(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

my room is 4 bedded with aircon - think is the min if you are with TPS.

my doc also my to check me the next day after deliver & follow up check up after that.

Hi Hi,

I was with KKH TPS during my last pregnancy and this pregnancy too.

For TPS mummies, can only choose between 1 or 4 bedder. The same gynae whom you see will be the one delivering for you.

My last bill with KKH comes upto 2.5k cash, and approximately 5k medisave. I chose the single bedded. Stayed for 5 days with my boy. he had jaundice henceforth the 5 days stay. I have no qualms about staying on with him in hospital cos the single bedded is like $285 per day. And since medisave per day can claim upto i think is $300, i jus stay on.

Its also for fear of complications that i chose KKH. A bit morbid to tok about such, but me very kiasu and kiasee. keke..

Pris, read that if dont buy the vaccuum cleaner, they will sell the package of doing per item (eg $10 per mattress, $15 for sofa etc) basis on a yearly program. But of cos, they cant force us if we r not keen.

Dino, I m using Pigeon Rapid Sterilizer. Find it gd cos can fit any bottles.

Echo and Pris, I think we're not supposed to put on too much weight in the first tri right? 1 - 2 kg sounds quite healthy. I wish I can control myself a little. I put on 4-5 kg in the last 14 weeks...HORRORS. I'm really have to moderate my weight a little or it's really not healthy..

I saw a cot with spring mattress that I really like. Very tempted to get that, although it's not convertible to a day bed or cot leh. Also thinking of getting the PIS pumps now, while it's still cheap. My colleague told me breast-feeding is very, very tough, and I should buy when I deliver and know for sure I can do it. But I figured I'll express even I cannot get the baby to breast-feed directly. Hee..I don't think I can wait until 5th month to shop.

Guysmileychris, your baby so active...lol...so cute flip until land on the head. Mine was active during the detailed scan...gave the sonographer a difficult time. The little naughty bum sat up and kept kicking so he floats up and slowly settle down again.

Miss seeing my little one on the scan. ^^

spaghetti,

if ur gynae said u r alright n ur baby is growing healthily, ur weight gain shud b alright.
dun worry so much. most important is u r eating healthily.

my colleague told me dat it's not a wise idea to get a baby cot. coz baby usually wake up in the middle of the night as they will accidentally stuck their limbs onto the gaps of the fencing. therefore, it cause baby to wake up easily. let the baby to sleep on the mattress on the floor will b better option.

my colleague got 2 boys, n her cot is really seldom used. so she told me this so that v can spend our money wisely.

Jazlyn, your friend can get the padding around the cot, think it is called a bumper...? baby will not be sticking his/her arms and legs out when she puts that up. personally I'd rather not have to bend down night and day to pick baby up from the floor... would rather save my back

Jazlyn: Your friend can buy the cot bumper...it's like a protector that you tie to the cot so that baby won't hurt him/herself.

Tamms: Ya, if keeping having to bend up and down is not good. Plus my mom told me to avoid squatting too much after giving birth, esp during confinement month.

My reviews of these 2 places --

Baby Hyperstore:
~ Many different brands of strollers like Peg Perego, Maclaren, Quinny, Inglenisa & Les Bebes.
~ Many different car seats available
~ There're some selections of cots...price range from $350 to over $1K.
~ Staff (mainly Malay) were helpful & young.
~ If you don't mind older models, there are substantial discounts.

Baby Kingdom:
~ Strollers are mainly brands like Combi, Capella, Lucky Baby & Chicco. No high end brands.
~ Some cots available too.
~ Lots of baby products on the 2nd floor e.g. wet wipes, clothes, Avent & Pigeon bottles
~ Medela breast pumps on 15% discount
~ Staff are mainly Malaysian aunties

My hubby & i have decided on which stroller to get. We're going to buy the Inglenisa Zippy stroller cos it can be folded with just ONE HAND. We like the Quinny Buzz but it's just too heavy for me to handle.

morning ladies..

Pris, how much is the stroller that u getting?

bubblepearl, i'm ok with anywhere. i'll go with the majority.

pig07.. TPS very ex hor.. haha.. but i think i will go for 1 bedder coz i scared scared alone so need my hubbie to accompany me.. then my temper very bad so i dun think i can tolerate if other ppl start having a party in the room! hehe..

pris,

thankx for the review. do u have their full addresses, contacts n operating hours? will drop by someday, preferable weekend to take a look

btw, how much is the stroller u chose? i dun mind older model as long as they function perfectly.

tamms n pris,

i will ask my colleague again whether did she put any bumper in her cot when her kids were young.

i m ok with any venue. club street is pretty centralised too

pris, mind sharing the address for Baby Hyperstore?

Maybe can go look see look see.. dun intend to purchase baby stuff that early, cos I hv yet to even tidy up the room..still in a big big mess! Hahaha...Go Club Street can go to Jerry's BBQ.. quite quiet and can chit chat..

Any1 here interested in buying the fridge-to-go?

It's a insulated bag for storing breastmilk after w pump it out in the office so tat the milk can last (10 to 12hrs) till we reach home.

I got it at the expo bb fair yest at a bundle set, comes with a extra small bag for storing 1 milk bottle (can last 4 to 5hrs)

I got the set og the big bag + small bag at $60. Tang selling $54 for the big bag & $18 for the small bag.

Selling coz my sis going to pass me her old 1 coz she is weaning her gal soon.

Interested, pls email me :

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

i'm still here..

down with flu since last thurs..

horrible feeling especially under the air-con, it makes me feel even more sick..

can't wait for lunch.. what u planning to eat, Phylicia?

hello
Hope I'm not coming down with flu! Can feel that soreness on my spine and feeling feverish even though there is no fever.

i think the flu bug's floating around.. my HB is also gonna get sick anytime.. my DS already kena.. he's been coughing with phlegm for a week.. heart pain see him cough but cannot get the phlegm out.. sigh..

me oso started to cough last nite, so sianz..very tired.

Just got a confinement lady, so ex now the price, not easy to get , have to really book early.

i m meeting one recommended by my neighbour (she currently on confinement)..so will chit chat wif her tonite. Saw her this morning, quite clean looking..hahaha...

she charges $1.8K so i suppose that is the market rate now..

u all better take care n drink more water!! eat more fruits to boost up ur immune system ok.. ;)

Long time. Hav been reading and learn so much from u. Do take care. take apple and orange - natural so may keep your immunity system in tact.

Dee, r u on anenatal package with Raffles Hospital? May I ask how much u pay? Also, have u decided on the room?

My EDD is now changed to 11 Dec 2008.

dee,
my boy also suddenly got this stubbon phlegmy cough last sat!! n a bit of running nose, well it's not new to us...gave him the cough n running nose syrup hope he gets better.. sign..
my boy so prone to get these..

n yday he got 4 bite marks from his classmate!!! he refuse to tell hb till i ask him. he just say it's a gal who did that..OMG, this morning we went up CC to make noise. xian...found e gal.. so what.. parents not there... can only tell the teacher to inform her parents abt her act to my boy.. so poor thing...my boy was just helping the teacher to keep the toys n e gal refuse to give him n he got the soveniors!!!! wa biang!!!

dee.. i'm going to have canteen food.. not nice one.. hehe..

wah.. i also today a little runny nose.. all of us must drink more water oh...

mum2ndx.. thats CC for you lor.. haha.. i was a CC teacher once.. my biggest fear is bites and accidents..

Tulle,
yup.. started on my 1st visit coz he said i loyal customer.. haha.. paid 2.2 includes consultations, antenatal vits, scans for each visits and normal delivery fee.. paid 50%.. the other half upon submission.. going for 2-bedded.. his package increased price compared to last year.. the room package too.. blame it to INFLATION! sigh! how abt urs?

mum2ndx,
alamak, that gal must be a bully! think she should be 'detained' at one corner to learn her lessons..
i just sent my boy to infantcare also.. bad timing.. suddenly some babies got the HFM.. hopefully he won't get it or that the center won't close.. else, i faint.. have to take leave and care for him.. *praying real hard*

emeraldbride,

Urs still 1.8k , this 1 that I got quoteed me 1.95K, I bargain till 1.9k, well she recommended by my SIL, heard that she's quite good wif bbs and cooking.

phylicia,

my colleague still stuck w/ meeting.. might end up with canteen food too.. if not can drive out to eat.. my office quite ulu, must drive out to eat better food..

today feel sian-sian.. that bug is really bugging me..

long time nvr come into this thread! whoa, so many posts aldy.

Luthadel, I may hv to give it a miss on the gathering coz i got to bring my girl for class. You ladies go ahead, and i will join you all the next round.

feeling damn sian today. no mood for anything....

mummy30.. ooo.. sounds yummy.. erm.. conpared to my econo rice.. hehe..

i think the pricing for CL also go up liao.. coz in other threads earlier this yr CL only abt 1.7-1.8.. wah.. now 1.95 liao ah.. soon will be 2.. inflation!! its a just a convenient excuse for ppl to raise pricing..

oh no....
the CL for my 1st baby cant make it this round.. sob..sob.. she very very good one...charge me 1.8k 3 years ago but do hse work for me like sweep n mop living rm, wash n cook for my hb n fold all my cloth for me... but now she got to look after her grandchild so not doing liao... she say will recommend her friend to us.. scared not so good like her cos i din feel there's a stranger at all when she's around...

Phylicia,
Yup. Last year charges was only about $1.5k My friend got hers recently at $2k. Image not including her food for confinment and doing hse work.

My mom found one from Malaysia that quoted me $2.5K!! Fall off the chair.. siao meh, confinement onie leh, $2.5K.. unless she super clean and help me clean the house till spotless, no oily cabinet etc..i may even consider, else, it is like daylight robbery!!

I may need to find part time cleaner to come alternate day to clean the house..i m someone that is very very particular abt cleanliness, so must make sure my house is still spotless. Nevertheless it has to be clean, cos bb will be lying ard on the floor..though got mattress, but i still paranoid abt having dust ard..hehehe

Dee, Thx. they charge me 2.8K and i have to pay 70%...guess 1st baby...no loyalty yet. still thinking whether to go for 1-bedder as it's abt $200 difference for normal package. So your 1st trimester test went well, right? Mine ok now see gynae once a mth only. Take care for running nose.

Emaraldbride, 2nd baby & Phylicia, wow already gotten your CL. I still haven't found mine. any recommendations?

Tulle,
so far ok.. gonna have my next check this sat.. i think there's gonna be loads of ppl as usual coz everyone wants a weekend slot..

ya, 1 bedder is very popular in RH.. will u have ur hubby stay with u?

Last year after my miscarriage, I did a mini confinement for 2 wks and during that period I catered the confinement food.

Day 1 - 3 still ok, Day 4 onwards, really cannot eat anymore. After 1 wk, I cancelled the rest. Told my hubby no catered food if I give birth 'cos really yucky!

wow phylicia,
we were glad that we got a CL last time cos at least someone to help out. u know la.. bb cry everytime....and it was hb 1st day at new job so he dun have paternity leave to help me on the 1st few days after discharge.

BUT, If u think u can do it, u can do it!!! jia you!

thanks mum2ndx and tulle

LuthAdel, Which company u order.. many people say the food not bad leh.. haha.. i picky eater.. but think will cater if not i'll be ordering mcdelivery liao! hehe...

hubbie wont be ard too.. sob sob.. but.. now seems like MIL might come.. but dunno yet. something happened at his home la.. so dunno will still come not.. see lor.. (hubbie is from kuching- sarawak)haha.. so MIL cannot take taxi come.. must take plane.. and best is MIL nv take plane b4!! Zzzz

LuthAdel ...

really? It's that bad? .. I was lookin at some brochures .. (I'm not Chinese so I don't do the whole confinement and confinement food ritual) ... but it looked ok ...

guess looks are deceiving ... lol

wah.. today i'm really rotting in office.. no one to talk to me... i'm bored stiff!!!!!!! i despo until go read june's thread.. haha.. interesting to read them giving birth.. this is really very bad!!!!! sigh.. my silly boss having meeting next door, so cannot go home now.. sianz..

me too falling asleep!!

I slept at 10.30pm last nite cos was so dead tired after travelling back fr KL via bus on Sunday nite.. but woke up at 3.30am juz to drink milo (too hungry!) then meeting whole day today!!

When my boss talking, my eyes nearly close..jia lat!