enne,
i understand the situation of your #1. Coz my #1, who is turning 2 next month is same. in CC, i was told she is totally a different child when I am not around. When I am around, she changed totally to whiney and cry etc. My mum also said that. When I am ard, #1 doesn't want anybody at all! Cannot even change her diapers, feed, or shower, or even talk to her. Everything is "mummy mummy mummy carry". She doesn't even want my hb. Basically, i hardly handle my bb when my #1 is ard as she will go bersek if i dun attend to her. Sometimes, I also lost temper and beat her, scold her, yank her hard etc... perhaps like what ur MIL did to your #1. Ur MIL must have said those hurtful words out of anger. It is definitely not easy to handle an active (and now ill with flu) toddler plus a baby and all the housework! She still has to cook for your all! Goodness! I find she is a superwoman as she is an elderly somemore. Why dun u all tabao dinner or order tingkat dinner to help ease her load? Or i agree that in your situation, u may need to either engage a helper to help ur MIL with housework, or best, to send your #1 to CC. Hope bb L will recover from his fever soon. I believe the whole family is very stress now...so it is human nature to "loose it" at times. But I think juz need to try to stay objective and help each other out. As for #1, think they really just want mummy's special attention.
dymples
i dunno how big is my playmat leh...bought it from small small world like in early 2007 even before i gave birth to #1! But the play yard is 6-panel...slightly bigger then the mat. U can call up the chinatown shop to ask them for the exact measurement? I also bought the playyard long time ago during #1 so threw away the box liao...
alibaba,
no leh, i can't remember having the playmat sticking on my flooring... perhaps coz my floor is not marble but homogenous tiles? is there any other corner of your house u can put the playmat? If yes, then u can fence it easily
minkybear, my house is now full of toys! I even have a playhouse in my living room for my #1 to play inside! Initially wanted to buy a big big kitchen for her but stopped myself! Hengz! I even got a slide for her too in the house!
bear,
hope ur neck recover soon. oh dear...why bb Z is waking up at nite?
spin
ur MIL is so fake hor...why act differently when ur hb is ard? horrible woman...