(2008/11) November 2008

Mildy u guilty ah!!! why must see if we are around???

Enne, so happy Baby L is back! one big hurdle crossed! u have been doing so well that i think u guys will do great at home!

Thanks u guys for ur concern.. my mum had a cancer scare but luckily her biopsy came back negative. she was supposed to just go for laprascopy.. ended up with a 4hrs surgery.. doc couldn't remove 100% of the growth some more.

Haru, i just got the Evenflo exersaucer! oops.. Isetan Katong was having a sale:$169 for it when the usual price is $399.. bad news is.. i think i bought the last one. But Kiddy Palace is selling the Leapfrog one at $199.. usual price is $249.. can consider..

Jo, my boy is the same as urs.. this morning i was already carrying him but he still scream so loudly! scream until face red.. dunno why.. brought him in front of the mirror then he tiam tiam.

Mosh, my boy likes to see the pictures in the soft books.. u might wanna get some to entice ur bb.

Fifi: I am interested in the Happy Bellies the brown rice.. I like to try one tin. How to order?

Exersaucer: I reckon mummies to rent first before buy. cause i ever rent one for my bb, he refuse to sit in, end up have to change toy.. I think is Evenflo. mummies can try renting first, they have leapfrog n fisherprice ones.

bear: sounds like my boy is the same as yours. now playing his toes but still cannot flip. I try letting him tummy time, he will grumble and scream. don think he like.. he preferred to sit up and kapo..

Sleeptime: bb don like to sleep in yao lan anymore. waste my money buy the electric yao lan... haiz.. he has his last feed at 8plus, clean up and also tell storytime.. he will roll on my bed, play with his bolster.. need me to pat his backside and sayang his head (background must have music) then wails a bit then can doze off.. special weapon: his pacifier.. hehe..:p

Bad habit: recently my boy has developed a very bad habit.. he like to urine only when i remove his diaper.. happens thrice today.. so angry.. wet my bed.. any mummies started potty training yet?

IUD: I want to try inserting this lei.. very scare will kena the second one.. any mummies have try using this? painful anot? heard is insert on the spot.. n how much?

bear: sounds like my boy is the same as yours. now playing his toes but still cannot flip. I try letting him tummy time, he will grumble and scream. don think he like.. he preferred to sit up and kapo..

Sleeptime: bb don like to sleep in yao lan anymore. waste my money buy the electric yao lan... haiz.. he has his last feed at 8plus, clean up and also tell storytime.. he will roll on my bed, play with his bolster.. need me to pat his backside and sayang his head (background must have music) then wails a bit then can doze off..usually ard 9pm if he is good. latest is 10pm special weapon: his pacifier.. hehe..:p

Bad habit: recently my boy has developed a very bad habit.. he like to urine only when i remove his diaper.. happens thrice today.. so angry.. wet my bed.. any mummies started potty training yet?

IUD: I want to try inserting this lei.. very scare will kena the second one.. any mummies have try using this? painful anot? heard is insert on the spot.. n how much?

chilipad: ur kids r so cute! older child looks eurasian..r they eurasian? I would love to get playmat too..but Hb say maybe playpen..sigh which now man.. Which design did u get..i like the one u have.

Any mummies here are editors/ ex-editors? Esp. food editors..can write well?

Bear,
there are so many diff designs for the exersaucer i dun know which one to try out lei..which one did u get?

Lynn,
honestly i can count with my fingers e number of times that hubby and i have "done it" since delivery. everytime we hit the bed, we Zzzz in less than 2 mins. ha..

Dymples,
e lady never reply me about my interest to order the HK playmat..do you happen to have her contact no? kinda need e playmat soon...=P

Update on Sprees:

#1 Drugstore Spree
Closed.

#2 IPlay Swimwear Spree
Closed.

#3 Happy Bellies Cereal BP
<font color="ff0000">CLOSING on FRI 3 APR 2009 @ 9PM SG TIME.</font>

#4 Liferacer Swimwear
Stay tuned.

#5 u-Like Blender
<font color="ff0000">CLOSING on FRI 3 APR 2009 @ 9PM SG TIME.</font>

Courier service available @ $7 per trip per location. Size limit applies. Too many items, etc will cost more.

bb scream:

My boy really screams badly. Had an agreement with hb this morning, need to beat his backside when he scream and not to make it a bad habit for bb .. as expected MIL will be the rescuer.

My boy woke up at 10+pm .. think he is hungry and still sleepy ... bottlefeed him .. drank abt 60ml then refuse le so I spoonfeed him ... after sometime he scream so badly .. hb beat his hand and backside .. till he cry until so cham ... my heartpain and tears roll down .. but cannot go sayang bb .. then MIL carried bb up and say my hb why beat bb, he still so small. Hb tell her off .. we teach him, u go sayang him, next time how he will listen ..ask her go teach him in future. I carried him away from MIL to continue to feed him ... he cried till cannot cool down .. so I gave him pacifer, rest awhile and feed. But still cldnt cool down ... and scream. In the end, I stopped feeding him and put him to bed.

hiyoh jo...baby so young cry means has some needs just that maybe ur HB dun know what bb wants..poor thing shouldn't beat him..he's not a toddler or older when understand things..

Better not beat the baby...;(

Lately could be weather very hot baby keep crying can turn on aircon.

haru: i highly recommend the evenflo triple fun exersaucer...i got it at $309. paragon sell $400+ and kaki bukit $349.

Super fun for my baby she loves it. Can sit and play quite long more than 20-30 mins very long practise standing too.

Jo
Poor Lucas... He so young wun understand why ur hb beats him de.
If ur hb a bit hot-tempered or impatient (like me la) then try not to let him do t feeding job or handle crying bb. Smtimes i also get angry when my gal refuse to drink and scream. I'll pass her to my hb to continue.
Beating a child at a young age may let him 'thinks' tat it is OK to beat someone whenever angry. So it becomes a vicious cycle. I read somewhere de.

i'm a mom from the Oct 08 thread. My SIL's personal fren's son has got Leukemia and needs B negative blood. Pls help to forward this message on.

Dear Friends,

My friend's little boy, Barney Allan Jeffs, is in need of B negative blood. The blood bank does not have any B negative blood in storage as it is fairly uncommon blood type in Asians. If you are B negative blood type please contact me so we can add your name to a donor list specifically for donation to Barney. The Blood Bank will follow up by contacting you to ask you to come in and donate. If you contact the blood bank directly, they have told us they will give the blood to the next B negative recipient in need.

Barney is 5 years old and he was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia unexpectedly on Tuesday. His only symptoms were that he had been tired and pale during the past week. Today Barney had a bone marrow aspiration test to type his Leukemia and received his first infusion of Platelets and Blood to increase his blood count to an acceptable level so that he can have a central IV line placed tomorrow. The line will allow him to start receiving chemotherapy. As there was no B negative blood available in Singapore this evening, he had to be given B positive blood tonight. This not only increases his chances of a reaction to the blood, but it means he has to have a special injection so that his body won't react to the rhesus positive blood. As you can imagine, each additional injection is torture to a five year old!

Barney's battle with Leukemia will be a long and hard one. The family has been living in Singapore several years and his mom Annie is Irish and his dad David is from New Zealand. They are alone here without family to help them through this, so any support we can give them by trying to get donors is very much appreciated. Please help to forward the request especially around the Caucasian communities in Singapore that are more likely to have people of B negative blood type. The hospital has explained that Barney will require many transfusions of blood and platelets over this initial first week of treatment and in the coming months and a list of at least ten donors will be needed.

Thank you to those who have already started circulating information out. Please do have people continue to contact me if they can donate. We have already had a great initial response of 5 Irish B negative donors tonight but more are needed. Please contact me by phone or email with your name, IC or passport number, contact number and date of birth so I can collate the listing to send to the blood bank.

Sincerely,

Erin
9833-4954
Friend of Annie, David and Barney Jeffs

If you are not B negative, but wish to donate to blood bank you may want to visit www.redcross.org.sg

hey Jo,
dun take it too hard ok? babies normally cry for the few reasons; hungry, tired/sleepy, need a diaper change or sometimes all they want is some love and affection (body contact). so even if beat them at this age, they won't understand. i feel that babies at this age deserve all the love and affection no matter what. the disciplining can come a little later. Lucas is just probably trying to tell your hubby something if he cries during feed, eg. I am not hungry and just wanna sleep.. don't worry, it is prob just a passing phase. My bb is currently goin thru e "hate car rides" phase too now..hahah..

hi blessed11,

Yes, my gals are eurasian. we got the pooh flowerhill but I used the reverse with the alphabat so that we can expose emma to them. I have a playpen as well but decided to go with this mat as it will be used for a long time especially when baby is crawling and learning to walk. It's really so comfy that last nite my hb laid on the mat and refuse to move cos' he said it was very "siok". In the mornings when I am getting ready to leave the house, I leave emma there while I pack and chase after megan. So far I feel that it's a very good investment, no regrets at all. If you want to get, go to the BP section and check, I think one of the organiser is going to organize one in April. The piece I got was $165 inclusive of delivery.

Jo,
I guess ur hb "beat" is just a light pat right?But need to tell ur hb that bb is still young, cannot discipline so early as he cannot communicate with us. crying is his only means of communication. crying cld be a few things, hungry, dirty, wind in the tummy causing tummy ache, had a nitemare, hot or just wants to be cuddled. Emma is going thru the phase of "I have decided that I am going to wake up at 1am and cry every hour till 6am" but we realized tht she may be teething and thus the discomfort. so have patience. If Lucas cries non-stop, just pick him up and cuddle him. It will calm him down.

Haru,
Emma now refuse to sit in her carseat. Cries and wriggle but bo pian we have to belt her in. So we always get meg to sing to her than she will calm down for a while.

Jo,

My bb also did that sometimes ago. My hubby tell me to just leave her there to scream and cry but I cannot tahan. Sometimes I also got frustrated and beat her but not using alot of strength lah kekke.. Then I will regret later...

Just like wat the mummies say bb still small, they are trying to communicate something just that we duno what they are trying to say. So we have to be more patient with them. Sometimes they just want to be cuddled.

As for my bb, she kept waking at ard 2-3am to scream and cry. At first my hubby ask me to ignore her and poor thing she cry to slp. After 1-2 days I cannot tahan and try to cuddle her when she cry. Well after abt 3-4days of cuddling her, she stop waking up to cry at that hr. Guess she just need some attention bah

Or maybe they are feeling uncomfy, could be stomach wind, or just plain tired but dun wanna slp

Gd morning. Finally back at work.. Z seems much better.. appetite also picked up already.

Jo, erm i don't think now is the time to be disciplining either. they simply have no concept of how we want them to behave. they might link it to the things they were doing. i.e. drinking will get punished etc. there is nothing wrong with him screaming, just the way they communicate. just imagine u can't talk, can only smile or cry to express ur feelings. u uncomfy or not happy, def won't be smiling right? just coax him slowly lor. But i understand how helpless u feel when ur boy cries and screams. Recently mine also like that.. hb and I even shout at him but we nv once smack him. more like yelling together with him to see who yells louder. sometimes it works cos he nv hear us raising our voices before so he will keep quiet to see if we will repeat it. haha..

Anyway my boy is now undergoing i-don't-wanna-wear-clothes stage. aft his shower, he will be screaming when we try to dress him.. sigh..

Haru, i got the Evenflo exersaucer Ultra 2-in-1. I read reviews that the one Blessed got is the most popular one. quite ex though.. mine was just $169 so cannot complain!!

Lynn, my boy loves tummy time.. we put toys around him so now can start to see him struggling to move his body so he can reach his toys. usually tummytime he can last abt 15mins per session now. I have no idea why he doesn't wanna flip but with a little help he always flips. i think he too lazy.

Bear

Glad that Z is better now

My bb also love tummy time but dun wanna flip last time. She wil scream and cry for help to flip over. There was once she was screaming for help to flip but I was doing housework so I tot I shall go to her later. She got so frustrated and maybe angry that she use alot of strength to kick and flip herself over...kekeke, she got a shock but then she learn that she can flip on her own. From then on I stopped helping her to flip and let her "explore" on her own. She can now flip over on her left side

I am emeraldbride from Dec 08 thread.

I am consolidating orders for Petite Creations Baby Cube 2oz @ $11 per tray of 8. BP will end tomorrow so that I can place the order over the weekend.

If anyone of u interested, please PM me okay.

Fifi, u can transfer $22 to my OCBC Savings 534-9-079078. I can pass the cubes to Snowger since she is staying ard ur block

Mosh,
Baby Vernish is so lovely and adorable. She has so much hair. Emma's hair dropped so now she looks like a boy. It will take a while for her hair to grow. Iy's true that u need to let them explore on their own. Babies learn very fast.

the news on shortage of B negative blood type really scare me...

boi boi why you have O negative blood type. both daddy n mummy is O positive leh...

chillipadi,
hahah..ya, my baby just cries non-stop regardless of duration of journey until we get her out of car seat. the funny thing is she doesnt mind sitting in the carseat with the stroller. anyway, my nephew went thru e same phase..it will pass. (soon, i hope!)=P

Bear,
my baby also kinda rather remain naked after bath than be dressed! normally i have to distract her by givin her something to chew on..heh..

mosh,
ur darling has so much hair!!! tend to let my baby wear hat now coz she looks simply adorable and also so that people can tell she is a girl.haa!!!

chilipadi, haru

keke, she has alot hair since birth... but now she starts to drop hair liao, abit bald at the back of her head

chilipadi: haha can see ur playmat put to gd use even ur HB 'chop' it! Haha...Yes i tink urs is gd bcos has ABCs and baby can learn from it in future..rather than buy a wall chart.

RE: SHOES FOR TODDLER
When our kids turn 1 and start walking..do u buy shoes from spree or rather visit shops to try and buy them..? Would need some advise from experienced mummies.

Baby Can Read &amp; Softbook
T VCDs selling at Popular $15.90. One set (i think is 5 CDs inside) is $59. Unfortunately compasspt popular only left Vol#3.
Their softbook range also pathetic lor. So disappointed

Blessed11,
I wld shop around. But at that age, I tend to only buy one pair or max. 2 pairs cos' their feet tend to grow out very fast.

Mosh,
Vernise is very cut lah. she looks very big. My emma is still very small and petit. My mum calls her little peanut. But she drinks alot, donno where all the milk go to...

Lilian,
we have the baby can read VCD. We bought it for megan. it really did help meg to read but of course we also introduce other words to her. In fact everynite from 2mths old, we read to meg everynite. Even till now. But now we include emma as well. Now we can tell that emma is listen and looking at the pix of the book. we usually cover 3 books a nite with meg but emma only sts thru' one after that she has her milk.

Mummies if you can start reading to ur child it helps. Meg started reading at two and a half years. she was reading the headlines on newspaper and ads on the newspaper. Now she is reading Enid Blyton books which she got for Christmas.

Here's a pix of daddy reading to emma and megan on a lazy sunday morning

2311232.jpg

Hi Fifi,

I am interested in the U-Like Blender... Can i join the spree too? I know can order extra blade, but what about the compartments? Can also order extra?

chilipadi
I have yet to start reading to my girl. Hopefully its not too late. To be honest, me tis mummy dun have habit of reading since young.

Hey, i'm impressed tat Megan can read headlines at such young age. U r doing a gd job!

BTW, abt t BP on playmat. Tis organiser is quite new, so be cautious when buying

Lilian,
Actually my hubby is the one that does all the reading. That's his way of spending time with theb kids since he is back quite late and doesn't have much playtime with them. It's still not too late to start. kids brains are like sponges now, they absorp thing very quickly. If you do not have the habit of reading, just read books with single word and lots of colorful pix. They will enjoy it.

BP on playmat, I bought oredi but from a different organizer.

Good afternoon mummies!

Thanks mummies for your advise.

my bb screams:
My bad-tempered boy will juz screams whenever he wants to refuse something from us. The moment we stopped, he will stop screaming too.

My hb is v impatient guy ... he was actually playing w bb, distracting him so that I can continue to feed him but bb screams. That's y he get so frustrated and beat him so hard. He is juz too harsh on the bb.

BTW, it was this mummy who told daddy that from now onwards, we must not let bb scream like tat. Is it really too early to teach him not to scream by a light smack and scolding from us?

bb reading:
Like Lilian, I do not have a habit of reading since young ... but hope I can trained my bb to start reading at young age.

hehe my playmat arrived yday, bought from BP Smallsmallworld.. its very colorful and nice! &amp; the lady sounds v friendly too, but the Delivery was done by ANG MO leh, haha, maybe he's the hubby of Smallsmallworld? hee.. me kaypo :p

fifi,
you mean Cheong Choon is cheaper? I thot it was the same price... Alamak kena ripped off... nvm buy oredi, don't think abt it anymore...

Chilipadi:
Cheong Choon is same at the SSW BP. They get their stock from SSW also mah. I think SSW is the local distributor.

I am saying the new BP by the new organiser is more ex.

E.g. Pooh Flowerhill 12mm, SSW sell $138. This BP is $150

mummy: haha wow so happy for u oredi have ur playmat..i still thinking, thinking and thinking..

BTW, mummies, after you have finished have your desired number of kids, would you be having like garage sale to sell off all your items? Like clothings, toys, books, etc? Bcos my baby now only 5 mths i oredi have sooo many items esp clothings and toys. Giving away also too costly for me as I spent a fortune of erm.. Any gd advise?

I plan to have 2-3 kids, now at first one..just planning for the future so as not to overspend and buy.

Haven been having time to log in, cos been spending time with my boy and trying to get him into a routine.

Anyone experiencing baby teething now??? Cause recently he has been biting on practically anythin that he can lay his hands on, and sucking his fingers and making his face till whole face all saliva, then a bit rashes liao... And he's been not very interested in drinking milk, drinks around 100ml or lesser every 3 hrs.. Don't know is it teething or what... Isn't it too early for him to be teething, thought should be ard 6 months right???