(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

now i got to really consider if i should get a better cot or use the pass down cot or buy a cheapo cot from ikea. i also scare bb dun wan to sit in stroller that's why i dun intend to get an expensive one.

Jappooh,
Do u giv him daily or weekly? Chinese physician mentioned before my boi is heaty base one..so i think i better giv him twice weekly ba..

carmen, i was supposed to have a meeting today too at 11am..but heck care.. hahaha, rest is more impt! Furthermore, my colleagues shuld be the one handling this project and not me..hehe

mum2ndx,
i give my boy weekly once only. Cos i find it heaty lei. How big is your boy?

Mimi,
my stroller is of good use. My boy sit in stroller from newborn till now (2.5yrs old). So far i dun have fren who baby sleep in the cot for more than 1 yr.

I bought a babysafe mattress for the cot though the cot come with a normal mattress. I find the babysafe mattress good loh.

my sis's daughter and son both backside got needles. they dun like to sit in the stroller. haha... everytime when my sis put them inside the stroller, they start to cry.

where to get babysafe mattress?

sobs sobs.. hello all... I went for the down syndrome blood test this morning at KK. The nurse plunge the needle in too hard and now arms is blue black and feeling "achy". Was feeling lousy so didn't dare ask too many questions and make noise. My next consultation will be for Doc to advise on the blood test results, does that means I can know the gender by then? My next appointment is on the 4 Aug at 19 weeks. I am still wondering if I should know the bb gender or wait till birth. Getting excited with the shooping! I am feeling so happy for all of you who went for the cot spree. Seems like everyone struck a good deal!

thanks Jappooh, think i saw in baby kingdom.

Chantalle, u not gan cheong to know your bb's gender? if u dun wan to know now u can only buy unisex colour clothings for your bb.

Hmm.. Mimi, so detailed scan can be done at 19 weeks? I am anxious and yet "scared" to know bb's gender coz after all, my in-laws have some "expectations".I am afraid I cannot meet the expectation and they treat me differently. Haiz.. by word they say they dun mind boy or gal, but in their heart.. I know it.

Hi Luthadel
Our cot can convert into a junior cot leh... perhaps use until 3 yrs old only depend on bb size. The side gate can be totally remove, the base can shift all the way to the bottom. So it can be turn into a junior bed

Jappooh,
My boi just turn 3 last month. He is very week one always got running nose, fever once every 3weeks or 1month. so 1 2 giv him something to boost up his immunity system...

Is Fox sale n JL marina SQ still on? and Ikea annual? thought of getting the bb cot there..

Chantalle, think detail scan is to be done in 20w, dun know if they can do in 19w. that day my hubby told me he told his mum i went for the scan and we are expecting a boy. he say his mum is very happy. faint... i think old ppl really tend to prefer boys.

my boy sleep in the cot for about 1 1/2 yrs & at my mum place, till about 2 1/2 before we move him to sleep on the mattress. I think it depend on the baby lah!

for stroller, I find it quite troblesome, especially if you need to take bus. stroller is heavy than the baby!. I rather put him in the sling. I use the stroller as a place to eat or when go places without taking buses when he is younger. I don't close the stroller so when there is a need to close it at a wedding dinner, I really crack my head on how to close it. ha haa

my detailed scan is schedule to be on 2nd Aug when I wil be at 19 weeks 2 days..so i suppose it is okay to have detailed scan before 20w.

Chantalle, if u r expecting baby boi, u shuld be able to see the baby's gender by now. So now, the big question, u told ur parents liao??

Chantalle Tang,
Dun worry things u cannot control...how can we control the gender right? take it easy..u should be feeling happy now.. if they really dote on u, think they wont really mind lo, that's their grandchild...if not, just dun pay too much attention on what they say..
I always feel sad n offended by my mil words. dunno she dun like me by natual or what la.. still trying to train myself to hear n not listen..go in left ear come out right ear..

Emeraldbride.. not yet. Still duno how to break the news to my family and cannot find the right opportunity to do so. It will be abrupt to say it over dinner or when watching television. I am really troubled and cried almost every night when my little one is so unknown. Was shopping with my sis yesterday, and she commented that my tummy look so fat and ugly sticking out and she even pulled a light punch at it..was quite shock but still didn't dare to breathe a word. Keep telling myself i should tell.. I should tell.. but can't do it.. sighzz..

Jowin,
I checked with Randy that day at the showroom and he said the side rail cannot be removed, only can be lowered. In any case, that would serve as a good play pen + punishment if my boy is naughty lah. "cos at that height he won't be able to get out by himself.

Stroller & Cot
I think it all voiced down to how you managed the child. For both my nieces & my friend's childrens, they all slept in the cot & used the stroller until age 3-4. Initially they will protest by crying and tantrum but once they know that they cannot get away with it, they will slowly adjust.

Each time my nieces threw a tantrum, my sis will just shaft her back into the stroller and strapped her up. After more than 10times, my nieces gave up. Same thing for the cot. Each time they tried to get out or make a fuss, my sis will just leave them in the cot to cry and when they're tired, they will just fall asleep.

It is hard to see you kid screaming their lungs out but once you've enforce rulings peace will follows

For me, I'm definitely going to follow my sis's technics

Hi Luthadel
I see.. The SA at JL told me otherwise leh.. keke.. nevertheless, see if hb can unscrew the gate out if not just use it as a playpen.. It gonna be a very steady playen then..

Hi Chantalle
Find a good time to tell them, as tummy is showing soon.. Perhaps u can discuss with someone close within ur family 1st such as ur sis. Then see how to reveal to ur parents...

Dear Madams,

PLEASE HELP US BY COMPLETING THIS SURVEY:
http://FreeOnlineSurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=5d0212xd8io3aw7461100

We are five students from Raffles Junior College who will be embarking on our Project Work.

As our Project is based on the modernization of cures for blood diseases, we hope to raise awareness and funds for public cord blood banking.

We understand the significance of cord blood stem cells in curing blood diseases. However, not many others do. Through this project, we hope to raise awareness among the public and pregnant women about the uses of cord blood: encourage mothers to donate their babies’ cord blood to public banks (SCBB) and increase the extent of positive impact that cord blood has brought to the curing of blood diseases. We also hope to give support to public cord blood banks by raising funds from the public.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME!

Chantalle, i agree with Jo, u shuld find an opportunity. Watching TV or having dinner is a good time to break the news.. just tell them "I have something to announce..", and then juz let the cat out of the bag.. Personally, I feel that your parents would understand and it will be fair to your baby as well.. Once u let it all out, I am sure u will feel less burden on ur shoulder and your feeling will be happier and this will have effect on ur baby as well. Happy mommy, happy baby!! Hehe...

Spaghetti - i also have been taking a lot of taxi recently. after doing my calculations, seems that owning a car is still more x, compared to taking cab for me.

iemik0 - thanks for cost break down. eh, u mean u give such big ang bao to your confinement lady after the usual payment? what's the standard rate for the confinement lady's ang bao when she starts work and ends work?

so prenatal massage will not really rub ur tummy, but other parts of body? ur prenatal massage lady comes to ur house or u go to centre? my lower leg muscles have been always aching or having cramps. shoulders, arms and lower back also aching. i think i'm getting old... ;P

i see. cannot read story book and milk them at same time? ;P

what happened with ur experience of infant care? which infant care is that? we left with 2 choices - infant care or look for babysitter auntie. my husband felt that infant care is more systematic. they got their time for eating, sleeping, songs, play and pat.

ur boss v gd to u eh. haiz~

Reddates - ur boss so gd eh. haiz~(x2) thanks for cost break down. i intend to get the cake-ang ku keh-red eggs package from Swee Heng as well. coz that's one of the cheapest that i can find.

i went shopping after work on Sat. coz have $40 Tangs voucher. Bought a box of three 4oz Avent milk bottles with new born teats; 1 set of Avent teats for 1mth+; blue wrapping blanket; pigeon nail clipper.

anyone has experience with Avent milk bottles? i should still buy some glass bottles?

How is the viewing of the cot and stroller on Sat? Have all of you decide which colour to buy?

Need to pay in full and deliver immediately or can wait till later months then ask them to deliver?

Hi Chantalle

I was at KKH today as well. Did you went to Clinic B to take ur blood test?

Chantalle - what i understand is glass bottles are meant for breastmilk. u store milk in glass bottles and put in fridge. when needed, heat the glass bottle and feed the baby. the milk should be about 37 degrees, so should be ok to handle with hands... or else wrapped with cloth?

Oic.. was thinking will it be ok for babies to use when they learn how to hold their own bottles. I am the very practical type. Must fully utilise the item coz i know most glass milk bottles dun come cheap.

juzyounme, from my understanding, we will store breastmilk in normal bottle (plastic type) in the freezer. Glass bottle is good for heating up (u will defreeze the milk first) then pour the milk into the glass bottle for heating up. Glass from cold to hot will crack!! Glass bottle is useful if the plastic bottles are not BPA free

u need to place it in the fridge instead of the freezer. It is better to defreeze frozen stuff in the fridge than putting them in room temperature. This applies when defreezing meat or fish - chances of bacteria growth is low.

sometimes the old folks must understand that mothers do not determine the gender.

hey emeraldbride, u mean by 16weeks cannot see confirm ger ger isit? Isit true that only ger ger can keep their legs together while boi boi cannot cos they hv something in between that prevents them from it close??? Someone pls shed some light please...........

Meredith, my detail scan on Aug1. I can't wait...........

ikeike u so funny.. by 16 weeks, ur doctor can confirm ur gender but shuld be abt 70% accurate. Not true that having penis prevents the boy from closing their legs..my baby crosses his leg on saturday during scanning and only open wide enuf for us to see 3 white spots when my parents came in to take a look at the scan.

Chantalle

dun remember leh, mayb i never really notice hard enough, hahaha

i will be going for my detailed scan on the 7th Aug 08 at ADC, how about you?

mum2ndx
mayb u wana go slow wif d cordyceps n give once a wk for a start? =) coz its veri heaty one.

juzyounme
oh. my CL is my mummy. so i give her ang bao for helping mi during confinement n go back to work will be 'sun sun li li'. hehe.

RE: postnatal massage, she massage whole body. juz tt tummy area will be gentle massage due to my c-sect wound. veri relaxing. d massage lady will come to my place for it. even for prenatal massage she will also come up.

RE: bedtime routine
i tink beta to read book liao den feed milk or vice versa. so its like a step by step routine for baby. =)

RE: infant care
i placed my boi in Lea***** Vis*** at my workplace when he's 6mths old. we were there at 8.30am. so can c tt d care-givers were buzi wif all d babies. realise tt they tend to attend to crying babies onli. my boi was due feeding at 9am. they hav a white board for parents to update last milk feed n diaper changed. tinking mayb they buzi coz all children juz came, we went for breakfast, leaving my boi in their care.

when we back 1hr ltr, he wasn't fed yet. bascially, he was left alone wif a toy in d rocker tt he was placed initially. was veri upset by then. asked d care-giver if he has been fed, they said they forgot as my boi din make any noise n got another care-giver who was looking afta d toddlers to feed. tt care-giver was unhapi from d look on her face.

my boi refused to drink n she took a towel to wrap his whole body forcing him to drink in front of us. tt's not d right way to treat a baby. i was so upset n in tears so we went to d principal's office n withdraw him.

we were fuming mad when d principal actually told us tt some parents can accept whereas some parents cant afta we told her wat happened. which parent can accept such treatment? pity those babies tt were left under their care.

she even commented, usually we don give fully refund but will do so for ur case. we were tinking, if u still dare charge us one dae of fees which is $50, go ahead. we will lodge a complain no matter wat.

mayb my expectation is higher coz im a nurse but tt's not d right treatment for a baby. if a baby doesn't make noise, it doesn't mean they can neglect d baby. tinking of d incident makes mi fume. haiz.

ikeike..yup..u are rite..cos the sperm will determine the X or Y factor liao...so the gender is depending on the sperm..for me..17 weeks...still cannot see gender...dunno my detail scan on 24 jul can see gender or not..

Iemik0
Wah your experience with that infant care is really bad, i would hv told off the caregive who force feed immediately!

We visited NTUC infant care near our place and it is a totally different scenario to yours. They also have a chart and all the kids were fed on time. We spent about more than 1 hour there....heheh i super kiasu and went without prior arrangements. The principle was very nice and she allowed us to stay and watch as long as we dun touch the kids.

We will be placing our little boy in infant once he reaches 2.5mths as we have no one to help. Frankly, i'm very satisfied with our visit. Perhaps you shd visit the center and stay for a while to watch before placing you kid in one.

I think that centre you've gone to is highly unprofessional, and i'm quite surprised at the comment the principal made. I would have flim the whole session and lodge a complaint.

I hope your boy is ok now

luthadel
we went to observe b4. for 2hrs in fact. but sad to say, such tings still happen to our boi. now he under d care of my mil.

iemik0

Can you please advise which lea**** Vis*** this is ?

I am planning to put my baby in the one in NUS...After reading your story, am abit worried.

phyl.. Its just like your constipation.. The longer u store, the harder it becomes and difficult to come out. See, i can totally understand... well well well.. wish me luck ah.. i will somehow find a way to do it.

Wah Girl80, Got da mei nu also u nvr see.. U eyeing at which doc ah? lol kidding.. I am seeing Dr Tham on the 4th Aug. U lei which doc u under? Ask u ah.. By then the hospital will ask us what package to sign up for ah?

*sigh* I think these are the headaches we working mum face.

For us we have 2 options, either get a maid or infant care and we both felt that Infant care is more structured and will encourage our boy to have social interaction skills rather than being alone at home with a maid.

It is such a pain to witness what you've saw. You're lucky to have your MIL's rescue. For us, if such things happen we will be at a lost 'cos no one to supervise the maid and I really cannot fully trust a small infant in the hands of an untrained stranger.

hi all, im starting to feel breathless again. aiyo i feel so tight below my breast. =( Help~! so xin ku. I could feel baby swimming in my tummy like a fish. hahah. its quite not use for me still.. as everytime im sleeping little one will be moving, and i cant sleep well. Do you all still wake up in the middle of the night and Pee? i PEE alot!

Even sneezing. i sometimes uncontrol that pee out abit -.-" do you gals happen before?

chantalle.. whether is it boy or gal. its not out's fault not giving what our in-laws want, i duno how to put it. Its not our eggs changing it to a gal or boy, its male sperm that create it gal or boy and give it to us to make babies. I read from a mag. so its not our fault whether is boy or gal wor. hehe sorry i duno how to say in good words =X

luthadel
can understand from ur point of view. we placed him in infant care so as to relieve MIL's load. coz she looking afta 2 grandson liao. plus mine will be 3.

end up last resort is back to my MIL since SIL's maid is there to help during dae time.

now we got headache over caregiver for my 2nd one. haiz.

How nice if we can form a system and hire helpers who are trained to look after our kids, like 1:3 ratio. Then we can share the cost :p