(2008/11) November 2008

thanks for all the well wishes. I am currently at home resting. Things are pretty much ok now although I know that my hubby was really looking forward to this pregnancy. Donno if we will have another, we will just leave this to god.

Mosh,
congrats! must take care of youself.

<font color="ff0066"> Maids</font>
I won't go for Myanmar maids cos I've read some really bad reviews on them. Seems like they more prideful and more attitude those filli maids. Can refer to this thread for details:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/824642.html?1249743301

As for the maid's loan, I will never go to those agencies that require upfront payment. I will only make pymt via post dated cheque. Reason being, once you have parted with your $$$, chances are the agency will not refund you or else they will take super duper long and drag out the whole process.

Reviews on maid agencies available on this blog:

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

Lots of really useful tips and insights. It even has templates for maid's timetables and house rules &amp; regulations. Most importantly got lots of stories of horrible, terrible maids.

<font color="ff0066"> Lilian</font>
My current Indon maid, juz came only 3-days ago, she is ex-SG with 5-yrs exp. Her salary is $350 + $20 (if not giving her off day). So far she can cook quite well, her English is good (we can understand each other very well and she can read simple English too).

Besides their salary, also got to factor in the monthly maid levy of $175. Agent fees varies from $188 to $688. But I only go for those those $388 and below. Those agencies who says their fees are $88 or $108, always is gimmick only. Lots of hooks waiting to catch you only. So beware of those agencies.

<font color="ff0066"> Blessedmum</font>
Dun worry yah... my 3 gals have all fallen off the bed lah, sofa lah, one time or another. Juz the other night, we left bb sleeping on our bed and surround her with pillows. Next thing, hub heard her crying. We go in the room, saw her sitting on the floor with a red patch on the forehead liaoz. Aiyohz... heart pain pain lor.

<font color="ff0066"> Milderina</font>
heheheh... I read your posting and kept laughing. Your bb is so so similar to bb Janessa lah. My this girl yah... also dun like to be left alone lor. Once I 'disappear' to the toilet or kitchen for awhile only, she will start to scream and yell lohz. Somemore when put her into the walker, her legs will open big big. Then when I lower her and push her legs down, she will even grab my arm and sleeves. heheheh... As for the play yard, instead of spreading her legs open, she will lift and curl her legs upwards towards me. hahahaha... then her tiny fingers will be grabbing onto my arms again. Haiz... sometimes wanna rest abit also cannot. *faintz*

As for climbing, aiyohzz... this girl is champion. Already she can climb up the play yard. You know there is those gaps like fecning on the play yard hor... Bb Janessa will put her foot into those gaps and try to climb out. Luckily so far never succeed yet. But she has already climbed out of her stroller, her walker. Once I left her sleeping on the sofa and her yao-lan is beside the sofa. Then I put pillows on the ground all around. I run to the toilet and when I come out, she has climb off the sofa into the yao-lan and was hanging off the yao-lan, body half way down to the floor liaoz. My heart nearly dropped out siah. Terrible girl! Till today I thank God that she never fall and I still wonder how she did the acrobat stunt from sofa to yao-lan.

Popped in to say hi before I dozed off again. Still couging and the cough medicine is making me drowsy.

Recently I put my gal to sleep on mattress at nite surrounded by pillows and a super thick blanket on the floor incase she rolled off the mattress. This morning I woke up at 6++ and found her rolled off her mattress and off the the thick blanket beside her mattress and crawling around happily on the floor!! Sighz...

Alibaba
Not planned one lah, didnt have plans for another one yet. Came too soon and unexpected but nonetheless its fated. Just that I felt abit guilty of not able to spend more time playing with my gal now. Due to my MS and easily get tired now while my gal getting more energetic and active. I leave her with my MIL most of the time, abit guilty abt that lor...

Mildy
To be frank, I like to have another bb but I dun really like the feeling of being preggie cos I super hate the MS and my appettite also no good, super uncomfy...

dymples
ur gal is really champion! sofa &amp; yaolan shld be a distance away. she can "jump" over without falling!

Blessedmum, Milderina, Dymples,
Maybe you can check out this bb helmet for extra assurance and peace of mind
http://thudguard.com.sg/

Alibaba,
I need to install window grills too! if u got lobang for this do share

My bb's turn to fall sick
Had fever on Fri which went away next day. And today(Tue) woke up with coughing+phlegm AND sneezing+runnynose. Head also full of rashes dunno is it from all that heat and sweat, since her head is perspiring like crazy at night. seems like when immune system is down, all the sickness come one after another.

9 mths can eat egg yet?
Was out yesterday and under my MIL's care, my bb ate porridge which my MIL had stirred a whole egg into the slow cooker! 0_0

Jinomo, Onli yest my hb was jokingly asking if got such a thing as baby helmet -_-"
He must be delighted to know about it!

Look out for rashes. But i think your bb shd b fine.

Lillian,
Ya, i was also thinking abt a product like tat when bb was 6 mths. And at tat time thought all those bicycle helmet way too big, recently came across this, so just in time. My hb Bah! at this though lol.

Rashes
She had rashes on her head and neck today. But she had head rashes too when she had fever plus she also having cough and sneezing today. So dunno which is culprit. Doc only gave some hydrocortisone cream to apply

Jinomo, the bb helmet is a good idea! but bb may just perspire alot wearing it all the time, haha

9mths old can eat hard-boiled egg yolk, but no egg white till they turn 1 YO, in case of allergy... better highlight this to your MIL lor

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>
Acutally the yao-lan I placed very near to the sofa. But I agree lor... dunno how she made the mini "jump" frm sofa to yao-lan. When I saw that I nearly faintz from fright!

<font color="ff0066"> Jinomo</font>
hahahhaha... that helmet is so so cute. But confirm my girl won't wear loh. Already I wear those normal cloth hat for her, she will pull off and her head all wet from perspiring. *sighz* Btw, Bb of 9-mths can only take Egg Yolk. Egg white can only consume after 12-mths wor. Since your bb already got rashes, pls stay off the egg white, then slowly find the culprit via elimination process.

committee meeting
tomm or thurs?? If tomm i can't make it..

Jo..
i shd be logging into msn tonight so we shall discuss..

chilipadi
u take good care.. recuperate well and strengthen ur womb before planning again k. ur lovely gals wil help u get over this soon.

Blessedmum
hihi.. dun blame urself.. most impt thing is she's ok. yes.. bbs sure fall.. its difficult to avoid one. I bot e rocking horse from taka sales and she loves it.. but fell out from it yest wahhaaa...

lilian: kay-poh girl

glad_gal: *wave!* enjoyed your trip?

mosh: hope can pass u the jumperoo &amp; carrier. i go ask my daughter's godma if she wants them back. my kids will outgrow by then. i will keep the boys' clothes in the meantime then.

bibi: thanks for lobang, wow u found a job so fast.

Jes, Dymples,
Indeed, the helmet is a gd precautionary measure but the sweaty head issue also gave me 2nd thoughts.

My MIL also wants to introduce GOAT'S MILK Formula to my bb cos a relative's bb who is asthmatic grew big,healthy and rosy-cheeked after taking it. I'm flabbergasted and really dunno wat to reply her liao. *faintz*!!

heloo mummies,
me had a crazy day of non stop pigging out with hubby who was on half day leave.hahah..burp!!

re: active babies
thankfully my baby no falling off sofa, bed. only a couple of times of bumping her head against e wall, etc..blessedmum, dun feel bad ok? you are still a great mummy!

dymples,
my bb tends to be more clingy towards the evening time. she will whine and cry e moment i disappear into e bedroom or kitchen even if i keep talking to let her know i am there. so normally i just end up using that to play peek a boo..so that she doesnt get all upset,hahah..

re: feeding
hey mummies, my bb is still not taking to solids very well. i managed to feed her 3 tbsp of porridge on sunday but yesterday she rejected everything and didnt touch any cereal, fruits at all. today grandma fed her lunch so she managed to take some cereal and apple, only one meal today. and she tends to cough and gag quite a lot still even when e consistency is very smooth already..is it something to be concerned about? think its tough for me on weekends coz i have to be e one to feed her and she rejects food most of the time and just keeps wiggling around in her high chair.

RE: Baby Birthday Bash Buffet Catering

Peanut and I have looked at a few halal caterers, Kriston, Smiling Orchid, Orange Grove and Eatzi. However, we need to decide which buffet menu depending on the budget allocated for food.

For eg. Kriston Caterer, we look at tea reception (available from 2-4pm only) $9-16, buffet spread $15-30. They serve nice food though ex and w free drink and delivery. We could also look at other mentioned caterers if Kriston prices are not within our budget.

mummy 2nia, i guess the conclusion is to use sticker cause cheaper within the budget. bib is nice bt i can nv keep it on Issac so i dont knw if other babies will wear too. he always pull it away when i put it on him.

RE: Baby Birthday Bash Buffet Catering

We looking at one Kriston buffet spread, it cost $14.50 after discount. And we are looking at order for 70pax only for the 100pax and this will recalculate to $10/pax.

Mildy, mummy2nia ... is this alright?

Hi Mummy2nia, have not heard from wtan yet. Guess she is busy and have not gotten answers from her frens yet. I think only urgent confirmation u need from her is whether there's any charges. Photography details such as style and angles to shoot we can discuss near to event date or even get a mutual understanding on the spot, not a prob.

Mildy, Dymples,
When i read both of your post, i am also laughing away! All the description seems so similar to me! That's y me and my maid will check on her every 5mins if she is sleeping in yao lan cause they already know how to come down. As for walker, yes, her leg will also open big big or curl up when i want to put her down, so smart the babies nowadays!

Mildy,
haha, you must be damn shack + tired since C is super duper sticky! u can consider to get a playard, somehow it is still safer when she is inside. I always leave her in the playard when we are busy and she can self-entertained.. But must give her new and interesting toys such as remote control, key etc..

Minky,
u seems busy recently too? Where have u been?

Bear,
ya, still havent touch down SG already think of gg shopping!

Morning mummies!!!

Back from Kinabalu!
How's everyone...Glad to survive the 2 hr flight hee..now feel alittle more confident to bring baby to more faraway places!

Olwen: Trip was great
But a little tiring coz trip was quite baby focused hee..

Name sticker: My baby now like to tear away the bib too, so think sticker better too :p

Bear: HOw was your penang trip?

Mosh: Hope your MS go away soon yah..will be tiring..take care!

Walker> aiyorz my b also lei.. e min put her in she cry and scream the house down like gena tortured ah nei.. haiz.. dunoe wat to do wif her.. also mus stick with her al the time.. moment stand up and take a few steps she starts crying liao..

Hav started on cane discipline...

Good Morning Mummies!!

kiki,
i also very tempted to get maid but hor everytime i hear the maid stories i scare liaos. not easy to get a good one. but if you got another elderly to look after the maid when the maid look after the kiddos then its ok. kekeke.....so to hire a maid must hire an elderly too. wakakak...

dymples,
wow! your girl also good climber. wakakakak.... nowadays kiddos really can climb.

mosh,
wakakak... n the thing abt our babies is that hor they like super proud when we found them not in the place they suppose to be right? they will b like grinning away at you saying "hee mummy, u c, i got out without you knowing. ne ni ne ni bu bu"

and yes, after your #2 comes u also will b very tired, cos its super not ez to take care of a toddler and a baby who both needs tons of attention, but if you got ppl helping you out then its not that bad. i miss pregnancy leh. ekkekeke....though its a tough 9 months i must say. cannot jump ard. :p

jinomo,
my girl wont even put on a hat or something on her hair let alone a helmet, think she will pull it off and bite it to shreds. lolx

9 months bb can only eat egg yolk but not egg white, cos its hypo allergic or something. i think 1 yr old is a suitable age to intro egg white. but since eaten must c got any allergy or not. try to avoid it if anything.

haru,
haha... u just like mi, i also had to peek a boo with her even when i am in the toilet or bathing, so she wont feel alone.... Zzzz....

and claudia is also not taking porridge very well too, only takes a bit, not to worry so much, slowly introduce it to her, as they main source of nutrients is still from the milk. some babies just dun like porridge. for my girl she loves junk food but not her own food.....

Jo,
for buffet we are thinking of only $10 per pax, able to get? As we are trying to keep to the budget of 2 parent and 1 baby at $50. so if kriston are able to get ard $10 then should b great.

Mummy2nia,
are we able to know how many adults are there in the list?

joyce,
yeah i thought of playyard, but i saw that dimple's daughter already know how to climb out i need to seriously reconsider. lolx

glad,
maybe we should stick on the kid's back so they can c it they can tear it. lolx

Bday bash buffet:
Yes as Jo mentioned, now for the timebeing looking at Kriston 1st.. My company catered for their buffet few weeks ago and the dishes are mostly quite good. Cheapest menu is S$15; UOB card 10% disc + free delivery + free fruit punch with min S$500 bill.. works out to be $14.50 aft gst per pax.. We're looking at catering for 70% of attendance so lets say got 100pax we only cater for 70paxs.. that will in the end work out to be S$10.15/pax. Is that reasonable?? This will b our initial proposal... kakakka...

Mildy
again.. u al looking at tea reception of finger food or full buffet spread? It'll b even cheaper if we get tea reception but of cos fewer variety and it'll only b catered between 2-4pm.

morning mummies!! log time never log in!

just to share... last nite started the cry it out method sleep training on bb...

Put him in his cot @ 8pm...
5 mins later when i came in to check and reassure him, realised he puked all over his cot, carpet.. and his face &amp; hair all covered in puke! so heartpain!! cos this is the first time i try putting him to his cot awake and walk out of the room.... quickly changed him+ cot sheets etc...

put him back in cot again and came in every 5 mins to check &amp; reassure him... I have NEVER seen him cry so bad in all his 9 mths!!!
Read that the first nite might even take 2-3 hours... so i hung in there...

@ 40 mins mark when i went in... he was asleep. THANK GOD! and only woke up @6.30 this morning...

tonite will be the 2nd nite i pray he won't cry so bad!! this method suppossed to work in 3-5 days.. if not baby might not be ready for this method or it might not be suitable!

any of you mummies tried this method with success? care to share how long it took? I'm not sure i can go through that many nights listening to him cry like that
but yet on the other hand am quite determined to let him have this opportunity to learn to sleep on his own....

haru/mildy>
trysten same lor.. prefer his biscuit .. than cereal or porridge.. he is not taking alot of solid but he love bread &amp; biscuit! another junk food baby.. fainted... yah currently their main source of food still milk. in fact my sil told me she didnt even start on cereal or puree for nephew at all. cos he dont like it.. intro porridge to him when he is 1 yo.. &amp; he is now eating well...

morning ladies

Olwen
So kind of u... Thanks in advance

Mildy
Yes yes, I know what u mean, she showed me that kind of proud face when I found her crawling on the floor, hahaha...

ya I can imagine 2 babies crying and screaming at the same time! I will go crazy! I wonder how Olwen can cope with 3 crying babies!!

Hehehe... this is the menu jus to kay poh a bit..

AUNTY MARRY'S MEE SIAM - Can choose wet or dry.. We got the dry one and its very niceeeee esp aft squeezing some lime.. yummy!
CRISPY BONELESS CHICKEN WITH PLUM SESAME
DEEP-FRIED OAT CEREAL PRAWN - We tt time changed to vegetarian mock prawn and its very niceeee too! but come with spicy sauce which i dun tink is suitable if wan to giv older kids
FISH FILLET THAI CURRY - We can try request to change to fish nuggets as finger food
SEAFOOD BEANCURD - Its those rectangular toufu.. nice also
MEDLEY OF “NGOH HIANG” COMBINATION - normal.. we can explore getting another finger food to replace this
BRAISED MIXED VEGETABLES NONYA STYLE - Chap chye
WOK-FRIED RICE WITH EGG AND GARLIC
TROPICAL FRESH FRUIT
MINI CREAM PUFF AND CHOCOLATE ECLAIR
CHENG TNG - Not that sweet.. very refreshing with quite a bit of liao..

This is the western menu.... never tried before dunoe good or not..

CHEF'S APPETIZING PLATTER
a deluxe mix of turkey breast, chicken salami, chicken roll,
herb marinated flower squid and marinated japanese octopus
COLESLAW AND RUSSIAN SALAD
ITALIAN SAUSAGE &amp; BELL PEPPER
with mixed herb and olive oil
OVEN-BAKED TERIYAKI CHICKEN WITH SESAME SEED
NORTHERN STYLE LAMB STEW MASALA
PAN-FRIED SALMON FILLET WITH TOMATO AND SCALLION
SEAFOOD ON SHELL WITH HERB PESTO
DEEP-FRIED PAKORA SYMPHONY
potato, spinach and seafood with mango chutney
MEDLEY OF VEGETABLE WITH MUSHROOM
PAN-FRIED SPAGHETTI ALIO OLIO
with prawn, mussel and garlic
WARM CARAMELIZED PEAR AND BREAD PUDDING
served with vanilla sauce
ASSORTED MINI PASTRIES
SEA COCONUT WITH FRUIT COCKTAIL

Mildy
Kriston is one of the suggestion, i also hav on hand another one call Smiling orchid which my company catered before as well.. Tea reception ranges from $6-8/pax excluding gst and delivery fee.. Jo also hav other contacts on hand..

lilian: if i ever get pregnant again, i won't be sitting here typing to u. my mother would have strangled me already
u let me know when u have number 2, yah?

glad_gal: super challenging i know. my kai only started travelling just before 2. so it was v easy. i'm just wondering how i'm going to bring all 4 on holiday next year. remember i was discussing this w peanut last year?

mosh: take it as u helping me &amp; my daughter's godma to clear stuff

<font color="ff0066"> Peanut</font>
I've used Kriston for my Wedding and Janae + Janelle's Full Month celebration. I like their variety and have not received any negative comments on their food quality so far. *thumbs-up*

lilian,
actaully hor i feel if money is not a problem all of us would love to have at least half a dozen of kids. kekeke........at least for me i wan half a dozen if money is not an issue. kekeke...

Afternoon mummies!!

bb: doc say b got sore throat which explained why he has no appetite for milk or food.. yesterday he didn drink his milk from 9am till 7pm.. worry me.. he refuse to drink.. i guess the throat very pain.. today he feeling much better alr after the medicine given by PD. he can finished his rice cereal. I think he got his sore throat at the cruise esp the air con there is like very cold.. and when we get to redang is very hot.. my mom say hot then cold easily get sick.. so poor thing.

cruise trip: the cruise thing for brandon is fun though.. but usually at noon time he sleep in the yao lan.. so there is a change for him. and he feel uncomfortable.. the second day cry for the yao lan. it a struggle though, but other except for the nap is fun. but then i still feel for the cruise thing.. brandon is still too young to go.. cause the playroom for kids are for toddlers. under 1 year cannot go and play in the room. the swimming pools for kids not very suitable for babies. and the realie for baby pool is super boring.. nothing there except the pool.. pathetic right? baby food, u have to bring your own jar food loi. though they provide. but the choice very limited. brandon enjoy the most is probably the evening show.. suprisingly he like the performance, cause got the lightning and the music. redang trip probably too small for him to understand.. and is reali very hot. he likes the moving elevators and probably Me.. can sleep on the same bed with him for 2 nights? haha..

2nd baby: reali this never cross my mind.. bb brandon is super active and cranky type which i feel i don have the energy if another one like him come out, i gotta faint. sometimes because of bb, me and hubby can get argument.. not fun at all.. me on pills now.. if i have another one, i guess i will have to be a full time mom looking at the situation that no one can help me except for maid to care for bb.. yes, i think money is another issue loi. end up my hubby will be the sole breadwinner.. just by thinking abt it, frightened me.

crawling: seems like every one bb can crawl.. mine still not crawling, happily sitting there and play. or doing the jumping motion. recently night, when he sleeps. he doing a funny sleeping pattern, sleep like a turtle with backside propping up.. haha.. so funny