(2008/11) November 2008

dear mummies-thanks so much for the kind words and encouragement.

my little baby is not drinking EBM now coz of his condition, and I wonder will he ever be able to drink anot?

my milk supply all along quite low but recently very pathetic, whole day maybe 1oz not even 2oz??
my menses came yesterday, I thot milk supply cut off but heard some mummies BF still got menses?

I thot of stopping but am afraid will regret yet my supply so pathetic, I did try to stimulate by pumping every 3 hrs but no milk come out ler... how?? izzit coz manual pump no power or what??

thx.

my little fighter just woke up after I wrote this post.. brb.

Enne,maybe you are under alot of pressure now so the milk supply is low. Have you tried taking supplements to help or using a manual pump or even your own hand to get the milk out? sometimes there will be more. Just some suggestion...

maria, hmmz~ were u studying in any of the sec sch nearby?? maybe we might be sch mates..

enne, jia you! just keep pumping even if no or little milk.. soon u'll see milk coming in =) hang in there~

Bear,
YES, is the phase two that is more painful. I think you hv to air your nipples as frequent as possible in order to heal faster..It must be damn hurts cause there was once my areola was peeling too!

Minkybear, alibaba,
ya, mildy was in melbourne now enjoying! She has to take a break from both her childrens, else she will go insane, she said..

jenn, maria, karen,
jurong gathering, i can join too cause i am staying at b.batok.

RE: Gathering at VIVO
What is the unit no. for Hog's Breath?

kash,
sounds like your girl is still jealous over her didi.. But so long already she still can't accept him? My boy quite ok with his meimei, he will automatic go kiss her and saying her sometimes.. and he will also follow us and play with his meimei.. We always tell him that we love him and meimei, also meimei loves him too.. have to show him lots of concern/love and whenever u carry your boy, you can sit down and hug your girl too.. Must makes her feel the love from all of u, so that gradually she can adapt. Must be patient

bear,
afraid ur maid dun like to stay with u all ... then go on diet and report that u all ill-treat her .. give her eat biscuits only! haha.

maria,
I'm staying SUPER near you. I'm staying at Blk 400+. Was thinking we share cab there but if you gg with karen then see you there.

jenn,
YES! Jurong Gathering!

Enne,
Yes, like other mummies said, u are under pressure and stress, and these two definetely will affect your milk supply. You mentioned u pump 3hourly? When u start so? It must be done everyday and at least 2,3 days then only you can see your results. Like what jenn said, continue to pump even when there is no milk, cause u need to stimulate so that the milk will comes in.

And also try to drink more hot drinks like milo, horlicks and hot soup.

Shouldnt be manual's pump's problem, manual pump works the same too, just that your hands will be tiring.. Dun give up, your little fighter needs your BM

minkybear, Jenn-Hmm if hor I pump no milk coming out, I shd still continue pumping just to stimulate? but i feel manual pump like not much power ler.. I tried for few days still never see any increase in supply wor.. afraid the supply will stop itself soon.

Maria: It's an activity centre for babies to play in it, the chair rotates when baby moves around, and can 'hop hop' in it my girl likes it, played for a while in neighbour's house and took her home she kept grumping...

here's the pic: http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=181&pfid=92

There are various models and brands but my baby like the one above, thinking of buying for her, its large and bulky though..

Mummies interested in Beco carrier and attending fri's gathering ... if you plan and keen to purchase on Fri, can you PM the design you want so that Beco gal can bring it along. Deadline: tomorrow 5pm so that I can inform her in advance. Thanks.

I guess the majority wants Vivo? Shall we make it at Hog's Breath?

Date: 20th Feb (friday)
Time: 2pm
venue: Tentatively at Hog's Breath #03-07A
1) Bear (Vivo)
2) Jolene + bb + maid (vivo)
3) Kash + bb (vivo, raffles city - can go robinsons :p )
4) Alibaba+ bb + maid (vivo)
5) Babyzel (Vivo)
6) Joyce (vivo)
7) shop4stuffs (vivo)
8) Dymples + bb (Raffles City)
9) Maria + bb (both location oso can)
10) kare2711 + bb + maid
11) bluebear + bb (vivo)
12) Waterbaby (either location is fine)

peanut,
paiseh huh, hog's breath near where?

joyce, I'm at jurong west blk 400+, between Lakeside & Chinese Garden. I'm bringing my maid along ... issit convenient?

joyce-Frankly speaking his condition now, I feel maybe he won't be able to drink my BM ler.. haiz.. this is quite demoralising to me thus really no motivation to keep pumping sometimes but i scared I will regret if I stopped.

I got medela electric but that always crack my nipples so I only using avent manual, coz manual like no power when I keep pumping although no milk ler.. how long shd I cont pumping when there's really no milk, not even a drop. ??

Enne,
ok, i remember when i was bf my #1 and i have high fever and my milk supply was dropping from 100% to like 5, 10% only. Then i read from somewhere that high fever will cause milk ss to drop and u hv to continue to pump/latch on in order to bring back the supply. If i m not wrong, my milk supply only comes in after day 3. So u try to continue to pump regularly, dun give up..

Enne,
I guess you are too tired and stressed thats why affect your milk supply? You want the best for your little fighter, dont you? You definitely want to continue to breastfeed him ... keep yourself relax in order to be able to produce more milk?

I know its difficult but try to think more positively. Cheer up!

enne
jus imagine the day when he could finally drink your breastmilk!! You won't regret ur decision when u see that scene.. even if its only a small volume =) But then again its ur decision.. i know its v demoralising.. me too, my supply went down so much until i don't find it worth the time to pump anymore. but at least my bb drank quite a number of bottles liao. So it really depends on u..

Joyce,
I'm nt staying along MRT line. I'm staying along Jurong West Ave 1. I can meet you at Lakeside/ Jurong East MRT stn ... I dunnoe any bus here that goes to Chinese Garden MRT stn.

hah. i tink i will be late . haha.. cos need to find where is the exact venue. anyone know park where is nearer?

Jo
I want the carnival print for the Beco.

Enne
Breastmilk is good, and will be very very good especially for your boy. So you must continue to pump!

karen> aiya there's a few parking entrance mah. so wondering where is nearest to the place we meeting. haha!

Enne, whether to give up pumping or not is really up to u. no point making urself more tired also. of cos ppl always say BM is better, but if u are too tired to take care of BB L now, there really isn't any point.

As to ur qn of how long shd u continue pumping aft u don't see anymore milk, u have to pump for another 2-5mins. How come ur Medela pump cracks ur nipples? u cannot use the highest suction leh. for me i use the lowest. High suction can hurt ur breasts! all it does is to extract the milk out faster. Also have u tried squeezing and massaging ur breasts while pumping? u can also stop aft 10 mins, massage and then pump again.
can get more milk like that.

Peanut, thanks a lot! i know where to park liao, cos i parked there the last time! so u will be joining us?

Here comes the million dollar question: WHO IS DOING THE RESERVATION?

Joyce, how to air my nipples lah? my maid and MIL see my exposed boobs so many times liao.. sigh.. hope it heals soon.. damn sian. Oh ya wanna ask u, does ur ss fluctuate with each pump even though u pump at fixed interval? was telling Alibaba that 4hrly pumps, my ss can be as low as 140ml to as high as 200ml!!!

Jo, don't scare me leh!! i see that she is very happy.. or are appearances deceiving?? what she wants i buy for her one. :p

Jenn> me study in clementi town, during sec five went to jurong view....

enne> don't give up! i think you are too stressed. during the first 2 weeks when i breast fed, was under a lot of stress & went through same thing as you, only one or two oz. so demoralising... try to relax...

jo> wah that's near...but i see from above joyce is fetchin u, keke.

bear> i like your million doller ques! hahaha

Haru:
Just adjust the lvl of the Beco so that your baby's mouth is in line with your breast. Latch her on then support her butt to ensure she dun move up or down. Use a shawl to cover.

Bear, Joyce:
Got 1 period it my nipples did hurt. Then went off. Not sure what I did right or wrong. But I think its the bra. At home, try not to wear bra. That helps to make your breasts feel better. Leak nvm lah. Dun care. Just wear lousy clothes.

I also make sure I empty the aerola and nipple area by hand after pumping. And I pump 4 times a day only.

enne,

hang in there! i like the avent manual pump...the suction is good... hence, i believe u r not doing anything wrong. bb L looks very cute in the photo. i am sure he is tough and will recover fully very soon!

fifi

how u know whether the aerola, nipple areas are empty? I so pek chek coz every pump session, i sure 1 side got block ducts.... can no milk come out at all from that breast...after hard massage, maybe 1 milk duct... i have to squeeze and press so hard...then maybe that 1 duct can take me 30 mins to ensure breast is soft again. I am wasting too much time on pumping milk...need to find a faster way leh...(other than direct latch.)

bear

ur maid really strange only eat biscuits for 3 meals. Or the biscuits are really delicious? did u check with your MIL did the maid really snack at her place that's why full? coz i am worried if maid continues to be like this, she may be malnutrition and run into some health problems...then u headache...

joyce

i did...told her we love her... we hug and gave her a lot of assurances....useless...she can cry or scream for no reason. Today, she cried non stop until she fell asleep for her nap. SHe napped for 3 hrs today...and it was peaceful. The moment she woke up, she was screaming and crying... if i am carrying bb, she may even run to me and pull or hit bb's legs.... ur son is so sweet.... kiss ur gal somemore...that's so nice leh...

<font color="ff0066"> Ladies,</font>
Thsk for all your compliments on my gals. Yup... #1 looks like mini me, #2 more like daddy and #3 is mixture of everyone. heheheh...

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>
For BF-ing bb in the beco, I will find somewhere to sit. Then will undo the chest strap (strap behind the shoulders) and slide off the side to BF. Then I will shift bb (still in her sitting position) and place her mouth to the nipple. Currently still hv not master the art of BF-ing in the Beco whilst walking or standing as yet. hehhehe... Oh yes. Make sure you use a nursing shawl to cover up hor. Else will get unwanted stares.

<font color="ff0066"> Menses</font>,
Mine still in remission. Thank goodness. Dun want it to come so soon. *lol*

<font color="ff0066"> Karen</font>
The Carnival print for the Beco is really nice. Tat time I was contemplating between Carnival &amp; Sara. In end opt for Sara. Cos I prefer black straps. heheheh...

<font color="ff0066"> Enne</font>,
If you intent to bf #2 later on, then will need to continue pumping regularly. Dun stop okies. Your ss is low now due to the stress you're under. Try to drink more hot drinks like Horlicks &amp; Milo and take soups like Papaya Fish soup, etc to boost supply. How about taking Fenugreek. Also, if you experience engorgement, dun use cabbage leaves. This will decrease supply. As for the Medela Electric, is the crack at the nipple between the nipple and the aerola area? Cos I also have tat pump and the LC at TMC told me this pump always cause this prob. To prevent this, dun pump more then 5-mins at per pump session per nipple. Also, must apply the nipple cream to moisturise it. HTH's.

hi bluebear jo and blessed , thanks for your advise. Guess will co ntinue to use nuk pacifier then. Just that every time I see the circle red mark around bb's mouth feel quite heart pain
although he looks quite comical . Have tot of letting him suck on his fingers but pacifier can sterilize but fingers cannot leh

hi Fifi and Mummyzeal,
thanks! so i have to loosen e side straps rite? do i have to unbuckle e top strap behind and waist strap too? so far no confidence to try to latch her while wearing beco..hehe..and she is stil using infant insert.

Mummies interested in Beco,
I have a friend who is able to give good prices for Beco. If interested can let me know.

Enne,
Don't be discouraged over ur low supply. You have been doing a great job so far. IF u still want to bf, then u just have to pump more frequently, take hot drinks like horlicks/milo and fenugreek as well. My medela mini electric doesn't work for me, supply always very low. The Avent manual pump allows me to have more letdowns so supply is better but manual pump is very tiring so i ended up getting the uno as well.

Mummyzeal,
U made it! Hope u are having a good time over there.

Peanut,
U steady lah, can find out all the cafes/eateries in Vivo. Thanks!

Bear,
Did u apply ur own BM on ur nipples? I find tat it helps in healing. Or buy those nipple cream. Cracked nipples are sooo painful.

Dymples,
Yes, medela electric also gave me crack bet the nipple and aerola area and it is very painful when i use each time so i gave up on that.
Ur gals are very adorable.

maria, i was from commonwealth sec.. =P

mummies using beco.. is the material hot??? my gal's cannot withstand the hot weather de.. esp now that she has to wear long pants.. we only worn a carrier once for her but it was a terrible exp tat's y have been using stroller all along.. but i wanna try carrier again coz more convenient but wanna find a gd n comfy one for her.. hmmz...

Kash:
Before pump, I will massage aerola -> nipple -> breast -> aerola -> nipple. Ensure that all the ducts are open before I fix up the pump. After pumping, if time permits, I will use hand to express out some more milk from the breasts (if it squirts still, I express. If juz drops, I dun really bother). Whether have time or no time, I will still squeeze (kinda squeeze, kinda roll) the aerola and nipples until no more milk. Normally a bit only but I make sure no big big drops before I stop.

My schedule also quite regular. But I notice if i deviate a lot (like yesterday, stuck in meeting), I will get blocks. If bra too tight, I also will get blocked. So now my bras are worn looser so that when I am full and due for pump, it will be juz nice. i.e. after pumping, got space, but when full then fitting.

Enne:
Jia you. But if you feel too tired, its better for you to get the rest ok.

Haru:
I undo the neck strap coz it makes the whole Beco abit looser and easier to adjust to her needs when BF.

Jenn:
If you are not in a very hot place like hawker center, its ok. If in aircon, sure ok. But if in hawker center, try to take her out. This is the same with all carriers.

Fifi, for ur beco carrier cannot be used with bb facing out right? wouldn't ur gal wanna look at the surroundings? or even when she's facing u she can still look ard isit? wanna her to be comfy and also carrier will be gd for her as it positions her leg at an angle similar to the splint that she's wearing..

Baby cannot face out in beco. She can look to the sides though. And next time, piggy back, she can see more. To me, a carrier with good back support for both myself and her is more important than her looking out. If she's very wide awake, I can also carry her without the carrier for a while so that she can look around more. *grinz*

gd morning mummmies..

Jus reached offiz &amp; realise i am the only allien tat wear uniform to work.. it's an official plant shut down for all depts except for my dept. haha.. no one inform me tat can wear civilian. lolz..

Babyzel,
u mean ur fren can get beco carrier at cheaper price? or ur fren is selling her beco carrier? in fact jo is arranging the sales to come tmr to do a demo &amp; trial for us leh... hehe..