(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Echt,
Ervin is auto wan to sleep ard 9 to 930pm. His milk intake also not much like. Like every 3hrs 5oz and solid alittle also. My baby can still nap from7pm to 730pm. But then 930 he wan to sleep liao. I think till now he only still after 10pm less then 3x.

My elder one when he is a baby he sleep late at 1am to 2am then 12midmight. Till now 3 yrs old liao he can sleep at 11pm to 12 midnight one.. Everyday have to force him to sleep.

evanmummy,
my boy wakes up at 8am+, nap at ard noon time then all e way till 7-8pm+ anor nap leh.cannt drag later coz he will really auto doze off one.. haha. unless he tired tt day, nap at ard 6pm, then he will zz earlier at 9plus

echt,
your baby sounds like my elder one last time. naps little play alot. My elder one last time dun like milk also now still dun like. Give him milk drink 4oz lesser than didi. But give him rice can take the same as adult.

Evan mummy

my gal will wake up automatic ard 8+/9+pm even if she super tire n last nap ard 4-5pm.We ever dun allow her to sleep at 8/9pm hoping she will sleep early, but end up she sleep at 2+am ....sigh...

MIL stay w us, so if BB keep crying then she xin ten law, will come n carry her

Evanmummy,
Peifu u. I tried the training and i agree it's damn tiring. And got to tahan the crying!!!
consistency is the key. i.e. once the schedule is fixed, shld follow thru... Cos i note that we late her sleep late once, her time would be shifted.

My ger falls asleep easily during some periods (e.g. 1 mth aft she learnt to crawl). Somehow, now she fights sleep. Even thou she is super tired, she must
1. Bulldoze and crawl ard the cot at least 1 rd;
2. Crawl and kneel at very side of the cot to look out and pull at the cot bumper. Aft tat throw tu-tu on the floor and try to look and reach for it from the cot (aft tat scream v loud cos tutu is lost!);
3. Leave her scent (i.e. saliva) on the cot rail;
4. Must try to stand in the cot with help from us.

After all of the above, then she kam-wan to go sleep.
Haiz... So this past 2 weeks was super xin ku... Once I leave her alone to do the above, she will scream for attention. So while she's practising all the abv activities, I sit by my bed to watch her performance.

Jappooh, your elder boy sound so much like my gal...Also alway need to force her to sleep + dun drink alot milk (3.5-4oz)...Now coming 7mth n only 7kg... but she can eat porridge 4-5tablespoon for 1st x trying this Monday... eat le, n 1hr later want milk (2.5-3oz)

echt,

My gal is like ur boy. 7 to 8 pm will take a nap after her DAILY walk to NTUC or Sheng Siong supermarket.

Then wake up to play with us, drink her milk then go back sleep till the next morning 8 or 9am.

Stella,

My gal is 9 months today. So happy. Time to get busy for her birthday preparation. But so far, no separation anxiety displayed at all. I can leave her alone with a stranger, she also never cry for me. Though sometimes she will still cry out for me at night, especially if she got nightmare.

My baby refuses to sleep until at least after 11pm! She usually naps abt 1.5hrs late morning and then if we are lucky, about 2hours in the afternoon. She usually sleeps from 11.30pm till 7.30am the next morning. I think she sleeps very little for a baby leh

Before she sleeps, she gets very irritable and starts scratching like a monkey. Also cries alot and needs to be patted to sleep. Absolutely drives me crazy sometimes and a couple of times try to leave her in her cot to sleep by herself. She can go on crying for a good 20min coz now she can sit up and then look at me and hb and wails loudly. How do I train her to sleep early and go to sleep by herself? sigh...

xiaohwa,

ya your gal like my elder boy. Now 3 yrs old liao we give up liao. Everyday 10pm ask him go his rm he can wait till 1130 then sleep. Headache. Milk always cant finish. Rice he can take. My elder one start rice cereal when he is 4mths cos his milk intake too low. Though his weight ok. But now skinny lei 3yrs old only 12.8kg. and short also.

yogi,
baby Ervin also will scratch his head and ears. I very scare lei cos he can scratch his ears till bleed one.. Like my elder one. He also need to pat to sleep but usually that is fast. 1 to 2 mins pat he sleep liao

echo
esplanade area quite nice for a run. The GE run is either 5 or 10k, so if u can do 3k, 5k is really no prob. Anyway the event is in Nov so there's plenty of time to get started. Here's the webbie: http://www.women10k.com/
I might just sign up for the 5k since its cheaper! Loyalty period is till 17Jul, got 10% off for past year runners so I'll ask for discount code.

xiaohwa
I agree with stella, I dont allow my gal to nap after 7, otherwise she will be wide awake till 10+ 11. You can try skipping the naptime at 8+, personally I feel it is too late for nap. Here's my gal's schedule:

8am wake up for milk
1030-1230pm morning nap
130pm lunch solid meal
230pm milk
3-330pm nap
5pm milk
530pm nap
730pm dinner solid meal
845pm milk and sleep through

Jappooh,

I think it's the eczema coz the back of her head is also red. Last nite I put some candula cream and it seemed to help with the itch. Unfortunately it did not help at all with her crying. I buay tahan so I scolded her and smack her on the butt but no effect one haha

Snowymum,

Hahah , your gal so cute ! I read some where that if they learn a new trick ( eg crawling), they will even wake up midnight to do it again ..I caught Evan doing that once, He woke up in the middle of the night crawling in his cot.. and was smilling when I enter the room .. So damn funny !

Xiaohwa,
I know wat u mean .. my mom is like ur MIL.. She'll rush into the room and pick Evan up when he cries ( while I was training him to sleep) .. I'll lock the door and make sure she doesnt get in .. hahaha, I play music and cant hear her.. when she's calling from outside.. hahaha

YPG, wow, didnt know ur gal is 9 months .. I also cant wait for Evan to get 1 yrs old .. will be vry exciting to plan for their birthday. Dont forget to invite us ..

tamms, we try many x to skip the 8+ nap le, but she will doze off if she super tire while u carry her, then after awhile she will be awake w FULL energy charged liao(even if only for 10-15mins)....sigh....now i can only hope she take tt nap earlier (eg 7+) so tt she will wake up earlier n can sleep earlier

Evanmummy, but BB sleeping w MIL at nite so i cannot lock her out wow...haha...MIL even commented tt it does not make a diff if BB skin 8+ nap cos end up she will still sleep late....

Saw this on baby centre. Think there was a mommy in another thread whose wave rider leg strap tore and baby fell into the water. Anyway, always supervise our kids when they're playing. Mommies take note:

Recalled: Inflatable baby floats
Thu, Jul 03, 2009 (BabyCenter News) — Aqua-Leisure has announced a recall of about 4 million inflatable baby floats in cooperation with the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).

The leg straps in the seat of the float can tear, causing children to unexpectedly fall into or under the water, posing a risk of drowning. There have been 31 reports of float seats tearing, causing children to fall into or under the water. No injuries have been reported.

The recalled inflatable baby floats were sold in a variety of styles and colors. The names and model numbers are located on the packaging. A date between 08/02 and 07/08 is molded on the valves of recalled products. The names and model numbers included in the recall are listed in the chart below.
Products not included in the recall can be identified with the lettering “NP” molded on the valve.
The inflatible baby floats were sold at juvenile product and mass merchandise retailers nationwide, including Target; Toys “R” Us; Wal-Mart; Dollar General; Kmart; Walgreens; Ace Hardware; and Bed, Bath & Beyond from December 2002 through June 2009 for between $8 and $15. They were made in China.

Name Model Numbers Description
Baby & Me Combo ET-9105 Yellow figure-8-shaped inflatable float with turquoise vinyl seat bucket and seat back, plastic ring-and-bar toy.
Deluxe Baby Boat ET-9110
ET-9110EU
ET-9110KM
ET-9110SU
ET-9110WG
ET-9110WM
ET-9110WMUS
LT-9110L Yellow boat-shaped inflatable float with turquoise plastic handles and turquoise vinyl seat bucket and seat back.
Deluxe Toddler Racer ET-9215
ET-9215DG
ET-9125DOL
ET-9215SU
LT-9215L Yellow boat-shaped inflatable float with turquoise plastic handles and steering wheel and turquoise vinyl seat bucket and yellow seat back.
Cozy Crab Sunshade Float/Crabby Baby Boat SA-3223
SA-3223/24
SA-3223/24-1B
SA-3223/24-2A
SA-3223/24TG
SA-3223/24WM
SA-3223AU
SA-3223KR
SA-3223LD Red crab-shaped inflatable float with red vinyl seat bucket and yellow inflatable adjustable sunshade.
Ticklish Turtle Sunshade Float/Baby Boat SA-3224
SA-3224AU
SA-3224KR
SA-3224LD
SA-3224WM Yellow and green turtle-shaped inflatable float with green vinyl seat bucket and green inflatable adjustable sunshade.
Toddler Race Boat SA-3225 Automobile décor and yellow boat-shaped inflatable float with green plastic handles and steering wheel and green vinyl seat bucket.
Aquarium Baby Float LD-3236
SA-3236 Yellow and purple inflatable float with yellow-background aquarium décor and purple vinyl seat bucket and seat back.
Baby Adjustable Sunshade Boat

Adjustable Canopy Sunshade Float

Child’s Baby Boat w/ Canopy SA-3240
LD-3242
LT-3242L
SA-3242
SA-3242/43-1A
SA-3242/43TG
SA-3242AU
SA-3242WM
SA-3242WM
TG-3242 Blue and white inflatable float with crab-and-beach décor, blue and white inflatable canopy and white plastic handle, blue seat bucket.
Sunshade Wave Rider Float

Child’s Wave Rider LT-3243L
SA-3243
SA-3243DOL
SA-3243WM
SA-3243WM White inflatable float with aquatic décor and red seat back, blue and white inflatable canopy and blue seat bucket, red handle bars.
Sunshade Buggy

Sunshade Water Buggy (Girl/Boy) SA-3244
SA-3244TG
SA-3244WM
WM-3244 Blue car-shaped inflatable float, yellow steering wheel and car-theme décor, w/ or w/o green accents or Pink car-shaped inflatable float, yellow steering wheel and car-theme décor, w/ or w/o yellow accents.
Kiddie Cabin Cruiser LD-3248
SA-3248
SA-3248DG
SA-3248DOL Light blue, purple and clear inflatable float with light blue car cabin-shaped inflatable canopy and décor, light blue vinyl seat bucket and seat back.
Sing-Along Wave Rider SA-3252
WM-3252 White inflatable float with aquatic décor and red seat back, blue and white inflatable canopy and red seat bucket, red handle bars. Plays two songs: "Twinkle Twinkle" and "Row Row Row Your Boat."
Quacker Float TR-7420 Yellow duck-shaped inflatable float w/ or w/o duck-theme décor, with squeezable noisemaker.
Squirtin' Tootin' Tugboat SA-7431 White and red boat-shaped inflatable float with red vinyl seat bucket. Has squirt gun and squeezable noisemaker.

-- Grace Blasco, BabyCenter News

What you can do:
Stop using the float immediately, and contact Aqua-Leisure for a refund.
For more information, call Aqua-Leisure toll-free at (866) 807-3998between 8:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday, or visit the company's website.
See a photo of the recalled baby floats on the CPSC's website.
Keep abreast of children's safety recalls by checking our recall finder.

http://www.babycenter.com/204_recalled-inflatable-baby-floats_10315992.bc?scid=momsbaby_20090707:2&pe=2Uvz83W

xiaohwa,
your bb sleep with your MIL har.. My elder one sleep with my MIL since he turn 2mths old and only sleep with me during sat nite. I tell u he stick to his grandma like glue loh. grandma is always No1 lei. So now i do not allow my 2nd baby to sleep with her liao if not both my kids not close to me.

But i will say cos my elder one will wake the younger one loh..hee

Yogi08,

Evan has very bad Ezcema too .. He'll scratch his head ( I put on mitten during the night time to protect him from scarring himself)

You know its very painful and frustrating for them one .. Dont scold or smack your gal lah .. Its frustrating and pitiful enough to suffer from eczema .. I love Evan even more, u know.. I will caress his head for him .. so he wont feel the itch.. even in the middle of the night .. Just want him to be comfortable ..

yogi08,
sounds like my ger recently!!! She fights sleep... My ger will kneel in her cot and cry very loud while looking at me... And she's like pleading with me to take her out from the cot. Once we pick her up, she will give a teary smile at my hb. -___-"

Napping:
I agree with Tamms and Stella. Found tat letting her nap aft 7pm is a sure diaster cos she will not want to zzz until close to 10.30 or 11pm!
So best, her latest nap time shld be done before 6pm... After my ger's dinner no zzz!!!

xiaohwa, yr baby and my baby got same 'symptoms' - my baby can also jump >100 times (I stop counting after 100)

EvanMummy, Snowger, we got same syndrome - milk and weight obsession... sometimes I get irritated when my hubby tells me that I'm obsessed... it's v stressful that our baby milk intake like stock market !!!

Evanmummy, will definitely try the green bean puree...

Snowger, I feel the same like you cos I was TBF in the first month so I NEVER know how much he takes but he was crying for milk every 1.5 hours so I assumed is ok, he only gained 800g in the first month while most babies gained 1.5kg or so... We have to learn to let go cos it's already past and do not blame ourselves for it lor... U can still grow her stomach now... jia you !!!

echo, happy to hear that your baby catch up liao... so solids does help with weight gain... my boi likes solids but i've not really increased his intake, more of giving him new tastes...

snowger,

yah it's quite magical, the minute you pick her up she stops crying and smiles at you, gosh!! I know she's tired but refuses to sleep...

Evanmummy,

Ya my ger will sometimes wake up between 2 to 4am and she will be in her kneeling position with hands reaching out for the cot rails (which are super far away) and her eyes closed... She will then make a lot of noise cos she's soooo sleepy and yet dunno how to lie back down to sleep.. *faintz*

Ann01 Jan,

u damn funny ... milk intake like stock market.. Hahhaha , quite true huh .. Evan milk intake also up and down .. One day he can drink 1200 ml and next day he can drink as low as 700 ml ..

hmn .. its really stressful cos I wish to retain some baby fats in Evan .. I heard that they will lose weight when they start to crawl aggressively .. I like boy with ' Rou rou' one .. Dont like skinny bb .. So I'm extremely obsessed with how much he drinks per day lol!!

snowger
At 6.5mths, Emma was 7kg. If she doesn't take milk well, you can try giving her more solids? But of course still emphasise milk, cos that will give her more nutrients than other types of food.

ann01jan
you can definitely try giving your bb more solids even as you are introducing new tastes. maybe you can give more of something familiar (which he has eaten before) and a little bit of something new (in case he doesn't like it). But if you are BF, you should still prioritise milk over solids, so try to give more milk before trying to give more solids.

tamms
oh 5km sounds doable. let me ask my running kakis to see if they are interested. do you have friends to run with you?

my hubby wont be able to go if on weekends...his offday only on weekdays...so dont think i can go for the gym...haha....cant really play with jake.

jake haven start on solids...only manage to feed like 2 teaspoon of frisocream today...his milk intake sometimes increase till 210 or 240...but drop back to 150 or 180....

My gal sleeps very little in the afternoon. Baby sitter say tat can be as little as 10min, and she does not have a fix timing. Oni last weekend try to train her to take a afternoon nap. not easy leh. but night time she ok, abt 8:30~9pm she will sleep.

Dont know why she can drink 240ml when she is with babysitter, but when i take care of her intake is super not fix

Jappooh, my MIL help us lk after at nite too cos bb sleep too late liao... but friday nite & sat nite we take care ourselves so tt can build bond.

Tell u, until now, we din even bring her out shopping for more than 3 times ba...cos weekend will prefer to stay at hm. But weekday afternoon, PIL will bring her out for lunch 3-4times/wk.

Ann01jan, very tiring hor, to hold BB while they jump...sigh. my hubby jokingly said tt my arm slim down liao.

eh.. which girl said she found her gymboree trial pass?? Jes is it??

Snowger... when u think its a good time to let the babies go gymboree? when they start to crawl more steadily? 9 months??

shall we have a show of hands.. how many of us here have the FOC trial gymboree pass when we bought Gaia?

1) Jowin
2) Fabbie
3) Jes
4) Snowger

xiaohwa,

why not consider buying a jumperoo for ur bb to jump?

as compared to ur gal, my gal is shopping queen n sleeping queen.

She got take nap after her lunch, from 1 to 3pm. She will sleep again at 7 to 8pm, usually half an hour. After that, sleep from 10 plus to 8 or 9am. Guess she really love sleeping.

She go gai-gai (shopping) at least twice a day. 1 in the morning, 1 in the evening. Each trip at least half an hour long. Weekend, we sure bring her go out. If me n my hubby work late, she will keep looking at the window to see the time. N if we come back, never bring her go out. She will start her "singing" session.

My gal is a monster compared to ur guai guai gal.

Gals, anyone of you looking for Babysitter in CCK area? I am asking on behalf of my boss's nanny who want to quit her job soon. She used to work with a childcare centre and after that become a full time nanny with my boss 2 babies and is very experienced with babies and children and she can cook very well. She is happy to help look after babies at night as well. PM me if keen!

xiaohwa,
we are like u also. but sad to say the weekend sleeping dun bond so much loh. That what happen to my elder one. So now no matter how tiring i wan my younger one to sleep with me.. Now i already can see the diff cos baby No 1 is me. See me will wan me. And my elder one forever grandma No1 even though now i spend more time with him. The nite bonding is important.

ypg,
ervin also nap along during weekdays cos gor gor go school so he can have good sleep. but weekend he only nap once at most twice.

Weekday he nap 3 times.
10am to 12noon
2pm to 5pm
7 to 730pm.
then sleep at 930pm.

yogi08
mine gal. also dun wan to sleep. and i realize a trick that she love. she loves to take the pillow cover her face and sleep. and now i always do that she will sleep. i pat her sleep she dun wan. i put her down she sleep liao. hahah

I totally agree with Jappooh that night time bonding is extremely important ..

Evan used to sleep with the maid when he was born up to 2 months old.. He was attached to her and whenever he sees my maid, he wants to be carried by her .. It saddened me and it was a wake up call for me ..

I immediately brought him to sleep in with me .. Its really tiring but worth it .. especially if we are working mom .. all the time away from home . now, he is sticking to me like a super glue . always whinning for me .. I feel so in love ..hahahahah

Fabbie.. same for Ashlynne. she will use the bolster to cover her face and then she can sleep.. so i gave her the bolster.. she cover her face n zzzzz.. pat pat her.. she ok...

Yesterday.. she woke up at 3am.. "calling" me... i ignore her until she scream n cry....i pat her to sleep inside her cot.. she ok... I thought she zzz. once i walked back to my bed.. she flip over n call me again... FAINTZ....

Until i got no choice.. we battle till 4am... decided to bring her to my bed... once she touched my bed.. she K.O.....

Argh!!

Today.. i panda eyes...

Jowinbaby,

he'll sleep in his cot until after 12 a.m .. then he'll start crying and wanna to sleep in with us ..

I refused to bring Evan to sleep on our bed.. he kept crying until I finally gave in .. throw him on my bed and he went zzzzzzzzzz.. so strange ..now he is so used to sleep between me and hubby ..
But at the same time I'm worried abt him getting so used to sleep with us .. u know abt the dependence issue .. sigh ..They shld be sleeping on their own in a room by themself.

ypg, hahaha...my gal not guai guai gal lei... u tell her go gai gai & bring her out the door, she immed lk outside le, no matter who want to carry her inside again, she wont lk at u. tt y we dun want to build on to her being even more want to go out n stay at hm if possible at wkend.

My house only a 4 room HDB, n got 5 adults (hubby, me, PIL + BIL) liao, not alot of space le, so din buy the jumpo...sigh

fabbie, my gal also like to cover her face w pillow if she want to sleep, its like a sign to us. but cannot put her down to sleep on her own law, she sure turn on her stomach n start to crawl liao...

Anyone keen to sign up for lesson at Kindermusik? Evan really enjoyed himself during the trial class and i'm thinking of signing him up for lesson ..

I know there is one going on Sun at 2 p.m .. and mostly dec babies as well ..

anyone keen ?

xiaohwa, yes very tiring - hb and me will take turns to let him 'jump'... the leg like spring like that, touch anything will bounce back one...

Looking forward to meet some mummies here at this Sun photoshoot...

Evanmummy & snowger
I oso feel tat my gal's milk intake like stk mkt.. volatile like anything! recently after her jab on last fri.. she has been drinking so little milk. can't finish her normal 5oz milk every feed. her solid intake oso yo-yo so much.. dun realli noe wat she like anymore.. so headache!

her wt at 6 mths & 4 days was 6.9kg and measure at 68.5cm. i check the chart she's on 50 percentile.. so shld be ok rite?

my hb always joke tat my bb runs on batt.. ytd i look at Summer and ask her "where ur socket darling? mommy wans to charge u.." she actually smile at me.. -_- *faints*

so many post today!!! Onie manage to glance through and all abt milk n food..hahaha.

Yesterday I fed Zach with potato + carrot puree. He 'phui' them all out..playing wif his food!! All his sleeves, pants, bumbo are stained wif puree. Even eyes n hair oso have.. yucks! but he was having such a good time playing wif his food. Next time must feed him naked!

I am seriously considering hiring a maid liao. I wanna spend more time wif zach instead of juz go home and pack n pack n clean.. sigh. I onie get to spend about 2hrs wif him per day and it is really not enuf. Weekends hv to share wif in laws...
shuld i get indonesian or filipino or myanmese?

evans, ypg's dotter is 9 mths because she is from Oct 08 thread and decided to abandon that thread to move to our thread cos we are more happening?? Hahaha.. so we cannot compare our bb wif her Clarissa cos her bb is so advance liao.