(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

<font size="+2">Happy New Year to Everyone</font>
May all wishes come true.. May our babies grow more handsome/ pretty and most important healthy

May all mummies bless with good health, to have #2 or #3 or #4 or #5.. =P and also.. prettier and prettier..

Happy New year everyone! Hope that 2010 will be a great year for all mummies and their kiddos!

Zachmummy,
No thanks man...

Just curious mah. Cos if you wan a rabbit will start next year lor... So see who is going to try... Me reluctant lar...

Good morning ladies...

I'd like to wish everyone here a <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HAPPY NEW YEAR</font></font> &amp; may all ur wishes come true!!! Most importantly, stay healthy, prettier &amp; younger forever, yeah!!!

snow
yup i'm going to start trying next year, but not right away. I want to deliver in 2011, so maybe start trying in April or May. You don't want a 2nd one?

echo..must consider the possibility of early delivery..hehehe

i tink i will want a 2nd one but at the moment i m not quite ready for one

Echo...
I cannot decide partly bcos of what i went thru for the first one. Not the pregnancy process or the delivery. More of the confinement and maternity lor... Dun wan to "wei3 qu1" myself again.

Then again, I see my little girl. so cute and a bit wasted if she dun have another brother/sister to play with... :p So still thinking...

So fast 2010 liao... If concieve in May, delivery EDD is Jan lor.

kath
if you want a 2nd one, don't wait too long. quickly go and do! otherwise, if you wait too long, you'll get too comfortable and not want another one. haha that's what aunties tell me la..

snow
you don't have to do a confinement if you don't want to. personally, i would like to have a big family. i was an only child and it was very lonely growing up. it would be nice for your girl to have at least one more sibling!

Yes..would be nice for zach to hv younger siblings but i also tot y would i wanna share my love for him with another baby?? then he will hv less of everything..abit selfish tot from me.. but hb diff lar.want many many..siao

Happy New Year everyone

Wah so fast all starting to talk about no. 2 liao hahahahaha. Anyway I had a discussion with hb b4 new year and decided to just stick with one 'cos we really cannot managed without support from family in times of needs like last min baby illness or we cannot take leave etc. So we decided to focus and give our best to Bryan for now.

so who's planning for a dragon baby?? hehe.

i calculated tt if i wan a dragon baby born on 1st feb, its gonna be juz a few daes b4 year of snake if im not wrong. lolx.

iemiko
i don't want dragon baby... have to fight for school placement! Unless my first girl goes into my school of choice then I don't mind dragon. Or IF baby is a boy then he can go into my hb's school under alumni. Started thinking about Primary 1 admission cos we're looking a buying a house so no choice, have to decide which primary school by now. sigh.....

tamms
the date i wan wun be clashing wif the dragons' sch placement coz it a snake yr for most of them. hehe.

im also considering schs now as we have intention to move back to tampines. hehe. tink i beta start joining my sch alumni. lolx.

Morning everyone,
Kristalangel,
Unless some miracle happens and we get some help to look after Bryan
Frankly I really doubt so. Both Bryan and my hb was sick during the Christmas period and only recovered yesterday and throughout these days, I had to handle both on my on with occassional support from Bryan's grandaunt. I feel soo darned tired today lah, never get to enjoy my holiday break. *sian*

Ade, weekdays Bryan goes to infantcare so onie weekends u'll be tied up. Guess when u hv 2nd one u'll need a maid or helper.
I really salute my mom whom manage to raise 4 kids without maid. N worse is me n elder sis is 1 yr apart.

Morning everyone!
Wow, start of the year &amp; the topic is for 2nd one...
Adel, many times I think likewise too...tt one is enuff, cos is too much for me &amp; HB to handle...but then again, I know we will want Kayson to hv a younger sibling...&amp; already HB &amp; I hv been saying if got 2nd one, maybe really need a maid, else I'll really die...

Snow, i koe the confinement &amp; thereafter is terrible to be going thur alone...tt's y i say pregnancy is okie, but the aftertt (confinement &amp; maternity) is terrible..

zachmommy
Yeah man, I wonder how mothers in the past managed to cope with handful of kids and no helper + cook and wash and etc etc....:S

Pastillies
Same thoughts here. Hopefully we can get some ideas how to work around the care issues. Maid is out 'cos we really hv no space for her to zzzzz....arrrrrggghhhhh....I was planning to try for No. 2 after CNY but now ......

LuthAdel,

Aside from some of us ... I think most cope without help from family .. I don't have anyone to help me too. AT ALL. It's just plain lucky I can stay at home and not work. But of course I still need a maid to do the mundane stuff like cook, clean and iron etc. Without my maid, I won't have any reliable help. That's why I treat my maid well ..

U should really consider a maid lar. If u can get a decent one, then u can have No.2 ..

Ya, my mom also had 3 of us and no help/maid. wa .. I won't do it lor. No maid and no car .. I dowan more than 1 kid. hahaha :p

Ade, my mom is one of those women. It's called full time housewife! Even so, she gave up after a while and we had a helper. I'm sure you'll be able to cope with 2 kids, the key is to wait for Bryan to be independent enough before having another. Maybe can start trying when he's 3?

We would like to try for another this year, but now we're talking about buying a home so maybe we'll put the baby plan on hold for a while until we have decided

with 2 kids i already very stress out so no No 3 liao.

Though i have MIL to help me but the compliants and nagging is a headache.

tamms, we are also talking abt buying a home so definitely no kids for the coming 2 years.. but i juz realise i gotta find a place that I wanted zach to go to school so must choose properly..

zachmommy,

u must knw that even u plan to get a hse near to the school that u wan zach to go it is not confirm loh.

There is 1 neigh school that is so hot at my area. Though i within 1km to the school it confirm that i need to go for ballot when my elder boy is time to register for P1.

jappooh, understand but at least got higher chance lor..

i tink punggol oso hv good school, Mee Toh but i m staying definitely more than 1km..
actually i m aiming at Temasek Primary @ Bedok :p dunno if he can get in or not..haha

tamms, actually tt's wat my PD said too! he said the KEY to having more kids is 1 by 1, &amp; not like wat alot of ppl say to have all at 1 go. Cos he said, when the elder ones are older / more independent , then its easier to look after.

Adel, same! tt's y i "hated" confinement &amp; to some extend maternity too , cos i felt my privacy being "invaded"! So, if i get a Maid, i will need more space, i.e new hse &amp; more rooms!
Hse hunting is one of my plans too.. but but but...hses all so EX now!

i alr told hb if we hv 2nd kid, i dun wanna hv confinement lady...cos no point having one. I still bathe everyday, still wash my own clothes etc.. furthermore, i hate my confinement lady last time.. hehehe but i dunno if i can cope with taking care of zach n the baby together without help or not.. mabbe can mabbe cannot.. :p
but i definitely will not want my MIL to come n help.,muahahha. U noe during our tea ceremony last week, she ask me to give her a granddaughter...in front of everyone. I nearly answer her back u tink so easy ah..want means got. Strike TOTO oso easier.

pastilies,

I think that only works if you don't want that many kids .. AND you don't start so late in your child bearing years. If u want to wait till Baby No, 1 is say 3 years old then u have another ... and so on .. by the time u hit baby No. 3 .. it would've dragged how long aldy loh. quite sian also. My friend is 30 and has 3 kids already. she's planning for Baby no. 4 this year .. siong but good also, cos she's still young.

IF i have help.. i would consider.. coz i know hayden will be so spoilt if he is the only child.. but unfortunately, i have no help. so we cannot afford to put 2 kids in super overpriced but useless IFC/CC.. and i cannot imagine having another 3rd degree tear.. the sleepless nites.. the sick episodes.. its just too much for me.. i feel like a blardy single mom and its just too difficult..

i dun agree with the fact that the first born will "lose" out coz the second born is nv an only child.. keke... i'm a second child.. n lucky that my parents dote on me more.. keke.. pay back for my sis who had 3yrs of 100%.. keke

i do think having a 2nd one is a good idea and their age gap should not be too far apart.. coz its like going thru another nightmare once life gets better.. keke..

Me too..... not considering a 2nd 1 at all cos both me n hubby over 30 le. We both found tt after have a BB, we r both physically + mentally tired.
Now want go out alone, must plan who to lk after BB. If sick, then hv to take leave. Work load in office v heavy le, if keep take leave then Boss black face+still need clear after come back....V stress law
Althou we know have 2 kids its better la, but.... what if we both tire till died, hahaha then BB will hv no parents le.....heehee

xiaohwa, i oso over 30 liao lor.. nearing mid 30-s summore... i guess at the end of the day, it is still fated! we will try, if hv then will be good, if dun hv, then give all the attention to zach..

agree with phyl that putting to IFC/CC or even bbsitter is expensive. imagine 1 child is abt $800..2 is $1.6K and need to include transportation etc.. one mth easily over $2K juz for childcare.. :p

Echo,
Yar lor... I feel bad cos she will be lonely? So will most prob try again but then when? Maybe close to end of this year bah.

Gill,
Thanks, I will try mayb close to year end. My hb is already toying with the idea... Lots of hints flying around lor... You trying for a third? :p

Pas,
Did not know u hated confinement too. I hated it cos I could not do so many things and I felt like the whole world was against me. Even my hb did not let me have the fan/air con and expected me to wrap myself like a dumpling. He supported the no wash hair lor. And then BFing oso damn sian cos my parents were not supportive and my CL was the best at making snipe remarks abt my milk factory!

Luthadel,
I think your solution to having another kid is a helper. I look at my neighbour and I think a helper really makes life easier. IF (the big if) you get a good one...

For me, I am lucky to have my MIL care for my little girl. But then again, I have my share of disagreements with my MIL. Thanks to my MIL, now my ger only likes soupy stuff for solids (so no stews, no spagetti with meat, etc.) SIAN lar.

Zachmummy,
I would like to have help during the first month. But I dun think I wan a confinement lady hanging over me like a hawk watching what I do. I rather it be I tell them what i wan and they do. That would = maid. :p BUT, my house oso no space for maid. So i oso = V SIAN...

Xiaohwa,
Originally I was also like u. Very sian cos lose the 2 person quality time. Aft a while, I learn to appreciate the 2 person quality time (if we have one). And to just learn to "enjoy" and make life easier despite having this little one lor. Difficult but I am trying to get a hang of it.

But putting bb in IFC is really draining cos if bb sick got to take leave to take care...

Phyl,
Must get maid if have more than 1. Cheaper... But then to prevent driving ur maid nuts, one kid has to be older and more independent lor... :p

sam,
haha yah I'm planning to stop at Max 2. So 1 more &amp; tt's it. I Salute to u &amp; ur fren for u having 4 &amp; ur fren trying for the 4th one!

Kath / phyl, tt's a very impt point as its super-ex to place 2 kids in IFC/CC. So it's back to who to look after....either i dun work? or i get a maid? then the maid look after? see we're going round n round in circles again...

Pas,
That's the whole thing abt caretakers. Esp if both parents are working. Unless like you say 1. Mother dun work. OR 2. Get a maid and if you dun feel comfortable whether you can arrange your parents or in laws to JAGA while you are away at work. Either your parents/inlaws drop by your place or you drop kids + maid at ur parents/inlaw's place. These are pretty common things nowadays. :p

hi all, it's been a while since i last post...

taking abt getting maid &amp; how to handle 2 kids, i hav a headache too... last time i used to hate the idea of having maid, now when i think i should get one, but both me &amp; hubby think it's super shiong for him esp when i'm not working, if really wanna get a maid then i think we really hav to cut down a lot of expenses le, probably no more eating out next time, or less shopping (although now already not much), or no more holiday at all (not even going back to m'sia, or maybe once a year only)... haiz! but again if next time when i go back to workforce, i also cannot get maid too coz i WILL NOT WANT to leave my kids to a maid, i dun wan my kids to be raised up by a maid, so the only solution for us is to put both kids to CC (which is super shiong too), and this poor mummy got to continue work hard not only at work but after work too!

so for those who hav MIL, mother to look after ur children, you should really feel blessed... although i do agree that there will be some conflict when comes to child raising but try to close one eye &amp; open one eyes coz afterall they are the person who helps lighten ur loads when needed...

iemiko,
really pei fu u tat u still considering having no.3... hehe... jia you wor!

jess,

i do agree that is blessed to have my MIL to help. But i will still send my kids to cc. Now my elder one in cc and the younger will go cc in sept. though my MIl will be at hm. Cos everyday she compaint loh. So end up i have to put both kids in cc.

Our expense are high too but no choice. But hor the cc that i pay wasnt that ex lar. Cos i didnt go for those ex school.

life changes but I love it so far!! Sound crazy? I m so willing to go holiday with Zach to anywhere I go.. i rather sacrifice anything juz to make sure he is with me now..hehe cos I know in another 15 to 16 years, he will be so embarassed to be seen with his parents. This is what I heard from my colleagues now. They said their kids told them to stay home on New Year's eve cos they are embarassed to be seen with their parents in front of their frens..hahaha

zachmummy,
It depends on upbringing? Thou I do agree that in recent days, it seems more common to have children not wanting to "hang" out with parents.

I believe we can be friends with our children. In that way, they will never feel ashamed to have us in their company. Unless the parents are "unhappen-ing" and "naggy" or tend to put them down in front of friends, they'll rather not have you around lor... :p

wow.. everyone talking about the next baby already after our kiddos turn 1?

Hmm.. actually havent seriously thought about it though i def want a sibling or two for Avery. Hahaha. At least you guys are in SG, even if no grandparents to help, there is that option of having a helper or having full time IFC/CC. Here in Aus, no such things as indo or philippino maids. Nannies are like 'luxury' which only the really rich can afford. Most CC are really ex that most pple will only put child there 2 or 3 days a wk (the one i am looking at cost AUD$96 a DAY).

BUT, everywhere i see, the folks here have 1, 2, 3 or 4 kids. My guess is, most moms do not work or work part time which is the norm here. Either they work 2-3 days a wk, or from home or just the mornings. Which is what i intend to do once Avery start 1-2 of CC a wk (cant afford more days :p). AND, the parenting grants here are pretty generous if not working, something SG lag far far behind.

Giving birth here is free if you are in govt hospital. My friend paid a total of 15dollars when she gave birth, and that's becos she had complications after her birth, and she needed pain killers. No such thing as confinement lady (though i heard there are some msia/PRC aunties who will do it - but mostly just the day time, and still very ex) but my friends just do the confinement on their own, along with their hubbies. The men gets a more generous paternity leave than SG so some of them actually take the whole mth off to help out their wives.

I guess there will always be some obstacles wherever we are... i am optimistic that there is a will, a way will be provided (even though can be abit more xin ku la).

Hmm.. as for Pri 1. Wow.. seems like a long time away. I am not even sure where i will be in 5-6yrs time. I guess got sch to go, can already? Heh anyway, our flat's area is near roysth and if i take my IC address, which is my parents, it's within Katong convent and tao nan. But i am not sure if these schs are where i want Avery to be.. seems mightily stressful isnt it? And if we are in Aus.. I lagi no idea.. though i think the nearest sch to us is the melb city pri. :/

zachmummy / Lilvic,
yup life has definately changed! thou at times i miss the coupletime, but i definately want to hv my boy w us whereever we go;for aLL holidays! my 1st day back at work &amp; I have block my leave schedule for the year! planning Japan in Apr / May.

snow/Jess,
ya tt's the thing abt caretakers.MAID, unless there's someone to Jaga,I also not at ease to leave the maid n bb alone.

not to say whether they (our kids) are going to be ashamed or pai say to hv our company, but in 20yr,30yrs time they wil hv their own family too,like us now. It's a cycle.

aurorin,
giving birth in AU is free??huh? wow &amp; the paternity benefits for men is tt good for them to take 1 mth to help during confinement?
Pri sch: thou i'mstaying within 1km of some gd schs, but I decide to jus go by the safe old "alumini" route....so its phase 2B or 2C issit??