(2008/11) November 2008

mommies,

can you help me where can i buy cheap newborn clothes. to be honest i only have few sets of clothes for my baby and since we are new in Singapore, where can we buy nice but cheap newborn outfits and items?

Bear,
Is that it? Is it the sign already? Got to start timing...

jmiranda,
I bought my bb clothes from Kiddy Palace. Price is quite reasonable. Membership card is $10 for 1 year, and after that, all purchase (except nett price items) are given 10 % discount.

iluvbli55,
anywhere actually! just went to Orchard on friday.=P still driving now too, so not so bad.

Bear,
where is the pain? try to take a rest ya?

jmiranda,
i would guess kiddy palace might be a good place to get some simple basics. =>

Iluvbli55, it better not be a sign.. i m timing.. so far seems to be half an hr apart since noon.. but the pain isn't as intense as i tot it would be.. just crampy feeling.. was asking Mildy if this is it and that gal has been teasing me since then!!

Haru, the pain is the whole lower abdomen... please stay in there longer! i need to finish my last presentation on Tues!

Bear,
Sometimes I get that too! Crampy in the lower abdomen. I tot that was it and packed my bag when I went to see my gynae, in case, need to check in. Sigh... False alarm for me!

cc,

i also use avent bottle warmer...very good...

happy,

how abt expressing out the milk and bottle feed bb at 1 shot. I realised if i latch have to latch forever...but i express out and bottle feed, bb very full after 1 feed and zzzzz....

Iluvbli55, this is the first time i have this feeling.. i keep feeling as if i haven't empty my bowels properly.. like this persistent tummy ache.. just went to the loo again.. sigh.. please don't come out yet!!

tmr will see gynae lor.. hopefully this is just a false alarm. did ur gynae put u on a CTG?

Haha, i m still driving too! since my gynae said i got 6 hrs aft water bag burst to report to hospital, my hb said i can drive myself back from sch.. :p

iluvbli55,

thanks. i do have the kiddy palace discount card but im wondering if there's another baby store that sells cheap baby essentials.

thanks haru!

Bear,
Tink you can follow what I did and bring your bag tmr when you see ur gynae, in case, he says check in. My gynae didn't put me on CTG, I tink he did VE, so he say not yet.
What time tmr u gg?

Jmiranda, there is a shop at Waterloo St that sells cheap baby clothes. but the quality ain't as gd as those in Kiddy Palace. There is this famous temple at Waterloo St and if ur back is facing the the temple's entrance, u will be facing a block of HDB flats with shops at the void deck. walk to the extreme left and that shop is the last one. It is hidden though, but easy to find.

Iluvbli55, bag is in the boot liao. tmr he said he will do a VE for me lor. me seeing himat 9.35am. arrrghhh! i m not ready!

Bear,
Relax... How is it now? Still the same?
I tink by tonight u will know whether u need to go hos or not. But the emptying bowels part really sounds like it, I didn't have that feeling.

bear: do take note on persistent tummy ache feeling bcos i had that feeling the day i delivered, the pain came and went continously...i thot tummyache but not, safer for u not to drive around. Check for bleeding oso

bear,

must time your contractions pain...is it regular? is the pain very intense? think tmr when u visit ur gynae better get u on CTG monitor...

cc,

when i set it to level 3, very fast... less than 5 mins... however, i have not tried pigeon so i can't comment. i have been using my avent warmer since last May when i had my gal.... therewafter, u can use it to keep the milk warm by turning it to level 1...

CC, ya i have this persistent tummy ache lor.. not moving much today.. no bleeding yet.. hopefully i can slp through the night and see my gynae tmr.

Iluvbli55, Kash, still 30 mins interval... but went to the loo 3x liao. the pain is there in btw the hardening at every 30 mins leh.. dunno wat to make out of it.

Any mummies pop today?

Brocoli,
Indeed u have a long labour and rest well!

Moomummy,
your boy's weight is great! Do u have difficulty in pushing?

Kash,
Check with u, cos i am not too sure on the contractions.. Is the pain go across the whole tummy or only the side? Is it like sharp pain? My pain threshold is quite strong so i afraid that even if there is regular contraction, i also dunno..

Bear,
i think contraction pains more around e belly button area..according to my gynae at least!

iluvbli55,
depends i guess..though i have been shopping and coming home with stuff each trip i make. somehow now can spend alot of time in just one shopping centre,hahah..ya, i am used to driving alone aleady. =P i reckon driving better and faster than trying to hail a taxi especially in busy areas!

just now after showering, i was applying some nipple cream and i felt the tip of my nipple a lil rough and dry and some dried dark coloured skin came off.spent like 15 min slowly trying to clean it. quite a bit of dried dark coloured skin came off. is that normal? it looks like dirt to me and i am wondering if that would affect e milk ducts and how i should go about cleaning it. the tip of my nipples do feel softer now after i tried to clean off as much as i could though.

<font color="ff0066"> iluvbli55</font>
hehehhe... Juz got home. Me decided to bring my gal for her ballet class, then went over to my mom's place. Was sssooo bored at home too.
Me too! Only dare to venture to Lot 1 or furthest is Causeway Point. Walk too much will be feeling breathless and got joint pains.
1865354.gif

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
<hi-five!!> hehehhe...
Wow! The book must be full of suspense man. Haiz... tink me tomolo will make a trip down to San bookshop to get some reading material.
SSsoooo bored. For your contractions, tink you could be in Early/Latent labour. Once the contractions intensify and become closer, about 10-mins apart...
that will time to check-in to hospital liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> jmiranda</font>,
Kiddy Palace is good starting place. Your next best bet is to look out for sales at departmental stores.

<font color="ff6000">Constipation</font>
Any mommies here experiencing constipation? Cos I keep getting a tummy ache... but when I go toilet... only got a few marbles or worse... nothing.
Already tried eating fruits... but not much help leh. Any advise?

<font color="ff6000">Breast Pump</font>,
I'm contemplating whether to get a breast pump and wondering what type and brand to get. I've already quit work... so will be a SAHM and thus be able to direct latch-on BB.
However, I want to express for 2 main reasons - (1) give hub an opportunity to feed BB and have some bonding time... (2) to ease engorgement.
For such a scenario, is a single pump enough or a dual will be more suitable? Which brand is better? Ameda or Medela? All advise greatly appreciated.

dymples,
try to take oats and high fibre stuff too. so far i dun get constipation. my bowel movement pretty regular, almost daily. try taking papaya, guava, fruits high in fibre..

I'm still having that tummy ache...

Haru, the pain is the whole band just below the belly button.. from left to right lor...

Joyce, still 30 mins leh.. not getting closer to each other. can almost predict when's the next one coming along.. please please don't come out yet!

Dymples, i dun want to be in labour yet!!! hahahaha.. like i have a choice. U can go get that book tmr but i suggest u start with her older books first. cos she will mention a bit on the past lor. u shd look for the books with the main characters either Jane Rizzoli or Maura Ilse.

As for breast pump, i really think it is indiv... some ppl achieve a better let down with electric, some with manual. i got an electric dual pump cos i have to go back to work soon aft my confinement.

I dun have probs with constipation leh.. in fact i was telling Mildy i take iron pills also no prob.. weird hor...

Lilian,
On Sat, Dr Koh was ok leh... He's very friendly that day and told us the issues on c-sec and natural birth. I noticed that Dr Koh is more willing to listen to you when there are no patients. If it is very crowded, he is a bit 'qing cai'. He also told us that my boy can come out anytime soon but he didn't check for dilutation leh... Did he check for you?

My boy is ard 2.6kg at wk 37+.

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>,
Aiyoh... I also wish got regular bowel movements. hehehe... Good idea... will go get some oats tomolo.
As for fruits... tried papaya, guava, apple, orange... still constipated. Haiz..

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
You're so lucky not to have constipation issues. Okie... will get her older books first then.

hhmmm.. I tried the Avent manual breast pump previously and find it tiring leh. Then the medela single pump... not bad but it's noisy.
Was wondering if you all got other pumps to recommend.

Haru, yups i hope i can tahan the night.. hb scared bb decides to come in the middle of the night!

Dymples, i think the first book with those two protagonists is called The Surgeon. i can't be sure cos i just picked up whatever book that came along.

I think for Avent, it is quite tedious to adjust the speed. but for Medela, u can just twist a nob. I got the Medala PIS lor. i wanna save time.. I think Kash is using the Avent..

Dymples,
You can try taking plum juice or yakult.

I intend to get a breast pump after my boy is out. Just in case i got low supply but i have checked the price at bb kingdom last fri. PIS -$700++, Medela - $306+, Avent - $700 and Ameda - $300++. This is a rough guide for dual pump. As for single pump, Avent - $200++. Hmm, i can't remember the rest. Hope this can help you to make a better decision.

Bear,
Hang on! Should be baby bear, hang on too!
It's getting exciting. Can't tell if it will be tonight, it's been quite a while already. Keep us updated on the intervals!

Dymples,
Yeah same for me. Max i will go is Causeway Pt, mayb even West Mall. There is a very nice Chinese rest there, that I can't resist. Mayim, have you tried? Even pain, I oso like to eat there when the craving comes.
Re: Constipation
Papayas are always my best bet. But if that doesn't work???

Haru,
Will you be taking ML anytime soon? Since your EDD is coming...

bibi> i heard from my fren that PIS is selling at $599 at a shop in Paragon. I cant remember the name of the shop but should be easy to find. Try that!

Hey Dymples,

I had frequent tummy aches 2 weeks before i delivered my baby gal. actually its the urge to shit.. maybe u're due to deliver soon? i tried taking coconut and more high fibre fruits.

I bought the PIS from a US website, but find that i actually dun need dual pump cos i stay at home most of the time. like u, i'm a sahm. =) so i guess.. if i can turn back time, i will get something electric (cos i'm lazy) with single pump. Hope tis helps!

On a diff note, do u still hav bio oil on hand? i'll like to get a bottle.. and i stay at cck! =)

dymples: I bought the Medele dual eletric pump...save time do not get single pump bcos v. time consuming...so far so gd easy to use, no need to buy the package with the bags and all u will hardly need the bag..cos u pay much more, i juz bought the dual pump w/o any bag. Was abt $279. My hospital nurse also says Medele is well known for is electric pumps.

Ameda brand quite hard to find parts unlike medela easier to find the parts. Price wise ameda also slightly costlier.

morning!

Kash,
I tried pumping but my milk ss is nt enff to feed him.I pump a total of abt 40ml onli ysday.After feeding,he gt hungry after 1.5hr too.So i keep latching n realise he can empty my breast better n faster too.hopefully my ss will come in faster too.

I'm on leave today..

Amooks,
Thanks for the info. Someone told me that be4 but i have forgotten all abt it. Thanks for reminding me. Super forgetful.

Bear,
U ok.. Feeling better now or ???

Hello mommies,

I'm to pop soon but no labor signs yet. Mu husband stayed up all night because he's worried baby will come out soon.

Contractions are getting stronger but not persistent and regular though.

Mommies, I have a question, my doctor here in Singapore doesn't take internal exams to measure how much dilated or effaced my cervix is. I mean I'm due anytime this week and all he do is ultrasound. And is it normal that doctors here ask for their delivery fee (total amount) in advance of one's confinement/delivery?

Please advice as I am new in Singapore, and giving birth here is totally different than giving birth in my country.

Thanks so much.

good morning..

My left knee joint sort of never 'piak'(coz normally once piak I will feel ok de, don't know anyone knows wad I talking anot), something like a book that keep folding but unable to open totally and very painful if I straighten to stand or walk, went see chinese sinseh the nite b4.. lucky never affect my back nerve which might affect bb(can't imagine tahan the pain till birth) thus the sinseh help me 'piak', thot will be ok.. at least now not so painful but when walk 2 much still painful in the joint and muscle. Wonder should I give it a few more days or go back the chinese sinseh again??.. Now walk a while must rest coz painful although better than before which my nerve in the knee is pain and can't even straighten. But still walking like crippled like that.. so tao yan this to happen when abt to give birth lo..

Enne,
I oso have pain in my joints but it's the wrists. Due to pregnancy, bones become soft. But yours only 1 leg leh. Even after 'piak' oso never improve? Rest your leg first, you still gg office?

Bibi,
I'm oso on leave today. Hee.
No Monday blues.

iluvbli55-Yeah am in office now, jus now alight from bus walk so slowly, need to rest and walk rest and walk.. hopefully will recover. Feeling quite frustated and angry this to happen when abt to give birth lo.. sigh.. wonder shd I go back see sinseh or just give it a few more days or until after birth??

Wah on leave ah so good.. nvm.. tml my turn! keke!

I had started my maternity leave since last Monday, but still no signs of labour yet! Feeling abit sian liao.

Wah.. now Punggol area the sky is so dark. Think gg to have heavy downpour here soon.

Last nite cant sleep again. Dun know where to "park" my tummy. Turn left also "sng", turn right also "sng"....

Enne,
Think u tahan till after birth bah.. When we are pregnant, all sorts of discomfort will start creeping in, but once we "offload", everything seems back to normal.

Enne,
I think it is normal for pregnant ladies to have joint pain. I also have that problem. I don't think it will go away until we deliver. I don't think it will improve after visiting chinese sinseh.

iluvbli55,
hehehe, yar no monday blues.. Lazing at hm.. Nothing to do... On leave today but i keep having tummyache. so sian. Feel like going to the toilet again.

Sunshinekid,Bibi-really ah.. haiz. now walking like a 'cripple' ler.. dun really feel its due to preg then like that, how come till last lap then like that?? then when I carry or juggle my boy at home.. I will 'ren' the pain lo.. ok.. guess like u all say.. wait until after delivery lo..

iluvbli55,Bibi-what both of u planning to do today??

jmiranda,
my gynae only did a vaginal check at my 38 weeks check up. other than that, he only did the scans. from the scans he was able to tell the position of baby and that she is engaged. the vaginal check was more to measure e cervix, i think.

happy,
you are up early! woke up to feed ur lil darlin?

sunshinekid,
i am now on the waiting game too, wil be 40 weeks this sunday. i think baby is really comfy in belly..hahah.. its pouring at my place, sooo cooling finally!! i dun mind my confinement period in this weather, at least not so humid. had broken sleep last nite too. lost count of how many times i had to visit the bathroom. and tummy a lil uncomfy in certain positions. kept having to adjust..

is there a way to clean ur nipples? coz i found the tip of my nipples a lil dry and rough and managed to clean and "scrap" off some dead skin (dark in color) yesterday after showering...

Enne,
So tough to tavel to work. Luckily, you are on leave tmr.
Agree with sunshinekid, tink sinseh oso can only 'piak' again for you to reliver pain and soreness.
I had my painful wrists since 7th or 8th month, already used to it liao.

Sunshinekid,
You on ML very early, r u expecting early delivery? Is it the same with #1 and #2?

haru-I forgot who but a mummy here said b4 those are 'dead' cells so its quite normal ler..

iluvbli55-sigh.. hope after birth will be ok.. else after csect I nid to learn to 'walk', if still got leg prob, more worse lo..

haru-waiting game now ah.. bb too comfy liao.. keke..

morning ladies,

*yawn* didnt sleep well yesterday, felt very warm and keep waking up to go toilet

Enne,
Me opposite, my right knee always make the "piak" sound whenever I walk. But feel the knee joint painful, like too much pressure and friction...

Bear,
How are you today? still contraction?

Sunshinekid,
Ya I know what u mean, I also dont know where to park my tummy, so everytime I turn left or right I will have to wake up and readjust my position, very cham cant sleep well thru whole nite...

Haru,
Your bb very comfy, dont want to come out. Maybe u can talk to your bb, tell your bb got things to play outside..haahaa...

mosh-My left knee joint feel very heavy and stiff, causing the muscles around it to ache when I stand or walk 2 long, thus when walking will like 'crippled' lo..