(2008/11) November 2008

peanut
actually, whenever i bring my boy back to my mum's place, my dad is the one who came to our place and pick us up. unless tat particular sat my hubby not working, then he'll drive us there.
but like wat i've mentioned, in order not to spoil my weekends becoz of him blowing his top, then i rather 多一事不如少一事 lor..

my mum so far no complaints abt being tired and she's always very happy to see my boy. will carry him go downstairs for a walk, bring him go jalan jalan at toa payoh central. make super nutritious porridge for him,play with him...etc. but sometimes when we are at my mum's place and when my boy is sleeping, i'll see my mum sitting on the sofa dozing off. and i suddenly realize how much my mum has aged these few years. yes,though my boy is at her place on sat, and usually i'm the one who takes care of him. but i tink my mum is very tired but would not say so. she'll still be busy whipping up my fav dishes and kept asking me to rest instead as she knows i do not have enuff rest on weekdays/nights. from all these, my heart would always ache when i see her so 超劳.. tats why i decided to bring my boy back once every 2 weeks so she could rest more.

i really hope my boy would be responsive in future and that this current situation is just a passing phase.

How abt your nini? is she attending any PG now or enrichment classes too?

my FIL sees my gal twice a year. One of it is CNY eve dinner.

Everyone's family bkgnd/structure is different, so there's no right or wrong how things are done..i guess

I'm the cannot lun type. That's why no matter how desperate, I also will not ask my MIL to look after my kids. She's a nice lady, I'm the one who is not so nice. bo pian, now I hv to become a SAHM. but at times, very sian to stay home full time. I miss my own $$.

moomummy
Like Jes, I also salute u. But I think it is very bad for your health if u r always the one to give in. I feel so xin ku 4 u.

snnowy
Nat's hair? headache leh - her head always chao chao becos she perspire alot.

jes, aly
hahaha..no need to salute me lah. life just goes on mah. i've been thru worse times than these, so comparing to last time, this is 'sup sup water'
Now,i'm just hoping that my boy can play the 'catch-up' game and do well in future. other matters can close one eye.hehehe..

moomummy, yr heart has got to be really 阔 in order to endure all these. i will never be able to be like u in this scenario... so i still salute u

moomummy
no.. my gal not yet in PG cos she's stil having severe separation anxiety!! haiz.. i also dunoe how lei.. tink wait till she's 2 then consider.. But enrichment class mayb i'll start looking around, as long as they allow me to b around then shd stil b ok.. a chance for her to mix around and b more used to a classroom environment..

U're v filial.. =) I always feel heartpain towards my mum as well.. she's 70 this year.. getting thinner and thinner, lots of white hair and her back one side hunching and its getting worst each and everyday.. but thats y i wan to go back more often, to see her and to let her see my gal.. but mayb its different from yours cos even if i dun go back she'll b busy with cooking and housework anyway... hahahaa... she's a lao lu ming person...

pnut & lian, me too, im a super bad mum and bo chap too, as evidence since i dun even bring my gal back home every evening, and i always excused it with the fact that she enjoys more being with my in-laws, haha

if my mama still ard, wonder how she will react to her own grandkid, too bad so "tuan ming", 7 early 8 early go report to heaven

Lilian:
Its not inflation lah. Its just that last time we buy from US so its at a fraction of the price. Now I cannot find overseas at these prices too. If you need, better to get just the toothpaste without the brush (cheaper).

Haha. See my A your K no fight liaoz.

If you dun want your GainIQ, sell to me lor. Heehee. I missed the Guardian promo.

Moomummy:
You have to convince him that the interaction has a chance of helping your son open up. Of coz care wont be as good as at home. I heard GUG is really good. Maybe you try that lor. For young kids, 1 parent accompanies. So the care issue is not a problem liaoz.

Jes, Peanut, Lilian,
I also used to think that I'll go crazy if I ever hv to stay home full time. This is the 2nd time I'm staying home full time, n I must say I'm handling it better. At least I dun quarrel with hb over trivial issues anymore. Being the primary care given is fullfilling. Having said that, I still miss my work (n $$) terribly. My brain getting very rusty liao. I will lun for 1 more year. wait till Nat turn 2 then see how. wonder if anybody still wants to hire me after such a long break......

cutiemum..
ah..icic..doc didnt recommend Brod to be on whc soy based FM but we chose Isomil on our own..so we r trying out to see if he's taking it well..most imptly is to let him get well 1st...then we will see how it goes along the way..whc soy based FM is Jaden taking now?

aly_nat..
it's not easy to test on allergy..even if u were to drew blood frm bb also not easy to tell..other than food, there's also other factors involved..like environment, dust & maybe due to FM? i guess for time being we will hv to switch him to soy based then let him recover on the phelgm part then see if we will want him to be on soy based for long ba..

moomummy..
u r a very patience mummy..it's not easy to "endure" within u esp staying under the same roof..whatever it is..i surely cant stay under the same roof with my FIL..haha..one mountain cannot hide two tigers..haha..

moomummy: when i read your post abt your mum, i felt a pang in my heart. u r a good filial girl. i felt like u 1 yr ago when my poor old mother had to get up 3 times a nite to feed my babies. but now after 1 yr of constant nagging, i don't feel so guilty anymore
i do agree tho tt they r getting v old & tired. prob u r the youngest & ur eldest sis is my age or older, right? so ur mum must be pretty old too. i must say tho i'm v thankful my husband is v good to my mum. somewhat different from your hubby. not many husbands can live w MIL. i lived w his mother 6 yrs i already complain non stop.

snnowy: can't really blame my mum lor, my gm made her life so difficult just cos no boys. but your fren being so young is really something wrong. i think i'm even more sensitive to these things than u gals cos i was 1 of 3 girls. it's just like when we go out w my sis in law's family & ppl start to ask her y not have 1 more to get a boy. instead of her replying, i'm the one to tell them off & say so what if 2 girls, her 2 girls r so much better behaved than my 3 boys. there was once, some well meaning relative kena from me so bad & everybody, including my MIL & husband so shocked at my outburst. i can't help it, it's the bad memories from childhood. my future daughters in law will be v lucky, i'll never give them this kind of pressure. i think it's nonsensical. still makes my blood boil sometimes. come to think of it, quite a few bad memories still ingrained in me & once in a while will suddenly come bursting out.

lian: for me, that tube of first teeth wld last barely 3 weeks
first teeth v difficult to buy now. besides baby bling, earth best is nice too. i know cos i got my big boy to test the flavours.

jes: i went back & thought abt it, V is a really clever girl. she can say M-I-L-K. 3 phoenetics. v unusual. i know cos my big one liked to say car park at this age & the doctor said it's strange cos most kids tend to say repeat words like mama, papa, popo etc.

my husband registered them for pre-nursery class at flower road catholic kindergarten yesterday. 1 yr in advance. for 2011. at least one burden off cos we were worried not enough places for us. it's nearby & ig went there so we like the school. i found one thread under Motherhood so i'll go see see how the school is like nowadays.

back to work, super sian.

fifi
i tried very hard to convince him since my boy was abt 10 months old. but till today, i tink it doesn't work. i even mentioned to him abt his niece being able to tok after she attended cc(coz she couldn't tok until she's 23 months). but still i tink he prefers to send my boy to weekend enrichment classes instead of the cc.

wtan
no choice leh. usually old folks won't give in de, so in order not to clash even further, someone has to give way mah. otherwise, i tink the whole house would collapse by now liao.hehehe...

olwen
yah,i'm the youngest and i only have an elder brother who is 7 years my senior.my mum is 68 years old this year. maybe not very old to some ppl, but i tink it's becoz she has always led a very hectic lifestyle, that's why she's so tired and have many old folk's ailments like backache and such. as you have said, not many husbands can live with MIL, especially my hubby, who has an old-fashioned mindset, lagi worse. that's why i'm trying to set a good example to my hubby to let him see that though i may be unhappy at times, but still i dun show face to his parents but try to adapt and understand them more. too bad, i tink he really took me for granted at times.

amooks
how much is the trial? and wat are the programes like? Sun is usually her grandma (aka my mama) house time and 4pm clashes with her aftern nap.. But if the programes sound interesting to me i may try

peanut,

GUG is very fun! u may want to sign nini up! i am sure she will enjoy it. My girl was with them for 1 term between 12 to 15 mths old last time. Then when I got a slot in SM, I stopped GUG and proceeded with SM coz I could only afford 1 enrichment class!

snnowy
i find that fren of urs super insensitive...if I were u, i wont be bothered to keep in touch with her anymore...sounds like an insincere fren leh..

hhmm....ur statement ur MIL lamenting that ur hb is like a "married away" son since he only goes back once a week makes me feel very guilty!

coz I do not even go back to visit my in law at all. This CNY i visited them on day 2 and i think the last time I stepped into my in law's house was 2 years ago! Yes 2 years ago! In 1 year, I see them maybe less than 5 times. *guilty* My hb used to tell me...it has been very long since he saw his parents...want to visit... I will like...I am bz...but why dun u bring the kids and go by yourself? Coz I dun understand why must "whole" family go back together? correct? I am bz and only have weekends to do alot of chores...and I dun see why i shd waste the time to visit my in laws when my hb can bring kids back himself and I can stay back and finish chores, run errands etc... but hor, he will say, if i don't go, he also wont go...warrao...that's why we never go visit in laws in the end.

so hor, my kids hardly know their ye ye and nai nai....

as for my parents, we visit either everyday or at least 6 times a week coz my son is being looked after by my mother and my gal goes to my mother's house after her full day childcare. During weekends, I do not cook their meals anymore...either we bring them over to my mum's place to eat or my hb will drive over to pick up the kids' meals.

I feel if we want our kids to be "close" to us in the future, help them look after their kids.... i think thats a good way to be close with them

moomummy,

u really are a very filial daughter... *respect*. Ur mum sounds like very nice too
As for your hb, actually, u shd let him know how u feel...else if u endure too much and for too long...when u explode hor....things might get worse?? But if I am u hor, i will juz go back to my parents' place with kids by myself...no need hb one...

nut/moomummy
i'm interested for the trial for GUG. also what's their course fee? i heard it's exp! preferrable saturday class.

Trysten got fever yday .. i guess due to the MMRV jab.. last night fever go up to 38.5 . whole night also nv slp well.. keep waking up to check his temp.. but i realise temp can go as low as 35degree? or becos air con. his ear v cold ah?

nut / alibaba, the fees is about $360 for 8 classes, each class is 1.5hour.

They have sat/sun classes, 9.30am, 11.30am, 2pm or 4pm. There are 2 outlets, Suntec & United square.

Alibaba> ya, Darwin also got a bit of fever for 3 days, 5 days after MMRV jab. should go away soon.

GUG - further info...
Trial class at $50/session. and they allow only 2 new kids attending an ongoing class for trial each time. they dun do a full trial class anymore cos they said can be very chaotic.

kash, wow, u lagi tok gong! haha
However, i personally feel tat we as DILs should go visit in laws together with hubby & t kids. Its hard for ur hubby to explain to his parents why u didn't come. Housework is rather a lame excuse lor (pardon me), cos don't do housework one will not die. But our old parents don't really have much time left in this world lor (choy choy, but it's true)
Do not wait until they are gone, then we start to regret why we didnt put in effort to spend time with them

For my case, my MIL stays with her another son, to help take care of his kids. FIL stays with another son. During wkend, MIL goes for her mahjong session or go visit her old mother. Her 'busy schedule' and t fact tat it's not her own hse make it inconvenient for us to visit her.
Once a while their family will do a gathering at one of their place, taking cab to & fro normally cost us $50. Smtimes, i oso complain to my hub if it is necessary to go... but his filial piety normally can convince (and touched) me

Smtimes, we have to put ourself in their shoes lor

ah lian, tink whole sat oso Peak 个屁 leh. last sat PM i took cab to anchorvale meet u gals oso got peak charge!

Alibaba, good oso, yr tiger boy can take over yr rat boy's clothes and toys, haha.

aliababa> congrats!
u can try for another dragon gal? :p

nut> ya, the trial is $50. need to call and register. I called and register for Sun 4pm class at united square liao!

lilian,

yah i agree wif u....my MIL also like urs, super pack schedule type. she is always at the temple. they also stay wif my BIL who has 2 sons... we do meet up when my hb's grandparents' birthday celebration. If timing permits, we will go. U see, I am also "upset" with them. My gal's 2 YO birthday dinner last year, NONE of them turn up. My BIL and SIL never turn up. My MIL had activities in the temple...my FIL...alone pai seh so nvr come! WTF?

Then, last oct, my boy's 1 year old Birthday where we had a big party for him. Same, my BIL said his wife working, so he nvr come with his kids. My MIL, yet again....some activity in her temple, she never come!...poor FIL...alone, pai seh...so nvr come. Imagine, ur grandson only turn 1 year old ONCE!!! they also can't be bothered to turn up.

Perhaps I am not a religious person...but how can religious activities supersede family????? is there any logic? hiaz... i also nvr make any snide remarks to my hb... but i doubt he can be bothered abt it also...

kash, to and fro. Far far East to far far West.
my dad is also a temple person -_-" My mum cannot stand him smtimes.. But she 'lun'

jes>
only 2 trial tods per session nia ah...

now cab fare sooo EXP ah..

amooks>
Enough liao... i sure go monkers for this two boys.. btw u gg to drive to united sq for this sunday GUG trial? wah lao.. the thought of the carpark... i scare... the merry go round soooo narrow...

alibaba> ya driving. might park opposite the Goldhill centre, open space carpark.
I think United square usually packed with kids on weekends! you going for the 4pm class?

alibaba, ya lor.. i asked if they could do a trial class for all new tods since some of us interested i tot maybe we can organise a trial ourselves, but too bad they dun do that anymore

Anyone interested in LNT? They r having an island wide open house this weekend. Apparently, they sent out flyers to private houses n condo addresses. With the flyer, you can get a free membership (worth $50) if u sign up with them during the open house.

Even without the flyer, u may want to ask the counter staff if they can extend the free membership to u. No harm trying.

its been a really long time since I logged in. read that many mummies here are expecting again. Congrats!! Wish all mummies who are preggie a wonderful pregnancy journey. =)

re: sleep
anyone experiencing your lil toddler waking up earlier than usual? my lil one has been waking up real early before 7am. She used to wake up between 730am - 830am.

I am starting to look around for suitable playgroups for my girl. I have never been to one so i have no idea what to expect and how it is like. also looking around for a pre-nursery since I am still on the crazy long waiting list at St. James Church Kindergarten. Thinking of checking out Carpe Diem. Any reviews on them?

aly_nat,
I am thinking of checking out LNT too, but their fees are quite steep. But it does sound quite interesting to me though.

Haru,

Lilian's K goes to LNT, u may want to ask her about it. Me, no lah. just being KPO n pass the news ard. I think they let u commit on a per term basis ($600 per term). I'm not sending Nat to anywhere. Will put her on waitlist at Living Sanctuary Kidergarten soon for pre-N class. My older gal was from there. I like the place n teachers there - very loving. Where do u live?