(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

cottonball,

i do read on PingPing thread b4. But how we knw is viral fever? So still need to see PD rite?

For me i give the Blackberry extract from other brand which is similar to Sambucol for my elder boy. I dun give him everyday. Like once every 3 days.

I think safer to see PD..coz they will check urine culture, ear etc to see if it is bacterial infection. Randall was checked and was all clear so the doc say its viral fever.

Then I really give paracetamol and the fever go higher after the med subside..n only can give 5 times..so end up I took risk..instead of keep sponging him..which I did for the past 2 days..I let him take sambucol...n let him sweat it out letting him wear pyjamas and do without the fan...after sweat hor..suddenly his temp went down..never climb up again and then nxt day completely recover...so I think really works.

merydith,

yes i do agree no matter wat see PD 1st to sure it just viral fever. U knw i did the same as u but i didnt give sambucol. I give my boy colostrunm and vit c and he fever is under control. I dunno is concidence or wat lar. As long as bb gets when then is ok. I am sure he get the virus form my elder one cos both have the same pattern.

That why i am quite concern abt my elder one cos he is usually the one who bring virus back hm. SO have to improve his immune support. That why i give colostrum and balckberry extact.

like to change do u all check with PD b4 giving the bb supplements? I think is good to ask 1st cos our bb are still small. For my elder one i dun ask anymore cos i find he quite big liao. But for my bb i will ask 1st.

marilyn,
I read the sambucol got 2 types izit..one by natures way..I think that got the ecchinea inside thats why cannot give continuously. The one vitakids sell dun have that ecchinea inside..but I also never give randall everyday hhehe..only when I feel he going to get sick then I give. Maybe this coming MMR jab will give to him first.

jappooh,
yah lor see PD first..coz I always paranoid about his ear whether got infection lol... I also got give colostrum powder everyday..but still get sick leh..

merydith,

ya i give my elder one nature way brand. So i dun give him everyday.

Sambucol if wan need to get from vitakids. Dun get from iherbs or Vitacost cos the packing is different and i see they put age is 2 or 4 yrs old then can take.

Oic.. i onyl give bb colostrum powder though he still get sick once awhile but better than last time. Last time is once my elder one sick he confirm sick too. Now better.. *touchwood*

Hi, hw's everyone?long time no post cos am in new job n no internet access to smh. Think d weather is changing n many r falling sick. My village is sick too. Can share how u administer chillife colostrum e.g. Freq & d amt to give & where u put it into?

Anyone staying in the west going down to Vitakids to get Sambucol? If so, can help me to get 1 bottle for Bryan and 1 for adult ('cos hb gets sick easily too)?

I'm at home today to look after Bryan. He still has mild fever, cough and his nose is still runny with yellowish mucous.

Adel,

when do u need it? I can get for u if u wan. but i dun have discount lar. I staying at CCK. But when u wan to pick up from me cos i will not be ard tmr till mon.

Jappooh,
Oic, dun worry. If like that I'll go down and get a bottle on Saturday. Thought of giving it to Bryan asap and for us as a preventive measure that we don't fall sick as well.

Jappooh,
The one tat says "for kids" is only for 2 years and above. "for child" is for 1 year and above.

Apparently Sambucol boast that their extract is more potent than other brands. The spree which Merydith gave us is the one "for child".

If I am not wrong, vitakids is no longer carrying the one which Marilyn gives. So the one they sell is can take continuous one.

I think I will see and ask my PD first before letting my ger take. In the meantime, I'll just give her a bit of citrus fruits (to boost vit c intake).

ah I see you're all discussing sambucus. I did try for my girls, but since they seldom fall ill .. I got lazy and stopped giving them. lol.

The one I give them is from drugstore.com from Nature's Way .. suitable for 1 yr and above.

quite cheap .. so I stopped buying from Vitakids. Actually, quite a number of things u can get it cheaper online lar especially from places like drugstore.com etc.

U can make a comparison here ..
the online e-store for Vitakids is

http://www.pinkofhealth.biz/index1.html

their Nordic Naturals Nordic Omega-3 Gummies - Tangerine, 60 gummies

is S$43.90

as opposed to Drugstore.com

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=232786&catid=2652

at US$18.99 (cos there is some discount on it currently) ..

so even for the Sambucus .. the 120ml is US$10.49
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=69596&catid=9807

and the 240 ml is US$18.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=209950&catid=32589

of course at the end of the day, it's still easier and much more convenient to drive down to Paragon/Forum and buy :p

sam,

i am giving my elder one the Nature's Way. I bought from iherbs when i order my other stuff. Didnt let my bb try yet. I only give him colostrun powder only.

i do agree some stuff are so ex here.

jappooh,

ya, must do a comparison lar. if after conversion and shipping then u save a few bucks then not worth the hassle joining a spree but if it's a lot cheaper, then ok I might as well buy online.

merydith
the one tt vitakids sell has ecchinea wor. but i bought smtime yr la. hehe. now the ecchinea i give is childlife one.

ikeike
i mix the powder into the milk for the bois to drink. hehe.

hi santorin ,ivy and red dates
i can help to get.. no problem.
Can confirm by tomorrow? As i may be going down on this weekends.. PM me ok? any other gals wan too?

usually weekends, i be at pasir ris / Sengkang or weekdays at Bedok Reservoir or my HB at suntec.. U can let me know when u wanna get from me lor..

BTW gals.. any babies here taking Happy Bellies cereal?

I balance 3 oatmeal and 2 brown rice.. wanna sell off 2 oatmeal and 1 brown rice. Expiry in March 2010.

My girl recently get tired of these cereal and dun wan to eat them already. Felt wasted to keep and throw.

I can let go at a discount..let me know.. cheers

adeline, i bought it from the spree cause it's so much cheaper, but can oso buy from GNC... cause i took colostrum pills from GNC too...i'll fall sick if i forget to take...b4 cidney's is 1, i put 1/4 teaspoon, now it's about 1/2 teaspoon, recommended dosage...

Adel,

ya GNC is ex. I brought from spree. I do my own spree for that. If u wan to try i can let u have a bottle 1st i have spare at hm.

I think i will order the next batch in end Feb.

Bur,
ya i find GNC is so ex. My boys have been taking for 6mths already. Me too taking colostrum pills but not from GNC lar.

yuemei, what brand u taking?? cause we use to take more exp brand...its about 90 for a month...GNC is about 20 a month...is it from spree too? let me know if u r doing a spree again...thanks!

Hi bur,

i taking the Symbiotics brand. I just started on that so dunno good anot. Cos i see my boy take colostrum like not bad so i buy the adult one to try. Hee..

Sure if i doing another spree will ask u.

faint.....think i'm the most lazy mum here cos i dun even know what supplement u all talk about.
Only give my gal Omega oil for brain developing......hee

xiaohwa...because my ger is in IFC and tends to fall sick easier so i let her take colostrum to boost her immune system, i have been taking colostrum for years now and find that it's quite useful so i let me ger try...no other supplement for her too...

bur,

me too i actaully start my elder one after he keep falling sick when attend cc. THen my bb gena virus from gor gor so i start her on that too. For myslef i only start recently. is very recently only start this mth.. Hee

I onie thinking of giving scotts emulsion for kids when zach is 18 mths. Even worse rite?? But on n off if I remember I do gv him Millenium, some supplement fr a direct selling comp. Supposed to be good. Haha.. Touchwood, zach seldom fall sick ler

jowin....think u don help me get first...cos don noe when then i can meet u to collect. i going to give birth soon...then i will be confined!!

went for my check just now...now already 36 weeks 3days...so fast!!the estimated weight of the little one is 3.4kg!!is that heavy??

Ivy... ok la.. heavier baby are easier to carry and take care ma..

Congrats!!! Can't wait to see your little one

Remember to post photos when you are free and well

but heavier baby more difficult to give birth....i scared i e-csect...

am thinking of inviting you all over for full month and also to have a gathering at the same time...but not sure of date and if u all would like to come....

My girl is taking Scotts cod liver oil, 1 tsp a day. Don't know if its effective but I know most of us took it when we were kids right? Also bought Childlife colostrum from a spree organiser, only S$26/28 compared to $70+ at GNC. That's a huge price difference. I do not mind paying a little bit more for some products, cos retailers here have a tough time, with such high operating costs and I want to support local businesses. But the difference here is almost 3x

i suddenly hopes time don pass so fast...but also sometimes hope to see him soon...wan and don wan....getting so excited...like don noe what to do...but thinking of the estimated weight is really making me scared....haha

when are we having gathering?

diapers
based on the positive feedback of some ladies here, have gone out and bought 2packs of Fitti premium from ntuc for $22+ L38. Will try that out tmr.
Want to try petpet too. Any feedback???

same manufacturer for these 2 brands