<font color="aa00aa">Karen</font>,
Yup. I'm ok with leaving my dog alone with my maid. She even helps me to bathe the dog and bring down for morning and afternoon walks cos I can't do it due to pain from pelvic pressure. So far ok leh.
<font color="aa00aa">CC</font>,
Yah... for new maids, totally no exp, you need to have lots of time and patience to really train them lor. From cooking to using electric appliances, sorting laundry, standards of hygiene, etc. My friend had one and end up all over the house got instructions she printed and laminated, then stick at the appropriate places. All just to prevent the maid from telling her "Sorry mam. I dun know". Their fav phrase.
For experienced maid, gotta be careful cos they can be award winning actress. Need to be constantly on alert, firm and do constant spot-checks on them. At first, they appear good... then later all the patterns come out. Busy talking/sms-ing on phone, cut-corners (if you inspect properly can find places they din bother to clean), laze around when you not in... or worse... go out and find frenz to chit-chat. I mean... if they finish all their job duties, then I dun mind them doing the above. But the thing is... they will neglect both kids and house to pursue those "ECA's". Haiz...
<font color="aa00aa">fifi</font>,
Agree with you. For new maids, dun let them hv handphone first. They gotta earn the priviledge. Then also need to set rules and conditions pertaining to the usage of mobile phones. Eg: Stricly no using of HP during work hours. Only can use it after all house chores are done or before bed time. Refusal to co-operate will result in you confisicating the HP.