(2008/11) November 2008

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
Your BB so cute leh!! Big eyes and nice pouting kissable lips. heheheh... handsome!!

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre &amp; Haru</font>
Haiz... my BB on saturday nite also keep waking up frm midnight till 4am. Pengz. Now I give up BF-ing during night liaoz. For the midnight and 4am feed I will give FM.
Then from 7am till night will be total BF.

<font color="ff0066"> Massage Lady</font>,
Yeah! Me starting my massage this Friday. Will be using Maya Mummy Massage.

<font color="ff0066"> 1st Mth Celebration</font>,
Me thinking of using Neo Garden for the buffet catering cos they got 15% off for 1st mth celebrations.
Then for the cakes, now choosing between Sweetest Moments or Choz. Anyone got any feedback on the above?

Hi mommies! I'm pretty new here and a mommy of a 6 week old baby boy. need some advice on feeding baby...is it normal for his feeding amounts to vary from 60ml to 150ml? sometimes, he starts crying for milk just an hour plus after drinking 120ml? worried that i might be overfeeding him. but if don't give in and feed him, also worry that he might go hungry. by the way, was pumping and feeding him EBM, and supplementing with lots of formula. Now supply of BM seems to be slowing down so relying mainly on FM. so sad.

Dymples: I ordered my baby's 1st month cakes from Sweetest Moments and everyone was impressed by the packaging. What I loved about it was the quick service (everything done online and via email), reasonable prices and best of all, the customised box and cards. I actually ordered extra cards (to keep as momentos)and was pleasantly surprised that they were laminated. Only gripe is that I didn't realise that the ang ku kueh filling was peanut and not the yellow bean one.

Hi guys... thanks for all the compliments on Baby Zachary. Ya he is very alert. I am so thankful that he has no jaundice... i dunno how to cope if he has it.. i think i developed a phobia of him now.. he cry only i wanna cry too.

Something unpleasant happened to me today.. we brought him for his first check up and then i kena big time from the PD. aft my nipple trauma and block ducts, i have been giving him abt 80% EBM and 20% FM cos my supply stillcannot match his appetite. PD scolded me for 'giving up' on bf-ing.. told me i failed liao. he 'scolded me' for 15 mins. My poor hb tried to defend me saying that even he cannot bear seeing me in so much pain but the PD said, "pain will go away one, all the hardship will go away one". i almost cried in his office. My CL, who went with me also kena. cos Zach is allergic to ruiyi oil so my PD told her in S'pore, CLs need to be certified. told her she burp the bb wrong too.

What was worse is that my PD calculated the amt of milk Zach shd be taking. so we tot CL is overfeeding the bb when in actual fact, he UNDERCALCULATED it. my CL was right all the time. we told the CL that she over fed the bb at first and had to apologise when the PD called back to say he calculated wrongly. my CL broke down and cry too. I m nv going back to him again.

sigh...

Anyway i m trying my best to increase my supply.. dunno if its too early to be happy but my supply increase by 15ml per pump now... hahaha...

Haru,
My baby also like yours, at night don sleep and have rashes on his face. For the rash I just try to clean his face whenever i can..

Dymples,
I was tempted to give FM at times. But controlled myself and just persevere with BM. Its super tiring and I even fall asleep ytd night lying down feeding him.. And sometimes really too tired that I cry lor...

Bear,
I have the same feeling sometimes too. Baby cry I cry also.. Don't take what your pd says to heart. As long as you are still giving BM its already very good liao.. Supply can slowly built up de, its still early... Don't let it affect your mood ..

Bear:
Sayang sayang. For BF, just continue on and dun give FM anymore lor. Just latch latch latch. You'll survive. Anytime you feel pain, just think of me. I can tarhan, so can you. At most you feel very pain, just call me and cry. Heehee.

How to calculate how much milk he needs to drink huh?

Sabre, i really panic when bb cries leh.. as in my mind totally goes blank. i am usually very zhai around babies.. but aft the whole latching on episode, i m so scared of him when he cries. the first thing i think abt when i hear him cry is "huh, just eaten leh, why hungry again?" and this is aft pumping and measuring how much he ate. Now all his cries = HUNGRY to me.

Fifi, i m determined to just give EBM. may be when i m a bit less blue, i might go back to latching. The LC said Zach has nipple/ teat confusion liao.. that day she tried to force him on my nipple, he screamed until no breathe.. right now i dun think i can tahan this kind of psychological trauma. i think right now i m just aiming to give total EBM.. which is gd also cos i have to go back to sch...

how to calculate how much ur bb should be drinking=> body weight of bb (in kg) x 180.

BTW, just checking, how much weight have all ur bbs put on? Zach left the hospital weighing 2.98kg. today at PD, he was 3.41kg! that's almost half a kilo in 5 days!!

sabre and haru : me also, 3 nights ina row my HB and i didnt sleep..cos attend to BB whole nite a bit of sound from her we get up so very hard to sleep...we just found another nanny to do another 28 days..like buying time cos at least we can sleep...otherwise baby needs to be fed every 3 hr, HB and i like zombie next morning really tiring.

red spots on baby
My baby also has tat i got a cream for PD and the cream works well applied 3 days now mostly gone its natural BB has it ard 4 weeks and normally goes off...

Its also bcos we ate too much durians during pregnancy that causes BB now to have pimples and rashes...(toxic), those havent deliver must drink more coconut water.

Anyway mummies i have this authentic brand new Burberry watch for sale at $220. Retails at $550.

Pls let me know if anyone is keen.

1939362.jpg

1939363.jpg

bear : ur PD is mad, where's the clinic? He is supposed to educate mothers as many are new mothers and not lecture...too much.

<font color="ff0066"> Lorraine,</font>
Thks for the feedback on Sweetest Moments. I am also tempted to use them cos of their packaging. But I heard that the quality of the food is better at Choz.
How was the snacks from Sweetest Moments? Good?

<font color="ff0066"> Bear,</font>
Aiyoh!! Your PD really terrible leh. It's already good of you to feed BB 80% wz EBM. Wat more he wants??!! Terrible service! I agree. Dun go to him anymore!
My BB's PD is the one I use for all my gals since #1. He is Dr Ang Poon Liat at TMC. Berry fatherly and good. His diagnosis berry acurate and he super experienced lor.
Somemore will take time to explain to you if you got questions. You may wanna consider using him.

*sayang sayang* Dun give up on BF-ing your BB okies. Even if it's EBM, at least lil Bear is getting all the essential nutrients and antibodies from you yah. Jia-you babe!
We are all here supporting you. Dun worry about latching on for now. Most important is for you to recover from the latching experience first.
A happy mommy is most imortant for BB. Take care.

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre</font>,
Wah seh.. you good leh. Can perservere wz 100% BF. You go gal! *salute-salute* Me super buay tahan liaoz... so give up and give FM at night.
Somemore I got my 2 older gals to take care too. If I am sleep deprived, will become grouchy bear lor... not fair to them if I get irritated and lash out at them.

bear : don't keep feeding baby once he cries as u will overfeed, PD say my baby overfed bcos once she cry i always feed and never regulate on timing sometimes 1 hr, 1 1/2 hr, 2 hr, 3 hr, so now i strictly 3 hr then feed her so her feeds are regulated and not being overfed.

Sometimes cry is want to be carried, cuddled to sleep, stomach got wind, want to be carried in various styles, want to sleep cannot sleep, diaper wet. I try to understand my BB cries and i know sometimesshe cry very loud and long is want ppl to cuddle her...

mummy: Ya, normally everytime bath also get the red spots now also less, and her face is clear of 'pimples'. I will get the name of the cream tomorrow.

dymples,

i used neo garden for first baby's full mth last year and her 1 yr old BD party this year too... very good comments from guests...

bear,

that PD really terrible. Made u and even your CL cried... he is so nasty and mean.... dun go to him anymore yah... and remember, dun panic when u hear bb cries... juz remember cry for awhile wont do any harm... i quite immune coz maybe my elder one cries all the time! everyday throwing tantrum till I am going quite crazy with her.

re : latching

I am also giving up. Hb reservist so last nite i had to take care of bb at nite. Last fed him at 12.30am and he slept till 5.30am. So I also engorged liao so latch him direct. Warrao... after 40 mins of struggling to try all ways to shake, massage, tickle him to wake up from my breast...i gave up. In between, he also puked badly after latching halfway... decided to change his diaper hoping to "wake" him. Fair enuff, he cried and "woke up". Latch him again... slept almost instantly!! after 15mins i gave up. Let him sleep and I went to express... still got 190ml! so imagine how little he drank... "gek sim"... another 45 mins later, i went to zzzz... finally abt to doze off, he started to make noise again! warrao sibei pek chek.... that was already 7.40am! Bo pian, forced to get up and feed him 125ml of EBM... then he pooed again...had to burp and change diapers... puked out so much milk... then my gal woke up and shouted "mummy where??" ... Hiaz...

Re : bb boy and changing diapers

I realised changing diapers for boys is such a BIG challenge compared to girls! I did not had so much diaper incidents with my gal last time. My bb boy kept spraying urine while changing diapers. And worst is tat after 1 time, u tot over liao... who knows he will urine again!!! sometimes kenna his own face even! GEK SIM!

Good morning mummies!!

kash - keke....so funny when I read abt your boy unrinating!! You can try the sh-sh method, before you remove the diaper, make the sh-sh sound and give him some time to urine. It works for my boy, so he will urine on the old diaper, then we change a new one. But need to train him lar..after a while he will know the sh-sh sound means he needs to pass urine. My mum is really good at that..keke...

First month celebration - I am using D'sweet touch deli. Not sure if the food is good, but my dad say he tried the fried rice and banana cake and its very tasty, and their service is not bad, so decided to try them. Will feedback after my celebration on coming sat.

Massage - Just started massage yesterday and can feel pain all over my body, dont know is it because the massage brings out all my "injury". I am those who cant really tolerate massage pain de...dont know how to endure today...the worst is the tummy bind...aiyo so uncomfortable!! But for the sake of losing weight....I ren!!

Dymples: I used Neo Gardens for my wedding, quite thumbs up :p

Bear: Ganbatte! The fact that he has gained weight shows he is feeding well on EBM!!
Initially I also stressed by bb crying now, but now I will let him cry a while before attending to him. And waoh lao, your pd is really 1 kind lor...dont go back to him!!

Kash: Same here!! my bb boy will urinate sometimes on himself and he will look 'shocked' for a while b4 crying again. Me and hb also gena a few times liao arghh.

Carol: Mabbe ask ML not to massage so hard?? I rem Mona massage my foot/ankle and it was so painful, she said my foot a bit weak (mabbe due to running last time) and I ask her not to 'knead' so hard... Yah for losing weight, must ren haaa

Bear/kash,
Don't give up on latching. The more you latch on, the more milk it will stimulate. Once milk established, you can pump and give total EBM. There is nothing wrong with giving total EBM to bb. Afterall it still breast milk mah.

RE: milk supply,
Need some advice from mummy here. For my #1 I latch her on all the way throughout my pregnancy till #2 born on 16 Nov. As such, my milk comes in quite fast on 1st day itself. After 1 week, I begin expressing and could achieve 150ml per pump and that is when I started to bottle feed my bb and pump every 3 hourly.

Throughout I still latch bb on after every 3 bottle feed. Starting from yesterday, whenever I pump, my milk decrease from 150ml to only 40ml and I dun know why is this so? Does it mean that my milk ss is still not stable yet?

Morning mummies..

Bear,
your pd so jialat, never ever go bk to him anymore! Me 1st time heard that pd lecture patients till they cry.. * hugz *

Kash,
I understand how u feel.. try to nap whenever your bb sleep so that u can catch some sleep.. Otherwise will be quite tiring for u.

Dymples/lorraine,
I am also ordering from sweetest moments. Hope that my guests will love the cake.. I also impressed by their packaging, so sweet n nice.

Sabre

Endure and soon it be over liao.. !!
U r really gd, 100% BM!!

CC

Mine too.. just finished milk only, then in abt 1.5 hrs later will cry .. CL said he is looking for milk again.. but i normally will ask CL not to give in cos the interval so short.. worried abt overfeeding..

Regarding CL

Last nite, as i didnt heard bb cries, decided to wake up to check on both CL n baby. Guess wat, i saw CL carrying the BB in her hand, n she was dozing off with her head almost hitting the bed.. and worse there a half bottle of milk on the bed.. So decided to wake her up, haha.. she immediately pretended tat it my bb tat dozed off and tell me that bb is pooing.. after i went out, i heard that she is feeding the bb.. wonder how long the milk is left there..
N oso it so dangerous, wat happen if she drop the bb? sign.. luckily confinement left only 5days..

Monring mummies!

Finally had my full month celebration ended over the weekend.And had my massage started ysady. Feel so shiok after it and i managed to 'tong' till tis morning then remove the binder!

Bear,
*sayang sayang*
Your PD is crazy! Dun go back to him.
Where gt such PD,he shld be encouraging you instead.Giving 80% on BM for the start is very gd loh.Ignore him!
Just dun giv up on latching and when bb crys,dun get panic and stress.Just check wat he wants, mayb too hot,wanna change diaper or jus wanna someone to cuddle him.

kash,
I agreed! Is so challenging to change diaper for boy.Mayb bcos we are so used to changing for our gal and wont face such 'attack'.
I got 'attack' by my boy for several times.Eveytime remove his diaper then he pee.Once he even pee and shoot on my face!
He likes to pee without diaper on siah...
Now i will remove his diaper,cover and wait for awhile.

fifi,
Are you the one who mentioned that KK hosp selling the avent manual pump cheaper?
Which shop??

gd morning mummies
Wow it's seem like a BIG challenge to have a #1 &amp; newborn bb.. at night settle bb finish liao. den next will be #1.. Non stop marathon!!

kash/Glad_gal>
"Urine accident" while change diaper is nothing! my boy "chua SAI" while changing diaper.. his sai was like spraying out..my mil &amp; maid are so far his victims! hahaha.. i'm still crossing my fingers. hahaha

Hi Mums and MTBs...

My bb boy just had his full month celebration.

I bought a banner "It's a Boy" (4.3 meters long) for the celebration. Wan to sell it off... I just used for ONE time only...

Bought it at $12.90

Letting it go at $10 including postage... ;p

Kash:
When changing diaper for boys, use a nappy cloth to cover that part once you remove the diaper.

Pimples on the face:
This is common. Just keep the area clean. Wash with cotton and warm water regularly. No need to apply cream de. Too much cream not good for baby's sensitive skin. Let it run its course slowly better. Baby will outgrown later on (not few days hor... few weeks oso can).

Happy:
Not sure if avent pump is cheaper but medela is cheaper coz is US version (but they give the adapter). The shop is first few years.

<font color="ff0066"> Kash, Glad Gal</font>
Thks for the feedback on Neo Garden.
Looks like there is lots of positive comments so will be using them for BB's Man Yue.

<font color="ff0066"> Kash</font>,
Haiz... me also kept awake from 4am till 7am today. Gave BB FM also still wake up every hourly. So decided to BF her and lie down at same time.
But when latch her on, after 5-10 mins suckling, she'll fall asleep. Pluck her off the nipple, 5-mins later she'll bawl and wanna latch back on. *aarrgghh*
1941077.gif

Damn pek chek man. She finally fell asleep from 7am till 9am. Then start again. I super buay tahan liaoz. Guess we both will jia-you together yah.

<font color="ff0066"> BB Pee &amp; Poo</font>
Aiyoh... not juz the boys lah. My this girl also likes to pee and poo when I'm changing her diapers. The worse part is... I'll wipe her clean liaoz and apply cream.
Then once I put a new diaper under her ass, b4 I can tape up, she'll pee and poo. So wasted lah. *sigh*

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>
Your tat CL really dangerous leh. How can carry BB and doze off... scary scary. Somemore feed BB the leftover milk??
Like you said... luckily left only 5-days. But I tink also better for you to caution her against doing it again lor.

Mummies with #2,

how does ur #1 react when u are handling the bb? So far my son still quite alrite, not much jealously yet.. but i m worried after CL go back, it will be a different thing liao.. I hope he will not be too jealously after tat..

Dymples

ya, so scary when i saw that.. it not leftover milk, it just that i m not too sure wat time she gave the milk to bb, n how long the milk is there liao, thinking if i confront her, she might tell me that it just a while.. no choice, just have to bear with her loh... but overall she is still quite alrite, responsible.. But find tat she tends to use up things quite fast.. hehe.. My HB commented tat cos it not her $$ so she use alot loh..

cutiemum: Yes, crying does not mean hungry last time I kept feeding 1 hr, 1 1/2 hr, 2 hr, very luan man her timing and then ended up overfed, doc say put her on regulated timing. Anyway sometimes cry just feed water.

Kash/Glad_gal
I am also using Neo garden for 1 of my full month sessions. I have 3 sessions, hahaha.. very shiong on the pocket, but we hv to hve diff sessions for MIL side, FIL side and our frens.

What are the items that are really good from Neo Garden? I think their Curry chicken is very good. I ordered from them for my #1, but tats 6 yrs ago.

Kash,
My boy also like urs.. everytime will spray urine after we changed him!! And yes, sometimes even on his own face, v messy.. and funny...:p

Dymples
I have started my massage with Maya. She is not bad, just that she always "makan" my time by 5-10 mins..

Anyone has reactions from binding? I always feel very itchy after removing the bindg, I guess it's becos the skin cant breathe? Itch until bueyn tahan, so usually I cant keep for 8 hrs, at most 7hrs. The weather these 2 days is soooo hot!! I perspire like a dripping tap.

Happy,
It is The First Few Years at KK Hosp, but I think the promotion is over liao. U can call up to check.

Cutiemum
Aiyo. that is so dangerous leh. U shld really tell her off. And make sure u are more vigilant in checking on her.

I also know that crying does not mean hungry, but I am also guilty of feeding my baby as soon as he cries, even at nite. So I feel tat I didnt even sleep at all! It cld be comfort suckling. To me, the easiest is stuff my breasts into his mouth and shut him up.. hohoho......

bear, dun bother what ur pd say... to feed ebm or not to is the choice of the mother... not him/her...

cutiemum, aiyo.. my #1 is really jealous of my #2... and always wanna "disturb" her.. lucky my mum is ard.. so she stick to my mum more...

cc

ya loh.. i oso always tell my CL tat must hv regular timing.. cannot anyhow feed.. normally will wait at least more than 2 hr then feed.. somemore mine is FM even need to hv regular timing..

Sunshinekid

ya, will be more vigilant liao..
ya for my boy, think he is someone tat need pacificer.. hehe.. my HB been asking me to give him pacificer, but i dun want to start now, tot of starting only when CL leave.. cos of yesterday incident, worried tat she might just give bb pacificer n not milk.. hehe. so no choice hv to bear with another few day then my pacifier will be out liao.. hahha.

amore..

my #1 oso like to 'disturb' the #2, but still alrite.. so sometime i will tell him, didi so naughty, i 'sell' him away ok, then #1 will said no, i love my didi.. i hope he really meant tat..

re pacificer - my bb oso like to do comfort sucking... i wanted to give her pacificer but my mum ask me not to... say if she kenna "hooked" liao next time wanna wean off very diff. Coz this happen to my #1...

cutie, how old is ur #1?... my #1 now is at the terrible 2 stage... really very notti.. when we ask her not to do those things she purposely do it for us to see... very diff to talk sense into her and she also cannot sit still kind.. *headache*

avent teat - any mummies using avent bottle? my bb does not seems to like the teat... think of changing just the teat... coz bought a few avent BPA free bottles liao... dun wanna waste money to buy new bottles... i know pigeon wide neck teat can be used with avent bottle.. anyone now if any other teat can be used with avent bottle?

Amore,
Pigeon teat can be used on Avent bottles? That I didnt know. I might want to try cos I also realised tis baby of mine dun seem to like Avent teats. But my #1 and #2 didnt have such probs.

cutiemum: yes need to regulate my baby threw up milk and even went thru her nose one nite cos like heartburn...doc say regulate 3 hr wont hv this prob and is true. So feed 3 hr wont cause bb heartburn n throw up.

avent teat: In fact dun really like avent bottle and teat i have a few at home, teat hole is big...and hard..

sunshinekid, ya pigeon wide neck teat can be used in avent bottles... dat is why my bb dun like... but my #1 also okay with avent last time... hmm

cc, ya think the teat too hard..

These few days my bb will scream non-stop from colic pains in the evening, have been rubbing his tummy with oil and giving him colic medicine, hope this phase will quickly end.

Bear> I think u are doing very well supplementing only 20%, hen hao le
Different PD say different things, my PD ask me to go ahead and feed as and when bb demands and for 3wks he has put on abt 1.1kg. 3 wks already i am still supplementing fm, in fact he juz finish his first can of fm.

hi mummies.. hope all are doing fine and good.

How I wish I can join the talk of baby crying in the night.. the milk bottles to use... change diapers.. breastfeeding...

But for now, my life is running down to KK children ICU everyday.. my baby had his 3rd op last nite.. I brought him into this world to suffer when he's not even a week old.. heart-wrenching to see him with tubes and needles all over, and most heartbreaking to see him being wheeled into OT again and again..

i am selling the 'The First Years Breastmilk Thaw &amp; Warm Cup' (pic below) for $15. It's brand NEW. I paid $17.06 w shipping cost. Please PM if you are interested. Self collection at convenient place or postage to be paid by buyer.

Fast Heating with warm tap water
Also works with bottles
Safe for breastmilk and formula
Color change indicator - warns when water is "too hot"
Contents: One breastmilk thaw/warm cup, handle, lid
When baby is ready to eat, thawing frozen breastmilk seems to take forever. Until now! The First Years Breastmilk Thaw &amp; Warm Cup quickly and safely brings frozen and refrigerated breastmilk to the perfect temperature for feeding. Other methods of thawing and warming can overheat delicate breastmilk and damage the beneficial properties it contains. They can also put your baby at risk for burns. This warmer puts you in control with a color change indicator that will warn you when the temperature of the water used to warm your milk becomes too hot - for breastmilk and for Baby. Safe for formula and babyfood too!

Hanging slot will fit most standard kitchen faucets
Adjustable/removable handle
Lid keeps milk storage bags in place
Warming chamber fits milk storage bags, bottles, baby food jars
Color change indicator indicates when temperature is unsafe for breastmilk
Removable base for easy cleaning
Drain level option allows water to flow through cup for faster heating
Thaw &amp; Warm Cup can hang or sit in sink

1941751.jpg

Hi Enne,

Sorry to hear about ur baby. Wat happen to him? U must take care of yourself k and dun worry too much.. I am sure bb is in good hands of doctor.

RE: DUO breast pump
Any mummy is using duo breast pump and which brand is good? How fast can u empty both breast using duo pump? My Avent uno pump has run down and feel like getting a duo pump so to save time.
Pls advice...

Anyone head that TMC parentcraft are renting 2nd hand Avent Duo pump at 1/2 price for abt 6 months?

cutiemum,
my #1 did get jealous sometimes.. especially when he is grouchy (wanted to sleep or just wake up). He will also ask me to carry him when he saw me bf meimei.. but still ok, not severe case.

<font color="ff0066"> Sunshine</font>,
Thks for the feedback on Maya. Aiyoh.. guess most ML also like tat lor. Makan a few minutes here and there. As long as she doesn't cxl last minute or worse...
no-show... it's ok wz me lah.

<font color="ff0066"> Brocoli</font>
Oh dear... hope that your BB recovers from the colic soon. Must be so tiring for you cos need to soothe BB and so heartpain to see
BB wailing away yet nothing much you can do. Jia-you babe!

<font color="ff0066"> Pacifier</font>,
I succumb and gave BB the pacifier when I needed to 'sun' her in the phototherapy machine. But becos of tat plus feeding FM at night, BB got nipple confusion.
Tat aggravated my sore nipples. Now I've stopped giving her the pacifier liaoz. Thk goodness she also not sucking for comfort so often liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Enne</font>,
OMG. It sounds serious. I pray for your BB's fast recovery yah. Take care babe.

joyce, I'm using PIS advanced... depends on how engorged i am... if i'm very engorged like 6 to 8 hrs have not pump.. i can pump up to 30 mins... if not 10 to 15 mins can liao...

Enne,
Sorry to hear about ur baby. What happen to him? Don't worry too much. Pls do take care of yourself.

Confinement
Have not been following confinment rules. Been bringing my 2nd daughter to sch, bathe her. Brought my eldest daughter jalan jalan,she so bored at home.