(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Tulle,

yep, my 2nd preg at RH.. i'm with Dr. Tan YG and i think the gynaes over there kinda charge differently - dunno why tho..

for him, once he finds that pregnancy is stable even prior week 12, he'll start the package.. so for both of my preg, he started package early..

eerr.. not advertising for RH but i find the room charges also quite comparable - not very costly.

prev. preg, i took 2 bedded room.. and because i delivered baby at nite about 12am, there's Dr.'s OT charge.. so total bill came about 4K.. if not it'd be abt 3K for normal delivery (w/o epi).. this does not include baby's charge..

3k includes = antenatal package throughout preg (consultation, scans in every visits, antenatal supplements, doc's delivery fee) + 2 bedded and delivery suite charges

even tho RH may have a standard package but i think each gynae may be flexible in some of the items in the package..

but i do agree that ala-carte visits are costly for RH.. how did you get to know your gynae?

Reddates, can i have all the answers to LuthAdel's questions too? hehe.. most imptly is how much ba.. coz i wanna see sending to nanny more economical or having a maid..

Ladies, me thinking of getting Avent IQ ISIS Duo electric pump.. but very very ex leh.. the main pro of electric pump is its not so tiring so not so easy to give up.. i intend to BF my bb as long as i can so dun mind investing in a good pump..

guess every pump brand got their pros n cons ba. i spent abt 300++ for mine. quite pleased wif d result. can empty my breasts in 15mins. hehe.

m having bad headache now. onli went under d sun for a short while n its killing mi. argh.

Tulle,

check out this forum abt your gynae Dr. Joan Thong and RH's bill.. perhaps that could answer some of ur queries..

Reddates!!!

Can I have e info as well? n can they eat pork?
me intend to stop my boy's childcare when my 2nd one pop out cos CC alone is 588, if i have maid too will be another $600-$700. wow.. then throw the 2 children at MIL house... at least someone to keep an eye on her.

Phylicia,

I think the Avent IQ ISIS Duo electric pump is abt $800 wo!! saw that at robinson few days ago. but think is dual one...

mum2ndx
if you take your boy out of childcare, you will still need to enroll him to nursery right. Or else he will not learn anything at home.

my arrangement is to put my boy in childcare after my maternity and my mom to take care of the baby.

LuthAdel,Tulle,mum2ndx,Phylicia,

Your do not accept PM. Anyway to answer all your queries

Also can you help me with the following queries?
1. Can you maid speak good English?
Her english is ok only, take time to get used to their accent, but after 1 mth or so, quite ok, my maid pick up language quite fast
2. Can she cook & do housework well?
Cooking wise, I send her to my MIL and I train her as well, so far can eat lah, dinner is cook by her everyday unless I want to cook something special, Housework quite good, she knows how to use most of the electrical appliances, have to show her first
3. How much are you paying for yours now and do you know what is the levy?
I'm paying $330 salary and $170 levy
4. Do you give her any off days? If not, how do you compensate her?
1 off day per mth, usually first Sun of the Mth,it's a must from this agent, but I dun mind, they ought to have some rest and meet up with their fellow countrymen and send money back.

P.S. My maid eat anything including pork.

As this is my first maid, I choosen Myanmese maid becoz I dun understand malay and heard alot of scary stories of Indo/Phil maid so might as well choose Myanmar maid , heard that they r more docile and good temperament. So far so good, been with me since Dec'07. But of coz initial part have to give and take , take time to get used to it. So normally my son to and fro to CC is handle by her, taking care of my son is by her oso, practically everything at hm is done by her. Tat's y I can just laze around, sleep, whenever I like ;p but of coz I will play with my son and he sleeps with us at night lah, if not he dun 1 us liao.

emeraldbride,

ya, me m'sian.

better go back compare prices, n oso survey the prices here so v can make the informed decision.

jowinbb,

ya, the job is good. got nice colleagues too

paulyn,

take k. if not well, take MC.

winnie,

ya. i will still enroll him in those 2 hr class else very "xiong" leh.. still got to give MIL jia1 yong4..

Reddates,
Thanks so much for the info. so i reckon they can eat pork hor??

avent pump
those interested in getting avent pump, not easy to find places where they have discounted rate.. cos apparently it's under controlled item.. dunno why..
last year while scouting for avent ISIS UNO w/ disc, only Mothercare selling at -20% during GSS.. hopefully they have similar disc too..

Another good thing is that my maid will save for me, she will keep the leftover and eat for lunch or wat. This is very important as cost r rising like mad.

I send my son to CC so tat he can learns thing oso, mthly fee $370.

Reddates, Thanks! its very informative.. hehe.. so its costs $500 for maid.. if i send to nanny its $500plus plus..

Mum2ndx, its $799 normal retail price.. but if got 20% discount is $640 only. OG having Avent sale.. but not buy now..hehe.. wait till my july bonus + inflation bonus!! hehe.. if buy liao die die also gotta BF mah.. hehe.. see la.. colleagues suggest i go goat farm everyday to pump! hehe

YL and dee, They are SO CUTE!! haha.. my hubby woke up last sunday nite at 3am coz he decided to race the lamboghini in his PSP!

Phylicia,
your colleagues so funny!! wow.. $640..for dual right?? still ex leh.. any idea how much is Avent Electric single?

Reddates
Hey, thanks for answering my queries
Btw, now you can PM me liao :p

Oh, 1 last question, do they have to return to their homeland every year?

RE: Maid
Currently my indo maid is w me for 1.5 yrs. When her contract is due this end dec, may want change to filipino maid. I find Indo maid cant converse well in Eng. As she spends quite lots of time with my gal, wanna someone who can speak in proper sentences to her. No doubt she can speak well after her stay here (not in proper senteneces tho.)

Her salary is $300 and for labour levy is $170. No off day for her as stated in the contract.

LuthAdel, whether to return to their homeland is up to the employer to decide. Unless she also request. Usually if the maid is working for many yrs like 4 yrs, employers will buy air tic for them to return to their homeland.

mum2ndx.. haha.. coz i ask them sponsor pump ma.. hehe.. i thinking of getting the whole set of AVENT.. erm.. the sterilizer and the bottles.. i like things all same same.. haha.. its a control freak cum perfectionist mentality.. hehe..

my company got major event in July/Aug, so now need to tell them shirt size.. hmm.. dunno what to pre order leh.. somemore complusory to wear event tee.. hmm.. usually i wear M Ladies.. how? cant predict how fat and huge i'll be in 2 mths time..

Thank you Reddates, that's most informative on the maid. Could you give me the contact of your agency?

Dee - Thank you for sharing and the site to read about RH & my gynae. I like her very much and would really like to stay on. If u say that then i'm ok to stay at RH. M going tomorrow for my 1st trimester scan and gynae consultation. Hopefully, all goes well.

dee,
So good bundle in with manual pump!! then i can use manual pump at home, elect pump at work. hee... but i din see that at robinson..

Phylicia,
No wonder that ask u to go goat farm!! adoi.. your colleagues really fun one!! Think i need to change my sterilizer too liao.. got these rust kind of thing at e base where we pour water in to boil. 3 year, good time to change..hee...I think a XL will be good enough for u.

Luthadel,

PM u the contact liao.

For my case, is when 2 years is up, have to pay the tix for them to go back, if re-contract, have to pay 2 way and give them I think 14 days leave first b4 coming back to SG. Dun have to go back yearly.

Motherhood 2008

Public - Free Admission
Hall 5A
05 - 08 June 2008

05 - 07 June 2008
12:00pm - 10:00pm

08 June 2008
11:00am - 10:00pm

Look forward to four days of exclusive exhibition special buys, with discounts of up to 80 per cent on strollers, playpen, milk, diapers – take your pick from more than 75 exhibitors, with big names such as Pampers, Nestle, Huggies, Friesland, Cordlife, Wyeth, HPB (Health Promotion Board) and many more.

phyl
mi same as u. my boi boi everyting is avent one. until i cant tahan d manual pump n bought electric pump. hehe. looks nicer. haha.

Reddates, yr maid very gd, will help u save cost. Mine will not be so considerate.

mum2ndx, my sterilizer also got the rust thingy. Still can use? Use for 1 yr only.

mum2ndx,
oh, the handle and the electric motor is one sharing with same funnel and other parts.. what i did was to leave the eletric motor in the office and leave the manual handle at home.. coz motor a bit heavy to carry.. :p

i think u should be able to ask the promotor to open the box and show u what's inside..

Tulle,
good to know that u like ur gynae.. i think that's important for u and baby.. take care, ya?

btw, i skipped optional tests and detail scan (since gynae could do 98% of it) thus my total package seemed less..

lots of tings can b bought at motherhood exhibition. i remember laz yr, they advertise d daily specials in straits time. pretty good deals. got my boi boi play pen from there for abt $70 onli. cheap deal. hehe.

<u>avent fans</u>
ya, my bb also avent loyal customer.. haha.. act, i find that their bottles good coz can fit the spout as training cup too.. can inter-changable.. but all exclusively avents.. cannot use other teats and all that..

2nd baby,
Strange right?? those kind cant get rid with scrubing n descale leh.. so sometime i just boil water to sterilise the btls. think i din pour e water after sterilization. hee...
got excuse to change liao. hee...

Reddates, my gynae didn't give me MC yet. I last saw him 4 weeks ago where he told me to think about OSCAR. He said if I want to call for appointment. Maybe I will ask the nurse to get me one on the day itself... *Heee...*

Talking about childcare, me and my hubby are pondering who to take care... My parents are still working, his mother already got to take care of two grandchildren. And I would like to see my bb everyday, so dunno how also. Anyone of you tried infant care (Full day)? Like quite expensive right? *Fan Nao*

HI iemiko,
May I check what is the brand of breast pump you are using? My friends aare telling me, this no good, that no good. It confusing me. so need to check with those who have tried.

Jazlyn/Emeraldbride;
I have been having this nagging pain on my right shoulder leading all the way to veri bad backache that sometime I cant walk or stand veri long. Went to Chinese physician, he dare not to massage for me when I told him I'm pregnant so he ask me to use medicate plaster (Tiger brand)

Then I went for check up yesterday and gynae ask me to remove it immediately. He say we never know what are the various medicine content used in the manufacturing. Furthermore medicine aborbed in might passed on to baby. I was like "oops, dun know use how many pieces liao". So now use Ru Yi oil to rub on those aching area lor.

Snowger, reddates &amp; Luthadel - I ate food before taking the vitamins leh. Still got this nausea leh.

By the way, the moment I start taking vitamins, I start having ulcers in my mouth. Are vitamins heaty?

I realised that I cannot concentrate and response well in work and my memory falls me at times? Is this normal during pregnancy?

I still feel tired nowadays.

I find strange leh. Now I am at my 12wks but I still can wear my current bra. Now I am worried I cannot breastfeed.

hey funshine,

Don't worry - you'll be breastfeeding fine. You still have many months to go .. your breasts hav plenty of time to get fuller

and yes, I still have nausea at 13 weeks .. it's on and off but still there .. I dare not take the fish oil tablets YET. too scared my nausea will get worse.

hi all MTBs,

I went for my 3rd checkup today. Did my NT test too. Now waiting for my gynae to call me back regarding the blood test results. Measurement of baby's NT thickness is good. Also saw my baby's feet &amp; arms! He/she was moving around very actively! Now my baby is 59mm long!

My gynae prescribed me with calcium &amp; iron pills today. The iron pills are also multi-vits.

Regarding making love, my hubby &amp; i didn't do anything during the 1st trimester. I think we'll probably resume soon. :p

I bought my 1st set of maternity clothes today! Bought a pair of black linen pants &amp; a dress from Spring Maternity. Have also bought bigger bras &amp; extenders over the past few weeks. Boobs have gotten much fuller. *blush*

I'm also very confused about the breast pumps. Shall go ask around somemore. Seems that electric pumps are less tiring for moms but the high price is putting me off.

Neck aches/pains
I have been experiencing a very stiff neck too! I never apply anything. I just bear with it... my GP gave me a analgesic cream to apply when i had bad pelvic pain. Maybe you can try that?

Bubblepearl: Which metro did you go? I wasn't aware of the 20% discount. Thanks for sharing!

morning ladies,

TGIF!!! me so so sleepy now. woke up at 3 am to go to the loo, then can't sleep properly again.
anyone experience this?

snowy,

u can ask ur hb to slowly n gently massage ur right shoulder for u. do u carry ur bag on ur right shoulder? if u do, check ur bag to c how u can lighten it... it may helps. alternatively, u can use salonpas plaster coz it's much more wilder. tiger plaster is vy strong one.

Tulle,

Have PM u the contact.

Snowger,

Infant care very ex, at least $700+ after subsidy, if possible get a bbsitter to take care, cheaper and wun get sick so easily.

Funshine,

I think the pre-nat vits quite heaty, have to drink more water and eat more fruits coz sometimes I think it cause constipation or hard stools.

Snowy,

I check with my physician, she says cannot anyhow rub those medicated oil/plaster as they have "huo2 Xue3" , but she says can use salonspas rub or plaster coz milder.

Jaszlyn,
I have to wake up 2-3times every nite to visit the loo, so have not been sleeping through the nite for very long liao, hope 2nd tri will be better.

Reddates, can u PM the contact too.. children in infant care do fall sick easier..

Jaz, me woke up at 4 this morning to pee.. usually can fall back to slp coz really tired. i nv used to need to wake up n pee.. Zzzz

sorry to interrupt. i'm from the jul MTBs thread and i'm giving away some pre natal vitamins if anyone wants. my hubby bought them in canada for me and i took them for my first 2 months or so. however now my gynae package now includes the multi vits so i have quite a significant amount left in the bottle. i'd say about 80 tablets?

they have been stored in a cool dry place during this time and there is absolutely nothing wrong with them. just that i can't possibly take 2 different kinds now

the brand is OPTION + and i'll just list the ingredients for you:
vitamins:
beta-carotene
vitamin A
vitamin E
vitamin C
folic acid
vitamin B1
vitamin B2
niacinamide
vitamin B6
vitamin B12
vitamin D3
biotin
panththenic acid

minerals:
magnesium
iodine
iron
copper
zinc
chromium
maganese
molybdenum
selenium
calcium

if you are interested, please email me at [email protected]. i'd rather self collect cos it prob doesn't fit into a normal post box and i'd rather not meet up cos i'm due in a couple of weeks so any time being at home and being a coach potato is really appreciated! i stay at tiong bahru.

enjoy your pregnancy! cheers