(2008/11) November 2008

Enne
?? dun tell me u're a vegetarian?? If its your maid then i wont bother wahhahaaa.... Umm.. i would tink if ther's only a couple or 3 vegetarians i'll make sure at least 3 dishes can b taken by them (not including desserts of cos).. cant possibly make most of the dishes vegetarian, e rest wil not like it, including me.. wahahhaa...

Enne
so eg.. for the dishes, i may get veg fried rice or veg dry meesiam + chap chye + mock prawns.. something like tt.. Then desserts fruits and cheng teng they're able to take as well..

Enne,
If u r vegetarian (but tt day not chu yi or shi wu), we shall get u a vegetarian set menu at no additional charge! Ladies ... what do u all think?

Only available for our dear Enne. Hehe.

hello mummies

what's for lunch? I had Delicious set lunch @ White Dog cafe again!

so sad cupcakedivinity no slot oredi

any more good cupcake bakery to recommend?

lilian,
Oh.. you are working at 'S' too?
I hav 3 frens working there and they are happily waiting for retrenchment.

Mildy ah mildy,
Hmmm..... you are wrong!
Damn Rich ppl dun wanna give birth many kids while poor ppl like You and me... wanna have MORE! wakakaka

happy
Your 3 frens worked veri long here liao? Their ang bao must be very big for them to be so eager!
The uncle sitting beside me is getting impatient liao, cos his is real big!
True, I see those rich ppl only 1 kid nia, and they so determined not to have more. They rather spend their time on speculating shares =P

happy,
rich ppl scare too many children next time will fight for their fortune ma. kekekekek.... we got no money for them to fight so we dun mind having more. wakkaka....

lilian,
hmm.. haha... yes. 2 of them work there for 9years... and another one for abt 4yrs i tink.
Everytime they mentioned leaving the job.. but end up.. waiting for retrenchment. haha

mildy,
Ya lo.. we hav nothing for them to fight.The most fight for our small hdb flat nia... haha

My gf who married into a very rich family is so stress abt her preg.Her PIL keep wanting her to giv birth but she dun want.
And best part is,if giv birht to a girl,can get 2 mil!!

Imagine me giving birth to 2 kids, not even collected $2!!!!! wakakak

Haru,
Yes, my gal struggle and scream very much till I gave in and stop bfing her. Then she will sit up and smile at me. *faint* I never had such encounter with my #1. In fact, she will also tell her to drink the milk so that it will be her turn. (I dun know if it because I introduce bottle to her too early at 6 weeks that resulted in the struggle now)
But luckily solid wise, she dun have a problem. Lunch and dinner will have more than half a bowl of porridge.

2 million for a girl. Then 4 million for a boy? OMG!?!

T idea of giving money for 'helping' to bear children is nuts! Crazy these ppl.

Heya!

Glad_gal, the trip was gd. only now Z is super sticky to us cos we were with him the whole 5 days. Last time we could leave him alone for him to amuse himself. Now put him down only, HAVEN'T leave his side he already start wailing. This morning go MIL's plc also cry. eck.. cannot tahan sticky babies!

Re: bday bash
Aft much sideline chatting, here's the deal ya?
1) we WILL BE getting a personalised gift for each baby.
2) if mummies u still want gift exchange, then we can have one. gifts to be capped at $10. We do not want to drop no. 1 for this becos mummies will buy different value of gifts hence it won't be 'fair'.
3) The theme WILL BE Mickey and Minnie
4) For catering, Jo and Peanut, just decide btw 3 menus or caterers before coming in for our discussion tmr night. we trust u to make gd choices.

I finished being the bad guy liao.. haha..
pls understand that we have 152 guests last count hence we really cannot let everybody have a say else will be too messy and will drag too long.

Re: 2nd kid
I want also cannot. must wait till 2011. oh well...

Re: hyperactive kid
Z doesn't do anything much really.. but then again i dun see him much. he just started to cruise only.

Mosh,
Was not sure if you are comfortable to share mah cos I know some ppl pangtang, they want to wait till 3 months then announce. Just hang on there though I know it is not easy to deal with MS and an active toddler Once you enetered 2nd tri you can enjoy a bit liao.

Dun feel guilty towards your gal. A mother is forever a mother to her. Once bb is born, set them into schedule and find time to accompany her. In fact with a sibling around, you will find that she is growing up fast and would be such a good helper. (I was preggy with #2 when #1 was 6 months, then I also feel the same way as you did)

Hey mummies
loggin in now asap b4 bb wakes up. I took childsick leave cos bb not feeling well due to teething..super cranky, didn't sleep well last night. this morning cant drink her milk from bottle so had to spoonfeed her frm cup, no choice. She kept lickin her top gum, must b painful..can see white thing there...two coming out at the same time!
anyway, she's feeling better after some medication. got the gel and antibiotics cos bb's throat is also sore...sigh...

Abt the bb bash

Mildy
it's 148 guests now cos shop4stuffs has dropped out. We will discuss tomorrow see who wanna replace. I will pm you and bear the guests lists soon.

Catering/peanut/jo
I'm fine with kriston and the price. the food sounds yummy. the menu, i leave to both of u to decide ya. and yah, needs to b halal, if not...do u mummies wanna join us for the discussion? it's up to u but need to confirm the menu b4 discussion.

bbzel
u have to b there tomorrow ah..hehe

bear
thanks for the heads up! eh, u make me sound like a bad guy oso leh...hahaha

Lynn!
ur bb is same as mine, got sore throat refused to eat. u can try my method. the drink must not be too hot, if not it will be painful for ur bb to swallow. also, u can try spoon feeding like i did.

blustar
hey, uve been missing for so long..hahaha....i nvr try dat method b4 so not too sure.

er...anything else i missed? okie, will b back when i can..bye

Dear all...
Just to share
My bb was down with fever @ 40 degrees + diarrhea, fed him medicine but temperature stay around 39 - 39.8, hence we rushed him to KKH, gosh, it was a long queue, we waited for 3 HOURS (100 queues ahead of our number). During the 2nd hours, we continue to take his temperature, still about 39.3/4, we told the nurse but was only given medicine and continued our waiting. Finally when it was our turn, the doctor simply told us it was not much of a problem, i asked her,"So how to we gauge emergency for fever, my baby was 40 degree and we still got to wait for 3 hours" She simply brushed me off by saying there are so many babies/children to attend to...We were given medicine for both fever and diarrhea, the doctor gave me the impression that this is nothing to worry, but how could we as parents take it so lightly, my baby was buring, his cheeks and body was buring and reddish. After that, we continued to monitor him, the temperature stay around 38.5 - 39 now, diarrhea about 8 times, poor baby, anus was very sore and red, but out of sudden, shot up to 39.7 again at 11pm+. This time, we rushed to look for 24 hrs clinics, nobody on queue so was fast, the doctor given us a so called stronger medicine to battle his fever. Brought him home, fed him medicine, and did not sleep the whole nite worrying, monitoring and keep measuring his temperature. Everything was well until 6am, shot up to 39.3 again....felt so helpless seeing baby suffering...

Luckily, after a bath for him, managed to go down slowly to 37.4.

<font color="ff0066"> Happy</font>
Wah... $2 million if got gal?? Really damn stress for your gf lor. hahhaha... if it's me... then tink I'll have $6 mil liaoz. *faintz* These rich people really nothing else better to do with their money. And here I'm am stressed out over the lack of $$$ for my gal's enrichment.

<font color="ff0066"> Mildy</font>
Yah... those rich people dun want too many children cos scared the children will start fighting over their assets even before they are 6-ft under. For me, I already told hub, I'll tell my children... the most they'll ever get from me is their education. The house and all other assets belong to hub and me and I will decide what to do with it during our lifetime. That's how I was brought up and I tink it's a good way to teach my gals.

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>
I'm ok with having the personalised gift. Tink it will make a fantastic momento when bb grows up. For the gift exchange, maybe all the mommies can buy some gifts that are gender neutral yah. That way it doesn;t matter whether the recipient is gal or boy.

<font color="ff0066"> Kiki</font>
Can help me update Janessa's details. We went to PD today for her final 6-in-1 innoculation. Finally! After all the delay becos of the confusion over her Hep B jab. Anyway, her weight is 8.2kg and height is 71cm. Thanks.

lovelove,
hope ur baby is getting better..=)

blustar,
ya, i sorta tried e CIO method a few times too. bb was whining and crying in cot but i refused to pick her up for almost half an hour and she was just standing in her cot crying non stop, and when hubby finally carried her, she cried so hard that she puked all over...so sad.. now i latch her to sleep (no choice coz she refuses to latch before her bath, such a smartie coz she rather latch to sleep after bath!) and most nights she'll wake up at least once to whine a lil and we just need to quickly pat her back to sleep w/o picking her up though. so far its working for us. but for about more than a month now she has been waking up earlier than usual, sometimes at 4am even and i just feed her to get her back to sleep. lazy mummy!!

mildy and alibaba,
ya, now i just let grandma feed her lunch and wil prob let her start on breakfast and lunch at grandma's while i am at work. coz she does not like to take dinner when i am home with her. but a lil in a dilemma now coz she already doesnt like to take EBM when I am at work, so wondering if she takes 2 meals at grandma's place will she take even lesser milk??

heeheesan,
I understand what u mean.When i sent my gal to KK,they oso jus giv medi and ask us to go home.End up,i gonna go to PD instead the next morning.Waste my time and effort!

If your bb still having fever/diarrohea, go to PD.And if persistence and no improvement,better ask PD to refer you to hosp like Mt.A.At least they still can be the main doc in the hosp.

<font color="ff0066"> lovelove</font>
Oh dear... I hope your bb is feeling better now. Btw, there is also a peadiatric unit available at Thomson Medical. So next time if your bb is not feeling well, can consider sending there instead. I also got loads of bad experience with KKH when it comes to waiting times and nonchalent trainee docs. Nowadays I prefer to wait till the next morning if possible and then bring bb to the PD near my home. If your bb keeps on having high fever, maybe can bring her to a PD to double check. It is always worrying when bb's fever won't subside. Meanwhile, keep bb hydrated yah.

Olwen: I really cannot imagine how to cope with 4 kids!!! Me and hb were also discussing if next time have 1 more baby, then really hard to 'enjoy' ourselves properly liao coz our hands would be very full during a trip!

Lynn: Oh dear, hope your bb is feeling better now and can eat/drink as per normal soon!! And yah, i guess is better to travel when they are toddlers so that they can play more. At the resort when i stayed, they also have kids activities but must be at least 4 yrs old...

Cupcake: Kiki, yah so fast a few of the cupcake biz are already fully booked!! I havent even checked with cupcake divinity
, i used them for bb's 1st mth. Checked with aimummy, but she is not available sigh!! I quite like cherylshuen but she has not replied me yet.

Blustar: CIO method - tried it initially when bb was much younger and we have to 'rock' him to sleep. Rem my bb really cry and cry very long. Hmm for mabbe 45 min?? Really had to 'harden' our hearts, but have to make sure bb is well fed, burped and comfortable lah. But i can't really say if we are totally effective coz he now still dislikes sleeping on his own in his cot. But we only recently realised that he is a bit scared of dark, so if we on the light, and sit beside him in his cot, he would not cry. :p Probably just whine abit and would toss and turn till he sleep on his own.

gladgal,
I booked cupcakedivinity in july i think cos then they are booked till early oct so i faster chope my order with them.

Sophie the giraffe:
My gal is starting to teeth now i think. kept biting and chewing her fingers. Thinking of buying sophie for her now. Any mummies who bought it got good reviews?

glad_gal,
my bb is opposite. she likes total darkness when she sleeps. no night light at all. =P and if she wakes up she instantly stands up in her cot to look for us. quite funny actually..

babyzel,
i bot mine from Motherswork at GWC just over e weekend. but i need to get a ribbon tied to Sophie coz she keeps throwing it out (not intentionally lah.,) and almost lost Sophie today at the supermart! good thing i heard it drop..so far so good, she seems to quite like it. =)

HAru,
Thanks for ur reply. Luckily u didn't lose Sophie if not very heart pain.. I just ordered mine from BP liao cos hb say he pay for it! Happy!!!

Sorry for the dropout. ANyway heres something to share with the committee from BabyCenter on 1st Bday celebration

Games and activities
Loud bangs from party poppers and bursting balloons may frighten your baby, and discarded poppers and balloons are a serious choking hazard until age 3. Why not have some musical fun, such as dancing with your baby, or a nursery rhyme tape on in the background? She'll also enjoy peek-a-boo games and finding toys hidden in a box or under a cloth. And, of course, she'll enjoy helping you open her presents (although the wrapping paper will be far more fun than the gift!).

Goody bags
Goody bags aren't really necessary at this age, and the usual treats like candy and balloons are downright dangerous for the babies at your party. If you want to give a going-away present to your little guests, opt for a small, safe soft toy or a board book to chew on.

Birthday presents
By now your baby will appreciate toys that make noise or light up, or both, so activity centers are a good choice. It's never too early to read, and textured board books are great fun for your tactile baby. A push-along toy to aid walking skills may be a hit, and new bath toys are always welcome. You may want to consider a big, lasting present, such as a baby swing for outdoors or a rocking horse. And if you already have loads of toys, your baby won't object if some people buy her clothes!

Cake
Don't forget a wonderful birthday cake. Some parents like to have a small separate cake for the birthday baby — this way she can smash into it to her heart's content. (It also works to serve cupcakes to everyone, including your baby.) Homemade treats are special, but supermarkets have a great variety available, or try a bakery. You may need to order the cake or cakes in advance. And don't let your baby get too close to the candle as she'll want to grab it, not blow on it.

Theme
Choosing a theme
Party themes aren't important to your 1-year-old or her baby guests. You might want to aim for a color-coordinated look, or pick matching plates and napkins with a favorite cartoon character, but it's more for the benefit of the keepsake photos than your baby at this stage.

General tips
• Have somewhere clean, handy, and well-equipped for diaper changing.
• Breastfeeding moms may appreciate somewhere quiet and private to nurse.
• It's crawling, walking, and climbing time — safety gates and other childproofing devices are essential.
• Stow away precious ornaments and breakables.
• Keep pets well out of the way (for their own protection!).
• Keep a watchful eye on the party area for hazards, such as forks and small swallowable objects, and clear them away quickly.
• Babies will play alongside each other, not together, so keep a variety of toys available within a large, safe floor space.
• Relax — let your baby and her guests set the pace.
• Make sure you have a willing volunteer to take plenty of photos or unobtrusively wield a camcorder. You may be too busy, and you don't want to miss those shots of your baby digging into her first birthday cake!

gap.dolphin:
Guess you didn't check your email ;)
I have submitted our names and $$ to Sean Lau, and you can feel free to call them up (Ms Adelena, +65 6519 7992) for appointment booking now..

Sophie
I bought it few months back from BP, slightly cheaper than $39 (cant rem exact price). My boy didn't like it at first as he starts teething very late (about 6 mths) and his mouth too small to bite sophie LOL.
Now he likes it alot.. everytime will bite sophie's ears and sophie's "lips", oh legs too.

Poor sophie everytime wet wet like that... hee hee

haru and kiki
wah... seems like most bb loves this sophie.. hmm.. wat's so great deal abt this sophie?how cme sooo exp?!!! can advise..

shop4stuffs, u gt discount card at motherworks???must produce card can borrow?hehe...

i just got my sophie frm bp.. but its $35+ abt$1 postage.... works out the same as mothers work with discount?

shop4stuffs, i always wish i have the motherswork discount card but i never spend enough there to qualify!

2nd day of sleep training....
bb was clinging on to my t shirt like crazy during his shower and crying...think he suddenly remember last night when i left him alone to cry! Then when he latched on at 7.30 he slept so i didn't even get to try 2nd night of CIO today!

Just finished a game of mahjong!! and hubby is away so can surf the net for as long as i want tonite
) hehe

gladgal, i also leave a small light on at night cos i realise when i don't leave it on.. bb will wake up more frequently!

Pam, last time when u made the ribbons+velcro, did you use glue or sew it on?? I'm thinking how to do! wanna make a few cos his toys keep dropping when he is out!! or rather he keeps throwing them on the floor!

Haru, ya really heartpain when they cry until puke
I still keep thinking about his crying for 40 mins last nite... not sure if i can go through it again! but just now when he woke up he cried for 5 mins and then put himself back to sleep! i wonder if yesterdays training helped?? i sure hope so!

Sophie
BP price is $35. I asked for registered mail add $3.74. Think motherworks with discount cheaper. Normal post add $1.50.

Kiki,
My gal is teething now, she's been putting her fingers in her mouth very frequently. Hope she will like it! Ex investment. Glad BBQ likes it, at least $ well spent.

Shopforstuffs,
Buy from motherworks since u got the card.

Haru,
think I will need to Velcro Sophie! I dun want to lose her... $$$