(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Hi augbaby
Thanks for the info. Shall check it out..
I am still new to pump,so not very sure if it is Medela PIS which cost $428 or other type..

So gals, better check it out at robinson again..

augbaby, the EBM can keep for how long using FTG?
When we buy the pump, they will give us a bag? after expressing the milk, we shuld freeze the milk in office rite? Need to know the procedure first...hahaha..

emeraldbride,
no no dun need to freeze the ebm... coz EBM can keep in the fridge for 48hrs and if never consume by then then need to freeze it in freezer in milkbags. Frozen ebm can last to 2-3mths in freezer. So basically what i pump say on mon, my bb need to consume the ebm by wed latest. I personally prefer not to feed bb frozen milk if possible as some of the antibodies will be lost once milk is frozen. So basically a cooler bag is use for transporting ebm hm coz ebm must be keep in the fridge and cannot be put outside. The max that ebm can be left outside in room temp is 1hr and its either put in fridge or throw away hence always after expressing need to put in fridge. So the cooler bag is for u to put yr ebm into it from yr work to home till u can transfer the ebm into yr fridge. DO NOT put in freezer unless u are not going to feed yr bb ebm within 48hrs. Only PIS comes with the cooler bag, for the single electric pump, a cooler bag is not included. So no matter what, u need a cooler bag to transport yr ebm hm. For the normal medela cooler bag n ice block that comes with the PIS, from personal experience, i feel that when outside, it can keep my ebm cool for abt 4hrs only. So if i am outside for longer period of time then either i dun bring my ebm hm from work or i need a cooler bag that can keep my ebm cool for a longer period of time. So the FTG is able to do that. It can keep items inside it cool for up to 10hrs. Hence for me i buy that coz i do not want to risk my ebm from spoilting when i am outside so i invest in a cooler bag that enable me to bring my ebm outside in a fridge temp longer...
Hope u understand my explanation..

yeah, understand!! Thanks for sharing so much..hehehe

How much is one FTG btw? Do u tink it will not be nice to store breast milk in office fridge? Hahaha.. the male colleagues or other ppl may find it gross?

Emeraldbride,
No worries. Glad to be of help! Its almost $50 for the FTG but i feel its worth it...for me, i store my EBM in bottles and then put in ziplock bag and then store in my office fridge. shld be ok ba..my colleagues are all ok with it leh...

meilik,

yes, I am ok today ... no nausea .. appetite getting better ... last nite too, I didn't have that funny taste in my mouth ... I hope this signifies the end of MS for me ... FINALLY.

Soon, you'll get there too !! Just TAHAN!!! I know it's easier said than done ... those 7 weeks of suffering feel like want to DIE.

lol

i used Geber bottles but now switch to avent for my no1. Think i will use avent for no 2 cos easier to find the parts. but will need a bigger cooler bag as the avent bottler are fatter. Will consider getting the FTG. Thanks for the info augbaby.

Hi all...

Meilik: Pls go see your doc. You vomitted till there was blood! Are you feeling much better?

Shirley: Rest well! Don't think too much ok?

Augbb: thanks for sharing bout the Medela PIS. My hubby wants us to buy a BRAND NEW one cos he feels that breast pumps are for personal use and hence, shouldn't buy 2nd-hand. Do you know how much does a brand-new one cost?

emeraldbride: Why should your colleagues find EBM disgusting? At my previous workplace, there was a male colleague who found it a bit uncomfortable but in the end, nobody else minded so he was outnumbered. :p Haha...

Karen: Did the doc measure the baby's NT or the neck?

Jazlyn & Jowin: Don't worry. I was initially very worried too. Now i'm still waiting for my doc to call me regarding the blood test result. I think i'll only know on Monday. Still a bit anxious. :p

Pris,
think shld be able $700+ ba..not too sure thou...go robinson to check it out...

Sperzz,
the last time i know is that it can be bought in metro and mothercare thou mothercare one the bottles are wide necked and hence fatter which i prefer the slim necked ones...

Oh btw, u all might want to check out promo for medela and buy their bottles to store yr ebm when u express at work...coz usually each time u express, it might not be alot but say 3oz each breast and u can store them in medela bottles. U can combine the ebm u express on the same day at the end of each day coz if not then u will hav a lot of half full bottles in the fridge which will be v space consuming...but u need to ensure that the ebm must be of the same temp, meaning if u juz express, u cannot combine it with the ebm u expressed 3hrs earlier...coz if not it will spolit. U can combine say ebm u pump at 10am with ones u express at say 4pm...u need to ensure that the ebm is cool and almost same temp liao then combine..u can store ebm in milkbags but i dun coz i prefer to use bottles as they can be stand and i find it easier...u can use other brands of bottles to store but i do hav abt 5 medela bottles extra that i bought...oh ya btw the PIS in addition to the cooler bag that comes with it, it also comes wif a few bottles of medela bottle...i forgot how many thou...

hav many of u ladies done ur oscars?

received bad news when i did mine tis morning. baby's neck thickness is 4.7mm. 1:13 chances of having a downie or baby wif heart defects. cried my heart out. mayb i least expect it as no family history n my boi is perfectly healthy. smmore i onli 24 gg 25 in a couple of daes. did all d bld test n hoping tt can get results by monday. dr highly recommend mi to go for amniotic test. but i fear d possibility of having a miscarriage. gotta do a detailed cardiac scan to make sure no heart defects as well. argh.

praying damn hard tt baby is well. *fingers crossed*

iemik0,

I did mine a couple of weeks back too. I will pray for you and your baby .. stay positive although I know it must be hard.

thanx samantha. =)

morning ladies
tot thru d whole nite as could not slp. will b go for amnio test asap. tink i under super high-risk category. so far i din encounter anyone wif 1:13 chances. hehe. so do d test will oso give mi peace n reassurrance. =)

iemik0-hi I TOTALLY understand ur feelings, I was 24 when I preg with my first baby, my NTscan shows my bb thickness 3.1mm high risk 1:76, proceed to do OSCAR but turns out 1:109 which considered failed for my age, thus I was suggested to do amino test, which the doc doing will assure u and show u bb is safe away from the needle, after that need to bedrest and take care, I paid $250 more to get fast results in 2-3 days else u need to wait for 2 weeks, so relieved results turn out bb healthy! I understand how u feel, I totally cannot talk abt it at all, tears just keep flowing coz don't understand why how come be like that.. so thankful this time round for my 2nd preg.. lucky NTscan passed.

*HUGZ* dun worry too much, sometimes technology can gives us assurance yet scares us like hell.. stay positive okie?? patz patz.

iemik0, its going to be difficult but try to stay positive. I cried alot too during my 1st preg when going for oscar. Mainly was due to the insensitive doc..because of all the crying, finally switched to private doc who was more willing to take the time to comfort rather than say things like "If your baby anything wrong, don't say i never warn you". Will you be going for the amino test?

I'm due for my Oscar on 09 Jun (my son's 1st bday). Finger's crossed but can't help feeling nervous too. MS seems to have disappeared and suddenly, i don't feel preg anymore..

imemik0 - Though I know it is difficult to stay positive, you would still have to keep your spirits for bb's sake.

Have just gone for my OSCAR today and results out only Mon afternoon... So now will just have to sit and wait...

llig-me2 sometimes I also forgot that I'm preg mainly coz need to take care of my boy.. I think my MS seems to be lessening now but now more of MOTION sickness then vomit. patz patz and hope ur OSCAR ok too, on a brighter note-how u celebrating ur son 1st bday??

raven1313-patz patz hope everything be ok for u too.

Enne,

Was actually dreaming of a big bash but got talked out of it.. keke..

We're having thanksgiving prayers at home on the eve of his bday(invite relatives). Then the next day, a 3d 'getaway' to aloha chalet for 3days..invite friends/relatives.

Husband talked sense into me to save the big bash plans for when he's slightly older cos won't know/remember anything now and probably won't enjoy it even.

thanx for all d support! =)

hav spoken to my dr on d line n gg down on mondae to discuss n talk about it again. i understand tt amnio test usually done at 16wks but now onli 13+ wks. dr say can be done. so mayb find out more 1st. if all goes well n they'r confident to do at 13+ wks, will go do amnio test on mondae.

now trying to kip myself occupied wif my boi's 1st bdae party planning. so at least wun 'hu shi luan xiang'. =p

by the way, any mommies on duphaston still? if u can get a prescription written, Nishino pharmacy at isetan basement is selling them at only 1.17 per tab. getting it from my gynae cost 1.80, at guardian its 1.45. 1.17 is the cheapest i've found

iemik0,

What are you planning for your son's birthday party? Wanted one for my son too but got talked out of it....

moring ladies

feeling a lot beta todae. chatted wif my manager n realised tt she did amnio test during her pregnancy as well. feel more reassured afta tt. hehe.

enne,
is it painful when they insert d needle? heard tt its juz like blood taking. hehe. im a nurse who's afraid of needles. lolx.

llig,
we holding birthday party for him at aloha chalet. gonna hold a big one coz he's d 1st n onli baby among mi n hubby's frenz and everyone voice out tt they want to come n play wif my boi.

furthermore, juz my relatives oreadi 50 pax. hehe. i remember when we hold his 'man yue' at home, there's no space to move around. end up, my relatives sit at staircase outside my flat. feel so bad. =(

so tis time tot to do at chalet beta coz its more spacious. hehe.

u gg to aloha chalets as well? =)

Hi Pris,

What's NT?

Hi iemik0,

Don't worry too much... my doctor told me that one of his patient's bb's neck measured with 7mm thickness turned out to be ok.

The tests are just telling the doc/patient to take more tests. Don't freak out!!! =P

Have you taken the xxx blood test yet?

iemik0 - it will turn out fine. Dun worry too much.

Today is a super bad day for me... Someone made me so agitated until I feel like give a good scolding. Now have cramps and no mood to eat.

So pissed off now!!!

Am new to this thread.
Expecting my 3rd bb, EDD is 9 Dec, seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth this time. Have been having MS (whole day sickness for some time), on MC at hm for last 1mth....sigh, sian! Just had my NT scan last Fri & saw bb moving & its head was on top of its head, so cute.....

May all mummies having MS be well soon. I also vomit till can see blood streaks, sigh....can't eat, can't sleep, can't drink, vomit, gastric, everything, yucks!

P.S> BTW, I've an extra box of Duphaston to sell off, anyone interested? (I've limited access to internet, so if interested, pls sms me at 81122212)

Morning Ladies, its monday again.. sigh.. good thing is i'm 12wks exactly today.. hehe.. i will attempt to tell my boss soon.. hehe..

imeik0- no worries k.. stay happy!!

samantha- glad to hear you are feeling better!

raven- all the best for your results! =)

Good morning..

Hi Phylicia
I am exactly week 12 today too...

Sigh.. puke twice this morning already.. so weak now...

Raven
good luck to ur results

Morning Ladies

My cat puked on our bed early this morning at 4am and now I'm super sleepy. Can you imagine, woke up at 2am to pee, then 4am to clean up the mess plus check on my cat.

My hubby jokinly said that our cat is trying to give us pre-training before the arrival of our bb

P.S. We have updated quite a few stuff on my blog, do check it out
www.http://theevolvingbean.blogspot.com

Hi Luthadel
wow.. u have done up the baby room.. very sweet n nice wor...

i have not even tidy up the room for baby yet... its my store room from Day 1 we shifted in.. haha!! .. 2 rooms for me to revamp.. mum's place and my own place....Think about it, i m rather tired to clean up.. haha!!

Morning gals,

On MC today, going 4 my NT scan later.

I'm in my 12 week oso.

My MS have lessen considerably liao, only some heart burn on/off. Hope it's will not be coming back, hate all the nausea and puking

Morning Ladies

I am not doing any oscar test, just the triple test at 16 weeks, 26 June, just like what I did for my boy..hope everything is ok.

My MS is better but still occasionaly feels nausea and puking, hopes it will getting better towards the end of this week cos I am going to Batam for a short trip on 8th - 10th.

iemik0,

Yup, We'll be at the sea view terrace 3. Wanted pool terrace but those got snapped up very fast. haiz...

How about you? Where and when will you be there?

Who knows, might bump into you....

Can I ask if anyone like miss menses for 3 day but tested -. But in the end actully is preggy. My Mense is late for 3 days now waiting but this morning I tested -.So quite disappointed.

LuthAdel- Cat puking is not a very good sign. maybe u might wanna bring ur cat to the vet. My cat had serious virus in gut and puked on my bed b4 too.. it was too serious n my poor cat went to heaven.. it probably went to your bed coz wanted your attention.

Raven, no worries.. hehe..no mood still got us here to entertain u and keep your mind away from it..

my dear ladies, tried and tested that MS is a very pantang thing. dun say getting better or weaning off of or anything to that extend.. it will come back and haunt u!! haha.. personal experience.. fyi.. i had a puke free weekend.. but.. it din last till this morning.. hmm.. maybe my MS is work related.. good day