(2008/11) November 2008

Wah u guys so busy ah!

Welcome Ollie!

Peanut, ya lor, we all worried abt u mah.. forgot that u were a workaholic too. hehe... all ready for ur c-sec on Mon? wat time is it scheduled for?

Alibaba, this time painful ah? ya its normal to spot aft VE. eh did u mentioned that bb moving lesser? cos my bb started to bounce again today.. doing all the karate chops.

Kash, u mean the massage must do consequetive days one ah? cannot skip a day? i m sure soon u will reach ur pre- preg weight. u so skinny one..

Happy, poor u, hope ur gal is feeling better.

Haru, try to slp as much as u can.. when bb comes no more time to zzzzz...

Glad_gal, I tot Greg was short for Gregory.

All the mummies bf-ing, hang in there ok? Perservere and I am sure u will reap the rewards.

BTW, how to do tell if a bb is still hungry aft bf-ing? they still continue to cry? i tot there are many reasons why they cry? how to differentiate?

thanks happy...been down with pupps for 16 days...so hardly in the thread....agony man...hopeful bb will come out soon...nosw 38.5wk liao ut only 1cm dilate

Bear,
ya, i keep telling myself that too. especially now that i work from home, i try to sneak in a nap daily at least for an hour. think i will try to catch another short nap soon.

lovedogs,
i can imagine, think i will miss my baby in my belly too..

Hi ladies..

Welcome Ollie

Congrats to Fifi and Wtan!! Rest well during confinement.

Haru,
for my #1, i drink chicken essence almost everyday cause got plenty of supply from visitors.. It also act as nourishement.

Bear,
Ya, if they still cry especially after you just bf, then it might be a sign that bb still feel hungry. But make sure that you let bb finish one breast first before transferring to another breast, cos our breast will produce both foremilk and hindmilk, where hindmilk is more protein rich and can satisfy their hunger longer.

Kash,
you so fast missed being pregnant liao huh.. keke
Aiyo, why ur massage lady like that one? in this case, who dare to use her service?

Happy,
your daughter have fever? What is the degree? You can constantly sponger her neck area, armpit and groin area as it can helps to bring down the temperature..

hi all mummies,
& Congrats to all mummies who popped! Just to share, I've also delivered my #1 baby gal Joan, on 30/10/2008 (3.210kg, 53cm), natural with epi @ Mt A. Just discharge today, trying very hard to breastfeed as my milk flow is not in yet.. same as kiki, do we start b-pumping to stimulate? when do we start massage? thanks to all!

Kash,
2 days fever...On & off.Today she seems to be better,so pray hard tonite i dun hav to fight the fever war again.
My gal sleeps on the flr mattress too.So gt to bend and sit down comfort her almost whole nite too.I was like getting up & down the bed every hr while my hb sleeps so soundly(feel like giving him a kick out of the bed at times..haaa)sigh! Is realli tough being a mum hor.

Bear,
thanks.. she is better today

alibaba,
ya is normal to hav spotting after cervix check.Dun worry since gynec said u most pro deliver at wk39 liao.

Since like most mummies here hav big bb ley.
I went for check up,bb onli abt 2.5kg at 37wks.I am trying to beef him up now b4 i go for my csect next wk.Hopefully he can hav a good wt at birth.

Joyce,
Range from 37.5 to 38.2deg last nite.
I did sponge her when the temperature is too high.But the temperature like roller coaster.

Everytime my gal sick hor,she sure gt fever at nite and daytime fever subsided one.Now,she dun hav any fever liao... so gt to see tonite.

Jenn,Kash
i did the malay massage for 7 days straight and drink only red date tea, no plain water. My relative who put on 20 over kg during her pregnancy and had c-sect managed to obtain a flat tummy within a mth by drinking red date tea only. And do keep the abdominal binder on when sleeping as well. I did not use the cloth binder provided cos it's very uncomfortable and itchy so i use the binder purchased from TMC pharmacy. I'm still using it now.Hope it will work for u.

Haru,
I'm taking chicken essence during my confinement though not daily. CL say confinement time is best to absorb nutrients from all those herbs stuffs. I also drink herbal soup at night.

Mummy,
Congrats and welcome to motherhood. U can start pumping and latching to bring in the milk flow. Since urs is natural birth , can start massage on 3rd day onwards.

Happy,
All the best for ur C-sect next week. Weight not that important since urs already got 2.5kg. Baby healthy more important. Mine est 2.4kg at 37wk but came out 2.725kg. Maybe ur bb around 3kg by then.
take care and update bb pic.

shop4stuff - your puppp not recovered yet?? Y dont go see doc?? I cannot imagine you can tahan for so long!!

blessedmum - I agree Dr A can be quite funny sometimes, but he really good at keeping a straight face lor...keke..

babyzel - thanks for giving me hope by mentioning your relative who put on 20over ke...I hope I will be able to lose all my pregnancy weight and even slimmer than pre-pregnancy. Will keep to strict diet and drink only red date tea!

Happy,
If children have fever, you can try sponging them constantly in order to avoid the temp shoot up again.. That's what the pd told us and it works.. I remember last time when my son has fever, i was like never sleep, wake up 1.5 to 2 hour to check the temp and sponging them. I can understand how tired u are and u have to bend up n down.. Hopefully she will recover totally pretty soon!

babyzel,
So you enjoy your confinement food? I like "hong jiu" chicken very much and wont get bored of this dish. So u are on total breasfeeding now right? Good job!

babyzel, i tot the binder is for people who had c-section only? I nvr use it before coz my gynae told me natural birth no need binder. I only 2 days into my malay massage and the lady fly me kite nvr come today

bear, joyce,

ya lah, although her herbs and skills not bad, like tat fly kite i find her sooooooo unprofessional.. very gek sim and upset loh...

happy,

the temp not very high...so i believe your gal will recover very soon.... last time my gal's fever went over 40 degrees when she was 5 mths old...so scary... is she still eating and drinking normally? i can understand getting up and down the floor mattress...coz i was doing that all the way till i gave birth...now given birth still doing coz my gal only cries for mummy at nite...

ollie,

she was on GUG and now shichida. But only once a week. Once my confinement is over, I plan to send her to MMI 2-hr class 3 times a week.... however, i can only do that when I am on ML...once i go back to work, i hope to find a good childcare nearby to send her to for full day. But my concern is she will get sick easily...then at home got a baby somemore...do u think 3-hr program is better than full day? is Kinderland good? Any outlets in tampines? do they have full day CC?

Shop4stuff,
Try applying aloe vera gel from nature farm. I used doc's prescription but didn't work and when i applied the aloe gel, the rash subsided and stop the itch.

CArol,
All mummies will want to be slim after childbirth.So jiayou!

Joyce,
I'm still ok with the confinement food. DH tried to tempt me with coke and snacks, luckily i got strong determination (losing weight is my main focus). I'm not on TBF about 80% only. 20% on formula cos milk supply still not in abdundance.
How about you? TBF or partial?

vincy, babyzel and OllieMarmot:
Thanks alot for your encouragement and advise! Yes we have started to feed my boy FM as supplement today. And he was soooo hungry! Poor thing...
I'm latching him on 3 hour interval now, and can see my colostrum coming quite smoothly.. wonder when will my milk ss comes in... it's already 4th day since my delivery.. I guess got to be patience ba.

Breastpump:
Any good model/brand to recommend? Should I get a manual or electric one (to be used when I get back to work)... ?

kash,joyce,
Ya sponging can bring down the temperature but last nite i sponge onli when temp hits 38deg.So i constantly monitoring the temp.She is still active but nt eating n drinking well.PD said most prob is virus but worry tat it might developed into bronchitis.So gt to monotor lo.

Last time my gal got kawasaki,nt sure if u all hear of tat disease.High fever range from 39deg to 41deg.. realli scary.She was admitted to hosp for almost a wk and warded to ICU to drip too.So after tat incident,i am v cautious when she had fever nw.

babyzel,
Ya i know wt is nt impt as long as it hits 2kg.Mayb my #1 was big size.. so tat's y i expect tis bb to be the same bah.
Anyway,dr chan already warned me tat i cant hav big bb tis time round.But i still wanna beef him for as much as i can. heee

Kash,
One of the hospital staff in TMC asked me to get a binder when she saw my tummy during my stay. Then it was still like 4-5 mths big. She said binder will help to flatten tummy. So i quickly went to the pharmacy to get it. Aiyoh, ur massage lady so bad, how can fly kite? How many days of massage are u taking? Mine min is 7 days. She is gd but pricey $75 1 hr 15 mins and always late, not punctual one.So i never cont with her liao.

babyzel,
hehe, i havent pop.. But for #1, i TBF until he is 8mths old, that's why i encourage TBF if possible
How come all the massage lady so unprofessional and always late lar, fly kite etc.. Think they really dunno what is called professional and dunno that all these will also affect their reputation!

Happy,
ya, better monitor closely and avoid giving her cooling fruits. My boy had bronchitis too, so quite tiring if really kenal.

Kiki,
if you intend to bf longer, then u can invest a good electric pump.. If financial permits, you can get a electric duo pump which will save your precious time.

Joyce,
TBF for 8mths really good leh. I'm not sure whether i can do it when i get back to work. My current mini electric pump so noisy, how to bring to office to pump?
Think my massage lady dun really care abt reputation, she was once late for 2 hrs. I think i'm being too nice, never scold her also.

joyce

kash
my girl went for shicida too but only for couple of months cos parent has to sit in. it was too tiring for me at that time cos I was in my 1st trimester.
I like kinderland alot. think their branches are different in timetable n also the fees. u can check out their website n call them to ask.

http://www.kinderland.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=51
http://www.spf.gov.sg/about_spf/staff_welfare/eweb/docs/kinderland_branches.pdf

I don't consider full day for her cos I will not going back work force anytime soon. 3hrs is 8am-11am. half day is 8am-1pm...think fullfay is 7am-7pm.

hi mummies, finally on my 10th day of confinement. i gave up and washed my hair today. i think next time when i have headaches, i'll probably regret what i did today.

Mummies who had c-section, do you encounter pain when u pee or when lochia flowing? strangely these few days i have some pain when i pee or lochia flow.

Here's my 10 day old baby!
1843257.jpg

Hi amooks,

You still can "tong " till 10th day then wash hair.. For me, i wash my hair after 5days if i m not wrong.

Your boy looks handsome and he can look at the camera liao.. So clever boy!

joyce,

i paid her on a daily basis...hiaz...me too..i washed my hair on my 4th day....

amooks,

how u tahan till 10 days? wow!!! ur boy is so cute looking at the camera

babyzel,

is the binder itchy and tight? u have been using daily since? i dun think i can tong leh...

happy,

my gal refused to let me sponge her the last time she kenna fever and over 39 degrees when she was 14 mths old
ur gal very good gal still willing to let her sponge...no leh, i nvr heard of that illness...what is that?

ollie,

thanks for the info ! i will check it out... my gal enjoys shichida a lot... juz started for 5 lessons...i accompanied her till 4th lesson then pop liao...now hb bringing her

heloo mummies,
me managed to take a 2 hour nap this evening before dinner. bot a cheesecake for dessert later while watchin football, kekek..

amooks,
ur baby so cute, look so alert!

lovedogs,
oh dear, so u still going to call e massage lady to come back and do further sessions?

HI Mummies!

Have been so busy clearing my work, but have also been secretly sneaking in to look at those beautiful babies!!! Just simply have no time to post anything that's all.

Congrats to all who have given birth. It's really the miracle of life yah. One minute baby is in your tummy, next he/she is out. I always find it so amazing.. kekeekekkek....

I am starting my Mat leave come Monday, the start of my Wk 37. I think I shld deliver ard Wk 37 or Wk 38 bah. My first 2 kids also around this time.

Kash,
I used to have it but dun know where is it now. Let me ask my friend and try to post here for you.

Babyzel,
Where did you get ur binder? How much and any particular brand? I have booked a massage lady but also quite scared I cannot tahan those kind of binding + the oil. So might want to get a binder to standby.

Babyzel, thanks for the info. i've jus called the massage lady, she says will come after our visit to baby doc for the first time.

Does anyone knows how often and what time of the day is best to bathe baby? we're a bit overwhelmed since tmr is the first day after discharge. any other tips on what to look out for? Thanks all!

mummy,

many thanks for the contact information

haru,

she is coming tmr... hiaz.. what to do? then monday she is not coming again...

sunshinekid

thanks i got the info above from mummy liao
enjoy ur maternity leave and all the best for your delivery? how are your 2 kids? they excited? heehee
i am amazed leh...can share how to handle a newborn with 2 kids? i find it i am torn between having to feed my baby and spending time with my elder one... now i still have CL to handle bb most of the time... wonder how to split myself into 2 when CL leaves?
it is soooooo different having 1 and having 2...i really kowtow to you leh... to have 3

mummy,

1 more question. do u know how much he charges? we actually went to 1 master liao but we do not like any of the names given so my hb suggested to try another master....

Joyce, thanks for your explanation.. i also read that we shd check if our boobs are empty aft latching on. if not emptied we shd pump the milk out so that our brains register that the supply isn't enough.. true? I m so scared i have not enough milk.. from the books i read, they all say there is no such thing as NOT ENOUGH MILK! but it seems like so many ppl encounter this!

Happy, why can't ur hb take shift with u? one night u take care, the next night he takes care? like that won't drained u out so much.. u preg some more leh..

Maggie, Dawei is getting more alert liao!

Kash, i m sure u are doing well now.. u just need some time to adjust... also tessa needs time to adjust.. hang in there! oh u can't find a nice name for Ewan?

Kash,
It's definitely not easy. My son was very jealous when I tried to breastfeed my #2 then. He kept wailing outside the room when I wanna bf or pump milk. Luckily during confinement, he is at school most of the time, so leaves me with peace to handle my newborn. U mean ur elder one not in school yet?

As for now, with my #2 not starting school yet, I am really keeping fingers crossed that she is alrite with me for spending time with Didi. Just got to be careful with the kiddo's feelings yah? When baby is sleeping, spend as much time with ur gal as possible! Try to continue daily routines like reading to her before she sleeps, tucking her into bed etc. And... give her lotsa praises!! Make her feel important by asking her to do little errands like fetching a diaper, bringing the cream over.. whatever.

As it is, my #2 is very excited over her didi now. She told me she wants to help feed didi, hold his bottle etc. But say means say lah, scarly she gets super jealous over him. But I try to prep her as much as possible now, hopefully she is okay. I find that gals have more "maternal instinct" than boys. They are more sayang towards the little newborn.

Btw, my friend also just gave me You Long Zi's contacts, but she said he no longer provides his svc. His tu di does it now. Dun know good or not. For my #1 and #2, i think I paid $100.

Mummy(zeal)
Shld bathe ur baby in the morning, maby 9-11am. Not too cold, and baby will be fresh after his/her bath. And in the evening, just wipe down with water.

Ollie,Happy,Alibaba,Bear
my csec coming monday lor @8.30am. Sun nite sure can't sleep one, jus like my wedding day eve only managed to get an hr sleep cos too gancheong liao. 1st time having op and finally seeing my nini.. strange feeling, i'm also going to miss e days of having this big tummy and seeing her moving inside me vigorously wahhaaa... Toking abt which i better take a few unprofessional pics of my tummy before it gets flat on mon

I've been trying to eat watever i feel like to lately or else after birth hav to confine from all those stuffs for at least 1-2mths. Went for teppanyaki and had icecream twice today! Tomm settle for my ice blended mocho at coffee bean and thats it.. ahahaaa... Cant imagine confinement can't even hav plain water gotto take red date water only!!!! My ice drinks.... how to survive without them

babyzel
thanks alot. i used natural aloe vera itself coz i bot from spree aloe but not arrived yet...it has subside thou still itchy but not sure if its the oral steriod i took or the aloe.

peanut,

ur c-sect next monday? Goodluck and all the best! hahaha...i still remember i popped 1 sleeping pill the day before my customary so that i can go to bed by 10pm! it worked very well! but off course, since u going for surgery better dun take pills. btw, u opting for epi or GA?

sunshinekid

wow, ur boy sounded really jealous? how old was he when meimei was born? how old is ur gal now? she seems to be so sweet leh... my gal is ok with my latching bb...she is curious in fact. she also will sayang and hug her brother... but the thing is, she still expects me to go play with her when i am latching on... I need to tuck her into bed etc...but at the same time, baby is crying and need to latch on... how loh? now i got CL and i give her EBM to feed. But that means I need to keep expressing and reducing my latching...which is no good leh... my gal is 17.5 mths...day time i sent her to my mum's place so not that bad... but now my dad is sick...so i very sianz...still need to send my gal there...worried she may catch the virus from him.. but i got no time to cook her meals for her so she can't stay with me during the day loh...

oh, Yu Long Zi's disciple...in that case, do we still have to pay $100? Do u ask the price over the phone when u made an appt?

bear,

tessa finds baby brother cute... but other than that, she is still her usual self expects us to play with her and provide the same amt of attention. I can't blame her coz I doubt she understands yet.

yah loh... none of the chinese names are nice leh... hiaz.

carol
i see doc liao lo...suffer for so long...c doc also like this.1st c gynae, gace mild cream n oral pills. another week, refer me to dermatologist, gave steriod cream n oral steriod. also stop itch for 4 hrs only (gynae medi stop itch for 2hrs)..so got bath 4 to 6 times a day to cool down. agony man...but now better. thanks for your concern

peanut,

i still drink plain water... juz ensure it is warm water... but off course i drink abt 80% red dates... u can also drink milo, horlicks etc...

bear,

dun think so much abt breastfeeding now yet...will juz cause u undue pressure and stress... i am sure u can do it
Now i still manage to be 100% TBM...hope can maintain as well...

Hi Mummies, 6 days after my delivery and have washed my hair on day 4.

Low milk supply only 20ml per pump... trying very hard but seems really tough... = (

For those who have popped lately, CONGRATS!

It's really tiring to look after a newborn, for those who have yet to pop, try to rest and relax as much as you can... Really helps!

Picture of Shane on day 6.
1843578.jpg

amooks,
Your boy so cute!
You are steady!Wash hair onli on hte 10th day.I washed hair the next day after my hosp discharge.Cant tahan the oily smelly hair.

After csect,at times you will feel pain.Dun b surprise u can feel slight sharp pain after few mths too.But if the pain is v constant,then u must let your gynec hav a check.Onli worry is infection.

Kash,
My gal nt so guai and let me sponge.I used force one.Bo bian!

I din knw abt tis disease till my gal got it when she was abt 8mth old too.It wont have any symptoms except high & persistent fever.It will nt responsive to paracetamol and even ibuprofen.Onli till the 5th day or more,when most of the symptoms are shown,then it can be diagnosed as kawasaki.Treatment is onli by a kind of high dose antibiotic.We suffered mentally, physically & finanacially for almost 2 mths.Bcos after tat,my gal was on aspirin for a period.She needs to go back for regular check up too making sure that her heart is funcationing well.
I realise is getting v common now.My ex-coll bb oso gt it recently.

Below is the link for you to read more:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kawasaki_disease

Bear,
My gal dun wan my hb lar.Onli 'mummy mummy'!
She will fuss and kick my hb away lo.

Auggy,
Shane so cute! I cant wait to see my bb next wk.
Dun giv up on milk ss.Keep on trying!
Is onli the 6th day.Milk ss abt to come in soon!

peanut,
wow your csect so early.Then u hav to fast after mid night lo.Eat all you want tomoro!
Dun go tink abt it,V fast process!spent more romantic time with your hb tomoro nite!

kash,sunshinekids,
Aiyo,i read your posts i getting more worry.I am sure my gal will get jealous and want more attention from me too.

Auggybear,
Your prince looks handsome!

RE: wash hair during confinement
Haha, think most of us cannot tahan not to wash hair for days.. But if can bear, better delay it.. How about bathing? think i bath on the 4th day after birth using herbal water.

Bear,
Yes, u must pump out if bb didnt empty your breastmilk.. Cause SUPPLY = DEMAND. And also you must empty your breast to prevent engorgement which can be very painful. The more you latch bb on or pump out, the more milk it will comes, trust me. When bb suckles or u pump, it will tell the brains that you need more milk and your body will produce.
Share with you my experience on this. I have high fever when my bb was ard 5mths old, and my breastmilk totally gone empty.. (When have high fever, it is normal that your breastmilk will have low supply). It goes empty till i can feel the softness of my breast and there was like totally no milk at all. I was so desperate to bring back my supply and i search the website for more info..The answer i get was you have to constantly pump or latch on in order to gain back your supply. So what i do was pump n pump every 2 to 3 hours although there is only very little initially.. I was so desperate and tell myself i must get back my supply. So after 2 to 3 days of constantly pumping, my milk supply finanlly come back. So the rule of thumb is DEMAND= SUPPLY..

Happy,
haiz.. think we have the same worry.. worry that #1 will get jealous esp i am going to bf.. Anyway, i had constantly told him about his meimei arrival, and also bought a present and a mylar baloon to give him after he meet his little sister and said it is from his sister.. Hope all these helps!

Peanut,
you must be feeling both excited and gancheong.. Go and have all your craving tomorrow..

hello,
i'm back .. Just now went to pick my maid back home! haa.... finally she is on board.. my aunty has alot of gd comments about her! wat a relief!!

so is normal to spot after cervix check oh! Freak me out just now!! i was like ehh.. i not yet prepared for the REAL ting! kaakaa... tink now has stop spotting liao..

bear> yah tis time round duno wat dr is digging lor.. longer & deeper!!! Painful lor. for bb movements hor, once i put on the CTG, bb move so vigorously. lolz. duno wat the CTG send wat signal to him. haa

oh yah. today check up. bb hit 3kg at wk 37.. gosh. he gained 500gm within 10 days wor... scary.. but lucky i nv gain much tis time round..