(2008/11) November 2008

alibaba
yest i use superglue try to paste back but ony managed the head, tail and 1 leg (somemore not v nicely done lor)... But the last leg i haven done yet.. super difficult cos break into small pieces -_-"

Bear,
Agree with Jo that you should take a month leave and take care of your bb. Better still, do it in fornt of your mil so that she understand how important a routine/schedule is for a bb to begin with. If their routine keep changing, of course they will get confused and can't blame them for the way they behave cos they cant definiate when is weekday and when is week end.

You must tell your mil to stop bb's nap at a particular timing, if bb cranky, she must stimulate/entertain bb or else the one caring for the night will be having hell

You can trying letting bb cry it out but dun do it for more than 3 days if he still cant settle for the night. I read a report before that trying the method long term will affect their development. Tackle on the caregiv instead.

alibaba,
Another thing is the first time I say dun give le .. later he too full cant drink milk .. she like take mi transparent so cant hear my words and continue to feed him lo. Cant tahan her ard.

peanut,
ur maid collected so much money ah? Cannot fine her lah .. juz have to tell her must be careful with all those crystal stuffs ard the hse loh .. tell her very ex hor ... if happens again, tell her u break one more time ... u got no breakfast for 1 wk. lol.

Those Swaroski crystal .. still can superglue back de meh?

To my MIL, I must always use "Doc says" then she will keep quiet.

Peanut/Jo,
Last time mine was said by my cfm lady who try to force water down her after I just bf her till she keep doing the want to throw up face. When I tell her not to give, she tell bb "It mummy who dun want to give you water hor, not auntie, if anything happen, you cant say it auntie dun give you water hor." SIao right. I dun like this kind of remarks made infornt of bb cos I believe they will understand.

Re: Drugstore
Anyone still want. I am still trying to make up a bigger batch for more economical shipping.

Re: First Teeth
I asked the manufacturer. They say product is safe to use. They din discontinue coz of problems.

Without the finger brush ok anot? If yes, I try to get from alternative sites. Hopefully shipping not too ex.

Jo
wahhaa... use superglue.. tts y i say not nicely done lor.. but at least try see if can put back together then stil can display in my room mah.. or else throw away meh.. so heartpain.
haiz.. 1 week bf also cannot make up for the loss
Yah i also always tell her "docs and people say.." Then she v sarcastic lei.. lately she told my family "this professional (refering to me lah) say cannot so fast giv solid food"

Snnowy
eee.. ur CL damn sarcastic.. shd hav told her "dun worry my bb wont go malaysia find and scold u one"

Shopforstuffs,
Me working, got training in the morning. After that free liao, can go shop shop. See u there!

Snnowy,
Ya, hate that kind of comments. Super buay tahan.

Peanut,
Aiyoh, very heart pain de, try to glue back as much as possible. Ask ur maid e careful next time.

Amooks,
Are u the one who went to learn baby massage? Where u took the lessons huh? I'm thinking to learn that so i can help baby to sleep better after massage.
How much u pay for the lessons?

babyzel
no nex time liao, she going back in Mar. If she spoil any of my tings again in this 1mth's time i really wan her to dig from her ang bao oredi !

Bear
in the meantime b4 u make a decision, remind ur MIL dun keep letting him sleep during daytime. did u write out the schedule for her? Haiz but i understand those old ones wil tink so mafan and kuazhang.. that time i record bb's drinking volume and time and paste on fridge she said so mafan for wat.. she dun follow

peanut> u did recording for her milk schedule ah.. i did record for his PAN SAI day.. draw a shit with flies above. lolz...

SHop4stuffs: No wasnt at the gatherine. Staying at sengkang...will be driving there. ok we meet at the entrance. I will be going with a pregnant friend....and her little boy...and both our husbands. Shld be able to tell like from this "combination" I guess.

Erm not sure if i know how to use PM.
maybe you can send me an email instead?

Bear> ya, i agree that you should take the 1 mth and by then Zac will be older and should be better then.

peanut> hmmm, quite sian hor, maid breaks things and we cant do anything. If they dun get any warning like fine, they simply dun care, just like my previous maid, broke so many things within 3 mths. sigh.....

Babyzel> ya, i learnt the baby tui na from the Chinese Physician at Blk 932 Yishun Central #01-99. She only open from Tue to Fri, 6-9pm only. Her charges are very cheap, just pay $6 for the massage powder. Coz she's not those out to earn $ type.

amooks> the tui na so cheap nia ah... lidat i shld oso go try too... see can help on his bowel movements..

alibaba
tsk tsk cos ur boy seldom poo hor..
no lah now i no more record liao.. last time did that cos she was a huge drinker, huge until i worried she drinking too much.. But now different, now worry she not drinking enuf -_-"

alibaba> ya, maybe it'll help, go try!

Peanut> oh your nini was drinking a lot before? i read somewhere that overfed babies might go on milk strike coz they have "reserves".....

amooks
yah lah i mentioned tt before.. tts y i try not to force her these days..but whenever she doesn;t wan to drink, my mil say mus hav patience she'll drink eventually so she keep try and try.. haiz..

alibaba
bear say she may stil be considering my swing so i wait a while more. If she no wan then wil ask you to help post in WTS thread. Thanks monk monk's mummy..

Evening ladies!

Fifi: how much would the ear themometer cost from the drugstore? May wanna get...=) dd really won't keep still for me to take temperature...

shop4stuffs: ooh...I can't go on friday though....never mind my hubby say he will accompany me on sunday, can go baby-free too, my mom free to take care of her

MIL: sigh, my mil also like that...ask her don't shake baby too hard, don't carry too long, all she like not happy when I say...on Xmas day, she even wanted to give dd chocolate cake! *pengz*
I don't really dare to leave dd to her when we go back to visit...sigh...worse still my sil always like her spokesperson, everything my mil will tell her to come tell me or ask me. damn irritated.

alibaba; you damn cute le, your drawing with flies & all...gave me a visual. haha

bear: try writing the schedule down, & talking to your mil? it's frustrating, i can imagine!!

bumbo seat: how much is it retailing for? saw at metro, paragon that day...selling for 69.90. Near the mothercare kiosk there...

haru: my wrist is also very pain! been wanting to see one about it too, but never did. whats De Quervain's?!

similac: dd used to drink that, poo was yellow but super watery...

Fifi,
think u miss my earlier post.. how much is normal postage for my 2 firstteeth?

Bear,
can understamd how frustrated u are! Sometimes MIL just have their own way and they THINK they are very smart.. Communicate with her more bah.. or ask ur hubby to tell her. Maybe she will listen to ur hubby and not dil?

Peanut, Jo, happy,
tnks for ur reply on NUK teats.. I am using latex teats and i think i sterilise too often and have the strong rubber smell.. Think i will follow peanut's tips and soak and rinse in hot water instead of sterilise.

shop4stuffs,
wat great bargain at the expo huh?

Shop4stuffs - wats at expo? got gd bargains?

Ear themometer - its good, i'm using it too. But for ear themometer my PD says 38 degrees then considered fever, under armpit is 37.5 degrees.

Alibaba - ur boy look so cute on the bumbo seat! Altho a bit botak but eyes so big and round!
me very gian to get one.. saw at walmart retailing S$60.. should i should i should i? haha :p

Waterbaby - ohh i forgot to mention, my gal refused to be fed by daddy (EBM) on the flight. I brought 2 bottles just in case la, thinking will go to waste if dun use it... but bibi totally dun want it. In the end throw! *heart pain siah! Also, SQ provides free pampers haha.. its bambi brand, so cute. Its good, more waterproof than Pampers.

Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags - I'm getting the storage bag 50ea for myself, if anyone is keen i can tong-pang at these prices. Sg postage on buyer, no shipping charge.

Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 25 ea - S$11
Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 50 ea - S$20
Avent 9 ounce BPA Free Bottle, Dual Pack 2 ea - S$33

I bought tis for my gal! cos we tried her on at walmart and she loves it. Its S$100 tho, i think a bit exp.. should hav check around first before buying! Someone here got swing on sale hor? *wasted* Her neck not strong enuff for jumperoo yet.. i heard gd reviews for jumperoo

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=10543157

Want to get some opinions here.. between a house and a condo in USA, which one is better?

A house comes with a garage (no nid to be in the cold after parking - cos my gal only 4mths, scare she cold) and extra rooms (for visiting, bibi's playroom etc), whereas a condo has facilities (heated pool, gym, function rooms etc) and doorman/reception/lobby (more security). Any opinions on tis? tough choice hor...!!

Joyce:
Shld be $0.80

Maria:
You can check out the various thermometers and then use exchange rate of approx 1.58. Add on maybe S$5-S$7 for shipping costs.

MummyZeal:
I think condo might be good coz of the heated pool. Can bring your baby swimming.

Wow soo many posts..forum seem to be down again this afternoon.

Aquarium Swing: Peanut, hmm me in 2 minds abt the swing, wonder if shld buy 2nd hand..My rented one will have to return on 10 Mar. Or I shld just rent another swing/rocker to try out. Wow..then I wld spend a lot too haa..every mth $30+ fly out of window keke.. But anyway hope you can sell it off at a gd price

Maria: Got the braun ear thermometer as well. Easy to use but quite exp...

Alibaba: Your bb look so cute and really a little blur haa. How long he sits in it each time?? Must get the 2nd hand one fr SIL.

Fifi: OK without the brush...thks for searching for alternatives...

Mummy (zeal): The swing looks fun! :p Condo sounds better..since security in USA is not that great.

Expo fair: Want to go but soo far! Me waiting for the Taka fair. Saw in other threads that it is in Mar :p Planned to take leave then hee..

Fruche
Paisei ley you got so many companies..im going alone...so think will not join you la...i can shop on my own hehe...anyway i will be driving to so will make my way there myself

Joyce
I also duno ley just go there see see lo anyway at home also xian lo...see got any diapers promo bo lo or cheap bumbo etc haha...think sometimes they got other fair at other hall 2.....

Glad
last yr i went to taka fair, nothing much ley...very little only...this expo fair i never been before so duno what they have there 2...

any mummy been to the fair last yr?

Bumbo/Alibaba
So no feedback on bumbo whether can our bb sit on the bumbo now or not?????? did the box mentioned anything huh alibaba?

Re: First Teeth Toothpaste
I think I will only confirm how many I have when the shipment gets shipped out. Coz now a lot of companies are out of stock although the item is still listed on their page. I think I managed to secure the shipment lah but I wont really believe it totally till I see it get shipped out.

Nonetheless, lets go by a waiting list. Please add to it if you are interested. Price shld be S$8-S$9 without brush, S$9-S$10 with brush. Pls indicate you prefer with brush or not.

1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1
3. Fruche x 1
4. Joyce_7580 x 2
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
7. Olwen x 1
8. Glad x 1

I emphasize that adding to the list does not mean you confirm have hor. This is the last batch of first teeth coz confirm discontinued liaoz.

mornin mummies,
had a good time bringing baby out to meet a friend for coffee yesterday. she behaved really well, napped w/o patting or pacifier on her own in pram, didnt cry..until hubby came to meet us aft work. think by then she was quite tired already. but she gave us a nice surprise last nite when we put her on our bed aft her bedtime story just lie with us and she managed to fall asleep on her own w/o pacifier. aft a while we just put her back in her cot and she slept all e way till 745am. coz normally she needs to be carried and have e pacifier for bedtime. =>

Maria,
it was diagnosed by my gynae, you can goggle it. it causes pain in the wrist esp with certain motions. wanna get it treated asap to prevent it from getting worse..

Bear,
do consider taking e rest of ur leave if you are really not comfortable with ur MIL caring for Zachary now. then maybe spend a week with her so that you can guide her on his routine before you return to work again.

BabyFair:
will there be playpens for sale too? i need to get one for my mum's place coz baby is getting active and it is tough for my mum to look after her if my dad is not at home to help. at least with playpen she can put her inside while she does her chores, etc..

Re: First Teeth Toothpaste

Nonetheless, lets go by a waiting list. Please add to it if you are interested. Price shld be S$8-S$9 without brush, S$9-S$10 with brush. Pls indicate you prefer with brush or not.

1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1
3. Fruche x 1
4. Joyce_7580 x 2 (Without brush)
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
7. Olwen x 1
8. Glad x 1

Fifi,
Can i wait for the second batch of firstteeth to arrived then i transfer to u together? cause i still have somemore left, so no hurry.

bumbo seat> box says from 3mth to 24mth (til once bb outgrown it)... but i tink once bb neck is aready strong enough can sit on it liao. how long to sit on? i guess initially 5mins when bb neck is tired bah.. or depends.. as time goes bb can sit longer.. u jus have to see how ur bb react sitting on it. i tink bumbo seat is pretty useful when we start feeding solid food..
tray to me not neccessary but still it's up to u la.. once bb active.. i doubt they will wan sit too long on it.. hahaha..

Glad> yes get it from ur SIL la.. save $$ hehe..

mummyzeal> get the bumbo seat la.. can keep for ur #2 oso mah... u buying a house at USA ah? i tink condo maybe better with the facilities & sercurity.. & i oso tinking to get the bpa free avents btl. when are u coming back??

shop4stuff>
i been to the babyfair last yr.. not sure izzit the same. i only know the diaper during fair is darn cheap.. so am tinking to go there stock up L size.. hehe.. they do sell thermometer there too.. maybe cheaper there?? go there check out 1st bah...

so those who gg to the fair on friday update whether is nice to go anot.. BECOS it's oso far to me! hehe

gladgal,
taka fair is coming, that's great.. Me also waiting for the fair to get more stuffs.

Haru,
So guai your bb.. let u have a good time with your friends.. Think they have grown up and less likely to get attention..

shop4stuffs,
think the tray is not necessary unless u want to feed bb at bumbo bah. I didn't get the tray when i purchase last time cause they wont sit long on it too, the most few months.. Worse is i only buy it when my bb is ard 5mths and by the time his thigh are so big and always stuck in it, think i only used less than 10times.

haiz, my bb din hav a good nite again!! Only slept at ard 1am and heard from my mil thruout the nite, she kept waking up ~every 1hr ee ee orr orr.. kicking her legs.. then hav to pat her back to sleep.. Somemore understand day time she also din sleep a lot.. jialat lei, these few nites like not v fantastic sleeper.. -_-
Mil say mayb she teething gum itchy so can't sleep well, any of ur bbs also like this ah?

alibaba, joyce - its 2 bottles. coming back 10th march most likely

alibaba, glad_gal, fifi - ya i also think condo prolly better.. but its small, so i cant store all the toys i want to buy! jumperoo.. swing.. high chair.. bumbo.. etc. sighz! nid more space!! :p

damn slpy... last night i feed bb milk at 11+pm den he become so awake til almost 1am den he finally slp.. put him back to his cot & i heard from my maid tat he still wake up at 3am for milk. fainted.. initially i tot of putting him slp on my bed instead... Heng never.. Else i gonna be walking zombie today.. now got headache.. early morn.. pump milk send hb to work... got big jam... aready gonna be late for work.. hb still left his talkie in the car.. tat make me u-turn back to his offiz & "fly" to work... late for 20 mins... deducting my pay... -_-

Mummy (Zeal):
Oh! They provide diapers too? So cute! My baby absolutely refuses the bottle whenever i'm ard, we have thrown away many bottles of EBM since i started work 2 weeks ago. She could be drinking from the bottle happily till she hears my voice when i come back and she would stop feeding and kick up a fuss. My heart pain everytime we've got to throw away EBM.

waterbb
better keep away from her view in future.. And before u reach home, call back and ask if she's drinking milk, if yes then wait outside the door for a while lor tsk tsk.. Ur problem shd b easy to fix, jus need to coordinate nicely

Gd morning!

Thanks for all ur feedback on whether i shd be taking leave. My hb isn't keen.. may be bcos he runs his own biz, he feels that this extra ML is detrimental to businesses. also he is worried then when my leave is over MIL will still revert to her own style hence i would have wasted a mth doing nothing.

As to talking to my MIL, i tell u we talked until the cows come home liao she still dun get it. she told me she cannot tahan my boy crying. a bit of sound only she will carry. said that when he cries, her xin hen luan. But bbs only communicate via crying wat. what she wants Z to do? stand up and laugh at her? my hb talks to her and tell her to stick to the schedule. still she likes to deviate. already i decided to bring him home to shower cos if she showers him, she will shower very early! the bath is a cue for him to wind down and slp. Now i realised she has been warming the milk up abt 30mins ahead of time. some more she likes to keep warming it, over and over again. my BM no nutrients liao! she keeps thinking the milk must be warm for bb to drink!!! i kept telling her cold/room temp milk is ok but she thinks bb will fall sick drinking cold milk! *bang head*

Anyway yesterday hb told her not to let bb slp aft his 5+pm feed and she didn't. so Zach was a gd boy when he got home. slpt by himself, no rocking.. but i think it won't last cos he was damn tired. it was the first wkday night that he slpt through the night. hopefully it will last!

Mummyzeal, are u gonna move there permanently? I would prefer a house leh.. cos in summer u can get an inflatable pool to let ur bb swim in it. Plus u have a nice lawn and big open spaces for ur kid(s) to run around. u can host picnics, camping, BBQs all on ur lawn! make me so gian to get a house with a garden too!

Oh the swing is available here too! there are bigger ones.. http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2000&e=swings

Re: Bumbo
Now i got TWO bumbos. my mum went to get one yellow one with tray for Zach. she thinks he looks cute sitting in it. Anyway Bumbo can be used as early as 6 wks as long as ur bb's head is stable. Zach has been sitting on it since 11 wks. http://www.bumbobabyseat.com/

Re: baby fair
Been there last yr.. not too bad lah.. u need to know what u wanna get. i find that its for bbs who have started solids or for MTBs... not much for bbs of our age.

alibaba/joyce
thanks for the advice on bumbo. 1 2 go fair bo on fri? we go together la, i can go pick u. u stay sembawang rite? else nvrmind will update whats good there

diapers
i very ks bought 2 packs L huggies ultra fm coldstorage, forgot how much liao coz got free 4 pieces think 18.6 or 17.4. but tin nid to get few M size coz L like very long so scared bb very hot coz will cover high up above naval and the back....

Fair
What else mummies 1 2 look out beside playpen, cheap diapers (what brand huh)? i can come back and update u gals