(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

snowger
we alternate between sling and stroller, cos emma likes to be held when she's tired or grouchy. for sure, she will not fall asleep on her if we just push her around in the stroller.

i've heard that bjorn isn't very comfortable for long periods of time, and cannot be used past the first year (weight limit is 11kg). ideally, the best type of baby carrier, for a older baby or toddler, is something structured like ergo or beco. i'm using both a pupsik pouch & momsinmind ring sling. these are good for short trips, but can be a little tiring if I carry her for a long time (>45min). I can bring an extra sling along on fri for you to try if you are interested.

Tai Tai Mummies & Adorable Babies Gathering!! (Dec Thread)
Date: 2nd Oct (Fri)
Time: 12noon onwards
Venue: Vivo - Earle Swensens

1. iemik0 + kayson
2. snowger + nicole (may not be bringing her)
3. Fabbie + Clarice
4. echo + emma
5. jess + daniell
6. bubblepearl + Gerard (cfm)
7. ivy + jake
8. luthadel (subject to approval of leave :S)
9. Jappooh
10. 2ndbb + Claryce

Echo, same, i think i am also bring Gerard in sling, lazy to bring stroller

Echo,
My ger is stuck below 7kg (she was 6.95kg last week - saw Yogi at the clinic)! So PEK CHEK!!! Hence there's chance of carrying her using the bjorn beyond 1 yr...

My cousin is using Ergo and the material is quite warm. The reason I asked abt Sling is cos wan to see if she nap in sling so that we can still go out during her nap times. Now we're confined at home all day until abt 2-3pm!

I may not be bringing my ger for lunch leh. just asking for reviews... Mayb will try my ger for the momsinmind when there is a baby fair lor... :p

Rachel,

Thanks u so much. I pay u this Sunday ok.

Jowin,

Can I come over tonight to collect the HT? Wat time u available? Cause I want go home watch Fann Wong & Christopher Lee wedding 'live' broadcast. Haha...

snowger
oh dear, 6.95kg is very small. emma used to be very small, but managed to put on weight after she started solids. she's now at 8.5kg.

(no offence to mummies who are using bjorn, just want to share what i read with snowger) actually, i read that the bjorn type of carriers is not very good for babies (esp baby boys) because the baby is resting his weight on his crotch, which is not meant to be a weight-bearing area. better to get slings where the baby is in a sitting position, so that he is resting on his bum.

momsinmind often holds open houses on saturdays, so i think you can go by their warehouse to try. they are in the thomson area. actually though, since we live quite nearby (i'm at commonwealth), if you don't mind coming to my place with nicole, i can let you try out my different slings.

Gals
i m super tired and upset about myself. Ashlynne not feeling well n both of us whole nite dun really sleep. This morning quickly brought her to PD and dun know wat slight infection + runny nose.. Back home, wan to feed her antibiotics and med, we had a huge battle. She cried non stop and kept on wanting to climb up the glass coffee table.

Put med inside milk cannot, mix with water also cannot etc etc.. dun know waste how many dosage of antibiotics especially need to finish full course.

In the end, i lost my temper. I spanked her on her thigh, put her at a corner herself crying, dun allow her to move. SHe kept wanting to crawl to me, i actually told her tat mummy dun wan her anymore.. Go away...

In the end, no choice, pick her up.. force feed the medicine thru syringe into her mouth when she cried madly and opened her mouth wide..

Angry with myself for losing temper when i Know she's not well.. But i m very very pek chek...

sob sob..

She cried herself to sleep while i preparing the bathing water...cos she's so sweaty n dirty.. the pail of water there still untouch...

FONG, i m not working at RP anymore.. perhaps Sun 1:50pm at Tampines??

bur.. do poster for wat?? hahaha..

my boss showing me black face coz i ask for transfer.. so i must guai guai sit down n dun move.. so its super boring lor...

Sam/Ypg

Transfer for YPG done!

From Account POSB Savings
112-24835-8
To Account POSB Savings
126-10873-7 SamSMH
Amount S$27.16
Transaction Reference 2475080205

Sam,
Plse plse confirm receipts ok!!

jowin
oh dear... don't be angry.. i know it's very difficult when babies are sick. just have to force feed her the medicine, no choice. but try not to spank her la.. she also doesn't know what's going on. somemore, she's sick, so all the more she wants mummy to sayang. just take a deep breath and try to stay calm.

echo,
Tat's so good... How much milk ur ger drinks a day? I dunno if it's cos my MIL is under-feeding her... i.e give her lots of carbo then not enuf of other stuff. Or too much veg n fruits... Sigh, I am no longer cooking stuff for her so I dunno what my MIL feeds her lor...

U stay in commonwealth? Hehe... tat's v near my place. We exchange numbers on Friday k? Anyway, I am still pondering if I wanna bring her on Friday. Cos noon is her nap time... So she might get cranky...

Jowinbaby,
U pek chek uh? Relax lar... My ger sometimes also make me go mad. But sometimes I laugh when I see her cry hard. Really "pian tai" (sick in the mind) lor. If I angry, I will just leave her in the cot. Go out take a breather and pick her up to pacify her again.

U may want to try this. You cradle her in ur arms. One of Ash's hand put behind ur back, the other hand u hold using the hand used to cradle her. Then u hold her close and syringe her. My ger prefers this method, so she dun cry so much. If I put her on bed and try to feed her she'll cry MURDER!

Maureen
she cannot be cradle...the moment i try to lie her down in my arms or watever.. she scream at me.. no choice.. i got to pin her down n force the syringe in..

echo
i m trying not to be angry but she cry non stop.. n throw tantrum. I one person got to fetch med, feed her, coax her.. carry her...

snowger
she takes a lot less EBM now, prefers to drink directly from me. this is her schedule
- 8.00 Latch
- 9.00 Breakfast (2oz fruit puree mixed with 1tbsp rice cereal)
- 11.30 4oz EBM
- 12.00 Lunch (1 bowl of porridge + a few slices of fruit)
- 4.00 3oz EBM
- 6.00 Dinner (same as lunch)
- 8.00 Latch
- Latch another 3-4 times throughout the night

In between the day, I think she also takes some snacks - puffs, teethers, biscuits, fruit, etc. Ideally, she should take more milk, because it has more calories per ounce compared to solid food. solid food should be in addition to her milk, not replace her milk.

jowin
yeah i know, it's tough to handle baby on your own. anyway you can get someone to help you during this time when Ashlynne is sick? maybe your mother, MIL or hb?

Snowger, thx for passing the HT stuffs to me.

Jo, can understand, very difficult to feed bb w med, sometimes reali have to force them to take.

Can bring maid on fri gathering not? If gal go, I will need maid to come along too.

Sam, come for the gathering lah.

snowger, tot feed alot of carbo will make her go bigger in size? y not u ask ur mIL wat she feed ur ger daily??? tink not good for ur girl's weight to be so low at this age.. wat did ur PD say?

Jo, dun be frustrated ok.. try to coax her slowly..m sure she now need ur attention and love more..so the more u scold her the more she will cry. Need to hv alot of patience with sick bb. sumtimes laugh it out will help. Zach oso like tat.. sleep at 1am..wake up at 6am to play to climb abt etc.. i oso wake up to play with him until 7plus then onie he will sleep again.. if i pretend to sleep, he will come over n kiss me to wake me up.. very sweet boy

Sam,
This round I'm going to order shoes for Bryan so need to measure his feet tonight. Are you able to wait? :S....These few nights hb got to work damn late so I've to attend to my SUPER ACTIVE Bryan all by myself....so tired.. If my leave is approved, I won't be bringing him 'cos if I do, I'll be standing 90% of the time...my little monster has a sharp bottom so cannot sit still :S

Envy those who still can bring baby out alone...for me this is out of the question Hahahaha

snowger you friday going huh.. then will pass it to you ba.. echo i also will passing it to you right? so friady i will bring Jlow cup.. Jappooh cup.. echo cup.. anymore?? if still got let me know. thanks

as for the bowl.. still no news yet =( but it say shipped last last week liao for 1st batch only. so hope this week will come. haiz. prayz!

Snowger, is Nicole very active? My gal cannot sit still one, always climbing up and down, pulling my hair, biting my clothes. Dr Ang says maybe she got high metabollic rate, that's why weight gain is not good. She advises feeding solids 3 times and milk abt 4 times since she takes abt 150ml each time only.

I got so busy and fan until i nearly forget about this , i have to pay by tomorrow morning

POSITIVE BABIES TRIAL CLASS
Venue: Baby Breeze - Novena Square 2
Date: 24 Oct 2009
Time: 2pm
Duration: 45mins- 1hr
Cost: $25( I must pay by 29 Sep as promotion ended on 30 Sep)
Min 6 babies to start
Max 12 Babies

1) Luthadel (Confirm) - $25 received
2) Jowinbaby(Confirm)
3) Zachmummy(Confirm)
4) Iemiko(Confirm)
5) Snowger(Confirm)
6) Xuelyn(Confirm)
7) Ikeike(Confirm)
8) Fabbie (Confirm)
9) 2ndbaby (Confirm)
10) Pastilies (Confirm) - $25 received
11) Lil'Victoria (checking w hubby)
12) crabbieong (confirm)

Those ladies confirm, can you transfer $25 to my POSB Savings 137-52764-2 asap?

Also please PM me the following

Baby Name:
DOB:
Parent Name:
Email:

Adeline & Pas, i had your details captured.

Lil'Victoria , can you confirm, if not Nitestar can take your slot

Hi Nitestar, the 5pm is not open as the minimum of 6 babies are not hit. So if Lil'Victoria cannot confirm, you can take up her slot.

Lets wait for Lil'Victoria to reply.

Hi Jo,
Thank you for informing me.

Dun be too upset with yourself... Its really hard when our darlings are sick, and you have to deal with them alone... i almost went mad when jonas was hospitatlised.. Even drinking milk was a nightmare.. my mum had to rock him while standing, i had to pat him and hold his bottle... Give yourself a pat.. you are already doing fine..

Adel,
I'm like you.. i hardly bring my boy out alone... the only time was when i met my colleague to go for Kindermusik trial.. even during the trial, he was happily crawling away... or i had to stand during the lesson lor... still trying to train him to sit in high chair while we eat...

Hi little vic
I think its tough as the gals prefer 2pm.

Sorry nitestar

POSITIVE BABIES TRIAL CLASS
Venue: Baby Breeze - Novena Square 2
Date: 24 Oct 2009
Time: 2pm
Duration: 45mins- 1hr
Cost: $25( I must pay by 29 Sep as promotion ended on 30 Sep)
Min 6 babies to start
Max 12 Babies

1) Luthadel (Confirm) - $25 received
2) Jowinbaby(Confirm)
3) Zachmummy(Confirm)
4) Iemiko(Confirm)
5) Snowger(Confirm)
6) Xuelyn(Confirm)
7) Ikeike(Confirm)
8) Fabbie (Confirm)
9) 2ndbaby (Confirm)
10) Pastilies (Confirm) - $25 received
11) Lil'Victoria ( Confirm)
12) crabbieong (confirm)

Those ladies confirm, can you transfer $25 to my POSB Savings 137-52764-2 asap?

Also please PM me the following

Baby Name:
DOB:
Parent Name:
Email:

Adeline & Pas, i had your details captured

Echo,
I suspect ur ger gets her milk all night by latching... So her day time intake is made up during the nite.

My ger's solids is same as urs... 3 times daily. Her milk intake is min 4oz*3 times a day. My MIL is feeding her milk with bread for breakfast... On top of the milk i give her before she goes to her place...

yogi81,
Yeah, my ger is pretty active. Put her on the floor and she'll be crawling ALL over the house. Standard will be: stand up - get stuff, play, crawl...

Dr Ang din comment on my ger's weight...
Think she give up liao... :p I usually give her cookies,etc during her free time but my MIL doesn't so maybe that's what is the difference...

Thanks. i just wanna rant it out tats all...

of course still sayang her alot.. just tat.. i lost my patience after 1 sleepless night..

My HB on leave today.. help me abit but seem more immune to her crying...

MIL? forget it.. Yesterday brought Ashlynne over to her house. She volunteer to help to feed her dinner and i can eat my dinner too since MIL already ate. BUT THEN... a phone call came in, she threw Ashlynne oneside and went to talk on the phone without informing us. I quickly took over.. finished feeding Ashlynne , then she came out of her room... blah blah blah...

So, how to depend on her??

My mum ah.. she went on holiday already..

No helpers.

Jowin - No hurry to get the HT teddy puffs fr u lah.. My gal also down with running nose, cough & phlegm. So i think best is wait till both of our bbs r well before we meet. This sunday not sure can meet u. Cos if my gal still dun get well by then, I won't b at Pasir Ris fr 1+. U take care. *Pat Pat*. Usually when bb is sick, she tends to be cranky. Gotta be more patient with her.

snowger
nicole only takes 12oz of milk a day? i think it's not enough leh. can you try to get her to take more? yah, emma is definitely making up for her milk intake at night. that's why till now, still cannot STTN, always wake up every 2-3 hours. sigh.. don't know when she will able to sleep for longer stretches of time.

Errr...... may I sidetrack. Does everyone have their menses already? Mine's not here. Any cause of concern? I'm still latching bb throughout the nite and my guess is its out of comfort for her. Should I go see a Dr?

ikeike
I also haven't had my menses yet. Like i posted earlier, emma still latches throughout the night. But for her, she takes a full feed each time, cos she doesn't take much EBM during the day. It's actually quite common for babies up to 1 year old to still need that extra milk during the night

Nothing to be concerned about, I think. I read somewhere that the average time for TBF mothers to get their period back is 14 months after delivery. It helps you to space out your children. Are you planning to have a second one? I will probably start trying for #2 after I get my period back.

echo, I'm doing partial bf. Yes, I'm planning for a 2nd but would prefer to have my menses as the indication which would be easier. I'm relief now! *phew*

Echo,
Her milk is like yo yo... sometimes more sometimes less... :p tat's why i ask my MIL to feed her cereal with milk lor...

Super duper fed up. Bitchy HR is throwing tantrums on me again. WTF...cannot stand her anymore. She going for surgery? Good luck lar!

yogi81,
I ordered from delihub - which is oso under neogarden... Delihub has some nice stuff like curry chicken, chocolate eclair, chicken siew mai... haha... U can ask I think iemik0... someone fr this thread recommended me too...

adel / sam,
i go back n look tonite (if i got time , as my poor boy fever yesterday nite
, then let u koe...)

adel, I go to ur area almost every wk (my mum's place)! so no prob we can arrange the collection if i cant make it in time for Sam's spree.(eg pass to u or Jurong point..)

jowin,
try snowger's method, sometimes we hv to walk away awhile for a deep breath..dun blame urself as what over is over, but just try not to flare at Ashlynne le...cos she sick, so might tend to be even more sticky n even moody. Yes our lil darlings also hv their moods esp their sick...like this morning i bring kayson to IFC, he also dun want to smile, the teachers carry him he also stone stone look cos he's sick..

Ur mum's away for holiday till?? when's she's back to help? at least ur Hb ard today rite??

as for taking medicine, tt's forever a challenge...we tried a new way last nite, I "bluff bluff" show my boy that mummy also taking it, n ask him to "Ah" - open mouth. The moment he open , i shoot the whole Syringe in.. it worked twice..then 3rd time he dun want liao, so again must force..(2x good enuff le, rather than fight w him for all 3x of medicine taking)

Snowger,
i also tot of getting a sling! i was carrying Kayson while waiting at the clinic yesterday..super long wait & my arms buay tahan le. but Hb commented if the sling can hold our boy?? ie if he gets heavier then no point getting a sling rite?

pas
a sling can take up to 20kg, can use until they are toddlers (abt 2 years). a bjorn-type carrier generally can only be used up to 10-11kg (abt 1 year old).

yogi81,

delihub is good, food tasty! personally i find purplesage is very good at decoration and setup but food not very nice and pricely too.

Snow and Jo81, thanks for the feedback... will try delihub.

yah i find some of them pretty expensive too coz i need to split the bday party so will be rather heavy on the pocket. Means need to get 2 cakes too!

pastillies,

i used to have the sling (borrow when my sis). But elvin after 3 mths in it he dun wan liao.. So now i carry him loh. he dun like carrier also..Pram he ok..

Nitestar,
My boy was ok with high chair all along until recently when he gets even more mobile. Now he wants to move around, non stop action when he is with me. I think if i bring him, i'll faint of hunger!hahahaha

Jinny,
Sure no problem

jowin
dun worry.. starting im like you de.. very fan here and there.. taking care of my gal.. then slowly slowly you get use to it le hor. you wont be so much fan. really.. but u need a couple of weeks to get use to it. hehe hope ashlynne will get well soon!