(2008/11) November 2008

bear: so sweet... come to think of it.. it worth it la.. baby Z so good boy he knows that u reali take good care of him..

Peanut,

these are the things i have done before:

1) Fly the toy aeroplane or for the matter of fact, i fly everything. from his Cookie Monster to his Elmo, to his toy truck. must fly far far some more

2) feed his toys, my maid, myself and Cody. one mouth for us, one mouth for him. of cos we pretend to eat lah.

3) make Cody perform tricks

4) read to him while he eats

5) dance

6) tickle his toes

7) i give him a bit of his food to play with

8) give him toys

Prob got more but i can't rem liao.

Mummy2nia, i saw the other doc in the clinic, Dr Loke. SHe isn't too bad. in fact she solved Z rashes when he had hives from his allergies. no support from parents lah. if my MIL has her way, she will insist we carry Z to slp every night. she and my hb quarreled badly once cos my hb let Z CIO and she called us EVIL!

wtan, i have planned to have a rabbit baby so tat the gap not too far. But now my ex boss offering me a good pay and post which i like to take up. So after discussing with hb, i decided to take up and postpone our plan. Financially is one of the most impt factor now. No money no baby! Haha so now have to set a good financial base in order to give better life for all my kids. Maybe after having #3, i might be a sahm again! Haha

Tv,
My boy needs tv but only educational program i let him watch. Tis is also the only 'helper' in order for me or my caretaker to be able to do some stuff.
Not sure if really affects the lang development. My gal watch tv since young too..and She only start speaking at 2yo. But now, she is a chatter box at home!

Bear, i read they need to know at least 1000 words a day!

Bear, the PD i went was the one downstairs..urs which one ar? mine is a lady, the other one guy right...Maybe i got the name wrong..but whatever it is, i dun like dat place. If u remembered, i mentioned that the customer service was terrible when i called up for pneumococcal jab...

Mummy2nia, it's the Tampines branch of Baby and Child Clinic at Tampines St 81 right? there are 2 docs there, both female. One Dr Ho (the bitch) and the other one is Dr Loke. I like Dr Loke better. That day when i was there, i heard a few parents asking for Dr Loke instd of Dr Ho but the recept told them that Dr Loke does Mon and Wed nights, while Dr Ho does Tues and Thurs.

My co is looking for ppl to hire.. public service some more.. haha.. can honestly say our pay is very gd. u can PM/email more for more details. closing date is 31st March.

Happy, kids from low income families hear abt 600-700 words a day, middle income abt 1000-2000. High income families abt 2000-2750 words a day.

bear..
i think Z is probably too young to "start" on fengshui whc maybe will "take minimal effect" on him when he's say 12yrs & abv..
but i might be wrong since i m not expert in this line..my guess is maybe since the kid hasnt been "settled" lately..
if any major changes to the layout might or not coz further discomfort to the little one..but u both decide la..men at times like to play hero at the wrong timing..

i hates it & will get irritated when my hubby "doesnt" run along the same alignment with me..i hope that ur hubby can let u handle Z till he's more settled ba..the crying of the kid can really cause one to pull-hair & get frustrated more easily..

being a mum really max out my patience level..whc i m someone that can get easily irritated at times.. :p esp when i m busy or moody then the kid just cant stop crying or keep "sticking" on till i m sooo pek-chk..

but u need a little breather also la..at least to recharge & try "settling" him down..energy can be drained out easily when one has not got enough sleep..take gd care hor..drink ginseng or chicken essence to keep urself energise..

Bear,

Yup, me went there, was near to my old place. Oh...yah, mine is definitely Dr. Ho. I always tot upstairs one(Dr. Loke) is a male. LOL! Yah, Dr. Ho is too much to say all those things to u...she shouldnt assume...

lilian..
thks for sharing with us on the link..indeed it's pretty useful..thks..

happy..
icic..understand..understand..in this case..keep ur "trying" options open..now try out the post 1st..then later on when u think u r ready, then quit & become a SAHM again ba..it's gd planning too..

Has any of your child taken any pneumococal jab? Do they develop fever after that? Is it immediate or two-three days later?

TIA ;)

bear

come to tink of it. mayb Z has not been sleeping well thats y ur hubby tinks it has got someting to do with feng shui and attempt to improve it.

mummy2nia,

Thank you. I'm bringing my boy overseas on the third day after his jab. So anxious to know whether will fever set in. My boy took MMR also did not develop fever.

I guess I can risk it. Kekeke

Lilian - my hb n I r not small leh. N she was borned at a good size of 3.28kg. Cod liver oil? Ok, I will try. Is it working for K?

Alibaba/Jes - I enquired about pediasure from a Pd before, when my older gal, Aly was a toddler. His advice is that, Pediasure, though, has many nutrients, also contain a much higher amount of sugar than other FM. In Aly's case, becos she is very prone to developing phelgm, he discourage us to give Pediasure. He feels that Pediasure is more suited for those kids who really refuse to eat, for fear of malnutrition.

I try not to stress over her weight issue. As long as she stays happy n healthy.

Bear - Nat was like that a few months ago. Always waking up in her slp, crying hysterically. In her case, we moved her from her cot to sleep on the floor next to our bed. She went back to sleeping through the nite again.

aly_nat, thks for sharing the info on pediasure. ya, so long our kids stay healthy and are happy, we shouldn't worry too much.

i'm always at compass point quite abit too, and if i'm there my legs will always bring me to kiddy palace, otherwise if metro is having sales, i will linger around the kids' department, kekeke

Bear:
Reading Aly_Nat's comment abt moving to a mattress reminded me that Alyssa was also waking up a few times a night before I shifted her to a mattress (which i did quite early coz as you saw, my cot is a really small cot). After that, she slept through. I think its coz the mattress allows her more space and "freedom" to move. Maybe you want to try?

Lilian - how to find u in FB huh? I went to buy cod liver oil (original flavor) for Nat juz now. Gave her, ask her "yummy"? She nodded her head! Let's see if she will cont. liking it. Personally, I find it yucky.

Olwen/Mummies - so r we flying kite tmr? Or we let go the kite liao? I'm looking forward to meeting you mummies. You gals sure sound like fun.

aly_nat, Jes-me always go kiddy palacce too esp when i not working.. haha..

Bear-so sweet, Z seems like such a sensible kid.

good morning mommies!

Enne,
You are early

Happy,
^5. I also planned for 4 kids but got to max at 3 cos of csect. You've been a SAHM since the birth of your girl?

aly_nat, Jes, yes i give original flavour de.
K also find it yummy leh.. kaka.. Aly_nat, erm, i dunno if it help fattern K up yet coz i only start giving her a wk ago, and not everyday give.
FB - PM me your email addr and i add u?

hi aly_nat: sorry the kite thing is taking so long to materialise. but not to worry, i'm sure we'll get there soon.

ok, this is the plan. whoever wants to fly this weekend, PM me your handphone number. the last time, bear happy & kiki went together. 3 only. so even if only 3 or 4, can still go. i will make up the numbers if u all want

alternatively, we decide today on a proper date. pasted again below.

Nov 2008 mummies [number] gathering:
Kite Flying
Date: 6 Mar, 7 Mar, 13 Mar, 14 Mar
Time: 4.30pm (or prefer 5 pm?)

1) Olwen (prefer saturdays)
2) RCB
3) Bear (Any Sats/ Suns in March for now)
4) Liv (any sunday)
5) Jinomo
6) Juzchan
7) Enne
8) Lilian (dates avail: March 6th)
9) Jes
10) Moomumy(dates avail: March 13th, 14th)
11) tri_angel (except March 13th & 14th)
12) aly nat
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

gd morning
lian/aly nat/jes
Trysten was on partial Pediasure.. he is a fussy eater so intro him partial pediasure... But his weight seems to be on the lower range. so intending to try full pediasure for Trysten. My nephew actually took pediasure.. he did gain weight... i heard from another fren oso said so.. as for wat aly nat mentioned about phelgmy.. i tink also depends on individual kids.. some other FM will also leads to that.. i do realise my boy is more phelgmy when he's on friso.

fifi
was just suggesting pediasure cause u said alyssa is underweight. pediasure can be introduce for fussy eater or underweight tods.. anyway it's up to individual lah.. my boy also prefer adult food than his own food.. i rate him as fussy eater.. cos he took v little of it only..

wtan
yup Trysten got MMRV.. yday evening he do have slight fever.. This morning ok already. hopefully Trysten got the taller gene from his dad...

mummy2nia
this time round my ms aint serious as previous one.. so i'm alright.. eating well..
u too take care!

also congrats to new preggie mummies~!

Alibaba:
Yah lor. Alyssa is super underweight. But PD say ok so just leave it lor. She's still eating quite a bit (though more of my food than hers) but just dun gain weight de.

Oh your gynae never ask you to delay Trysten's MMR since you are pregnant? My colleague's gynae told her to delay her #1's MMR till after she deliver coz the vaccination includes injecting Rubella virus in small amt for the body to gain the immunity and its better for her not to anywhere near any Rubella virus. Rubella, if contracted by a pregnant lady, can pass to the unborn child. You be careful hor. For me, Alyssa took before I knew I was pregnant.

Ali
not all may prefer pediasure.. my little rascal din seem to like the vanilla flavoured one when i got the sample some time back.. Din try the choc one thou..
Now she's completely switched from Friso to GainIQ cos seem she prefer Gain to Friso3.. very mahuan.. luckily her poo poo looks ok.. umm only ting now it dawned to me ever since she switch to Gain she gena HFMD and now flu+cough!!!! errrkk.. I hope its not becos of the powder!

Anyway she's stil not a big drinker.. mayb avg 400-450ml these days..

Fifi
yesterday tried the no hold hand bring her home method.. but cannot lei!!!!
We wanted to go ntuc buy diapers and as usual once out of house she refused to hold hands.. then i sternly told her if she refused i'll bring her home which i later did.. and she cried and cried lor.. Tried reasoning out with her but once out again she stil refused!!! aiyor...!!!! why my gal so stubborn one...

I'm glad at least for the last 3 nites when i was home i entertained my gal in the room.. ie not much TV at night for her (and so i sacrificed mine as well =(.. thou i really wonder how much can that help but at least it makes me feel better.. I hope this can carry on except for the nites like today when i can't b home early.. So tonite TV time for her again lor!!! haiz...

Alibaba/Fifi, my gal oso like tat de, always just wanna eat our adult food, but only eat small bits for fun. oso recently eating more junk food like choc and ice-cream, haiz... so unhealthy rite.

pnut, mayb nini is the type who "eat soft dun eat hard". maybe try the soft approach?

fifi
i nv ask gynae about Trysten's stuff. tat's y dont have advise on delaying MMR.. also didnt know about the virus will spread... i realised Trysten do have some rashes on his hip area which he has been scratching it.. not sure izzit rashes or mosquito bite... GP did mention is normal to have fever or rashes.. so i dint take it to heart.

nut
T took pediasure for the 1st time. & he puked.. my sil told me. pediasure is v filling.. probably his stomach cant take it... also more sweet.. so we reduce one scoop.. so far he is ok with it..
A got HFMD cos she got spread by other kid right.. so i dun tink is the FM. regarding cough & flu izzit due to weather no good? u monitor & see how lor..

jes
my boy also took some other junk food from us la. little bit no harm bah.. but mus pump more water to him la.. scare he got heaty..

alibaba, my gal oso had her MMR jab recently. i oso noticed she has a small bump just above her butt which looks like a mozzie bite, and oso some rashes ard the back of her neck... but so far no fever as yet. PD oso told me they may develop a lymph node around the hip or groin area, but it's nothing wan.

Jes
my gal is hard soft also cannot.. Sometimes we tok to her seems like she understand a lot liao.. but come scolding and discipline time she like fake bodo lei..

alibaba/jes/lilian - as alibaba said, it can be different situation for different kid. If u wanna try, then start with partial, n monitor how your kid takes to it.

Peanut - juz s'thing to share on what we did to my older gal: within a safe environment (I think it was at our void deck, on a quiet afternoon), my hb n I hide ourselves from her sight when she started to walk away from us. Of course, all these while we were peeping at her from our hiding place. At some point in time, she turned, and realised that we were nowhere in sight. She panicked, and started to cry. We re-appeared as soon as we saw her upset face. I know some mummies may think it is an "evil" thing to do. At that point in time, it didn't cross our mind that she might be tramatised by the incident. Very bad, hor? We also reinforce the idea with a story book about a critter who wonder off in a mall and got lost. If we ever have to resort to this on Nat, I wonder if it will work........

aly_nat
haha... i did tried this once on her.. at void deck as well.. not many places we can enforce this method cos of the dangers around. And when in shopping centre i a bit pai seh cos i dun wan wait people really tot this little tod lost e parents and try to help her, in e end found out e parents are actually hiding somewher.. haha...
But for yours did it work? For e one time that i tried she din really cry lei.. jus walk around look for us.. then we "appear" liao

aly_nat, i tink i go try feed cod liver oil to my gal see got any result anot, oso cos i tink she's very used to her FM (enfa) so i better dun intro something new.

pnut, my gal oso hard or soft oso no wan. so at times i just felt very pek chek, then i will jus ignore her, leave her to cry until she song lor. i'm very bad mummy de.

Peanut:
Bring home le is not reason only wor. Is bring home ler, reason, then give her another chance to hold hand and go again.

Alibaba:
I'm also not sure coz by the time I know I am preggy, Alyssa already took her MMR. But its wad my colleague's gynae advised her lah. Maybe you just be careful. Unlikely to spread but just be careful.