(2008/11) November 2008

cutiemum - no, I delivered at Mt A. I am those with hyper active sweat glands de, so even on normal days I will perspire alot. Which is why I hate going under the sun. Now with the confinement food, I heard that we will perspire even more when eating those food cause its very heaty and suppose to expel the water / wind out of your body. I washed my hair on my 6th day and now its like once a week. Other than that i will wipe clean...but since last week, I bo chup le, will use the hot water to bath, but without soap, just a quick splash of water. I cannot tahan for so long not to wash my hair...so itchy!!

i've been washing hand quite frequently, even wash hair every day with herbal water.. wearing shorts & spegetti at home.. fan during the day & slp in aircon at night.. Jus tat i ate confinement food.. tat's all.. tink i might regret later. cos i was like not following the rules... haa

my bb full mth will be on the 7th dec. so i guess i will end my confinement tat day den. hee. which i suppose to be few days earlier wor... cant wait for it to end.. i really feel like drinking SOFT DRINKS...a can of COKE maybe..

Been taking the night shift since day 1.. recently i am so tired tat when bb get up in the morn 6+7, i will jus bring him out to living room let MIL or maid to take care, & i cont'd to slp...

for those who has maid, do ur leave ur bb to ur maid at night? i am v tempted to move back to my room & let maid handle him at night le... so tiring.. nowadays, my boy seems to making a fuss at night before slp.. like mus carry him til he slp .. when put him down to the bb cot, he wake up.. so pek chek sometimes... duno izzit. he is not used to slp in air con room... machiam got breathing problem...

Carol

ya, definitely will perspire more, cos of all the wine, n ginger n red dates drink.. Yucks.. now to me the food all like no taste.. haha.. Can't wait to eat outside food...
Ya, my hair oso so itchy.. I can't stand without washing hair, as i m used to wash hair everyday.. So u r like me, wash hair about once every 6 days..

Alibaba
wow, u so gd, can wash hair everyday!! Ur MIL fine with u wearing shorts n spagetti?

My bb full mth will oso b on 7 Dec.. Me too wants to drink coke with lots of ice.. ehhee..
But my CL said that if still BF, then best to avoid cold drink leh... wonder if it true..

congrats cyn!!

bibi,
go out do some shopping, relax with a book/magazine, have nice tea at starbucks...just relax..=D

sunshinekid,
haha, no lar. wash my hair at the hospital already. just that the bind was so hot and tight and restricted my movement alot. so to shower an shampoo felt soooo good. since coming home i already wash hair every alternate day and bath everyday.

cutiemum,
ya, think so. got to keep moving around looking aft baby.

Haru, Mosh,
Thank you for the advice. Now go shopping too tiring liao... Every 10 mins need to rest cos my tummy very big. Even my gynae said that. Go starbuck is a gd idea but alone very ke lian leh..

Just hope that my boy will coming out earlier.

Anyway i took a nap just now... feeling gd... relax for awhile more n i'll go n pack bb stuff.

Haru,
Ur CL allow u to bath n wash ur hair?

Someting to confess. hehe.. i m a very lazy mummy... this time round, i didnt really bother much abt the bb.. leave most of the thing to CL.. Mayb cos aft #1 experience, i know tat once CL go back, i will be the 1 handling him liao.. so now i try not to handle him.. ehhe.. decided to start to bath him 3 day before CL leave..

CC

think i will oso introduce the pacifier once CL go back.. hahaha.. n mayb sarong oso...
so how are u coping now?

cutiemum>
ya i start to bathe from day 5 & wash hair from day 6. initially i still wear 3/4 or long pants.. til buay tahan i wear shorts liao.. mil only said me if slp in aircon i shld wear pants. initially i still follow instruction.. but aircon is on at 25 degree with lowest fan... canot tahan.. end up still wear shorts to slp.. & oso dun wanna cover blanket...

til now i have not learn to bath my boy yet lor. lolz. maybe after confinement den learn. when he is bigger easier to handle. haa..

CC
til date i still resisting to give him pacifier.. Hope wont start on tat.. maybe once i pass bb to maid at night. non aircon, he will slp better leh... i realise bb slp better during the day no much noise when he slping in living room non aircon...

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>,
Me too. Benn washing hands frequently. Then nowadays my knuckles feels aching. Duuno whether cos it's of the frequent washing? hehehe... I also bathe and wash hair everyday. I will use the confinement wash and shampoo from Little Dreamers. But I will wear long sleeve t-shirts and 3/4 pants.

<font color="ff0066"> haru, Carol</font>,
New mommies tend to perspire lots cos the body is getting rid of the water rentention which you had accumulated during pregnancy. Plus all the heaty foods and drinks we gotta consume... all contribute to this. Tink on the bright side yah... this will help in the weight loss. *LOL*

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>,
hahaha... me too. As this is #3 liaoz. I not so kan cheong over the smaller details. Nowadays, after feedings, straightaway I put her down in her rocker to sleep. I dun want to carry carry liaoz. Even when she start to fuss... I'll slowly take my time to respond to her. Else become bad habit that when she fuss must get her way immediately. *LOL* So bad har... this mummy.

<font color="ff0066"> Pacifier &amp; Bottle Feeding</font>,
I finally got my latching on correct liaoz. So happy... Anyway, the Lactation Consultation advise us not to give BB pacifier or bottle feed her if I'm am serious on BF-ing her cos it will cos nipple confusion for the BB and thus cause BB to suckle wrongly. Pacifier &amp; Bottle Feeding is best done after 1-mth when BB has established good BF-ing techniques. HTH's

alibaba..

intially i oso dun wear long pants to sleep, but since 2nd wk, i only wear long pant when sleeping, day time i will wear short..
Seem that all of u here are feeling hot n sweaty, but for me quite ok leh, quite windy in my hse.. sometime i dun even on the fan..
Or mayb cos i dun eat too much ginger n wine?

hehe.. only yesterday my mum still remind me to learn bathing for bb.. hehehe.. i told her not so soon.. hehe.. 3 days before CL go back then i learn.. haha..

Mayb aircon too cold for him?

Dymples

oh no.. if i dun perspire alot, does it means i still got alot of water retention? 1st 2 week, my weight seem to drop faster, but this wk, it seem to be quite stagent liao leh.. so worried that the 5kg will stay..

Me too not so kancheong this time round.. will oso take my own sweet time before i get to him.. hehe..

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>,
Maybe you dun hv lots of water retention tats why din perspire so much?? Actually I would prefer not to perspire so much cos I usually bathe in the mornings... then by night time... will feel sticky &amp; icky..

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
Juz read your birth story. Wah seh... what happen that you got knocked out by the Pethedine? Is it an adverse reaction. But you really good leh... KO already still can push BB out. *salute-salute* Your hub must hv been so worried yah. Thk God that everything went well and smoothly. Take care and enjoy your bundle of love.

Hi mummies...

Taking a break..been 3 days since CL left. Now finally more able to cope with bb alone and not so stressed. Today I bathed him alone. He struggled but at least I got it done phew!!

Haru: Wow..the massage lady did a good job!!

Bear: Wow! I wonder how come you were knocked out..still lucky everything went smoothly and you got your wish of not having epidural!

Alibaba: So u decided to engage another ML??

Pacifier: Got 2 pacifiers as man yue gifts lol but havent gave bb to try yet.

Greengrape/Bibi and Mosh: Hope the waiting ends soon!!

dymples> same my fingers knuckles oso ache. keep "pressing" to hav the "cluckles sound. haa.. scurly got "hong sip" liao.. toes oso..

Glad_gal>
yes i will engage minky's ML. hee.. wanna start on monday. do one last round... i still have 5 kgs to go.. hopefully can shred it off soon..
u wt back to pre preggie aready?

sunshinekid,
ya lor, tats hw my baby is, but i jus latch him on la.. cos mafan to pump.

Haru,
I also latch him on everytime to stop him from fussing. but wonder will he b drinking too much ma??

Cyn,
Congrats!!!

Cutiemum,
Nope, I also dunno how to start this topic lor.. Cos to elders they are always like saying, your confinement u don do well, den in the future will here pain there pain.. To me I don believe la, cause taking care of baby will cause all these liao. Doing confinement is onli making them happy, den in the end ownself not happy. haiz.....

I wash hair every 2-3days lor, bath everday... Cause too sticky liao... den i will b very pek chek...

cc,
I also wan to give him pacifier liao,but can't go and buy!!! He's been wanting to suck his hands recently, so i rather give him pacifier..

Re: Jaundice,
Any mummies use stout to bath baby?? Or tried sunning baby??? Which works better??

cutiemum: 3rd night sleeping with BB, in fact i hardly slept, only maybe 1-2 hr at most, really hard to sleep bcos baby has milk every 3 hrs. I sleep in morning like 7am, when pass to new confinement lady - i just got another one so i can have more rest..and a smoother transition.
I also resisting giving her sarong...

Alibaba: I bo bian liao surrender HB keep insisting to use pacifier for her..

Afternoon Ladies

Just came back from Singapore Expo, went to the Sitex and JL Sales. Hope the walking/shopping will induce the baby, but seems nothing happen.

<font color="119911">Mosh</font>
According to my gynae, the baby sort of engage. No idea what he means.

<font color="119911">Bibi</font>
I just check in with my gynae letter on Monday if nothing happen till then.

Hi mummies gd afternoon

Me also just back from my bb's polyclinic jaundice check. Finally we managed to get his levels to 101 today(Day12). Thanks be to God. No need tio check anymore.

<font color="0000ff">Greengrape</font>
U are around. Ya walking does helps. Hope U will have a smooth delivery. Engage means already in the birth canal, so can be ready to give birth naturally ya.

<font color="119911">CC</font>
To call overseas using home phone, dial 001, 012 or any number the phone service provider provide instead of +. The 001 or the 012 determine the quality of the line reception, and of course, they are charge at different rates as well

<font color="119911">bluebear</font>
The gynae only said the baby is facing sideway. I tot when engage, the baby should face front or back.

<font color="119911">iluvbli55</font>
My due date is tomorrow, 28 Nov 08

Bluebear,
Good for bb and you! No need to check any more, mine is still 152, need to go back next week.

Got something to consult. Those who had episiotomy, how long does your wound take to heal? Mine has a bit of yellow pus, is it normal?
Worried that the wound has infection or something...
1926849.jpg

Greengrape,
Maybe we will hear gd news from you tmr! A few of the mummies here oso delivered exactly on the due date. Did ur gynae have any plans to induce?

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
Ya I realised that too late, already taken 10days of ginger, so I stop bf my bb for 2days and sun him in the early morning with eyes covered with eyepads, and it helps. His levels dropped from 197 to 101 haha

<font color="0000ff">Greengrape</font>
That's y, your gynae said sort of engaged mah, maybe in a day of two's time, bb will be full engaged ya.

<font color="0000ff">iluvbli55</font>
Ya I am so happy cos we went there 4X in total

Mine is day12, almost healed. Pus is dead cells ya. Have U been cleansing after passing urine and open bowel? A bit pus should be fine ya, just monitor closely ya.

Greengrape,
Where do you stay? Did you get anything from JL sales?

I haven't got the admission letter. Will get it from him later.

Bluebear,
Lots of ppl said walking will help but i have been walking everyday. N i'm still waiting...

RE: walking

I also tried go shopping last few days hopefully to induce labour but so far not working for me leh... sad

<font color="0000ff">Bibi</font>
dun worry , walking is just one of the ways. I'm sure yr bb just wan to take his time, enjoy the warm cosy womb. all the best, may U have a smooth delivery too.

gtg now cos my bb is crying n i'm alone here. bye

Sabre,

Jaundice
I think most of e mummies are sunning their bb. I don't think i will dare to bath my boy using stout.

Bluebear,
congrats.. it's gd that your bb jaundice went down. U don need to worry liao..

Thanks Bluebear for your advice! Have been following doc instruction and dab with wet cotton to clean the area.
Hope it will heal soon.

Bibi,
Dr Koh's estimation for bb's weight is quite accurate.
Good Luck! Keep us posted

Finally had my bath today. Tong for a wk liao

But later will still sweat like siao. End up same.

Had my 2nd 'dose' of Fish Payaya Soup today.
Hope milk supply will increase. It has been pretty stagnant. At most 25ml per pump. Dunno wats wrong.

Bibi,
BB size is very good and still growing. Are you going for ur gynae appt soon? What time?

Lilian,
Hey, me too. Showered after 1 week, cannot tahan hair too thick and oily. Oh, realised we delivered on the same day!

Lilian,
Maybe you can get some bm supplements. i just ordered from iherb. Some Organic Mother's Milk, Caffeine Free Herbal Tea, 16 Wrapped Tea Bags and Fenugreek Seed,180 Capsules. i paid us$14.27 inclusive of delivery (after us$5 discount)

or some mummies suggest to drink holick. i think oat meal can also help.

<font color="119911">Bluebear</font>
hm...my baby in that position for a few weeks liao. the only change is the baby get lower.

<font color="119911">Bibi</font>
I stay very near Mt Alvernia, where i choose to deliver.

Wow..till now you still haven't get your admission letter. I got mine when in week 37. And yesterday got my induction letter to present to the hospital.

<font color="ff0000">JL sales</font>
Was planning to get more disposable panties, but there are cute "3 for $2" and "3 for $5" panties, so work out cheaper than or equal to the disposable. So got them instead. Throw them when stained also no heart pain.

And i got more towels. Read for post natal massage need 2,3 towels every session. If my massage lady can do it everyday for me, i'm afraid the towels cannot dry in time.

iluvbli55,
my appt is at 7.45pm. hope to get some gd news... lazing around for the whole day.. don know what to do.. keep sleeping hahaha...

must have super enough sleep b4 boy arrive.

greengrape,
wow.. u stay so far away.. still can go shopping at expo? pei fu pei fu..

i stay so near with direct bus somemore but i'm too lazy to move.

hmm, u r right... i gonna wash more towels for massage...

maybe raffles woman clinic n raffles hospital share their records. till now, he nvr give me anything leh.

Carol, your Jadon same as my Lucas. But on the average, Lucas can take up to 1hr to complete his 125ml of milk. Few times, he took 1hr 45min to complete. Faintz, even at night. Sometimes, he totally dun wanna continue and have to waste 20ml of milk. By the time he finish his milk, I only have 1.5hr - 2hr of rest before the next feed. Daytime feeding interval is ard 3hrs and nighttime feeding interval is ard 3-4hrs too.

Congrats Bear! Now we can have the "cows" chat session again.

Confinement, I read an article about confinement on the no. of days. Chinese - 28-30days, Malay &amp; Indian - 40 days.

Alibaba, I took care of bb at night. Feel that my maid has to work all day long ... if let her take care ... think she will b super tired in the day and wont be able to do the usual washing, cleaning and cooking.
When my bb is still awake after feeding, he will also make noise de ... give pacifier also no use ... will let him lie on my body (tummy down) and he might fall asleep. Else I have to suffer till he is very tired then he will sleep quietly.
Your bb might be having mucous in the nose?

Bibi,
Wow. U are well prepared for BF with all the supplements. That's gd.
Have you prepared all the bb stuff? Set the bed, packed ur bag,etc for anytime when bb decides to make an appearance?

Sabre,
What's ur bb jaundice level? I think ard 8 plus is a gd time to sun. Not too hot.

Jo,
Are you BF and EBM as well?

jo> dont forget when u go back to work force, day oso gotta go work,then night stil take care of bb.. no diff wor.. she at home finish her house chores she still can relax abit leh.. timing let her coordinate de wor..
if i dont pass to her now, i couldnt monitor how she take care of bb.. can make it anot oso duno.. wait i go back work.. sure cannot fang xin one...

congrats to all mummies who have popped!

bear... wow! amazing that u can still push despite being knocked out!

fifi,

the metal caps hospital gave with the glass bottles cannot be used to store EBM. Once opened, it will no longer be air-tight and also it can't be sterilized. Glass bottles have to be use with the plastic bottle caps. I bought mine frmo Gleneagles there... u can get from TMC parentcraft i believ