(2008/11) November 2008

alibaba
now u still put bb on bed to sleep huh? not scared later he roll? i dun dare put him on bed liao coz now he like 1 2 flip thou not successful but worried when i fall asleep i wont know so put him in cot even on afternoon nap... actually i like sleeping with him coz very loving

alibaba
sorry, didnt know u start work liao until i read your post about u "flyin" to work haha...tin all mummy start work liao la ho....so tin gotta go myself

west side gathering:

oppss, i just remembered someone mentioned for me to start the ball rolling... hmmz, so let's vote.. weekends or weekdays preferred??

Hey Fifi, i opt for normal postage for my First Teeth. I think with normal postage, i will owe S$34.30. I can accept PM now so you want to let me know your acc no? I'll tx the money to you.

Bear
Thanks for the info on bumbo and fair. guess prob i can stock up some solid stuffs for my boy hehe

As for your mil, think some old ppl are like this lo. they just 1 2 pamper their grandchild lo tats y ppl always say letting parents care for the child is a worry coz diff ways of teaching and understanding. but come to think of it, isnt this the way we grow up and we are fine...but still i know its difficult to accept lo coz i also fedup with my mum teaching the wrong thing. not much we can do la esp if out at work cant see cant tell off immediately so effect not so strong lo. think we can only try to repeat ourself. try tell her if you not enuf sleep, go office do sala things later boss fire and now economy no good cant find job no money die la..or not enuf sleep later drive dangerous etc lo...

mummyzeal
i prefer a house too coz kids will have lots of space to run about...but ultimately i tin safety is more impt. u hav to see the area u buying coz if relatively safe place tin house is okie else condo might b a better option. for me i wil go for space unless kids swim everyday else u can hv your own big play toys/playground.

Peanut00, Haru:
Yes, now i sneak home like a thief! Reach home cannot talk and cannot go near my baby. Think my baby is quite naughty when it comes to bottle feeding. When i latch her on in the evening when i come back, she 'grabs' then nipple with her mouth as though she's been starved the whole day and wants to feed almost every hour. I always get the 'sugar can kena squeezed dry' type of feeling every night.

Shop4stuffs: Ok no worries! I hope to meet you and other mummies ( with all the cute babies!!) at the next gathering.

I did go to the fair last year. Bought a few things that are good.

But there's one particular thermometer I regretted buying. Too high tech and not user friendly. Cant remember the brand but its supposed to be swiped across forehead, temple to temple. I think i prefer the simple one for the armpits.( Oh they told me ear thermometer no good for newborns that's why didnt buy that kind).

Fifi: I already have the brush so please do not include the brush for me. Thanks. Roughly when are we looking at receiving the milkbags?? I need to buy now if they arrive rather late. Thanks again.

shop4stuffs, not confirmed yet but somewhere in the west area.. Jurong Point, Jurong East Entertainment, West mall and where else ah? can cast a vote though..

Bear:
My MIL is quite like yours, want to do things her way. I'm lucky that she doesn't look after my baby but still she insists on how many things should be done. It's very frustrating sometimes. Now, my MIL insists on shaving my baby's head at 4 months and then she wants me to rub brandy on her head everynight so that she will have more hair. But the thing is, my baby already has a lot of hair. I'm resisting it as far as i can...and this is just one of the many things she wants to insist on...

Re : Swing

I got the full size swing since my #1...find it very useful. Now using for #2. http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2001&e=thumbnail&pcat=bgsw_fssw

Re : Brightstart activity centre

This is also very good and entertaining for ur kid. I got it for my #1...let her play on it as early as 4.5 mths...but only awhile as her feet can't reach the flr then... but when they turn 6/7 mths, will be able to play until they are 1 yrs old.....now she will still play but without the seat. she can walk ard the table playing it. http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5412495

mummyzeal,

i think house better coz i am sure the extra space will be great!

Thermometer : i find the armpit measurement is the best as the ear thermometer is not accurate. I have the braun ear thermometer but the reading always weird... armpit one is easy to take. Juz carry the baby and put it under their armpit and hold their arm down. walk ard with them until it beeps... accurate reading.

bumbo : I let my boy sat on it at 3.5mths. He now can sit and enjoy himself for as long as 30mins.

Avent BPA : I went avent showroom last mth and was told they are not sure when it will be in SG..maybe June maybe not.

Malaysian address
Anyone here has a Malaysian address? Okay, here's the story. I bought something from Ebay and the stupid seller charges me US$35 for shipping! From Malaysia to singapore, no less! I am thinking of getting her to ship to M'sia and then that kind person in M'sia will ship the dress to me. I'll pay S$10 for service charge to that kind person even. Just don't want to pay the stupid seller. Anyone?

kash
wats your opinion on walker? is it ok for bb? i have 1 at home, gift from frend but havent use...how old can use liao huh? heard bb will tiptoe when walking ley after using walker...

Fifi,

re: First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
4. Joyce_7580 x 2 (Without brush)
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
7. Olwen x 1
8. Glad x 1

Jenn,
Think IMM is a good choice .. cos some pple coming from Bukit Batok ... IMM will be more of a centralize location.
You dunnoe Jurong East Entertainment Centre has closed down for sometime already. Havent start the re-construction of the place yet.

Jo, mountaibn turtle for quite sometime liao.. nv been there since the birth of my gal =P Ya, IMM is gd choice... can shop around also =D

hi mummies: glad gal also having problems w the forum being down? does anybody find tt it's happening a lot since we came back to work? especially those times after work when i'm able to come in

mummy zeal: have u seen the toy below in walmart?
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5734255

if u do get it, can u let me know how it is? if it's good, i'll ask fifi to organise a spree for us. or if u don't mind, u cld do it for us too, i think US Post sea mail is v cheap

Fifi, sorry forgot to update mine.

re: First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
7. Olwen x 1 (with brush)
8. Glad x 1

my goodness, didn't know this toothpaste so in demand.

Re: West Side Gathering
Venue: IMM
Date: 1st wk of Mar (Tell us ur preferred day)
Time: Noon (For lunch)

1) Jenn
2) Jo (Mon, Tue or Wed)

1) Jenn (Mon-Thurs,2 or 3pm can?)
2) Jo (Mon, Tue or Wed)

haru

thanks..will check it out if i go there. I currently have 6 9 oz Avent BPA Free bottles and 2 4 oz Avent BPA free bottles... so enuff for the time being..

shopforstuff

not sure leh coz i nvr use walkers. But i reckon walker shd be similar to the activity centre i have... my gal nvr tip toe leh... she does sometimes when she is notti..but when i tell her dun tiptoes, she will stop and walk normally...

Huh..me also didnt know JEC close down liao...shows how long never go out liao :p

Shop4stuffs: haa you are tempting me to buy for my boy :p thot the tuxedo romper quite cute!

Olwen: *waves* hello how are you? Best to save this Nov link in fav, so easier to access directly next time if the general thread is down!

First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
8. Glad x 1 (with brush)
Thks fifi!

Wow so this wkend I am sure Expo would be very crowded with the babyfair, and Natas also this wkend rite...

First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
8. Glad x 1 (with brush)
9. kare2711 x 1 (with or without brush also can)
Thks fifi!

2) Jo (Mon, Tue or Wed
3) kare2711 (Wed or Fri)

Kash,
Can collect 4 tubes of toothpaste (from fifi/bear) for me?

Re: Forum down
Juz save this thread in your IE 'Favorites'. Then u can directly access to this thread even thou t main forum page is down

Re: Baby schedule
Mine doesn't have a fixed one yet... If she wanna slp we can't stop her. No pt keeping her awake and then she so grumpy
Somemore it will not b me taking care of bb full-time aft go back to work, so i let my mum decide wats best for her
I believe as bb grow older they themselve will settle down with their own schedule.

Re: Bumbo
Got one as a gift from a fren. Will let bb try tis wkend. Her playmat from smallsmallworld will arrive tis Sat too! So exciting

fifi
happen to see ppl selling pisa when i browse there. u sold you pisa already? if not think now good time ho coz rate go up liao ho...i sold mine very early so not gd price hehe

karen,
hmmm ... in tat case, I can get one for my boy already. For a few times, I hold his hands when he is in lying position and pull him up and he can be in sitting position but I still need to hold his hands to support him else he will fall. As long as I put some cushioning to support his back in the exersaucer will do.
Coz he really dislike lying down ... after awhile he will fuss or when he knows I'm putting him to lying position, he starts to fuss already.

<font color="ff0000">Oop..use wrong nick..Vincy here</font>

First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1 (w/o brush)
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
5. Yoyosan x 2
6. dmk x 2
8. Glad x 1 (with brush)
9. kare2711 x 1 (with or without brush also can)
Thks fifi!

<font color="ff0066"> Babycare Fair</font>
I'm thinking of going down tomolo. But will be there only in the afternoon about 1-plus. Cos need to send #1 to school first. Any mommies will be there at tat time?

<font color="ff0066"> MummyZeal</font>
Ooohh... you migrating to US? Actually whether getting house or condo depends on the state you are in and the security there? If me, I'd prefer condo cos at least got security guards. If house, can be frightening at night especially if you're alone wz bb.

<font color="ff0066"> Thermometer</font>
I'm been using Braun for my older gals for nearly 3-yrs liaoz. I like it. But I do find it unsuitable for bb leh. Cos can't really put it in her ear, thus cannot get accurate reading. Tat time I was introduced to this Petit Terrailon thermometer. Seems really good. But me still deciding whether to buy or not.

lilian

no problem for me to pass to you. however, as bear will be the one helping me to collect, u may want to ask her whether she can help collect ur items from fifi.

Jo

i started my gal on the brightstart go ard activity centre at 4.5 mths but i find not suitable... maybe 6/7tmhs better. U can put ur bb on bumbo or the swing rocker chair..it supports them better now...also better then lying down flat.

Thanks Kash ... maybe I shall jus stick to bb curreny play gym. Dun feel like buying bumbo or swing cos think bb outgrows it very fast.

Jo

swing can sit till toddler.. u can take the chair out as an independent rocker...then when older, can even convert it to a rocking chair. so can last till they are 4/5 yrs old. but u must buy the 3-in-1 swing..

Kash, the 3-in-1 swing nv sell liao.. i searched.. so did my frens. unless u get it from Graco.. FP's swings only have the take along one in S'pore.

Re: MIL
I can only grin and bear with it. i still considering if i will take leave.. nothing is fixed yet. sigh.. we as a human race improve with time, how can always say last time do so and so means we shd practising the same thing if there are new methods?

2) Jo (Mon, Tue or Wed
3) kare2711 (Wed or Fri)
4) Dymples (Any weekday, after 1pm pls}

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
I understand how frustrated &amp; irritated you are by your MIL. But I dun tink it's advisable for you to take leave to care for your bb for 1-mth cos after tat, your MIL will still be his caregiver. End results will still be the same. Scare end up your leave like wasted. Old people are like tat. Their way of taking care of bb is totally different from ours. They tink we too liberal and we tink they are too conservative and coddle the child too much. Anyway to find middle ground on this difference of opinion?

For me, I also use to nick-pick the way my mom handle my bb. Nowadays, I kinda give up liaoz. Cos at end of day, I know tat she loves bb very much and juz wanna provide the best she can. But in saying so, till now wz #3, there are still times when we both cannot see eye-to-eye on certain bb care issues. Then I gotta grid my teeth lor. As long as my bb is ok and not injured or anything can liaoz. But if her actions are detrimental to bb, then I won't hesitate to speak to her. This way, she also knows when she has gone overboard.

Karen
Do u need your dress urgently? Im currently in KL but will only be back to Sing in April.

Bear
Its like tat if u let others take care of ur bb, u can never be 100% satisfied. Sometimes just have to close 1 eye. Wat to do... even if u retrain him now he will end up the same after going back to ur MIL place.

So long i haven log in to see e posts. been reali busy.

Walkers:
My MIL ask me to give my son who just turn 4 mth to use the walker? I happened to hear b4 from a friend that now walker is not recommended to use. will hurt baby leg?

First food:
anyone will start any food for bb who just turn 4 mth?

Lynn
my gal already sitting in walker when she turns 3.5mths, and sometimes my mil let her sit for 30mins! She sticks in some small pillows so she can sit upright by the supports. She seems to prefer walker than in a swing lei! tts y i selling off e swing. I do feel a bit uncomfy to let her sit so long but gues i need to open/close 1 eyes cos mil keep saying can liao can liao..

Me me i'll start giving semi solids to her once she hits 4mths. Actually now already adding some rice cereals into her milk.. and same lor becos my mil keep saying can giv liao -_-

mosh
Thanks for the seller charged me US$35 even shipping from M'sia to M'sia. Sigh. Give up.

Lynn
I haven't started and don't intend to start so soon ah.

I HATE W DRAMA!!!!!!!!
subscribe to cable vision but i dun get to watch wat i wan!! Whole nite they practically watching WDrama HK series!! me like going to explode yest cos these days i stay in living room most time (bb laying in rocker ther) and i'm like forced to watch those shows with them.. yest was worst, 8pm-12am al W dramas.. Ganasai, tink i'm going to geysi dun pay for the subscription and let it gena cut-off for a while i also happy..

peanut> wat is W Drama?? y dont u bring bb &amp; the rocker to ur room... hehe.. if ur mil ask. u jus said the shows are BORING...