(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Hmm..if lunch I dunno can join anot, anyway I'm working in Tuas very near to Corporation. I'm working in Tuas, sometimes got meeting till very late. Hope I can make it, dun 1 2 miss all the preggies together.

A big welcome to all new MTBs.

My toilet trip lessen liao.

jowinbb,
sorry for the late reply..too tired lastnight to log on.

Actually, i can't help you either. I'm punjabi muslim (hubby malay muslim) and have never attended a temple wedding. For punjabi (sikh) weddings, people normally give $10-20 cos the makan is usually at the premises. If makan is someplace else, must give more..

To be safe, $50 should be good enough i think.

mummy30,
thanks for the compliment.. Bet you can't see the 'extra tyre' around my waist! hehe...

After delivery, once i got my gynae's ok (6wks after delivery), hubby and i started going for jogs/cycling again so i guess that played a part. Also i'm very afraid of ending up like the typical punjabi mum - fat! My mum was ok until she had her 3rd kid and got too busy to do anything about it, and my sis has ballooned after her 2nd child... the fear pushes me.. keke..

hi llig
No problem
Take more rest.

Hi mummy30.
there are many other gynaes at TMC beside Dr Cheng. Dr Caroline Khi package is at $650 exclude delivery charges. Therefore u need to ask their delivery cost n add together. Dr Eunice Chua no package. Maybe other gals at TMC can introduce their gynae too?? I heard Dr Yvonne Soong or Chua not bad too

I think the private suite at KKH is not cheap too? I am not sure as i did not enquire abt KKH at all.

I also not sure if Dr Cheng is not scanning, wat he is going to do la.. perhaps measure n hear bb heartbeat. He did mentioned too many ultrasound if not good or baby. I did a check online, indeed. As the ultrasound scan heat tat transmit to the amino water, baby have no way to dispel the heat. which may lead to baby defect etc. But "too many" meaning how many times of scan, i dun know la... haha!!

Welcome GuySmileyChris and bur

Welcome to the new MTBs to this thread!

Jowin: I think i'll prob buy a cot, not a playpen. Can convert into toddler bed in future. I dunno but i keep having this feeling that playpen looks very unstable! :p

Stretchmark cream
I've been using Clarins tonic oil since 8 weeks and so far so good. I love the smell. If you buy from department stores, it's more expensive. My friend & i ordered online from strawberry.net & we paid only about $52 for a bottle. Now USD exchange rate is low.

Gathering:
I don't mind Marche but can it hold all of us? Any other places where so many of us can gather? If not, i think we can go Luthadel's place.

Confinement lady:
I booked my confinement lady in late April. By then, i had to call 5 different aunties before i managed to secure my CL. The rest were booked for December liao! So any MTBs here want to book CL, should do it soon...esp for the popular ones.

Yes, i think the private suite at KKH not cheap. Cos when you give birth, you go for 1-bedded ward & total cost still above $3K.

Hi Pris
Its ok. I will most likely get a cot and a playpen.. one at my mum house n one at mine.. Cot is definitely more stable than playpen.
If you dun have 2 places to put at like mine, cot is more suitable.

oh. the clarins so cheap? i cannot find at airport DFS dun know why they are not selling.

Just an example for my friend's bill when she checked out of TMC, she paid abt $1.7K in cash ( include the initial deposit she paid already) 2nite stayed in 1 bedder room but upgrade her to deluxe 1 bedder.. She did not take epidural($500)

Another bill is $200 for her baby consultation for jaundice etc etc.. If not wrong this $1.7K shd be medisave deducted already la

hi sorry to interrupt... i have the following brand new unopen items to sell or swap with any of your items of equal value:

1. 1x Pigeon Baby Powder Made in Japan (retail 6.90)
2. 2x Pigeon wideneck 300ml peristaltic milk bottle (retail 10.50)
3. 1x Avent milk bottle 125ml (retail $8.50)
4. Pigeon starter kit (include bottles, brush, pacifier, milk powder container, etc) retail $45

all items brand new unused

Hi Jowinbaby / mummy 30

I m also seeing Dr LC cheng.. Maybe i m having twins n 15 weeks that Y he scan me everytime i vist him ( 3 - 4 weeks )... Tat is additional cost $ 60

I m very excited to see the babies in each visit.. If he dun scan me, i think that will drive me crazy...

Jowin: Yep, the website gives 5% discount if you order 3 or more items. They deliver from HK to SG and usually it'll arrive in a week. I've ordered from them 3 times before. There're also other skincare brands & makeup.

Yep thank goodness part of hospital charges can deduct from medisave! If not that's a lot of cash to pay upfront. :p

pinkypanter: I can't wait to see my baby at each visit too! Only once every 4 weeks...so it's so precious.

thanks for the info, ladies..

i will go check out more..

Juz now went watson's to take a look at the Palmer's cream. Bought it coz got 15% discount. after that saw it at another shop juz a few shops away, is much cheaper than after discount in watson's

llig
That still nit alot of determination.. tink for mi, halfway give up liao.. hee..

Hi ladies! Anybody going to the motherhood fair this weekend? I've been thinking the entire afternoon but laziness got the better of me :p

Stretchmark cream: I'm using the Bodyshop Cocoa Butter stick. So far so good. Very convenient cause it's a stick - no need to get hands oily.

Scanning: ...it's not a given that the gynae scan us every time we go see him/her huh? I know the scanning is included in the antenatal package, and the scanning is what I look forward to leh. I am so paranoic... if I don't see the baby well and healthy in the scan I think I cannot sleep well... (-_-")

Confinement lady: I think I confirm not hiring one already. Will try to survive with either catered confinement food or mum/MIL will cook. Plus maybe get a part-time cleaner? *cross-fingers* I just cannot bear having a stranger in the house.

Anyone started buying things for baby yet? I was thinking of buying the big-ticket items during the GSS...save money mah. But some people say should only buy in the 5th or 6th month. How??

Hi mummies, went to SG motherhood fair and total damage was $200 plus. But got quite a lot of gd deals. However, no pigeon or avent bottles. Most accept CASH payment only.

- Neurogain at $30.
- BB wipes of many brands going really cheap. EQ brand going at 3 for $2.
- Softlove maternity pad - Buy 2 get 1 Free at $2 per pack.
- Palmers organic stretch cream $16.50.
- Pureen pdts such as detergent, bottle cleanser are also cheap. Cant rmb the exact price.
- Lots of DVDs. The wheels on the bus vcd at $8 and Dvd at $12. Saw other vcds at $3.
- EYS Chicken Essence 6 bottles at $11.50
- Brown Rice Powder at $10.30
- Nestle cereals going at 2 for $5 and 2 for $8.
- Heinz rice cereal at $2.50.

LuthAdel, I m ok with yr place.

Spaghetti, if there is a sale, more worth buying now. If u wan to decide which colour to buy, then may wan wait for the gender.

RE: Cot/PlayPen
I find cot useful cos it can convert to toddler bed in future. However my gal is now 18 mths, we bought her a mattress to sleep. So far have not convert to toddler bed yet. Find mattress safer for them.

Playpen, I leave it in my mil place. So when we are there to stay, my gal will slp in the playpen. Actually its stable. But if bb is to flip, the playpen will shake a little. Its also compact and very easy and convenient to store.

Out of the 20 who are ok with the gathering only less than half replied OK on the venue. As such, I did not proceed to place the booking today.

Anyway, there are always more central meeting place if most can confirm or suggest location that would make it a lot easier. Jazlyn, what do you think

went to the motherhood fair yesterday and bought 1 maternity pants @ $30 and a bermudas @ $20 from 'Moms R Us'. original price of each item is $49.90.

did not buy any baby stuffs although i think they are quite cheap cos i think it's too early. think there will be a baby fair in taka in sept, so can buy that time.

btw, the pants and bermudas i bought online from old navy are too big for me.

1) Maternity Full-Panel Twill Pants
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26249&pid=443205&scid=443205002
Colour: Black - selling at $32

2) Maternity Full-Panel Twill Shorts (4 1/2")
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=34770&pid=553712&scid=553712022
Colour: Bright White - Selling at $25

3) Maternity Full-Panel Denim Shorts (5")
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=34770&pid=553713&scid=553713002
Colour: Medium Wash - Selling at $25

Anyone interested can email me at [email protected]

as for the gathering, i cannot make it on 5th july cos that day is my mother's birthday

luthadel,

i go with the majority

as i m no longer working in JE, gg to Jurong for a gathering once in a blue moon is not dat scary liao...
i can alwiz arrange with jowinbb on how v both can reach ur place together. n i need direction!!!

later will drop by motherhood expo to take a look at the demo by medela. never c a breast pump in action before.. hehe

Morning Ladies!

motherhood fair: erm.. nothing fantastic.. but yesterday there was a $350 off cordlife.. but i din take up coz in the end we decided to donate the cord instead of storing it. i bought the palmer's organic lotion and thats abt it.. got lots of flyers and free gifts.. a cleaning company gave me a pot to clean my house.. well.. free one then anything la.. i also went to the sweetest moments booth to get a free voucher for baby's full month. their cakes are cute and cheap. other than that.. there are no avent products and the medela pump people not very enthu so i cant be bothered..

lets wait for taka baby fair ba.. haha..

LuthAdel, sorry, i dun come online on weekends coz too lazy to turn my lappie on.. hehe.. i'm ok with the majority.. as long can fit all of us can liao.. i dun mind going to your place coz i feel at least we can get to know each other better and not be distracted by other things.. sorry.. but gals.. i really dun like crowded places.. hehe.. i'll confess that the last time i step into orchard rd is like last christmas.. hehe.. but.. if everyone wanna go out.. its fine with me too..

quite a lot of posting over the weekend. Usually, i don't log in if i am not working.

i am with kkh private suite. don't need to stay in 1-bedded, can still stay in 4 bed ward. it cost me about $60 for mine last visit and is after office hours. doc can do the scanning cos the machine is in the room.

Morning ladies

Re gynae at TMC, I'm seeing Dr Yvonne Soong now. She was recommended to me by my church friend. I got a package from her at my first visit (7 weeks) and it was $1300 for all consultation charges, urine tests and ultrasound scans up till delivery. Also includes any additional unscheduled visits for pregnancy-related conditions. But excludes vitamins, other blood tests and delivery charges. Although at my first visit, they gave me my first prescription of calcium and a tube of stretch mark cream for no extra charge.

I don't know if this is considered expensive or not, since I wasn't really shopping around for a gynae. But I'm happy with Dr Soong. She is very warm and pleasant. And very understanding of my specific requests, e.g. not wanting to do unnecessary tests or scans. Also, she's very patient when I ask a lot of silly questions, like can I sit cross-legged, is it safe for me to play with my pets, etc.

Hope this was helpful. If anyone wants more info on Dr Soong, just let me know.

morning ladies,

motherhood fair: total damage, $469 for Bumwear pocket cloth diapers. was so excited when i saw the booth dat i totally forgotten that the main purpose i went there is for the breast pump demo!!! anyway, v think the Bumwear is a worthy investment as it will saves us money on disposable in the long run, n save us the hassle of folding the nappies!!!

i read from dunno where says that bum wear is more convenient for girls.. dunno also.. i walk pass it then the booth very crowded so din kaypo kaypo.. ;0)

I also bought Bumwear from the fair. Like Jazlyn, I feel that it is a worthwhile investment - much cheaper than disposable diapers! Also, much more environmentally-friendly too. Because my MIL will be looking after my baby, it will not be too inconvenient to wash the diapers daily.

However, we felt that $469 is a bit too much to pay upfront, so we are buying a starter kit first ($245 - 6 diapers) and will probably buy another starter kit later this year.

Jazlyn:
I saw the breast pump demo at the Medela booth. I was trying out the Medela PIS. They even have a fake breast to show you how it works. Quite funny, seeing the pumping in action for the first time. Even more funny when I tried to hold the fake breast and it fell out of my hands! It was rolling all over the floor, like a water balloon. I think my hubby was trying to control his laughter. hehe.. But seriously, I was very impressed with the Medela PIS. Very gentle and quiet. My other friends tell me that electric pump is very noisy, like vacuum cleaner, but I didn't find that to be the case at all with Medela. Will seriously consider getting it nearer the time.

echo..i m also wif dr.yvonne soong but i din get the stretch mark cream fr them..think it is chargeable.

my package did not include any ad-hoc visit also leh..hahaha..mabbe my info is wrong?? how come diff package one leh??

i juz weigh myself.. for the past 2 weeks din put on 1kg also despite eating so much.. wonder whr all the food gone??

i ate rice the whole day yest..bah kut teh in the morning, claypot chicken rice for lunch, n bak chang for dinner!! hehehe..yummilicious!

Luthadel, i can't join u gals on 5th July.. i hv to prepare for the bbq at nite..so sory! Will join next outing.

iemiko, me staying at Punggol Field.. quite near ur place, i tink

Jazlyn, jowinbaby
i try using cloth nappies for my new born but give up bec he wet the nappies every half hour.

bumwear is not cheap. Anyway, i bought 1 bumwear pullup pant intend to use it for toilet training. Tried once before, for me guess not very useful for boy, cos if you wear the pull up pant it look very fat at the bottom + the pant. Maybe for girls is better cos they were skirt mah.

maybe will try it when my boy is bigger for accident during night training.

Just my 2 cent experience.

echo,

i tot of geting the starter kit... then hubby realise that package C n D is more worthwhile. n he managed to squeeze for more inserts n liners fm the sales assistant!!! according to her, my hb is the best bargainer so far she had ever met!!

the medela is good ar? ok, will keep it in mind... me so forgetful, forgot bout the pump till v reached home!!!

joanne,

the cloth diaper cost 27 dollars per pc, n the inserts r 7 dollars per pc. buying them in bulk is cheaper as it's discounted.

winnie,

y i encourage hb to get the bumwear coz i noe dat babies wet their nappy almost every half an hour!!! n it's not an easy job to keep changing them, not forgetting the bulk of nappies need to b washed n the space needed to dry them... so v think bumwear in the long run, will saves a lot hassle n more convenient

emeraldbride:
I can't remember the itemised bill that I got at my first visit. All I can remember is that I only paid $1,300 that first time, and I got one month of calcium and 1 tube of cream. Maybe the cream was a free sample? Sometimes, doctors give away the samples that they get. Like at my last visit, Dr Soong gave me a box of folic acid from her drawer, meaning not dispensed by the ladies at the counter, so I didn't have to pay for it. I guess this kind of thing will depend on your luck.

I also haven't put on much weight. At 14 weeks now, I've only put on 1-1.5 kg since before I got pregnant even though I've been eating normally. Maybe the weight gain will come later?

Thanks Raven. :0)
And all for the welcome. I've just been "lingering" and reading the excitement so many of you have, along with gaining new info on being a new mommy.

Realised that many have shared their EDD and doctors they're attended by. My EDD is 5th Dec 08 and I'm seeing Dr Jocelyn Wong at TMC. Next appt is in 2 weeks to know gender of my child. :0D

Actually, during my last visit at 12 weeks, my lil fella was agressively doing acrobat in its waterbag - punching the air and bouncing so hard that it flipped and landed upside-down on its head. Kinda surreal watching it on "TV", as I still couldn't feel its movements. It was cute and made my Hubster and I smile.

Phy, sweetest moment packaging is very nice. Got this for my gal full mth and had many gd comments on the cakes and packaging.

I also got the free steamer from the vacuum co. Read from other thread that if we turn down the apptm date, the steamer/pot need to be returned to them personally.

thanks on all your welcomes...
I went to the toa payoh shop on sat and their maternity clothes are really affordable, bought a dress and skirt for slightly more than $50..

bur,

which shop u bought ur clothes from? do they sell working pants as well??

my multiply id is stpeiyee
add me ya

Echo: I have also put on slightly less than 1kg & I'm 14 weeks on Wednesday. My friends told me the bulk of the weight gain will come in the last trimester.

As for the Medala breast pump, which PIS did you try? Cos i checked online & there're a few versions of PIS pumps..one is de advanced. Is it all the same?

Today, i'm going to Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit to check out strollers & cots. They're a wholesale distributor so i want to check out the prices.

Spaghett: I also heard don't buy baby stuff before 5 months cos it's pantang. But if really good bargain how? Then i heard if you buy, just don't keep at your own house cos it's not good to have baby stuff at home when there's no baby yet.

Winnie: I don't intend to use cloth diapers cos i know babies will keep wetting/soiling their diapers. Will have to keep changing!!! Hubby & i have decided to stick to only disposable diapers.

Pris...is it true that dun keep bb stuffs in the house if there is no bb? cos my bros keep all the bb stuffs in my house's storeroom when i shift into my new place!!

Hi Jazlyn,

It's the Carano shop that was mentioned last week int his thread, address is blk 185, #01-224, TP central, the 2 pcs i bought are both suitable for work, there's oso quite some pants there.. but i think most of them are 3/4.. the material are not very good but they are afforable cause i the skirt i bought in suntec is $59 and pants is $79...

Hi bubblepearl,

the keeping & buying of bb stuff is superstituous... it's up to u to believe or not... i've got lotsa friends who bought lotsa BB clothes from overseas cause they were cheap b4 they were pregnant & their kids are all toddlers now...
I too could not resist frm buying till i end up with one big plastic box from new born to 2/3 yrs old....

2nd baby, but they come and clean only rite? haha.. i used to work for the rainbow vacuum company and when they go appt at the place then they make you buy it lor.. haha. but its free cleaning.. so dun buy they also cannot force one.. haha.. well.. just intend for them to clean the dust mites in my bed and thats it.. i dun believe in vacuums..

i also heard many good comments on them.. so just give it a try lor.. buy 10box get 1 box free.. hehe..

ah_bur, where is the shop near huh? i still no time to go find the shop.. near the library there ah?

hi GuysmileyChris,

I am also with Dr Joycelyn Wong. Will see her 2mr for my wk13 checkup.

Has anyone search for milk bottle sterilizer? any recommendation which brand is good?

pris ah.. go liao tell us got anything good not.. hehe.. i thinking of getting a combi stroller... the one that is heavily advertised.. hehe.. looks good and the functions also not bad.. let us know if worth going all the way there not k..

Hi Phylicia,

U r right, it's near the library...it's easier look for the blk and unit no. cause the shop oni had one corner selling pregnancy clothes. if you are looking for a shop that sells pregnancy clothes, u will miss it....

Hi Pris,
Sorry, I have no idea which one I tried! Because I wasn't really looking to buy, I didn't pay attention to the model. paiseh...

Think the one at Beauty World Centre got more collection as the floor area pretty big. Like a big dept store, I saw quite alot of pants there. Design is so so, have to choose, some good, some outdated. Most important very cheap.

pris,

my mum said can start buying when bout 4-5 mths preggie. yest i told her of our bumwear purchases, she said if good n cheap, then buy lor. but dun buy too much first lah. dat's all.

u gg to distributor ar? let us noe on ur findings ya...

Afternoon ladies..
juz back from my checkup..

Winnie
check with u hor.. I oso with TPS, but will it be the same gynae deliver for us?
Hubby wan mi consider again changing to TMC, but i m quite used to the gynae le so dun really feel like changing..

Wa, seems like most of u all already start looking for stuff le.. i not in the mood yet le.. Normally walk 2-3 hours will feel like whole body aching..

mummy30
yes, my gynae is the one who deliver me for my no1. only he and other nurses /midwife during deliver not any other doc.

my friend who do not go TPS, see a few doc who will take turn to check on her when she deliver.

Re buying things early
I'm not really the pantang type, but I also think that it is too early to buy some of these baby stuff, especially those that come with warranty. If we buy them now, we start 'using up' the warranty even before we start using the product (e.g. stroller, cot, breast pump, etc), so not really worth it.

i think for TPS depends on which ward you take. if you take the 1 bedder then confirm ur gynae will see u thru.. if you take the 4 or 5 bedder then its anyone who is available..

TPS is more costly.. i did think of going to TMC.. but.. precaution wise.. i'll stick to KKH in case of complications..

one mummy's baby was premature with slight complication then her bill was 120k.. coz transfer from pte to KKH.. then instalment plan with KKH for next 10yrs!!!!

Phylicia/Winnie
Thanks for the info.. Next visit i will check with my gynae about this..

Phylicia
Thats wat i tink oso loh.. Cant imagine 10 years paying the instalment.. *faint*