue to be a minnie

Hi santorini
Remember i mentioned abt the contraction i had. Dr Cheng said i might had food poisoning as that night.. i woke up at 2am n LS badly.. the food poisoning may caused that contraction.

Juzyounme - the talk is organised by aLife and Anmum. They never state need to register. So i guess no need bah. Got free goodie bags worth $50 provided too. If u need further details, can contact Mary/Shan at 62588816.

Jowinbaby - mine bb also super shy. Crossed leg too. I really hope i can see for myself bb's gender. Did the sonographer saw any 3 lines at the perineam area? Mine did leh.. Then she conclude most prob a minnie.

hippo - then i won't use.

Snowger - yup, i just call SCBB at 63945011 & check with them my eligibility, coz my brother has G6PD. u can ask them for details. they will contact u about 32 weeks to meet-up for questionnaire when u turn up for gynae appt...

Fong2 - i see. r u going for the talk too?

Fabbie: Yep, the uterus presses down on your organs & restricts blood flow back to the heart & to the brain. That's why may faint while lying on your back. When sleeping, it's recommended to sleep on your left.

xiaohwa: We have picked a few names out long ago! Haha...so today, it was easy for us to decide on which name & "Preston Goh" it shall be!

Jowin: Glad that your scan went well too! Baby has long limbs, next time can be catwalk model. Hee. Don't worry ok...gals are supposed to be more shy.

joanne n loveangel,

glad to hear dat babies r doing alright!!!

juzyounme,

i do use salonpas once in a while when my muscle pain becomes unbearable. i did showed it to my gynae before, n he said use it occasionally. compared to other brand, salonpas doesn't said dat it can't b used on pregnant women. anyway, just use when really necessary.

do you feel that the baby kick everywhere? Recently I felt him kicking some of my organs..sometimes on the bladder..but mostly I dunno which one but feels very uneasy.

I scared I "zhong nei shang" hehe

Hi Fong2
My gynae scanned last appt, he thought most likely is a minnie.. Today the sonographer also thought so but did not mentioned abt 3 lines to me. I did asked her, she said can't confirm. Better wait till my gynae to scan again... Nevertheless, i just take it as bb is a minnie la

Hi Jaz
Yeah.. thanks

Hi loveangel
ya.. we also picked several names.. 1 for boy and a few for gal... so lets see how... i gonna wait another month to confirm the gender
Meanwhile have to buy more unisex items..

Ya.. our babies have long limbs.... my gynae looks at the report n said if boy gonna be a basketball player and gal a supermodel??? hahaha!!!

Me and hb thought that bb face is quite small.. big eyes as the eye sockets looks huge. BB have a cleft chin too. From the description, we both thought bb looks much look like me.. as i have a small face and eyes bigger than hb.. haha!!

Lets see when baby is born

BTW, wats ur bb weight? mine is 360gm..wonder is this is ok..

Morning ladies

Juzyounme - I am on calcium tablets... Went to see the dentist yesterday and was informed of a huge cavity in a wisdom tooth which cannot be reached when brushing... Was advised that extraction would be the best solution... Got the dentist to clean my teeth first and will think this over. Last night, did not feel any pain, and I will try to keep it this way for as long as possible, preferably until I deliver. Do not want to risk any complications during extraction, esp when it is done without any prior x-ray of the location of the roots of the tooth....

Pris n Jowin, congrats on yr little prince n princess.

Jappoh, u may wan employ filipino maid as they do converse English well. Actually for indo maids, they do pick up fast as well, but for the first few mths, reali must have the patience w them.

morning ladies

loveangel:
congrats on ur baby mickey!! =)

cordblood banking:
my boi's cord blood is wif cordlife. so most likely signing wif them again as got discount. hehe.

maid:
hubby n mi decided to get a maid to help mil look afta bb. tinking of indo maid. filipino one too smart liao. ltr outwit my mil. hehe.

personally i find tt asking if maid got kids help anot. coz my sil maid got kid one, but from d way she handle kids, its obvious she din look afta her own child. she don even know how to carry a baby. smmore her child same age as my nephew. *pengz*

morning ladies,

m vy vy sleepy this morning.

btw, i bought new moon birdnest. the one with collagen n rock sugar, n it comes with 2 free bottles. is new moon birdnest good?