(2008/11) November 2008

Congratulation Kiki

Bear:
Heehee. Accidents do happen. But I also hope you dun get pregnant till you finish your studies. Else very taxing on you to have to cope with pregnancy + look after Z + study at the same time. When you finishing huh?

Kiki:
Grats! My MS also worst than last time. Week 4-5 I was already feeling sick but haven confirm pregnancy. But I cannot take too much leave now also, especially from next week coz start in new position, got a lot of things to learn.

Peanut:
Yah about 1 min only lah. You tot wad? Leave her there for so long meh. I started 30 secs, 1 min, 2 mins. Up to there only. The first reaction should be to cry coz it feels like you are leaving them. But overall, I find the rewards and punishment more effective. The leave in the room is more for when she refuse to sleep.

Hi mummies! Long time nvr log in again... my boy has been extra clingy recently! Hope everyone is doing well!

Just read Kiki's post ( congrats kiki!!!!) and thought i'd share as well that I'm expecting too.. and due in the same month as kiki and fifi (oct)! ( congrats Fifi too!!) What a coincidence =) Feeling extra tired these days and my boy seems to want to be carried all the time! He probably senses something is different with mummy... He also runs so fast I can barely catch him!!

Re: potty training....
have not started yet cos i dont think K is ready... maybe when closer to 2 yrs old? is that ok for boys? RCB,hows your progress with Jalen?

Fifi
umm if jus abt to leave house she no wan hold hands stil can go right back in as punishment.. but wat if already outside which is usually e case.. umm... cant possibly jus grab her and go straight home rite? wah like tt can never finish errands.. cos go out and havent shop mus go home liao!

Tired..today baby had very high fever. Mon went to see doc liao but today fever rose to 40.1 deg!! :X Just now rushed down to TMC and got a blood test. End up is a virus..sigh..but luckily nothing serious. Just hope bb recovers soon coz he has been waking up frequently at night too. Faintz..so zombified @ work.

CONGRATS kiki and blustar! :p So many mummies preggie...Anyway hope all the MS will go away soon...take care!!

Hi gladgal. must momitor the fever...my gal evangeline just had high fever from last wed to sat morning ..then sunday morning developed into rashes all over the body in red dots...sent to KK..diagnosed as roseala which is fake measles..just like what JES has experience...so do be careful and look out for it..if it develops rashes...dun need to go hospital or doc...just let it be and will disappear in three or four days time...that's what the KK doc says and Evangeline has no medicine...

<font color="ff6000">Kiki &amp; blustar..
Congrats!! Yeah!! It's soo nice to have a Oct baby..cool! u both must take gd care ah..if going to stop at #2, must really built up ur health well..dun be like me, i was upset with my CL &amp; i hack-care..now i m seeing "my pains"..</font>

rainbowcandy..
i think maybe now he's teething ba..so all the more he will "bite/chew" on the handle..usually by a age they will "outgrow" &amp; "not rely" on the pacifier but just that either we want to "help them" earlier..it takes time but i m sure u will see the efforts rewarded soon..enjoy..

lilian..
for the PG u attended at TLC with Kayla..i think it's parent accompany bcoz our darlings are still young &amp; unable to speak as much to express themselves..hence they will want parents participation ba..also u can see hw well Kayla is enjoying herself there ba..ya, spouse relief is when u hv SAHD &amp; working mummy..

peanut..
i remembered last time we used to be able to key in some codes &amp; "lock" the phone or banned dbl line..but anyway, since u hv placed the phone far away from her, it shd be ok liao..she just want to imitate ur MIL talking on the phone ba..maybe she misses u so want to call &amp; talk to u..

bear...
Z also waking up often at night ah..i thot only Brod leh..we hv been "taking turns" to pat him to sleep in the middle of the night if not he will para-para, go &amp; disturb gor-gor to wake up &amp; play with him leh..poke gor-gor's eyes or lips..wah..super drowsy for us man..then since yest till today, he LS (those semi-liquid &amp; sticky form) like 8times or more?see the bum also red red, so heartpain..
u preggy also need permission/approval? reallY?

Wow....so many queue up..getting preg again ar...
Congrat Kiki &amp; bluestar! Take care preg mummies

bear
today i pass by a shop in suntec city at L3 near the Kids corner...not sure if the "Badger Nite Nite balm" helps on Z

wtan
yalo...realli takes time....i hope so he will forgot his pacifier totally....n get to slp easily.

glad_gal
Hope yr boy speedy recovery...U tkc too ya

Anyone with bb still under 10kg at 14/15 months old?

My Nat weighs 8.5kg at 14 mths. She's never keen on main meals, just happy to see fruits, cheese, yogurt and drink soup. She drinks about 720ml of FM a day.

What else can I do?

bear and alibaba : hehe.. silly me..

potty training: today i tried on brandon.. he very good boy.. i "shhh" for him in the toilet.. he urinates.. and also poos.. haha.. but he refused to sit on the potty.. keep standing up.. so need to carry him to toilet and shhh for him.. so far, whenever we shhh for him, he did urinate. but has accident twice today as he is eating his dinner.. he seems to understand.. hopefully tomo he is such a good boy..

Morningz.

I was very tired last nite and my hb always sleep like a log and Lucas was sleeping in between us on the bed. Middle of the nite I heard a loud thump sound. Goodness, Lucas fell off from the foot of the bed and cried. I quickly rub his head .. worrying the head will grow bumps. Dunnoe how he actually roll till our foot there. Luckily this morning dun see any bruises on his face. And tt stupid hb actually blame mi for letting him sleep on the bed where he was the one who pat him to sleep last nite before I reached home late. When I wanna bring Lucas back to the mattress on the floor, he somemore say dun need.

Blustar:
Congrats! Yah #1 will be super super sticky! Alyssa sticks to me like magnet whenever possible coz she knows. In fact, before I confirmed I was pregnant, I asked her if I was and she said yes. Haha.

Peanut:
Yah we will turn back immediately to go home. After a few times, they will get it liaoz. Then you can just warn "Dun hold hands we go home ah...". Alyssa will hold hands after we say that.

Glad:
There is this cooling pad that can be bought from Tom &amp; Stefani that gets colder as you hug it. Minky told us about it last time but I got it from TBP Tom &amp; Stefani. Useful for fever. Can put Greg on it.

Blessedmum: Tks! Will certainly monitor..hope it doesnt get any serious eeks..

RBC: Tks tks..how's the training??

Lynn: That's gd! He is making progress..think i only can start the potty/pacifier weaning training after his fever/cough subsides..

Fifi: Oh! U mean can sleep on it kind?? He hates all the cooling pads to be put on the forehead and will just tug it off.

Good morning mummies,

3687646.gif
Congrats to Kiki, Fifi &amp; Bluestar. such a coincidence to be in the same thread again.

Kiki,
Tt time when you bought your sexy lingerie with this aim in mind?
3687647.gif
kekeke
Try hot ginger drink with a pinch of salt to ease MS.

Wtan,
Me also suffering from pain here and there due to improper cfm. sob sob....

Bear,
Yes, i do agree with you on the part of getting used to disrupted sleep. That was what happened to my ger after last year 7th lunar month till now. I seriously dun nkow how to rest her and I doubt it works so she is so used to it liao.

tri_angel,

3687867.gif
but let me settle my #1 &amp; #2 first. If onli can give birth w/o the part on taking care. Hahaha. Seriously for both pregnancies, I onli enjoy 2nd trimester. Hate 1st due to MS and fatigue, and last cos most of the time too uncomfortable.

Jo
haha... i tink ur hubby too tired until he forgets la..

Fifi
gurp.. ah... imagine we drive al the way to suntec.. out of car.. no wan hold hand.. then go straight home again ah... gurp.. My hubby wil say i siao lei.. waste petrol lei.. Unless we try it somewher really near 1st.. like downstair when we jus go for a stroll..

This morninng jus brot my gal to see doc again cos aft 1 week of med she stil not much improvement.. runny nose yellow mucus and cough.. Doc say not so serious yet but scared wait develop into bronchitis.. so hav to go for 1 time nuberlizer.. Wah.. she cry and scream and kicked until i no strength to hold on to her.. in the end hubby take over the holding job and i put the funnel on her nose then slightly better.. After that she like v drained... look v kelian.. hope this is her 1st and last experience....

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

Nut:
Then bring her back to the car and you stay inside with her. The effect is there also de. The idea is to stop the "fun" activity as a result of her disobedience and naughtiness. You dun have to use it strictly but when you got a chance.

E.g. My daughter likes to walk. If she refuse to hold hand, we carry her instead, dun let her walk. If she guai guai hold hand, we let her have a kiddy ride. Something like that also can de.

kiki &amp; blustar: congrats! wah, so envy leh

bear: i didn't go missing, i just don't dare to come in during office hours. told u all my boss v bad mood lately.

ok, here's the outing again. can't narrow the dates cos liv &amp; lilian's clash. moomummy's &amp; tri-angel's too. can everybody vote then? easier for us to arrange then.

Nov 2008 mummies [number] gathering:
Kite Flying
Date: 6 Mar, 7 Mar, 13 Mar, 14 Mar
Time: 4.30pm

1) Olwen (prefer saturdays)
2) RCB
3) Bear (Any Sats/ Suns in March for now)
4) Liv (any sunday)
5) Jinomo
6) Juzchan
7) Enne
8) Lilian (dates avail: March 6th)
9) Jes
10) Moomumy(dates avail: March 13th, 14th)
11) tri_angel (except March 13th &amp; 14th)
12) aly nat
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Snnowy,
ok
hope to hear ur gd news soon.....

me, too. both pregnancies are tough! " MERLION " till hospitalize due to dehydraton during 1st trimester for both pregnancies. MS only stopped after wk20. 1st one even worse Merlion all the way. So scary when i think of it now.

Wah more mummies are preggie! Congrats Blustar!

Fifi, must finish by Dec. so far i m still on track. might be able to finish earlier. I have 2 supervisors, one told me i can another baby while the other one said NOOOO! it is tiring lah.. esp in the light of the terrible slp Z has been having, i dunno if i can tahan another kid.

Must tell u all what happened last evening. Decide to bring Z to a PD to see if i can get something stronger for Z's teething. I never met such a rude doc! i know there is nothing wrong with Z as far as i can see, but his slping pattern changed so drastically overnight. she asked me what's wrong and i told her Z hasn't been slping well. Before i can say anything further, she immed said, "that's becos u pamper him. u should leave him in the cot and leave the room". U guys know me, and u know how i treat Z when he refuses to slp. I can safely say that i am one of the most heartless mothers, if not the most heartless, when it comes to letting my son CIO. I was dumbfounded for a second but told the PD that i let him cry until he fell out of the cot.

Then she changed her tact to say that i don't have a routine!!! Again she nv ask me for more details. told me that if i want him to slp at 9pm, i shd let him wind down at 7pm, no tv, to games etc. That i must bathe, massage, read books and give milk. AGAIN all of u know how ANAL i m that Z slps at 8pm. So much so that i have been sacrificing my own nights out. Furthermore, u guys also know that I dun allow Z to watch TV at all! Imagine that PD ASSUMING that i did everything that i DON'T DO!!!

By this time i was quite annoyed already. Shdn't a PD obtain facts before making (or in this case, jumping into) conclusions??? I told her off, that I did everything she mentioned. She just SHOOK her head at me!!! then she proceed to examine Z. Z hated her. she was so rough, no interaction with the kid at ALL. She checked his mouth and said she only saw 1 tooth coming out when she couldn't see the molars and she didn't notice the red gums at the canines, all she saw was a partially erupted incisor. She said, "one tooth only, where will pain???" And then continued her one sided conversation abt the routine. Said routines need time to establish cos she ASSUMED that i only put my routine in place recently!!

WAHHH I VERY HOT by then. I told her his routine was in place since he was 4 wks old! AGAIN she gave me the disbelief look and shook her head!! I asked her if she thinks is teething, she said one teeth sure not pain. then i said i gave him paracetamol and it helped a bit. She immed asked "no fever why u give?" i told her my other regular PD said can give. Then she said "well if u think got pain then u give lor" KAOZ!! aren't u supposed to tell me when to give and how long to give for?????

So i gave her one last chance by asking what else can help. she said she will give me teething gel i.e. Detinox! i told her no need, i have it at home. Then she said "u need to just leave him to cry. there is nothing else u can do" I asked her what abt separation anxiety cos CIO actually worsen separation anxiety. She said, 'its nothing. just leave him". i asked how long she thinks he shd cry for cos Z cried 2hr 15 mins before. She said 3-4hrs is ok!!! then i said sarcastically "ya, i let him cry until he fell out of the cot LEH." She said for a kid his size, make him slp on mattress and shut the door on them!

Everything she said goes against safety tips other PDs and experts recommend. cot is still the safest until they can climb out of the cot at the lowest rung. the most infuriating thing abt her is that she ASSUMES that i m the worst type of parents. I think she saw that i was abt to blow up cos she gave me her attitude face, like challenge me to blow. I stalked out of the room and said very loudly, "waste my money to come and hear things that I am already doing". I paid $37 to hear a PD tell me to let Z cry it out for 4 hrs!!

The PD is Tampines's Baby &amp; Child Clinic's Dr Ho.

Fifi
umm... when she doens;t allow holding of hands and we try to carry her, she'll wriggle herself wan to get down. So its hold hand also dun wan, carry also dun wan.. Jus wan to walk all by herself!!! Only locking her on the pram can solve the issue, of cos not forgetting to stick e tutu in e mouth + her chao chao pillow then she'll quiet down.. But sometimes see her sit long in the pram also kelian so aft a while we'll let her come down walk again then e whole cycle repeats

Bear
wah tink her menses is here.. or her husband deprive her from sex..

Its weird hearing a doc suggesting CIO, somemore she's talking about 4hrs.. Whether to use this type of method depends mainly on individuals so even if the parents are not practising it, e doc shdn't giv this type of suggestion.. tot they should b neutral

rainbowcandybaby..
jia-you..jia-you..

fifi..
wah..Alyssa is soo smart! but they really can tell one..Mav was prefers his daddy over me, then suddenly i felt him sticking to me whc is really weird..r u feeling better now?

snnowy..
ya..now i cant sit down on the floor for too long..5mins only i will start to feel the back aching painfully..it's really bad..i hv to "lie" down to rest on my back for 10-15mins in order to feel better aft that..

peanut..
oh..aft the neb, i think she will really nap for a while..but at least better than seeing her coughing too..do let her drink more water..hope she gets better soon..i hate the phelgms more than the cough..

olwen &amp; bear..
thks for the co-ordinations..i wld love to join in but my sats are awaz alone with the 2 kids..so at times it's pretty hard for me to co-ordinate bringing the 2 kids out on my own..hubby only off on Suns..anyway, do hope everyone enjoys the kite-flying session..cheers~

bear..
wah..didnt know this Dr Ho is not as approachable &amp; friendly leh..so far i am only seeing Dr Loke at all times for both kids..if really she's not on duty, i will either go over to Dr Lim (Raffles @ Tamp 1)...

it's not as profession to be "rough" on checking on the kids as she shd know very well how "fearful" the kids will turn out to be once the docs starting checking on them..at least she shd try to make him feel comfty too..sigh..i cant imagine that she can throw the accusations to u..u r indeed a pretty strict mummy &amp; i cant believe why she can assume when she didnt hear ur side of the story..

gurp..
I jus understood from my sister the PD i saw today at thomson medical tends to give stronger dose. Ventolin 4ml 3times a day.. tts considered strong hor.. should i reduce it by myself.. And they also prescrib a powder tonic for strengthening the lung.. wat for? is it becos the med is too strong which may weaken the lung so need tonic to "fix it" back? anyone can advise e dosage if you child gena before?

Peanut - I think the "tonic" aids in strengthening the respiratory system. My older gal is the sort that developed phelgm easily. My PD prescribed the tonic for my gal, in addition to many other med like ventolin n zytec. Even then, he told me honestly that the tonic is expensive, and he is not 100% sure it will work. It worked for some, and not for all. But it is a safe and commonly prescribed med. My friend, on the other hand, feels that the tonic worked for her gal.

Bear - I share your frustrations. I hope Z gets out of this cycle, n sleep thru' the night soon.

I pray that all the unwell bubs get well soon, n that mummies remain strong for your little bubs.

wtan
I will jia you

glad_gal
haiz...still dun see anything pee or poo in the potty or in the toilet....:p

lynn
so gd le yr Brandon...Jalen will just laugh when i "shh.." then tried a few days....the potty is so clean lo....when he gg to poo i quickly pull off his diaper and put him to his potty...and he aredi poo out liao...:p

bear
tat PD realli weird...U jia you ar!

peanut..
i cant remember wat was the last dose Brod was given for Ventolin..but i know the dose was prescribed based on his weight &amp; age..need to trace back..we hv to go to kkh for the last few visits &amp; Brod was also given singulair lung tonic to strengthen his lungs..the last was 2wks long of lung tonics..i guess maybe it's really quite bad for his condition then ba..

rainbowcandybaby,
I'm working in the hotel line... but cos my hotel took part for Natas to promote our Spa, Golf &amp; Family Packages. So had to be on duty lor. Really tired now...

Snnowy,
Yah... relief the fair is over. But now preparing to do roadshows at selected companies. hehhehe... boh pianz. Need to push for biz cos my target so high.

Peanut,
OMG! hahahahah... must keep the phone far far away from Nini liaoz. Else scarly one day the police come knocking on your door chamz.

Preggie Mommies,
Congrats congrats to all the preggie mommies! So nice to be preggie again. I love having the baby bump cos I can eat all I want and not scared my tummy will show. *lolz* hahahahha... Take care yah... and keep us updated on the lil one's progress.

Bear,
Aiyohz!!! OMG! Can't believe got such PD around. Totally no 'bedside' manners at all. From what you wrote, she seems so arrogant and presumptive. What gives! Terrible service. Mommies should boycott such PD's.

gong xi gong xi all preggie mommies!!

kiki, i'm not surprised since u so many 'actions' at nite rte... kekekeke.

hi aly-nat!!

Bear-sayang Z.. really heated up when we expect 'pro' advice frm doctors in the end get such nonsensical advice.

Did not login for sometime and there are so many gd news liao.
CONGRATS!!!

Seeing so many mummies preg... i oso feel like having one again now... wakakka
But then my plan is going to be postpone till further notice...or mayb even stop at 2... haa

bear,
Dun go back to that doc again!!

dymples,
Hugz... hope you do hav enff rest. Working at travel/hotel line tends to be like tat de, esp with events going on....
DO you hav any time off or OT to claim for working such long hrs then?

Liv, I saw tat website abt t vaccine. Hmm.. I tink just follow wat ur clinic practice lor.

aly-Nat, my K is 9kg now. Not 3x of her birth weight yet. PDs say no problem.
Yest brought her for her chkup, we asked t PD if her size is OK.. She told us, for kids at tis age, they cannot depend solely on milk, they need solid food blah blah.. One day max 4x milk.
Hmmm.. Tis PD didnt ask abt K's diet, and assume we gave her too much milk? Actual fact is, K is nvr a lover of milk. Oh, tis PD from KKH.

Bear, wat an arrogant doctor! I m sure u wun go back there again. Y u din to t clinic at Tamp St 11, the one u usually go to?

Thanks for your wishes (congrats blustar!!).. nowadays KO alot after my daily merlion episodes so not so active here hee hee..

sorry to dissapoint you all.. but I guess I conceived way before I bought my sexy lingerie and didn't do the circuit training... it's more like what bear said 'one shot one kill' wor.. wakakaka... and.. I turned LEFT after that.. so let's see how hee hee hee

Good morning mommies...

Happy,
Thanks for the hugz. Yah... Lucky got 2 days leave to claim. But will do so only during the March hols cos my annual leave very little.

Lilian,
Your that PD also sounds as bad as the one Bear went to. Haiz... never asks questions jump to conclusions that we parents are doing a bad job. So fed-up right..

discipline
bbq also very 'bratful' and sticky nowadays, sometimes really feel like spanking him hard hard wor (esp when he wants me 'baobao' after my merlion episode and am super drained)..

i read from somewhere that dun use your hands to discipline your kids. Hands are for caring and giving, and dun confuse your kids with this.. if really want, might as well go get a cane.

Sometimes I will use a soft ruler to discipline BBQ (mostly show show nia), and after a 'spanking session', I will hug hug him and tell him softly that mummy also heart pain to beat him but he's being naughty or watever.. of cos he wont't understand lah but I just say lor.. haha.. guess my hormone a bit imbalance liao..

kite flying
I wanna join!! sigh... but guess got to give it a miss.. hmm maybe I see whether I feel better at later stage anot.... so 13/3 or 14/3 for me if @ Anchorvale CC... 430pm a bit too early and hot neh..

welcome aly-nat, hee another SK mummy...

bear
aiyo, how come got such a PD one, wasted your time and $$, dun visit her in future..

snnowy
i also like your '2nd line' icon hee

snnowy/tri_angel/happy
usually I got very jealous whenever I heard good news from mummies, but now I feel so miserable... anyway.. go go go, go try for #3!