(2008/11) November 2008

Pamela/Dymples,
You all say till I so shy*run away and hide* It is nothing actually if a routine is set and the kids are into it. In fact, I will feel guilty if I were to miss a cooking session for the family. It makes it as if they are not well taken care of.

I tell you, mothers are the most strange creatures in the world. No matter how bad or challenge a situation is, they will find ways to overcome it. I'm sure all will agree. Remember the time when we were 1st preggy with #1, all those morning sickness, weak in energy to scare of child birthing to, taking care of bb alone to now, all great experience mummies here discussing and sharing opinions.

I must say, I'm still learning a lot of things here from mummies, and sometimes suggestion here trigger me that caring for baby is not a straight path, got to be flexible, tiral and error.

Been busy for the past 2 weeks, no time to log in and wah...so many things going on liao.
sometimes, after so long then log in, i feel out of place leh..

RE: 1 yr old birthday bash/party for Nov babies
Wow, this is a great idea! I would love to join in.

I've put my name under 6th Dec and regarding what I could help, I'm not very sure oso..so I'll enter my name under Misc. Just let me know
what I can help and I'll be glad to.

Latest update for birthday bash!!

Closing date: 17 Jul

Saturday, 5 Dec
1) alibaba
2) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
3) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel

Sunday, 6 Dec
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
4) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
5) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy

Here's the committee positions. Please volunteer if u wanna help ya?

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Baby23
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
9) Party bags #2 - Alibaba
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash , moomummy
12) Photographer - Joycelyn, wtan (maybe can g help frm 2 frens)
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

<font color="aa00aa">mummy2nia,
count me in, too.
same as moomummy... not very sure what i can help. just let me know if need my help and I'll be glad to.</font>

Saturday, 5 Dec
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel

Sunday, 6 Dec
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Baby23
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Admin - mummy2nia
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

hi jo,babyzel,alibaba and the rest,
nice meeting all of you and ur baby last sunday.
my gal is fine, she was sleeping on the way back home,reach home everything back to usual,can smile and jump again. Luckily no bumps on her head,maybe protected by the headband ba. That was her first fall actually, and first time see her cried so badly until i also can't control my tears..so paiseh.

Saturday, 5 Dec
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel

Sunday, 6 Dec
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 -
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Admin - mummy2nia

Remove my nick from Deco#3 as i won't be in sg for these date.

haru,
wanna ask u can attend how many times the trial for aquaducks?=)

welcome back Kiki. =)

btw for the birthday bash, any idea where the venue will be?and how long is the event?big boss miderina, can comment? =)hehe

Snowny,
u r rite..all mothers are wei da one lor!we can dun eat but we wont let our bb starve.. will always give the best to our bb..rite?so no matter how tough the journey all of us will raise our kids in he best way we can.. rite?
but i really take my hat off u as to how u can manage to cook with 2 kids?they will play by themselves and allow u to cook?sorry leh..coz i only manage to cook 1 meal at day and sometimes none.. so eat out lor..

<font color="ff0066"> Kiki</font>
Pls help me to update. Bb Janessa at 6.5 mths
Weight - 7.8kg / Height - 69cm / Still TBF but 1x night feed 90ml S26 Gold. Thks.

<font color="ff0066"> Snowwy</font>
Yah... I agree tat having a routine is important. Tats how I get by daily too. But once the schedule is out of wack... I will become agitated cos everything like cannot run smoothly liaoz. The most sianz house chore for me is folding and sorting the laundry. Somemore everyday will have 1-2 loads of laundry to do. If I skip 1-day of laundry, it will pile up till almost Mt Everest liaoz. AArrgghh....

But I really pei-fu you cos you seem to be coping really well managing your gals and housework too. I'm getting more and more tired everyday. Really dunno how you get the energy leh. Got any secret recipe boh? heheheheh...

ok... me gotta go liaoz... running around sending my gals off to their schools then settle lunch and come back settle housework b4 the mayhem starts again. Hope got chance to pop in again later. hahahahahah...
2658034.gif

hey Dymples,
same here leh.. i also hate to fold laundry.. so now i dun care let it pile high up then i'll fold slowly.. hehehe..
oh ya btw,ur janessa not taking solid?
me also need to go too.. got to do housework.. haiz..

galdolphin,
now we have 2 volunteers of condo's function room. 1 is at CCK another at bukit batok, yet to decide. Any more volunteers willing to help in bOOKing their function rooms?

Event would prob take maximum 2 to 3 hours, after that will b sitting ard and chat if you wan.

galdolphin,
you can attend e trial once. =>

can any mummy advise if i can grind washed brown rice in advance even if i am not cooking it on same day? if can, i will just grind it for the weekend in advance to save me some time!=P

Kiki,
Pls help me to update too.
Baby Yu-Qi's weight as at 7mths 7.1kg.
Still on total breast milk + 1 feed cereal and 1 feed porridge.

Umm??? i v confused lei.. dymples on 19nov and joyce ur yuqi on 11nov.. then janessa shd b 7.5mths liao mah.. y she say 6.5mths?? and urs shd b close to 8mths already why u only put 7mths.. ???

nut> they actually indicating their last weight mah. tat time they weight bb was 6.5 or 7mth.

nut/minky> btw i cant make it to the dinner tonight.. v tired.. nv slp well with both my sons.. one turbo engine sooo loud.. the other one i tink oso kanna disturbed..&amp; cranky.. -_-

solid>
once started porridge , mus fix a meal of porridge a day for bb ev day ah??

MSN>
tink co blocked msn..couldnt log in since morning... damn sianz..

bb cranky:
last nite slept with her and good thing it was one of the better nights.. slept 945pm and in between a bit of her usual tossing and turnings but only really start whining at 5am for milk.. 7.30am really started crying liao then... -_-.. while i was stil attempted to see if she wan to sleep further.. my that MIL came in and her usual loud voice "ki lai liao ah!!!!" i feel like killing her.. i know she did it on purpose.. wan bb to wake up earlier cos lately bb doens't take lots of day naps so i tink she no wan her to sleep so much! Angryz.. i shd locked my door in future. Good thing b had a better night rest so i let it b.. If it had been a bad nite and she stil like tt i sure show her super black face and insist let bb sleep longer..

Anyway my ah ni is well known for her crankiness.. but lately these days she's even worst!!! Now i hear her whine i really pek chek... any of the bb here stil tt cranky ??

baby23,
If I'm u, I will also kan chiong and worry for baby ... tears will roll down naturally. No worries. Good to hear that ur gal is fine. Whats her name ah? Sorry I'm not good at remember baby names.

kiki,
U're back ... hope r u feeling better.
BB update: Lucas 8mths old, 8.3kg, but I yet take his height eh. Opps. Hehe.

alibaba,
I DIDNT KNOW u GOT 2 SONS woh. Both also popped out liao.

ali> no msn?!? If i no msn, i will be like disconnect from the outside world.
Not necessary must fix ev day must have porridge la. U now giving cereal? N what else?

<font color="0000ff">nut,
sleep at 9:45pm, cry for milk at 5am, wake up at 7:30am = not too bad liao lah. Slowly train.

My Nat had pattern worse than this lei &amp; till today she still mostly wake up at ard 6:30~7am no matter what time she KO the nite b4...so sianzzz.</font>

nut> ur mil really zhen shi de...last night ur nini quite gd slp leh..mine one yday 11.30pm den slp hor.. give him milk he drink abit den doze off , try to feed him but he dun wan suck liao.. &amp; i throw the rest of the milk .&amp; he woke up at 2am.... cry den give him milk.... fight with me awhile den koon.. last night #1 engine so loud &amp; non stop!! i really so pek chek til i kick him he oso bo reaction... -_- bb cry so loud beside him can stil cont'd snore...

jo> u duno i got 2 sons meh? haaa..my #1 is the daddy &amp; #2 is BB T...

lilian> yah..
shld be kanna blocked...

BB T taking healthy times cereal ev day sometimes fruit puree / porridge.. i tink he like apple same as me =)

Thanks mummies for all your hug hug and kiss kiss :D Feel so loved!
I'm feeling better now... life still goes on...

Baby Stats
anymore updates?

Since most of you all started solid on babies liao, can I also collect data what have you fed ur baby?

Being an adventurous organic mummy, I've tried the following for BBQ:
pear, apple, avocado, sweet potato, potato, zucchini, turnips, spinach, brocolli, cauliflower, french beans, green beans, apricot, brown rice porridge, lean meat, lenthils, egg yolk, green beans, carrot, tofu, kiwi, banana, pumpkin, tomato...

wahaha of cos not everything BBQ likes lah.. mummies share share leh

jjmom
last nite was jus 1 of the few better nites she has.. her sleep has been rather bad for the last couple of mths.. I'm angry is becos wat if she had a bad nite and stil wan to sleep? Then mil jus come in and tok so loudly and went ahead carry her up liao.. like no respect for the mother and snatching the bb away (aft opening the door couple of times to check if bb woke up).. at least if she checked with me whether bb slept ok and say she has slept enough then i wont feel tt angry rite..

Anyway.. my mil overall is nice lady and i appreciate her for all the help.. but sometimes i really can't tahan her and i think likewise she feels tt too.. Really can't stay together for long.. any good relationships wil also turn sour

kiki> being a lazy mummy like me so far BB T
tried apple, potato, carrot, pear,cereal &amp; porridge nia..
oh yah today pumpkin with porridge..

he is taking cereal once a day, on FM &amp; Partial BM / try to give porridge ev day

kiki duck> Sooo long your list !!! !!! !!!
Dun think i wanna share my list with u liao :p

siaonut, then beta lock your room door! I will be damn angry too. No manners.

wah Kiki.. tts a lot!! so far for me:
potato, sweet potato, brocoli, pumpkin, sweetcorn, carrot, spinach, chicken stock, lean meat, fish, frog legs, apple, pear, avocado, egg yolk, brown rice, kuay toew, mee sua, ice cream wahhaaa...

btw if bb nv finish the portion u made. u will still keep trying to give or jus stop since dont want liao??

nut> wat's nini's fav food?

alibaba
above ingredients r for porridge/meesua/kuay teow.. apple/pear puree is mixed into her brown rice/wheat cereal every morning or take alone early nite aft dinner. So far she takes the porridge etc quite ok.. i can't really pinpoint which is her fav lei..

lilian: my list long meh? don't like that lah share share leh.. dun tell me u only tried rice cereal hor

peanut ur list so cute! Got frog leg and ice-cream somemore.

Oh I also fed BBQ roti prata today (LOL)! He dun really like it!

Usually BBQ will finish the food quite fast if he really likes it, else he will show me an ugly face &amp; start wailing, then no choice I'll throw away..

umm.. if my bb can take half of the pigeon orange bowl then i satisfied liao.. I will try giving if she resist a bit but if she continue keeping lips shut or burp or make a bit of vomit sound then i know she v full liao so wil stop giving. But sometimes when she resist and i giv her 15-30mins break.. after tt she'll take some again

<font color="aa00aa">Fifi..I ask daddy to go into the water.

Maggie - I change with your friend : ), my friend also 3pm slot,easiler. U let her noe k.</font>

Kiki
frog legs is for the porridge flavour nia.. i tried to mash some meat but not much for her.. Icecream a little bit let her eat for fun ony and to keep her quiet while we adults eat.. not the whole scoop!

fifi, for aqua duck trial daddy will be goin in the water... i will be standing outside taking pics!

kiki, baby kiran's last stats @ 7 mths: weight 9.5kg, height 74cm, BF+semi solids twice a day!
foods tried so far: spinach, peas, cai xin, brocoli, apple, pear, peach, apricot, banana, papaya, brown rice porridge, threadfin fish poridge, beef porridge, chicken porridge, potato, carrot, sweet potato (tummy ache+very gassy), pumpkin, butternut squash ( this gives him rashes!), celery, onion... next on my agenda is tomato &amp; cauliflower!

Hello! finally got time to log in.

Joyce, actually NTUC sells short grain brown rice at their organic section. NTUC sells this brand.
http://www.lundberg.com/products/products_home.aspx
Here's a pix of it.

http://www.goodnessdirect.co.uk/detail/211178b.jpg

Haru, won't recommend u give EYS shi shen fen.. got herbs in there.
as long as u dry the rice thoroughly u can keep it. why can't u just wash the neccessary amt daily if u are not blending it? cos if u wash a lot and nv dry properly u might be encouraging fungal growth. SOmetimes u can't even see them growing! I usually wash abt 250g, dry it by sunning and then blend it.
again i won't recommend u use oven or frying pan cos the heat is too much and will denature all the proteins/ nutrients in there.
usually the boiling point of oil is quite low (can be as low as 70deg) hence u might be destroying them. Also i sun my washed rice indoor, where i get the aftn sun. so i'm not worried abt dust and all.

Joycelyn, today my porridge too dry!! HAIZZZ!!

Peanut, it just struck me. Could Nini's slping probs be due to her diet??? i know of ppl who swear that fruits are to be taken before meals cos fibres are harder to digest. May be when u give her fruit/ veg purees in the evenings, u might be making her uncomfy! anyway i think u have been giving her quite a bit of rubbish leh! may be her tummy dun feel gd.
just my thought ya? if she is noisy during ur dinner, u shdn't give her ice-cream lah..

Kiki, miss u!
Hrmm Z's last weigh at 6.5 mths was 8.2kg. still on TEBM, one meal of porridge + one puree a day. Food tried (quite pathetic): butternut, pumpkin, peas (rash), carrots (rash) and sweet potato.

Blustar, tomato is to be given when our kids are older cos they may be too acidic for our bbs to handle.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/tomatoesbabyfoodrecipes.htm

Bear
the fruit puree not every nite give.. and we happen to giv her last nite but her sleep turns out ok.. so i dun tink its e fruit..
hahaa.. re. rubbish.. i so far only giv icecream.. and its jus a liiiiitle bit. other than this i stil giv her the usual normal bb food. Those meesua/kuay teow/ and other rubbish al given by MIL and hubby!! and not as if i never say dun giv but wat can i do when they dun listen or do behind my back!

<font color="0000ff">nut,
aiyoh...y your mil keep coming in 2 check on bb. This may cause bb not to sleep well too mah
Y she want nini to take more naps?

at this stage, our bb needs abt 2~3naps in the daytime nia, total shd b ard 3+hrs. Abt 30~45min for morning nap, 2hrs noon nap, then if bb din nap well, can take another 30~45min afternoon nap.</font>