(2008/11) November 2008

Kash, she prob needs some time to adjust.. have u tried telling u (even though she dun understand) that you are busy with Ewan? may be if u keep repeating (ie NAG) she might slowly get it.
hang in there.

Ya trying not to be stressed abt bf-ing.. hahaha.. i m a perfectionist and also being so logical, i keep thinking that there must be a solution to bf-ing probs lor. Cannot stand it if i dun succeed! MIL will gloat big time!

Joyce, thanks for sharing ur experience! so demand feeding is better than schedule feeding? is 3hrly feeding too much? shd we increase our latching/ pumping to 2hrly?? hahaha i m being a bit panaroid liao.

Happy, i nv heard of Kawasaki syndrome! sounds scary.. seems like an immunological prob... i read the link and it is pretty serious.. even scarier cos there is no one test that can diagnose the disease.. must have been a traumatising period for u and Clara!

Alibaba, lucky u, got a gd maid! dun bully her! wahahaha... Wah lao the way u say digging really gross leh.. baby Trystan is growing at a gd rate! u better start washing ur bb stuff since ur maid is here liao.. no more procrastinating..

Hrmm may be the CTG send some signal to bb? mine is jumping all over today..

joyce: ya u r right...i pump out which is best so u know how much supply u have to give bb..when i BF baby she suckle so much bt realised 1st/2nd day hardly any supply...now ard 6th day my milk supply slightly more each day...hope one day i have endless suppy so bb can stop on formula milk...

i have a question:

RE: CDA

1st child, are we entitled to the CDA my baby born on 26 OCT...

Bcos i received the hospital baby bonus info and registration form it states only applicable for 2nd and above babies..not 1st...very confused.

peanut,
feel excited for you!haha, ya i told hubby to take some pix before we leave for the hospital too before i pop.=P all e best ya!

AuggyBear,
ur baby is so kawaii especially those eyes!!!

after readin about BF experiences, make me really gian to go get the pump before i pop..so that I can still express just in case (hopefully its too much and need to express, haha!). is that practical?

Bear,
just tell urself that you CAN breastfeed. Me not stocking any FM at home as I am determined to TBF as long as poss. i guess peserverance is the key. let's keep encouraging each other yea?

haru

initially i also hesitate to buy pump b4 or after delivery....but then us rate kept going up so i quickly go and other the medela pump...now i got pupps and on oral steriod, cant bf...somemore if i stop, it will take awhile b4 milk can be stimulated...so very worried the pump will be a white elephant lo...

heard so much abt bf so really 1 2 bf lo...hopefully my pupps will recover soon so that i can stop the steriod and get myself ready for bf

kash
gynae recommends epi-csec so hub can be ther for me and we can see bb once she's out..
Re. plain water> hav to drink in secret cos yest MIL jus said cannot drink. i somemore already contemplating to put in a couple of ice ahahaaa..

Cravings> gosh yah man today mus eat watever i wan.. i'm curretnly checking out dimsum place for breakfast later.. either red star or yan palace.. yum..

Happy,
romantic time with my hubby? yah man in my dream ony.. he's never romantic -_-" One of those boring spore men.

Haru
i've to take pics without showing my face wahhaaa... cos i look so ugly these days.. with breakouts and my nose like pig nose see liao super depressing.

shop4stuff: actually breast pump is v. useful...sometimes b latch to drink milk but either no supply or low supply so only way s to pump out and count the ML.

I find it very useful also bcos morning wake up engorged breasts use the ump to pump out milk quicker and bb can drink.

All the babies are so cute

Re:pumping out breast milk
I don't really pump out my milk this time n also my 1st one. I was TBF n latch on as much as I can...demand feeding. I didn't have problem with engorgement(did experience abit hard but not painful so just use hands to press a few drops out or hot shower or apply hot towel). My milk was just sufficient for my girl. I tried pumping but not much but when suckle seemed enough n she was happy. I tbf for exact a year.
This time round I would do the same thing but hoping to bf even longer. Few of my gfs bf their bbs till 3-4yrs old.

Re:Breast Pump
I bought Avents Electric single pump. Not too bad. My gf, who pumps like everyday thinks double electric pump is better cos faster n handsfree...think got a vest for u.

CC, according to TMC when i applied for the Baby bonus, they mentioned that after Jan 09 den they will distribute the brochures as the new law of $4k for first born and with CDA account.. so the plan now is wait till Jan 09 den the MCYS will send a letter to give us the top up over the $3k (what we apply for now) and also the opening of CDA account.. so meaning to say we gonna wait till Jan den can apply for CDA

Joyce,
Guess we can only ask our hubby to shower our elder with more love and care when #2 arrived.

How do we know if our breast is really empty?
Previously,i tink i empty ley but the ss was still v low even though i latch and pump.

Bear,
We were shocked when PD told us tat there are no tests tat can diagnose too.Even though one of the blood count did show abnormality,she oso cant go for treatment.So we can onli waited patiently and painfully till all symptoms appeared after 5 days.
Anyway thanks god tat everything turns out fine and ok after the treatment.But she still need to go thru a heart scan at 6YO.

Ollie,
BF till 4yo sounds abit weird ley.
Think BF for up to 2Yo is more than enff rite?

happy
I nv empty my breast one leh...
From what I read, 6mths is compulsary...1yr is gd...after 1yr is just bonus.
Ya weird that bf till 4 right...hee! she still tell me she hope she could bf longer @@

Morning all..sunny Sunday!

Peanut: All the best for your C-sect tml!!

Auggybear: Shane looks so alert :p very adorable!
Don't worry, me also low milk ss same as you abt 20 ml per pump but I can slowly see a gradual increase daily so let's persevere OK! Hope can hit 50 ml soon...

Haru: Caved in and bought the PIS at TMC after nurse recommend that's the best. Though it was really pricey and I did regret a little
immediately after hb paid, but I am starting to see the usefulness of pumping, coz feeling the 'engorgement' today! So quickly pumped out and feels much better... Me also determined not to store any FM at home so that can TBF at least for the 4 mths...

Joyce: Gd to hear your experience..made me feel the investmt in pump is worth it :p

TAlking about breast pumps, I guess whc brand to buy is a very individual thing. Me for one cannot achieve a letdown with electric pumps, just cannot understand why.

So all along, I use Avent manual. Though tiring, at least I can control the speed and rythem, so I feel the letdown is faster.. Dun know lah, just a very individual thing. Also, I was busy with elder one, so no time to latch on all the time.. so gradually I resorted to exclusive pumping. Very shiong, pump every 3 hrs. During confinement, I cld pump out like 1 litre a day.. Extra ones, i store in milk bags. So after I went back to work, even though my ss drop, but at least I cld dig into my "backup stash" in the freezer to feed my gal.

Joyce,
I got my own room in office but outside is common area liao, think can hear the sound of me milking inside. Haha. i will try and see how it goes, if not got to buy a pump tat's quieter.

Amooks,
10 days very gd liao, i gave up and wash my hair on day 5 same as Joyce. Since then i wash once per week. Your boy very cute!

Kash,
The binder not itchy but if i'm perspiring a lot a bit uncomfortable that's all. I've been using everyday when i'm sleeping and probably wear 5 hrs in the day.

Sunshinekid,
I got the binder from TMC pharmacy @ $59. Only saw one type there. I cannot tahan the trad oil cos very smelly so i bought my own post natal oil from Salo (novena sq 2) for the massage lady to use.

Peanut,
All the best for ur c-sect tmr. I also like u, cannot sleep the day before i went for my induction. Managed to sleep only 1-2 hours.

Auggy,
Ur boy is sooo adorable.

I'm back home already. Was discharged yesterday evening coz all is well.

Currently latching on baby but topping up with infant formula coz my baby too hungry. She suck until my breasts totally dry liao (try to express after that = nothing de) and she's still hungry so no choice. Now waiting for supply to increase.

I will try to post pictures later on coz hardly have a chance now. Wound still abit pain coz although gynae did a cut, I think still tear abit.

My birth process:
30th Oct
7+pm: Feeling uncomfortable in the womb.
10+pm: Contractions started but not very strong and not regular.
31 Oct
1+am: Stronger contractions at 20 mins interval but lots of not so strong ones in between.
2+am: Stronger contractions at 10 mins interval but still have all sorts of haywire ones inbetween.
3am: Decided to go hospital for a check just in case coz really dun feel too good.
4am: Reach KK delivery suite. Monitored at triage. Had show halfway through monitoring. Nurses called my gynae who arrived shortly. She check and confirm dilation 2cm, show and water bag leakage. Contractions a lot but irregular. Gynae estimated long labour and will deliver only in the late afternoon or around dinnertime.
5am: Officially admitted to the labour ward. Put on drip to increase the contractions.
8.30am: Very painful contractions by then. 2 mins interval. Tried laughing gas but due to my usual breathing difficulties, the moment I took the gas, I cannot breathe. Nurse check dilation to see if I confirm that they can give pethidine. Only 3cm dilated. Nurse advice that pethidine will only last 5-8 hours and by that time, I likely still haven deliver. Decided to take epi instead to hasten dilation + reserve energy for the long labour and pushing.
9.30am: Took epidural. Pain numbed.
2.30pm: 6cm dilated. Epidural drugs topped up. Urge to push is there.
4pm: Almost fully dilated. Gynae say can try pushing. Tried 1 push but cos abit confused so the push was haywire. Gynae reduce epidural and say wait till urge is stronger.
5pm: Started pushing.
5.51pm: Alyssa was delivered.

Hey Fifi
Congratulations!!! Rest well and do post pic of your little Alyssa. Coincidently, she shared the same name as my niece !
Now i'm just waiting patiently for my turn
Well done!

ollie,

thanks for the url to kinderland...they have an outlet in tampines safra...but very far from my place leh..nevertheless, i will check it out
btw, do u think aircon or non aircon CC is better?

happy,

aiyoh, i read the link u provided on the illness...sounds really serious...and the symptoms are pretty disturbing and I believe must had brought a lot of discomfort to your gal....so poor thing.... did u manage to find out how come she got it? did the doctors provided more explanation? Is your gal better today?

peanut,

brave gal! Good luck for your c-section tmr! Very soon u will get to meet your princess

auggybear,

ur prince very chubby and cute leh

bear, haru,

better to buy a small tin of FM to stand by in case baby cries non stop for milk and it is in the middle of the night... esp when milk flow has not come in yet... I bought 1 tin of 400g enfalac to stayby the day i was discharged from hospital. So far I have not opened it yet as I am lucky to be on TBF... but if one day happen to be not enuff, i wont hestitate to open it coz when they cry for milk very poor thing one.... and now is their growing stage they really need to feed...

fifi

welcome back! and sharing your birth story! U rest well and we can't wait to see baby Alyssa's photo
I think milk will come in during 4th day... my milk only came in during day 4... so tmr u shd have more ss... dun give up!

babyzel,

is the binder thick ah? coz since i definitely will perspire, i will have to wash it daily i think...hence, cannot bind everyday leh...

Re : Malay Massage

I realised my malay massage lady had a valid reason for flying me kite yday...her daughter had a miscarriage...and need to do the D&C so she had to look after the grandson...

Bear,
Dun be too stress on bf issue.. Just read more and prepared yourself and i am sure you can do it!
yes, demand feeding is better than schedule feeding initially cause bb will cry for milk when they are hungry. After they have settle down, then schedule feeding is better, like every 3 hourly.
3 hourly feeding is not too much, my boy was having 2 hourly feed of breastmilk for the first 3-4 months.

happy,
ya, agreed. They need more attention and care esp after the little one arrived.

You can know your breast is empty by the feeling of softness.. Without breastmilk, it is really soft, and when milk is there, you can feel the fullness of your breast. Very easy to identify, not to worry.

Glad,
Ya, breast pump will comes in handy when you can't latch bb on directly for certain reasons..

babyzel,
think is ok lar, i am sure your colleagues will somehow get used to the noise, hehe.

kash
For my girl, she really needs air-con environment so I don't mind to send her to air-con childcare cos she perspiry very easily. Once she is hot, she gets grumpy.

Dmk
Did u really hear a 'pop' sound? Gosh, must be pretty scary..

Ollie
Welcome!! I'm a SAHM too & my boy is 2yr 1mth.. Congrats on the arrival of yr boy, same date as Kash right?

Kash
Oh dear, no wonder.. Is she able to get u a replacement? Her friends maybe??

Happy
Yr girl better now? Pls take care of yourself too & rest more if u could. I can understand how tiring to care for a sick child esp when the nite comes..

Alibaba
Wat colour is yr spotting? I oso had brown & pinkish spotting during my 36wks & gynae did a VE, luckily cervix not open yet so still quite safe.

Haru
Was there yday too, was his second last patient.. Oh boy, so many pple.. I'm oso relieved when he mentioned I will most prob deliver the wk after, when he's back.. Hee, same same..

Peanut
All the best for yr csect tmr! Hee, if only our tummy can get flat so fast.. Must be excited to hold yr nini tmr, do enjoy the special moment w yr hubby ya!

Auggybear
Hang on there & dun give up! Inital stage is tough but yr supply will build up gradually if u continue to latch & pump day & nite. Shane looks really alert & he had such big eyes!!

Fifi
Congrats & tks for sharing yr birth story! U must be super exhausted after yr labour but cuddling yr precious Alyssa will sure makes all worthwhile!! Rest & eat well..

Visited gynae yday, at my 38wks bb's wt 3.3kg, bb's head down but not low enuf. So expecting to wait another wk.. waiting, waiting & more waiting..
yawn.gif

cookieoreo
Thks

My girl is 2yr 3mth, July 06 bb, near ur boy

Where do u stay?
Ya my boy same day as Kash. How about u? 2nd one on the way, must be really excited now!

Ollie
Hihi.. mine a sept boy who is currently in playgroup. I lived at Punggol, vy near to Happy..

My due on 17 Nov but Dr say might deliver a wk earlier. Now can't wait to pop, but once popped, secretly wish tat can put it bk womb!

I remb u mentioned tat yr girl is in Kinderland. Is tat a full day? I hope to transfer him to half day childcare but there isn't 1 quite near my place.

cookieoreo
Ya thought of stuffing him back too...hee!
Yes my girl is now at YCK Kinderland. She is attending 3hr program from 8am-11am. Didn't let her go for half day cos the timing is not very significant, half day is 8am-1pm. Ur place come to YCK not very far right?

fifi,
welcome back and thanks for sharing your birth story! Rest well and take care!

kash,
My gal is better liao but still having cough.
Till to date,no one know hw the children can get such disease.Is jus like some 'strong virus' attack!PD cant tell me hw my gal can get it too.At that time,he said is uncommon!

Cookieoreo,
My gal is better.Thanks!
Btw,which cc your boy attending the playgrp nw?

JTS
For those mummies gg to pop...try massaging really hard on ur breasts. When u rub them u will feel lumps already then try to rub it. I started rubbing a week before I popped n milk came in really fast as compare to my last time.

Happy
Good to hear that you girl is ok.

congrats Fifi!

Auggybear> you baby is so cute! he looks eurasian!

peanut> jia you! c-section is very fast. you will see your baby very soon. u going for epi c-section right?

Thanks all mummies for their praises! it's so fun watching the different changing looks of baby everyday!

Minkybear> have u pop?

Bear> how u feeling? still going for yoga? i think inspire mum called me yesterday....
i cant wait to see u pop! must be a tall baby!

happy> wah, u so good! can wash hair so fast. i thought i can endure mah. hehehe, didnt know i was a champion in enduring! hahahhaha..... i thought most ppl will wait till after confinement. i going to remove stitches tmr. hope it's not too painful.

happy,

glad to hear ur gal's fever is gone now... for the kawasaki illness... will there be any risk of getting it again?

cookie, happy, ollie,

what do you ladies think of cherie heaart? There is an outlet quite near my place. have u heard of Joy Montessori? I am also considering this one but can't find their website nor feedback...

hey mummies, how long after discharge does the baby doc sees the baby for the first time? i forgot what the doc said, after birth i was like blur blur... think will call baby doc tmr morning to confirm aptm.

Today while breastfeeding, realised breast is super hard and painful. Anyone feels the same? finally fed my baby gal and expressed a bit milk out, (really a BIT! adult's mouthful only!) but still painful when i hold on to the breast, anyone has solution? Many thanks!

Hey ladies!

Thanks for all the bf-ing tips.. Just wanna ask like in Fifi's case, if she has not enough milk, shd she feed more often? i read that aft drinking if not enough they will cry but we shd just let them suckle on our breasts... true?

Happy, my heart pain just to hear that.. its not easy taking care of a bb that is sick. lagi worse is there is not 100% diagnosis! She has to go for an ultrasound at 6 yrs old? or CT scan?

Fifi, thanks for sharing ur story! wat's irregular contractions? i tot contractions supposed to be regular liao? sounds like a looong labour, think so far, urs is the longest!

Maggie, i m one of the last few to pop lah.. gg to reach 37 wks nia.. ya was at yoga on Sat. I can't do quite a few of the poses cos of my hips.. :p hips still pain lor.. lift my legs to wear panties also pain! I dunno if my bb will be tall.. if tall also not gd cos it means he carries my defective gene.

kash,
Hmm...is unlikely tat she will get it again but PD said nothing is impossible oso. So might be a qne mark to him too.

I heard alot of good feedback abt cherie hearts.Think the price is steep too as compare to many other CC.
Think best is for u to visit the sch and check out the enviroment, ratio etc....

bear,
We will send her for a ultra heart scan at a older age like 6.Although the heart scan for blood vessels that supply the heart muscle was ok at the last visit,PD worried that there are complications to the heart after years.
And it happened that my PD is a heart specialist for children.

corrine: confinement lady will cook for you your meals, make drinks for you, prepare bath water for you and look after and sleep with baby thru the night.

Ollie
hee, we are such 'bad' mummies!! machiam turkey stuffings..

Just saw their recent advert on papers, are their price costly? 3hrs is gd enuf too, better than rotting at home.

Happy
Mine not cc, just talent plus. Hmmm, your gal started Learning Vision alrdy?

Kash
Dunno leh..

Zeal
U can refer to your bb's booklet, usually nurses will indicate b4 u discharged.. my #1 was i think 4th or 5th day, pd need to check for jaundice.
Are u having an engorgement? Perhaps this will help..
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/engorgement.html

cookieoreo, thanks for the link! Yep, i think engorgement is what i'm having.. pain pain siah! Hope the pain goes away after a few more feedings! Anyone used cabbage??

Congrats Fifi! Thanks for the tips on expressing out excess milk to ease pain! rest well

Baby's birth process on 30th Oct-

5+am: Feeling uncomfortable, Contractions started quite strong but irregular.

7+am: Stronger contractions at 5 to 15 mins interval.

9am: Decided to go hospital for a check just in case coz gg to deliver.

10am: Reach Mt A but have to wait for delivery suite.

11.30am Monitored at another room in the meantime. Already dilated 2.5cm, Nurses called my gynae. Contractions a lot and painful, regular. Gynae estimated long labour and will deliver only in the late afternoon or evening.

2pm: Officially admitted to the delivery suite. Decided to take epi instead to hasten dilation + reserve energy for the long labour and pushing.

2.30pm: Took epidural. Pain numbed. Gyne arrived.

8pm: Put on drip to hasten dilation, 7cm dilated. Epidural drugs topped up. Feeling more pain even with Epi.

8.50pm: Almost fully dilated. Midwife say can try pushing. Tried 2 pushes. Epidural used up and say wait till contractions to push. Gyne and PD arrives.

9pm: Started pushing, gyne cut me up.. think quite bad cuts and tears. Still feeling the pain from the stitches now.

9.15pm: Baby Joan was delivered. Will post some pics when get more time on hand.

Gd luck to the mummies who gg to pop soon!

kash
Sorry, nv heard about cherie heart leh.

Zeal
Congrats on ur new bundle

I was like that also the 1st day when I came home. I tried to pump but like u, little bit nia. So I bathe with 'hot' water then after that still apply hot towel...then massage. Of course try to let ur bb suckle as much as u can. It works!

cookieoreo
That 3hr is so so worth it for my girl. Before I pop, that 3hr was just so precious. I could do my things or rest. Besides that, she gets to drain her energy. I am paying around $300+ for 3hr prog, Mon-Fri 8am-11am.

Morning all...

Fifi: Glad you are back home! Rest well..when things more settled down, we can pop over each other's hse (and DMK!!)

Zeal: Congrats! Woah yours and fifi's both are very long labour...rest well too!

Cookieoreo - I also hope can put bb back in womb sometimes too!

Felt quite down yesterday, and today hubby has gone back to work. So just left CL and myself at home. Felt a bit lost...
Wonder how SAHM, how u all handle it?? I really pei fu u all. Feel that taking care of bb full time is so tiring sometimes, that I wish I can just go back to work like my hubby!

Going to pump now, hopefully can have more ss next few days!

cookieoreo,
thats great news for both of us!hehe..=D

peanut,
think by now you should have delivered ur baby already! all e best and we can't wait to see ur baby's pix and hear from you.

Fifi,
thanks for sharing ur birth story. ur princess has a really sweet name.=>

Hi gd morning ladies>

It's monday. Tmr will be last day of work. yeah. Jus now shared cab with my colleague to work.. & i waited for her @ the bus stop... So Pai seh.. two times a cab stopped & i tot it's my colleague.. i walked over tot of getting in... end up not her, i acted blur & sat on the banches... den realise it's wet!!! now my pi ku is wet... SO PAISEH.. wonder pple might tot my water bag burst! hahaa...

cookieoreo> my spotting is brownish red color. it's flowing like ending few days of menses... for few hours... phew it's has stopped.. my gynae oso said i will likely deliver around week 39 onwards. around same as u! haa.. ur oso TMC ???

Hey all mummies

I have about 22 glass bottles of S26. I got it from hospital but because i switch my daughter to similac. I just wondering if any mummies interested to exchange for similac.
Please call me as i seldom online. 9068 5177

morning ladies,

Have not login for the past few days, fifi and wtan already give birth ah! Congrats to fifi, wtan and Zeal!

Many cute bb photos!

Alibaba, so u expect to give birth very soon liao?

Welcome OllieMarmot,

Am also new to the thread. Saw that you delivered in Mt E. I will also be delivering there but by c-section thou. Is it ok to share your bill? Afraid we might be shocked when we see the end bill...

mosh> i starting my week 38 tomorrow... week 39 will be next week leh... last sat appt, bb not engaged leh.. wondering when will he be engaged...

Peanut's turn now! rest well!