(2008/11) November 2008

Hi mummies, FinaLY I can access to internet.

This is my birth story. A miracle baby.

19 Nov 2008

1.30pm - called doc as baby wasn't kicking much from 18 nov to 19 nov.
Doc wants me to admit immediately.

2.00pm - hospital bag packed but luggage to mum's house not packed as it was such a sudden call to hospital. Not mentally prepared at all.

2.30pm - Reached hospital. Put on CTG.

2.45pm - Doc arrived. 2cm dilated. Doc suggested induced the baby and delivered that day.

3pm - Doc broke my waterbag. I was really lost and dun know what to do.

3.35pm - 1st contraction sets in.

5.30pm - cannot take the pain. Had epidural. still 2 cm dilated.

7pm - Dilated to 2 cm.

7.45pm - 9.5cm dilated. DOc on the way.

8.04pm - Doc arrived and ready to push.

8.05pm - Baby was out in 1 push and within 1 min. I cried as baby is very small. Only 2.56kg and 48 cm. Doc says she is healthy though on the smaller side.

Thank God for such smooth delivery, baby no jaundice when discharged. However, two days in hospital, baby couldn't latch on and thus she did not managed to drink much milk. Nipples became sore and bled but I still carry on. Lactation came to help.

22 Nov - 24 Nov - Finally I broke down after trying for 2 days day and night to try breastfeeding but my nipples were sore and bleeding. Left breast started to engorged. Started formula milk and introduced 1 day of bottle feeding. I really hated myself for introducing that. WEnt to see Mrs Wong the Lactation consultation for help and aso to see PD for follow up. Baby weight dropped to 2.3kg. My heart really ached...Mrs wong tod me not introduce bottle and try cup feeding.

24 Nov ti today - Stopped bottle and formula. Baby managed to latch on though on and off not successful. Milk supply started to produce lots so have to keep pumping.

COngrats to Karen, Bear, Dimples, Enne, Sabre, Snowy, iian, Meowbie, iluvbil, krysta, Edde, CYN.!

7pm

<font color="ff0000">Blessed Mum</font>
Congrats! Hey, you don't have to be upset at all abt your baby's weight! My baby is only 2.55kg at birth, but I am not at all worried. They grow up real fast! My first and 2nd baby were 2.33 and 2.46kg respectively, but they really really ballooned from 2MO onwards. Really fat at 3MO!

So as long as baby comes out safe and sound, tats most important.

As for breastfeeding, it's all a matter of trial and error, as well as perserverance. We are all here to learn. Even thou Gavin is my 3rd baby, I am also lost at times. :p

iluvbli55,
his jaundice lvl was 128 when discharged. Then went to 169. Then drop to 167. then drop to 162 today....

Blessed Mum,
Congrats!! Don worry too much ya.. just continue to try and u will succeed!!

iluvbli55,
I had episotomy. The pain actually went away from 3rd or 4th day. The stitches came off on the 7th day and doc said i recovered well liao. No pus no nothing for me. My CL say must avoid yam and duck cos they will cause inflammation to the wound. So try to avoid these food. Or ya i always use the antiseptic lotion and doc's presciption for the wound religiously for the first 2 weeks. You better check with ur gynae on the pus thingy to be sure.

I've got another breastmilk supply tip from a friend. Her mum-in law say cook ikan bilis in soup and drink. Can boost milk supply. As i don't cook, i think this method a bit diff for me.

bibi,
i have no CL, thats why!hehe..doing confinement on my own. but have hubby to help for another week before he returns to work.

Dymples,
was it difficult to get e latching correct? i think i am doing it ok, but not sure if there is room for improvement.=>

gladglad,
well done! i am getting really nervous about handling baby alone at home when hubby returns to work esp when she cries..i tried bathing her today, not too bad. but i know my mum wil come over often to help out and to see baby. coz she lives very close to me.

Sabre,
i am actually thinking if she is getting enough since i let her latch so often esp during the day. dunno if got time to produce more milk..

i brot my baby downstairs in the morning to sun yesterday and today. its also recommended by the PD.

bluebear,
thats great! you must be relieved.=>

Blessedmum,
congrats!! dun be discouraged ok? until now i also cannot make up my mind bout givin baby bottle or not as she is only 2 weeks old. but have given her bottle several times already. trying to BF as much poss until she is a month old. BF is not easy, but I am sure it wil get better with more practice.

re:mittens &amp; booties
til how old does a baby need to wear e mittens and booties?

by warming up EBM, bb will get wind in the stomach?? my mil commented becos warming up the EBM bb get the wind. -_- really felt so discouraged... tryin to tell me give FM bb dont get wind la..

fifi

V strange leh it was the nurses in Gleneagles who especially reminded me that before I got dischraged last yr.

Congrats to blessed mum!

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre</font>,
eerr... I won't use stout to bathe the BB. I'd rather sun the BB in the morning &amp; evenings.

<font color="ff0066"> Iluvbli</font>,
I had an episiotomy... now it's 9-days since my delivery. The pain subsided since day 5. Yesterday went for gynae chk-up and she said the wound is healing nicely. I din experience any pus. Maybe you'd like to chk wz your gynae to be safe yah.

For cleaning the perineal area, I just pour lots n lots of water over the area whenever I go toilet. I won't pat dry wz tissue on the wound cos scared the tissue will get stuck in the stitches, then can cause infection. Every morning, night and during bath time, I will squat and spray warm water for some thorough cleaning. HTH's

<font color="ff0066"> Blessed Mum</font>,
Dun be disheartened by the BF-ing yah. Slowly take your time and help re-adjust your BB back to suckling on the breast. Even for me... though this is #3, I also experience difficulties latching-on till gotta see LC too. Jia-you!!

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>,
Nope. It's not difficult to get the latching correct. Juz need a good breast feeding support pillow to help keep BB's body aligned correctly. Also need to ensure tat BB is suckling the nipple plus aerola around the nipple. The main 'trick' is to hold BB very close to your body &amp; breast. Me now still mastering the technique. 90% of the time I'll get it right. hehheheeh... Practice makes perfect. At least my nipples are not so sore and happy not bleeding liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>,
Me never heard tat warming up EBM will cause wind leh. Tink your MIL trying to make you feed BB wz FM lah. To prevent wind in the stomach, juz rub a little little bit of 'Ru Yi' oil on BB's tummy lor.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"><font face="comic sans ms"> To All The Mommies Still Waiting To "POP"...</font></font></font>
<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"><font face="comic sans ms"> Hang in there babes! Jia-You...!!!
Meanwhile enjoy the peace &amp; quiet... and all the fantastic sales going on around town yah... hehehhe
</font></font></font>

Just came back from my appt. wk 40 liao but bb still not engaged.
If nothing happen these 2 days, i will induce on 30.11.08 (sun). I'm informed to check in on sat after midnight.

Now just hope for miracle to happen..

iluvbli55,
yar, all prepared.. on my way back, i brought holick also.. Whenever i got nothing to do, i will just check the forum n see wat i have missed out. So by now i should have everything liao..

My hb even brought book for my boy. n the bks are around primary sch level.

Haru,
Lucky you have ur mom to help... It's so tiring to do it all by yourself. Esp when ur hb is not around.

My mom will be doing confinement for me so shd be ok. And my hb can only take 2-3 days leave only.

hi hi, i've given birth to a baby boy. weight 3.25kg, height 51cm.

just wanna check too. Anyone here intending to put their babies thru the gina ford routine?

Gd morning mummies

Congrats to Blessed mum, milkie, enjoy yr bundle of love and rest well during the confinement ya

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
Around 7.30-10am, I sun bb cos too late is too hot. We took off his clothes, mittens and booties and leaving only his diaper on. Did that for a few days in a row, remember to wrap him up on yr way there and back or he may catch a cold, and cover bb's eyes with eyepads or towel, we sun only 10min each time. U can also try put bb to sleep in a place exposed to daylight(e.g. living room, etc near a bright window)

congrats dymples, blessed mum, lilian, Bear &amp; everybody else!

started my urut finally. my urut lady is VERY good &amp; always punctual. one tip for all the breastfeeding mummies, use a v soft mattress to lie on for your massage. i used a hard mattress &amp; it pressed agst my breasts, restricting my milk flow &amp; causing my ducts to get blocked. i didn't even know &amp; was wondering y milk flow suddenly reduced so much. luckily i asked my urut lady &amp; she sd no way massage can cause less milk, shd produce more in fact. she helped me to unblock it *so pain* &amp; now my milk is back to normal

my luke finally seems to be growing. gerard looks like a little sumo next to him, so fat! next week i'll bring them for polyclinic &amp; finally see how much they weigh.

ignatius &amp; daddy have gone to sunway lagoon for hol so my mum, maid &amp; me have some peace from him disturbing the babies. daddy is buying 12 cans of susu powder from m'sia. my hungry babies r consuming much more than i can produce... sigh.

gambate bibi! sms me when u deliver, ok?

haru,
confirm got milk de...don have milk also let baby latch, den will stimulate more milk.. Anyway if baby is satisfied means he's drinking enough lor...

I just bought baby to sun today. Hopefully when monday comes he goes for the check, the level would have gone way down liao...

Re:Mittens and booties,
I think around 1,2 months ba.. Cause they need to explore their sense of touch ....

Alibaba,
Nonsense lor.. My #1 was on FM since birth. And he everytime got wind de, when baby that time, everytime 'merlion' after feeds de..

Dymples,
I'll be leaving that till last alternative la.. Cause baby's skin is a bit dry now, den keep peeling skin. Wouldn't wan to use alcoholic stuff..

Re:Mucus,
Baby's nose sounds stuck lei. tried everything, even sucking it out myself, but then no use lei.. Any ideas mummies?? See him like so xin ku like that..

Good morning Mummies!!

Jadon did not sleep until 2.30am last night!! Faint! Kept crying and kicking a fuss, dont know what he wants...sigh...finally put him in the sarong and shake him for 1/2hr before he is willing to fall asleep...tired! Maid was not able to appease him, so I need to get up and take care of him, if not he will wake the whole family. Wonder when all these fussing will end??

alibaba - so good!! You can wear shorts and sleeveless at home!! I wore sleeveless once and my mum was nagging at me till I change out of it. Sigh...

c-section mummies - does the inside of your stomach still hurts?? I can still feel a nagging pain on the inside of my stomach, think the wound not fully recovered yet??...Massage starting on 1-Dec, dont know ok or not.

Re: Episiotomy wound
I use water to wash every time I visit the toilet and pat dry gently with water. I also wsh with diluted lactacid in 2nd week. Pain subsided within a few days and I think fully healed by 2nd week. No pus.

Kash:
Nvm I will ask hubby to by the caps today juz to be safe.

mornin mummies,
just brot my baby downstairs to sun awhile aft breakfast. last nite my baby "merlion" out most of the EBM. i think i need to stop giving her e bottle for awhile until maybe she's about 1 month. seems to happen quite alot when i give her the bottle. wil stick to latchin on directly for now even for nite feeds.

Dymples,
BF is not painful for me anymore, so i guess it should be good for now. much better than first week!

Bibi,
yea, really help esp with the laundry and some chores. but i already started doin some chores myself too. =P

olwen,
i had lots of blocked ducts too and i had to tahan when massage lady massage for me. so painful! but i told her no prob for the sake of baby's milk.

Carol,
dun get upset ok? hubby can tell i also get quite stressed with baby cries for long time. gota say my hubby's patience is No.1. he can really spend hours pacifying baby without getting frustrated.he constantly reminds me not to get upset when baby cries when i am alone at home.

Morning mummies...another tiring day zzzz

Hi Milkie: I had the GF book but it seems hard to practise the routine ;( coz bb's temperament is so unpredictable sigh.

Olwen: *waves*..gd that Luke is growing! I also happy that my bb puts on abt 1.2 kg since birth

Sabre: My bb has a lot of mucus too. So on Wed, Pd used this tube to suck out all his mucus and gave us nose drops...not sure if you want to try that as it might not be so effective if we do it ourselves..

Carol: Same here
Yesterday baby did not sleep from 11pm till 1plus. Kept wailing and we tried all sorts of methods, changing diaper, carrying him, breastfeed him (even tho i think he was not hungry yet)...think he cried till he was tired and fell asleep.

Haru: Wow your husband so patient. My hb is the opposite, yesterday he was soo tired fr work that he got really irritated with his constant crying!

Morning mummies..

Congrats to all the mummies that has popped!

RE: Lochia
Check with u mummies, how long will the lochia ends? Ard 2 weeks or??

Carol,
Me too, like alibaba.. wear shorts and sleeveless at home cause no govt! Mum mil saw and said wear so little arh, then i told her so hot the weather then she didnt comment more.. But if my mum saw me like that she will sure nag wan..

so sad.. my baby just merlion all her milk out not long aft i put her down in her cot..=( had to get hubby to change the sheets..but she fell right asleep aft i cleaned her up. think i need to burp her longer n let her sit upright before putting her back in cot..think she also drank too much milk.i BF her so no idea how much she drank..

cutiemum- sorie .. past few days were buzi, so never log in. oic. im staying near the new pri sch, 10min walk frm the mrt st. sad news.. my mil told mi my confinment cant end earlier . so hv to tahan another 1wk
.. sianz....

re-perspire
i oso sweat alot.. duno y. lucky the weather now is not so hot,else cant imagine ! i oso on the fan whereever im ard. hee

haru - i can understd hw u feel when ur gal puke. think maybe they drink too fast bah .

Latch on -
reason i didnt let my gal latch on - worried she will not wan bottle feed when im bk to work.then mil will hv prob taking care of her. any mummies hv the same concern as me ?

carol,
nowadays baby also keep fussing.. made me real frustrated sometimes too.. but no choice, hopefully things will get better soon...

the pain u feel could it be the uterus contracting????

gladgal,
guess have to wait till mon when i bring him to check his jaundice den can ask doc liao ba...

spin,

yes i had frens who had this problem when they went back to work... bb only wants to latch and dun want bottle...so very cham... i also have frens who BF for very long...then when they wanna stop and intro FM, bb refuses to drink FM... very cham... think u can mix bottle feed EBM and latch.

fifi,

yes, buy the sealing caps better. BTW, i am mixing normal avent bottles and the BPA one now...coz not enough bottles
i do not use the glass bottles coz must pour out from pump to glass b ottles, then when wanna feed, from glass bottle to avent feeding bottle very mafan. So i have 8 avent bottles now. Wonder when SG Avent will bring in the BPA free bottles. As for freezing, I pour inside milk bags and keep inside a lock &amp; lock box coz my freezer got meat

haru,

try to buy ridwind or infacol.... see whether it will help get rid of the excess wind in your bb's stomach? that may also help reduce the puking. I had this problem with my gal last time. She pukes very badly regardless bottled EBM or direct latch... it will go away when they are older... like 4,5 mths...when their stomach is more mature. So for now, try to hold bb in an angled position for abt 20 mins after u have finished a feed before letting bb back in the cot.

<font color="ff0066"> olwen</font>,
I'm glad to hear that Luke is thriving well. heheheh.. give him some time and I'm sure he'll also be sumo like his kor kor Gerard.

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre</font>,
You may wanna apply a bit of baby oil on bb's skin to keep it moisturised if bb's skin is dry.

<font color="ff0066"> Spin</font>,
I use those non-wired, non padded nursing bra at home. For outside, my nursing bras are those nicer types - got lace, lightly padded and also underwired.

haru,
u r lucky u still have your mum to help u... last time i all alone with my gal.... no problem juz dun panic or get stress when they cry. I am quite immune to bb's crying...

Dymples

in fact i tink my water retention is very terrible during pregancy.. didnt prespire alot mayb is cos i din take alot of ginger n wine?

Alibaba

u mean u already finished 1 round of massage and going for another round? so gd..

how much weight u put on all together? Me too still left with 5 kgs.. Hope to shed off more kgs before CNY..

Sabre

Ya, think it very difficult to bring up the topic to ur MIL, especially ur confinement is only 1 wk plus.. I agreed with u fully, doing confinement is just to make the MIL, mother happy and ourself not happy.. but wat to do?

CC
u means u actually got another CL to help u for ur 2nd mth? so it oso day n nite?

iluvbli55,
my pain gets better in my 2nd wk.. but till now, coming to end of 3 wk liao, think still abit not heal.. I oso experience some pus.. think shld be ok.. just remember to keep the area clean n dry..

Spin

it alrite.. cheer up.. u have already tong for 3 wk liao, so it another wk only.. that how i console myself too.. hehe.. i m oso left with abt 8days more to go!! Jiayou!!!

Spin:
Just start introducing bottle after 1 mth (or at least 4 weeks before you start work). Start from 1 bottle then slowly increase till the feeds that you are at work are bottle fed. I think you will have more problem to latch after introducing bottle then bottle after latching.

Kash:
Wad brand milk bags are u using? I never use the avent bottles le. Coz the lactation consultant ask me dun use. She say the teat too hard, baby may reject breast after that. She ask me use the pigeon latex teat. So my bottles sitting there doing nothing. I use the small ones less than 1 week only. Sigh. The pigeon standard teat can be used with the glass bottles.

REALLY CAN'T COPE! Sigh! Baby sleep with HB and I we whole night can't sleep...brought cot down to confinement lady again and we decided to have confinement lady(nanny) to help out for long term...really tiring..hard on our pockets too..sigh...sigh...

cutiemum - so u n mi abt the same ending date.

Fifi- im mixing with bottle n latching now. juz tt at times.. i feel guilty for nt letting my gal to latch on.

Kash- yeah.. I've colleagues having the same prob like ur colleague. And tt is y Im trying not to let my gal get "addicted" over my nipple. hee.

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
Hope yr bb's jandice levels will go down soon, think it's already tapering down ya.

<font color="0000ff">joyce</font>
My lochia already ended on the 10th day after my delivery.

<font color="0000ff">Spin</font>
I dun go out shopping yet cos till in confinement but when I'm out to polyclinic for my bb's checkup, I wear a nursing bra with underwire for support.

<font color="0000ff">kash</font>
How much does the plastic caps from Gleneagles cost?

I'm also like U, now using a mixture of bottles now to store my EBM, and I'm kinda running out of bottles liao.

<font color="0000ff">Fifi</font>
Laninsoh milk bags is BPA free and the thickest available but have to buy from US, there is usu some spree going on on the oversea spree thread, U can check out and order from there. Or U want to organise a milkbag spree for us? Nuk teats are better I find cos it's shaped like out breast, got two types, silicone and latex, available at KiddyPalace at $6.90 for a packet of two.

hullo mummies... congrats to those who popped and how is everyone coping? hope everyone is coping well...

bb who dun sleep -> not sure if this work for u... but it work on my gal when she's over stimulated... i learn this from bb whisperer book.. u go into a room... close door... roll down all ur window blind... make sure the room is dark... swaddle the bb... put bb head over ur shoulder... pat bb back... then ur body move left and right... and make "shsh" sound... at 1st bb will fuss.... u shh and pat until bb stop fussing... once bb stop fussing... u can stop the "shsh" sound.. but continue to pat until bb sleep.... once bb in deep sleep... u can try and put bb down... u can try this.. and see if this work for ur bb..

not so good news from me... my gal has heart murmur.. and was detected to have 2 holes in her heart... at the moment the holes are not affecting her... she still can sleep and eat okay... infact she put on weight quite well oso... specialist say it may close up by itself... so now every mth or few mths need to go for review..

THEN she's still having jaundice... and it's quite high... so pd asked me to stop bf-ing for a week and see if the jaundice will go away... cos he suspect she's having bm jaundice.... now i scare after 1 week of fm she dunno how to suckle....

spin, i wear nursing bra all the time.. @ hoe and oso outside.... u can get nicer nursing bra from those US sites... it's definitely nicer then those sold here... i bought a few from amazon.... those lacy ones.... it's underwired... but i took out the wire... coz underwire will coz me block ducts....

cutiemum>
yeap. i did one round of massage aready! v shiok.. not enough... i put on 15kg lor.. 6kg gone after delivery.. 4kg 1st 2 weeks gone.. now left 5kg.. like hard to get rid ! irritating..

sabre>
ya lor. drink FM oso get wind. dont care leh. i still stick to give EBM... else so wasteful. throw my milk away!?

kash>
where to get ridwind or infacol? it's for drinking purpose or apply one??

spin>
i only have one pc of nursing bra. bot from spring. it look ok leh. haha.. other than tat i wear normal bra at home..

mittens &amp; booties>
aready start wearing it when he come back home. his finger nails grow so fast. will scratch his face leh... &amp; he oso will suck his thumb. soo preventing his hand off his face..

til now i still dont dare to cut his nails.. they're so tiny.. scare will hurt him.. lolz

Avent containers for EBM>
i am storing my EBM in avents containers. wonder mummies out there oso used that? do ur label ur EBM??

<font color="ff6000">Bio Oil Order - Update as at 28/Nov/2008</font>

My dad has arrived back in SG wz your orders liaoz. Collection will be at:

<font color="ff6000">(1) CCK MRT</font> ~~> any time / any day or
<font color="ff6000">(2) Raffles Place MRT</font> ~~> Monday-Friday / lunch time or after work hours.

Pls sms me at 9012 1008 to arrange timing &amp; collection place. Thks babes.

<font color="ff6000">==================================================================================================</font>

Bio Oil Order List - CLOSED

1) Bibi - 2 bottles PAID
2) iluvbli55 - 2 bottles PAID
3) Sunshinekid - 2 bottles PAID
4) Milderina - 2 bottles PAID
5) Cookieoreo - 1 bottle PAID
6) Gin78 - 1 bottle PAID
7) Enne - 1 bottle PAID
8) Carol - 1 bottle PAID
9) Minkybear - 1 bottle PAID
10) Sherline - 2 bottles PAID

Spin

ya, we are ard the same timing.. I will be ending my confinement on 7 Dec cos CL requested to go back 1 day eariler..

Alibaba

me too finished my massage this wk.... My massage very painful leh.. she said i got alot of wind..

I total put on abt 17kg.. same as u, 1st 2 wk weight loss very fast.. n now still left with 5kg, n seem hard to get rid too..
so u find the massage effective?

cutiemum>
yesh the massage is effective on me. tummy shrinked so much.. almost flat liao.. on top of that.. occasionally i still wear corset &amp; girdle... KIASU mummy. hee..

<font color="ff0066"> Spin</font>,
For going out, I won't recommend normal bras cos if BF-ing can be quite ley chey. I got my lacey underwire bras from Moms R Us.
Tink you can also order online bah. Moms In Mind also got nice ones for going out. HTH's.

<font color="ff0066"> Amore</font>,
Oh dear... I pray that your BB will recover fast and well. For the Jaundice, can try sunning her in the mornings and evenings. Take care yah...

Congrats Blessed Mum and Milkie!

Blessed Mum,
My heart goes out to you. Don't give up.
All mummies here have problems and heartaches with BF. We will all continue trying and encourage each other.
I also have problems as baby always cries when I try to latch on. She rejects my breast so I introduce bottle with BM and FM. Am still trying very hard to make her get used to BF.

Thanks Babyzel, Fifi, Dymples and Cutiemum for the advice on episiotomy wound.
I will continue to monitor and hope the wound will heal better.

Bibi,
Your hubby so cute. Bought books for bb.
You can start reading for bb already.
Hope ur bb will come out before induction.

Haru,
Does ur bb cry a lot before drinking milk? Mayb she took in a lot of air in the stomach before every feed.

Alibaba

Tat gd.. For mine, i think not so effective.. mayb i start too late liao.. n oso cos for mine she didnt really massage alot at my tummy.. so not so effective..
Gd to wear corset &amp; girdle, if u can stand it.. For me, i cant.. hahahaha.. dunno for this time round i cant even stand the tots of binding my tummy... hehe.

haru: *wave* yes, massage ladies v good at getting out the blocked ducts. don't worry abt heidi's throwing up. my rachel &amp; gerard do it all the time. she won't throw up everything. just hold her up a while more even after u hear her burp. if it's difficult to support, u can put her tummy down on your thigh in slanted position too. i do tt w gerard.

glad gal: *wave back!* wow your lucas is so huge now!

dymples: thanks, but i fear the fat will only come from milk powder cos my EBM really doesn't seem fattening enough.