(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

wow! Ivy your bb is very big! Mine is only 680g at 23+ weeks.

Reddates, my tummy is also growing faster and bigger. More and more pointed too

hmm.. like that nanny's price abt the same as sending to infantcare leh.. or could be slightly cheaper..

also, there's gov subsidies for child care..

with the extra subsidy AND hopefully the center doesn't increase price, we'll be paying abt $515 for DS's IC currently..

Morning

Reddates
Yah my tummy grew a lot faster when I hit 24wks. Today i'm officially 27wks and boy, has that tummy grow!!!

Phy
sleeping on your back is not very good bec of the baby piling on top mah.

iemik0
my boy usually come to my room & sleep in between (in the middle of the night), then i cannot turn cos afraid that he will kick my tummy.

Do your boy sleep by himself? mine, need to sleep with him until he fall asleep.

dee
the cost may not be very different,but the main concern is that nanny usually look after 1 kid while there are more baby in infantcare & more prompt to getting sick. there are pro & con lah.

winnie,

yup.. agree.. but i scared nanny no transparency leh.. unless it's a nanny that is super trustworthy..

i couldn't even let my MIL handle my DS coz she thinks some things are OK but for me, NO-NO.. well, totally different culture and upbringing.. :p
And these sparks off - CONFLICTS..
what to do.. coz i have ma own ways of bring up ma own kids..

winnie, haha.. i nv did every slept on my back b4.. hehe.. i always sleep like a prawn coz when i was young my sister slept on her back and my father says she sleep like she in coffin so i scared.. haha..

I know this is not exactly the place to post about dog adoption but I'm trying all avenues available.

There's a 2 year old black cocker spaniel boy up for adoption. He has been sterilised and is very sweet natured. He has a sad childhood story and definitely deserves a loving and kind home.

If you know of anyone who might be interested, please contact me at [email protected] please. I would be most happy to provide more information and details.

Morning ladies...now slacking at home cos placenta bled last week, was hospitalised and for one day gyane oso gave me 3 weeks MC to bed rest...eat zzz watch tv.. gonna become pig soon... boringggg...

Phyl,
DS is at JustKids..

they have two centers with infantcare facilities.. Bukit Batok & Marine Parade.. JE don't have..
Their ratio isn't like Babies Inc 1:1 or 2.. maybe that's why BI can cost $1.4K b4 sub..
Actually we sent sent DS in Jun.. before that maid took care w/ MIL's supervision.. like that also still got conflicts.. well, since DS getting more mobile and MIL's house isn't safe for him to play ard.. and at the same time maid surrender, we sent him into infantcare..

Xiao Pooh - which infantcare is that, which can let u pay extra $100 and pick up at 8pm?

llig - ooo, but i think i KS, i will just pack everything & those not used then bring back. ;P

Shirley,
sorry to hear that..
maybe you can up your vitamin C intake..
heard that it can make placenta stronger and helps with iron absorption..
ma gynae said 1000mg/day is safe..

Pregnant women urged to lift vitamin C intake

Insufficient levels of vitamin C before and during pregnancy can lead to a higher risk of a ruptured membrane and premature delivery, according to research presented at last week's Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine's annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Vitamin C plays a significant role in the structure of collagen in the foetal membrane, and so women with a low vitamin C intake can be more susceptible to premature rupture of the membrane attached to the placenta, leading to an increased risk of premature delivery.

A study was carried out among 2,247 pregnant women who were asked to detail their intake of various foods before their pregnancy and during the second three months of their pregnancy.

The research showed that there was a strong relationship between a lack of vitamin C in women's diets and a tendency toward rupturing the placental membrane.

For example, women who took in less than 21mg of vitamin C per day before pregnancy had twice the risk of suffering a premature ruptured membrane during their pregnancy, while those who consumed less than 65 mg of vitamin C daily during the second trimester of their pregnancy were at 70% increased risk.

The researchers found that only 28% of women said they had taken vitamin C supplements before pregnancy, while 80% reported taking a multivitamin by the 30th week of pregnancy. The study's results suggest that starting vitamins after becoming pregnant is not enough to ward off rupture risk.

Shirley, take care wor..

Dee, icc, but both too out of the way liao.. hehe.. i stay yishun, work in botanic gardens and hubby work thomson.. i kinda got it worked out by me taking care bb on fri, sat and sun and hubby will take care on mon then we send bb to either nanny or something for tues, wed, thurs. hehe.. can i just hide bb under my table?? hehe

phyl,
haha.. i don't mind hide bb under ma table also.. when bb not mobile, still easy to take care.. do own things..
when bb starts to get mobile, all things stops and all eyes on him liao! more sang-nao-jing..

Shirley,
hmm.. hopefully ur gynae has the same opinion as ma gynae..

in the past, when i asked for Vit C supplements from SGH, they gave me small tablets of, i think, 5 or 50mg, and u can imagine how many u gotta pop-in to make up 1000mg..
so, i figured that hospitals usually give u tiny dosage per tablet..
these days, i don't get from the docs, i'll just get it off the counter at any pharmacies..

but if gynae gonna give you FOC, just take it.. hee..

Hi Shirley.
Sorry to hear your placenta bled. You take care and dont walk to much. Just curious, why your placenta bled, did doc gave you any reason?

aiyo.. that day i saw one maid at the market that "leash" up a boy.. the boy abt 2yrs.. horrible maid!!!!! haha..

Phyl,
I went home to check the cloth diapers liao - the cost shld be between $10-12 for a dozen. I dun have a feel of what pigeon or Annaku's diapers are like. But the ones I got are pretty thick. They are still stiff cos haven't wash before.

Bubblepearl,
I will call up and ask the shop whether the stock comes in already. This sat is end of the 7th month liao so got some prayers to do at my grandma's place.

My lessons at TMC are starting on 6 Sep! So exciting!!!

juzyounme,
I think most infant care/childcare centres will have arrangements for picking up the child late (i.e. they will penalise u by asking u to pay xtra - either one time payment or on a per day late basis).

phyl,

lol. I don't do that to my girls .. but I know some kids like to wander off .. so it's actually safer la .. so parents/maids have no choice but to do that ... better than losing the kid, right?

Phyl,
It's common practise among e westerners. I saw a mum use it on her baby boy/ger in e MRT. Rem few yrs back, it looks like dog leash. I saw at Taka now it is a soft toy bag with a long extension for parents to pull... Looks cuter, but i dun still dun like e concept.

I think it will be good if ur kid is really hyper and always MIA-ing.

hi all.. so tired and sleepy... i think im going to eat less liao.. cus i feel so xin ku.. haiz.. tummy so bloated. and hard to breathe.. arghz.. duno what to do. if i eat abit of dinner i willl bu shuang. cus i think i dun have a proper meal. so when i start eating. i cannot STOP! Zzz..

Snowger - hmm, the last time i visited an infant care. the lady didn't tell me. she just said usually pple don't pick up after 7pm, as teachers also need to rest.

Shirley - u take care and rest more.

Ladies, any recommendation on magazines on babies and toddlers? I was reading "Mother & Baby", find that it can be more focus on pregnancy. wondering if there is any magazine which talks more of after baby is born.

Juz, u can try Young Parents, Mother & Kid (something like that), Parenthood..quite a number.

U can try borders. They hv plenty. They even hv discount vouchers for magazines..

santorini, bubble pearl - The MAH classes are 6 weeks. On top of the MAH classes, I signed up for birthright class - 1 session.

For the birthright class, i wanted to sign up for the Aug Natural birth/gentle birth classes. but the lady say not enuff couples so din run the class. The next sessions only start in Oct so in the end I decided to do a 1-on-1 lesson with her for 3 hours, only 1 day.

I'll be going for my birthright class on 4 Sep so cant really comment yet. But here's what she's gonna cover:

1) how labour starts
2) when to go to hospital
3) the labour curve - patterns and emotional signposts of labour
4) how and when to push
5) common hospital procedures and their risks and benefits
6) writing a birth plan
7) third stage labour - natural vs managed stages
8) delayed vs early cord clamping and cutting - risks and benefits
9) your approach to pain
10) drug-free alternatives to coping in labour
11) drugs in labour, including epidurals - risks and benefits
12) avoiding an episiotomy and minimising perineal tears
13) positions in labour - staying off your back!
14) induction of labour - pros and cons
15) breastfeeding - how to breastfeed, why breastfeed, what is breastmilk
16) physiology of the newborn - sleep and behavioral patterns
17) the newborn's brain - how parents can help develop cognitive ability

Ivy,
wow! your baby 900g at 23weeks.... big right? mine 700g at 23weeks, my gynae alreadi say 100g bigger liao.... did your gynae advise anything like cut down sugar or carbo?

fabbie,
same here.. i hate the bloating feeling but if dont eat proper meal feel so hungry leh.. i guess we gota snack abit here and there to keep my stomach fill up.. i juz ate 1 bowl of 'ban mian', 1 kuey and 1 mug of fruit juice for lunch.. now stomach so uncomfortable... haiz

Juzyounme, sorry for the late reply..Busy since am..now finally got time to log-on..hee

The infant care is near my house at Fernvale (Sengkang). Its call Monriah Schoolhouse. They have two branches, 1 at fernvale & the other at rivervale..All Sengkang area..

Recently they juz marked up their schoolfee to $1200. You may wish to call them to enquire further..

jowinbaby,
Tt's what the lady said in her email to me lei. Seems like a super long list. I also dunno how is she gonna cover in one day. Maybe some topics can be covered quite quickly together? Btw my lesson on 4 Sep, not 6 Sep.... took weekday lesson coz cheaper.. Haha...
Coz the lesson is 1-on-1, u can customized what you wanna learn... When i signed up, she asked me what's the key areas tt i wanted to find out.. tts how she gave me this long list...

Adel,

Can you please let me know if the birthright class is useful after you had your session? I'm quite interested in such classes but dunno if it will be useful... Thanks

Dee,
so your son is in Justkids Bukit Batok? Any feedback? I will be going to view the place this friday, it will be an option as i live in Bukit Batok...Alternative will be Sunflower Baby House...

jowinbaby,
let me sms the lady to ask her if she intends to cover everything or is some topics she's just gonna give out notes or something... let u know later...

santorini,
yup, will update you on how's the class after i come back =)

Hi Adelchia
Its ok...no trouble u.. cos i attended Mrs Wong class at TMC.. I m jsut surprise that these lists are covered if in ONE classes. Cos from what i see, they need many classes to cover all... So i thought you should ask which are the specific areas to cover

santorini,
my DS went in when he's about 8mths (in june recently).. they've got a log chart to record when bb sleeps and how long, how much he drinks and eats, when he's bathe, when poo-poo.. accessible for parents to view..
they also provide a tentative time table for different age group..
everytime i send in my DS in the am, i noticed how the teachers can actually recall and feedback to parents how each bb's been doing in under their care.. the parents seemed quite happy with service provided..
just recently, the teacher in-charge called my hubby and i for a parent-teacher session.. we're like "huh?" coz never expected it.. haha.. it's basically to feedback to us how DS has developed in terms of his milestones.. and any concerns that they'd like to highlight to us..
so far, i find them quite good.. only that their ratio is about 1:4.. if u don't mind.. but the numbers of newborns there are not many so, they might actually get more attention compared to older age group..
what i also like about the center at BB is that all their facilities (infantcare, playgroup, etc) are separated..

my gynae did ask me to cut down on bread...avoid bread and noodle...

Anyone can recommend any infant care around west coast area?

Dee,

thanks, sounds quite positive, i will definitely pop by Friday to take a look....and maybe say hello to your boy....(that is if i know which one is your boy lor...)

This friday i am treating myself, so i will take leave, go to see babycare centres, go for a haircut, go for a massage, go buy some shoes...etc....

Ivy, I think the nearest infant care for west coast area is Learning Vision at NUS...

Santorini,
i think they have some program at the center this friday.. some party??
monday cc closed coz teachers' day..

Ivy,
a friend of mine (who's worked at childcare before) also recommended Learving Vision.. but a bit too far for me..