(2008/11) November 2008

heloo mummies! me so busy that have to eat,pump, do work at the same time. =P

blustar,
guess baby H is a real foodie coz so far she's taken to everything well w/o any adverse reaction. oh, thanks for the tips to help her move her bowels! gave her prunes for a few days and it really helped (e poop became really dark like prunes too). and she really LOVES eating prunes puree. when i gave it to her with cereal, she eats it all up in double speed!

babyzel,
how did baby R like tofu? coz its pretty tasteless on its own rite? i think its nice to start with tofu for protein food too, easy to digest too. but am waiting a couple of weeks before i move on to meats and tofu for baby.

re:porridge
any mummies also yet to intro porridge yet? i am still only giving cereal. noticed that if i give her slightly lumpier fruits/veg puree or mash, she will gag. plus she has no teeth yet so not really rushing porridge..

received, thanks alot adenmummy.

<font color="0000ff">Lynn,

u were saying me huh =P? i m really fat at the tummy leh, still like 5 mths preggie till now. Wear swim suit will b super ugly mah. Dunno how to get rid of it, no time to do sit up

haru
my colleague jus said for tofu can add in a liiiiitle bit of soya sauce for some taste.. otherwise too bland liao they may not wan to take it alone..

adenmummy
suddenly i wish home only me and bb no one else.. not even husband.. so watever way i make my bb sleep no one will comment!

Aden's Mummy: She is impossible one! she is one of a kind MIL. super irritating.. she talk very loud at home as if our house very big like bungalow.. sorry loi we stay in 3 room flat only. worst.. at night she can do weird thing like if bb is asleep she like to touch those plastic bags..tell her to shhh... she will repeat herself " i know.. bb sleep ma." very loud.. can faint.. she is the kampong pattern one la..we stay at those like the highest floor is 4th floor.. we stay at ground floor.. u know which weather she like the most? rainy day!! why? cause she can collect rain water and wash her clothes! super right.. i also never see such pp.. sometime i see her i find very funny.. but super irritating.. my mom always educate us not to talk when your mouth is full.. she did it loi.. Sit With your legs cross.. she sit like a man .. wear skirt some more.. and worst..haha.. she never close the door when she urine.. buay tahan.. her children is 2 sons.. i reali don understand her.. i see pp lowly educated.. but they behaved have good manner.. but she is super.. *look ard.. see my HB ard.. scare kena struggle..* published live on net" ^0^

Peanut,

It's easy to make the montage

You copy those photos you like and paste it in word doc...adjust the size etc, then hold on to shift and click on all the photos, right click and group all the photos together. Then copy the whole photo, paste on Paint . then make any adjustment you want. then save the pic as Jpeg. bingo it's done

jjmom: tummy i thought very difficult to no more esp after giving birth... unless u lucky got family inherit super skinny.. me also have lei.. my family side more on the fleshy side one.. sit up.. cannot la.. i lazy plus no stamina.. starting will very on but long will give up. use lazy method.. i wear a girdle. i think it helps.. maybe can try, or after food don sit down.. my gynae last time tell me to suck my tummy in whenever you are.. it like tighten the tummy. i think it reali help. n very easy to do

haru: start porridge when you think u are comfortable.. cause that time i try to start bb early.. he also gag on it.. worst he vomit 2 times.. till i very scare.. i reali start porridge on him is when he is abt 7 mth.. this is what i normally do.. the porridge i cook till reall very soft..the pork i put for him to eat.. i minced it and blend till very small bits.. n the vegetable i blend and feed him.. maybe it helps. it works for brandon.

lilian &amp; snnowy, thanks for inviting me to your FB!

Lynn, your mil is very extreme!! esp the "never close door when she urine"! aiyo...

<font color="0000ff">Lynn,
vy sianzzz abt my fat tummy lah, my sis also like me. The rest of the body still ok, juz the tummy cannot rid off. lagi ugly loh, imagine thin with a tummy, like still preggie.

Suck in the tummy, tat's what my sis is doing but i cannot leh, vy xin ku for me

Wear girdle, vy warm, already sweating when carry bb...sigh</font>

mummies, do u all use slow cooker? i personally find it very good to use a slow cooker to cook bb's porridge cos really can cook everything until very soft and mashy, and best of all no need to watch over the stove.

i just chop the fish and veg until very small bits and throw them into together with the rice.

my gal oso vomitted when we first introduced porridge but after a while when she got used to eating, she's been doing fine since.

<font color="aa00aa">peanut
i tell you, initially i also like that wan, scared my mil make noise. cos 1st time i try i try the CIO method ma.. so when she came over fr HK we still carry carry rock rock aden lor.. until she herself cannot put him to sleep then she commented "u knw we will put baby in the room and let him cry, no need always carry" then i look at my husband, he look at me, then we quickly put aden in the room to cry.. hahhhaa~

JJmom - Sleep Training
Background - Co-sleep ---> Bassinet next to bed ---> Own room own cot
Aden will be latching on to me and falling asleep. and at nite he wld wake up, suckle and fall back to sleep. He will only sleep after 10pm and must be carried and rocked. So i tried to push forward his bedtime and bathe time to before 9pm. So we tried to be consistent, bath, book, bottle, bed..
Initially we tried the CIO method solely, but realised that it didn't really work well for us. So we incorperated abit of CIO, and abit of soothing assurances. Instead of carrying him the whole way, we carried till he's drowsy but awake, put him down, and if he made noise, pat him and re-assured him.

Slowly within 2weeks, aden was sleeping in his bassinet, the bath time was brought forward to 8pm, he managed to sleep after the bottle. at 12am we would dream feed him, and he wld wake up at abt 3ish or 4ish for milk. we gave. and in the morning he'll wake abt 7plus 8plus and play on his own in the bassinet.

After shifting him to his own room own cot, we slowly moved up the bath time to 7pm, so he sleeps after the bottle, and still we dream feed him at 11ish, and in the morning b4 hb goes to work he feed him again..

I wld suggest to try the sleep training with the care-giver or ur hb together, like this you'll get more support and motivation to carry it out thoroughly..

Like what other mummies would tell you, every baby is different so what worked for me, may or may not work for you, until u try u'll nv know..

<font color="aa00aa">Lynn
Aiyoo, like that use kampung style method to talk to her? mayb she is those chor lor chor lor type, den do things the garang way gua...</font>

peanut: haha.. i thought i got a super MIL, yours also.. hey hey.. next time we introduced both MILs to each other.. they makes great friends! haha...

Sleep training: Wa you ladies are in the topic of sleep training? My bb like yours, Aden's mummy.. can doze off after his milk.. he must sleep at 8pm or can be early.. will roll on the bed, play with his bolster.. same same.. clean up, milk then sleep. but mine one problem need pacifier and need me to patpat the backside. plus his music.. n the room must off light.. yours can sleep from 7 to 7.. mine only from 830 to 6am.. funny he reach 6am.. automatically will goes "ahhhhhh..." in his cot.. haha..
i also cannot use the CIO method.. too cruel for me.. my MIL and HB will buay tahan one.

nvm lar, try other method, u read the notes and pluck out what will work within the "hse rules" and try. sometimes got old ppl ard tough lar, cos they also got "their" method and beliefs..

i gg back hk next week for 10days, also dunno hw will it affect aden's sleep routine.. *crosses fingers*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Lynn
actually 8-6 considered good liao leh.. i din try the CIO all the way, cos i got a weak heart.. hear him cry too long i give up liao.. so change abit here, change abit there, minimise the crying then trial and error lor..
initially aden also got use the paci, then now he like wean himself off, now its more like a toy to him =.="
i also wanted to try play music, but our hse got no hi-fi..hahaa </font>

joyce
cos she tot she in her bedroom toilet no one wil go in and see mah. but sometime i look for her then go in see liao lor.. gosh.. good ting so far ony pigu haven seen the front yet

My ah lau is honkie.. hahaa~
which is good, cos me and my mil got language barrier, very easy for me to pua bodoh, act blur.. hehe</font>

Yr MILs realli power sia!

I initially thought gagging means the baby don't like t food. Now i know it may be the change in texture

I also want to find out abt brown rice porridge.

wah. the mil so "bao lu" haa..

lynn> ur mil sound like my fren's mil.. we rate her as monster in law. lolz... she is v loud speaker too! she told me she v paiseh to go out with her. becos she can jus shout across the road. even her hb oso felt paiseh. wan dig hole &amp; hide.

I have 4 tins of Happy Bellie Brown Rice cereal to let go... cos i ordered excess from Amazon. Anyone keen? PM me ok... thanks

I give brown rice and white rice mix for porriage.

How to prepare:
Wash and dry the rice (I use oven). Grind it abit with U-Like blender. Keep in fridge till want to cook.

I never blend white rice coz my gal wants the texture.

JJmom,
i think fifi is giving brown rice if i m not wrong. As for me, i mixed brown rice and white rice, 3/4 brown and 1/4 white..

<font color="0000ff">brown rice porridge :
was told need to soak with a little water overnite in the fridge to soften it.</font>

JJmom/Lilian,
yup it stressful when there are comparison between DILs and I turned out to be the fussy one. My other 2 SILs leave their babies 24/7 in my MIL and aunty's home. They will visit the baby 3-4 times a week after their work and leave about 9pm to go home. To me, it's as if visiting someone else's babies. Come, carry a while, they eat dinner, play with baby a while and go home.

I won't be able to do that. My kids never leave my sight. Last time with my #1, everywhere I go, #1 will follow. The 1st and only time I left home w/o her was to go and give birth to #2. Till now, I will never sleep unless I make sure they have slept and blanket is covered. i will never eat till I make sure the kiddos are bathed and eaten. To them, i'm over motherly. That why my kids are closer to me and MIL blamed it on my bfing cos none of my SILs bfed any of the children. PIL had to resore of ways of tempting them with ice-cream/mango pudding in order to carry them.

They tell me, she is young, how much can she be eating when she fed her with ice cream. But the fact that she finished a bar of ice cream tells me she is eating ALOT lor.

Bear,
I also prepared my baby's porridge when i last visited then my MIL told me next time dun need to preopare, She will cook extra since she is already cooking for 2 babies there. That's my worst fear cos she cooked baby dried scallop porridge and add salt to it. It's tasty but too heavy for the baby's kidney isn't it?

snnowy
"Come, carry a while, they eat dinner, play with baby a while and go home. "
Sounds familiar... Oh, thats me too. hahah..
I dunno about your SILs la, on top of all that, i have to feed my bb, wash her bottles/bowls, steam &amp; assemble t bottles, put her to bed. Everything within 2 hrs.

Is putting dried scallop to porridge OK anot huh? If it's not, then i beta stop my mama from putting liao!

<font color="0000ff">snnowy,
yes, no sugar/salt till after 1yo

I vy kiasi mom, even scallop, i avoid coz it's shell. i worried abt allergy =P

Tat day, my mil cooked barley, she know i said no sugar then she put in those dry melon. I also rejected, worried dry melon also sugared. She bobian... =P</font>

i jus told my mil yest can try putting dry scallop into porridge for taste.. but she say better not.. cos dry scallop actually contains MSG!!!

Aden's mummy,
Go to top right hand corner under search: singapore motherhood - Nov 2008 mothers and babies. it will give you the link and you click on the icon "request to join the group" and someone will approve you.
I cant invite you to join cos your approval not yet updated in my profile.