(2008/11) November 2008

Kash:
Yah we allow the mobile cos its cheaper for them to sms. But if the maid is new, you may not want to allow immediately. Let them earn the priviledge and also when there are babies, they should not be smsing or using the mobile. Perhaps at night when they sleep.

Vincy:
Congrats! How come so early huh? I tot your baby is breech?

dymples: tht's why i never pick maids who worked with expats before...bcos they very 'eng' one..

RE: WIRELESS IN MT. A

Is there internet access in the hospital room at Mt. A...just wondering if can bring laptop there.

happy,

oh dear...how come ur old wound will burst? shd be totally healed liao rite?

cc,

my criteria is experienced indo maid who worked in SG and can speak english... maid agency only got 1 in their database loh... me now waiting for them to set up the phone interview... ur maid doesnt like to cook? how abt at least preparing the ingredients and washing? ur maid from which country?

fifi,

agree, they must earn our trust and privilege first...

<font color="aa00aa">Karen</font>,
Yup. I'm ok with leaving my dog alone with my maid. She even helps me to bathe the dog and bring down for morning and afternoon walks cos I can't do it due to pain from pelvic pressure. So far ok leh.

<font color="aa00aa">CC</font>,
Yah... for new maids, totally no exp, you need to have lots of time and patience to really train them lor. From cooking to using electric appliances, sorting laundry, standards of hygiene, etc. My friend had one and end up all over the house got instructions she printed and laminated, then stick at the appropriate places. All just to prevent the maid from telling her "Sorry mam. I dun know". Their fav phrase.

For experienced maid, gotta be careful cos they can be award winning actress. Need to be constantly on alert, firm and do constant spot-checks on them. At first, they appear good... then later all the patterns come out. Busy talking/sms-ing on phone, cut-corners (if you inspect properly can find places they din bother to clean), laze around when you not in... or worse... go out and find frenz to chit-chat. I mean... if they finish all their job duties, then I dun mind them doing the above. But the thing is... they will neglect both kids and house to pursue those "ECA's". Haiz...

<font color="aa00aa">fifi</font>,
Agree with you. For new maids, dun let them hv handphone first. They gotta earn the priviledge. Then also need to set rules and conditions pertaining to the usage of mobile phones. Eg: Stricly no using of HP during work hours. Only can use it after all house chores are done or before bed time. Refusal to co-operate will result in you confisicating the HP.

hi ladies, i just woke up. :p

Jenn, your felicia is chubby and adorable!

Vincy, congrats! i thought you schedule you c-sect on 3rd nov, how come so fast pop liao. Hope to hear your story soon. Meantime rest well.

Fifi, thanks for the news. Thought its going to 31 oct then pass, now so fast pass liao ah, good.

maid : if i go out without my maid, i leave my dogs with her alone. No choice, just had to observe the dogs behaviour to determine whether they had been abused. I also told her she is not allowed to have hp de. If she wants, i will send her back to agency.

Dogs : I had my dogs shaved down yesterday, they looked so funni now. I think one of them knows he looks funni, keep hiding in a corner... pouting. So cute! No choice, my mom wants me to keep their fur damn short. I miss their cute fur.

Dymples
I agree. Whenever I tell my maid off for doing something wrong, she would laugh, and say Sorry. Which is irritating to me now. All she could was Sorry?! I have kept quiet for so many things which she has spoiled. Even my cup has cracks now.

I was esp. pissed that she actually talked to her friend(s) when I asked her to get something from the nearby supermarket yesterday. I was actually waiting for her to come home to cook lunch. And she's only been here for 2 months. What friend could she have?! We realised she's always the one to start talking to others. I'm so pissed off that I would not allow her to go out these couple of days. For lunch, she would eat pasta which I cooked. I know she would rather eat rice.

There are a couple of times when I cooked porridge and eat it with canned peanuts &amp; other canned food while I allowed her to buy from outside. But I think I have spoiled her already.

I am not comfy leaving dogs with her because once after a walk, she actually pulled one of my dogs away while my dog was drinking water, to clean the feet. I told her off right away. Don't think she's an animal lover. No respect for my dogs, I don't like. heee. I'm very fussy with it comes to my dogs and my baby (next time).

kash: She is from Philippines, she is quite ok in preparing ingredients like cutting ginger, garli etc. and washing and leaning up her biggest problem islack in interests in cooking, I could tell from the day she came...everything also can'YES CAN', then later ask ehr do she forgets, and ask her write in the book my recipe, she refuse to write...but when she wrote in the recipe book, i only saw 2 words ' GINGER, GARLIC' I Told her wow u so clever write 2 words know what to cook oredi she never write the steps..

haha phone intervew also quite funny, mine also got phone interview everything also YES.

dymples: Ya true also, so its like NEW MAIDS v. bluress/greenhorn and OLD MAIDS v. Oversmartness.

But I believe there are some experienced ones which can be quite gd..unfortunately last time my agency those experienced ones were withdrawn.

Like buying TOTO lucky maid can do everything...

Good noony mummies,
went for my check up today and gotten HL till end of the week cos really having very bad pelvis pain. everytime i climb up, lie down, turn in bed whatever i do tat require the strenght there i will cringe in pain... luckily its already 35 weeks n almost there. bb is 2.387kg le. so happy, finally 2 kg plus.

fifi,
u know hor yesterday my HR call mi n tell me sorry i cannot get the 16 weeks cos they starting next year, i straight away tell them its legislated by government that those born after 31st october will get 16 weeks, wat u mean i only get 12 weeks. damn angry. then she say cos it depends on company not the government. I say wat u mean on company, government say BY LAW leh. then she scare n say she go check again. gr.......

dymples, wow, your maid help you to bathe the dogs and bring them out for their runs. I tried to let my maid bathe them a few times, act she volunteered (both my mom and me shown her before), the end-result still cannot make it de. Eyes still have eyes shit and backside still had poo sticked to their fur. Now i dont let her bathe them le. After i given birth, i think i will regain the responsibility of grooming the dogs. Now just had to pass it to my hubby le. I dont trust her enough to run my dogs, cos i see other maids chatting on the phone or chatting with other maids while 'running' the dogs. the dogs just sit there and wait for their chat to finish lor.

Dreamyjo,
U saw thread on the BP. You brought e Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag
and they refund you e money. Now they want you to trf e money back to their a/c. They are accepting orders now.

I have just placed my order yesterday.

Bibi, thanks for informing me. I was so disappointed that they tx the money back to me earlier on. I will check and tx the money again.
yeah....

Dreamyjo
Same! I don't let the maid do all those things because she's so rough. With my dogs, they can get matts easily, so imagine if she pulled hard when grooming my dogs.

As for walks, I will walk my dogs with my husband and maid. If husband working, then I will walk my dogs with her. I also see other maids seeing at the estate there, chatting on the handphones or with their friends, and the poor dogs also sitting around. One maid even worse, always go down to chat with a guy from the same estate. I really pity the dog.

hullo mummies...

congrats Vincy!!...

re maid and dogs - so far... my maid only feed them and change their drinking water... she have not walk or bath them... hubby will still do all these... we scare she dunno how.... oso scare later she mingle with other maids....

Fifi, oic.. thanks.

Mildy, finally your gynae agreed to issue you HL liao. That's good... in the meantime rest well. I can understand what you going through with the pelvic pain. Mine is better now but can only lie flat cos turn to the left or right still painful lor, esp on the right. But walking wise better le. But belly very low, i had to 'hug' my belly while walking. Super not glam. Lol

dreamjo,
yeah finally my HL... kekekek....
mi also have to hold my belly when walking. i dun care if i am glam or not now le. wakakkaka...

<font color="aa00aa">Dreamyjo</font>,
Your dogs must look really cute with their fur shaved down. hehehhe... yah... I let my maid bathe the dog and bring for runs. So far, I will always check my doggie after her baths. So far still ok except she dun use enough conditioner, so I told my maid need to use more conditioner or else the fur will get matted. Nevertheless, my maltese also goes for once monthly grooming session so the groomer will shave her fur abit short... but not so short till ugly lah. Juz easy to maintain.

Yah.. yah... I also hate it when they laugh and tell me sorry. Things spoilt or broken liaoz... can still laugh??!! So angry lor. Wah... dun pamper her liaoz. Next time make her eat whatever you also having. Or else they will take for granted and expect more next time. Some of these maids really dun know their "hierachy" in the family. My ex-fili maids all like to behave as if they are mistress of the house.

As for bringing dogs down to walkie ...I've seen lots of maids doing that too. Namesake bring the dog for walk... end up is their chit-chat session. For mine, so far still ok cos I did spot check a few times. Plus, I'll only allow her to bring the dog down during those times when the maids hv not start gathering yet. hehehheh...

<font color="aa00aa">CC</font>,
Yes... yes... getting a good maid is like striking "TOTO" and "4D" man!! Good help is really hard to find nowadays.

<font color="aa00aa">Milderina</font>,
2.38kg at 35-weeks is a good weight. Rest more and dun over exert yourself yah. Oh yes... I find lying and sleeping on my left side helps to ease my pelvic pressure more. Maybe you wanna try that.

Jynnsan-sorry to hear abt the maid, but this kind better to send back asap. Only 11days and so yaya!! Try to look for those with domestic country experience, rather then oversea experience de. I find those with oversea experience very demanding and yayapapaya. Thank God my current maid still havent show any pattern yet.

Dymples - lol, most big dogs owners, after they change to having smaller breed dogs, will also come back and tell me they still prefer having big dogs. Actually I find smaller dogs more difficult to train as compared to bigger dogs and more hyper by nature also. I have 2 silky terriers at home, can imagine how noisy it will be when there are strangers at my house?....Silky are super barker lor...keke..I am tempted to buy the anti-bark collar for one of my gal, cause she just refused to keep her mouth shut when there are pple around my house, esp. when I confine them. Which is also one of the reason why, I dont really like inviting pple to my house, unless they are ok with dogs.
Wah, you very daring, I dont dare allow my maid to bathe the dogs or bring them for walks...if lost hor, I will die crying de!! Even when my hubby bring the dogs for their walk, I will also panic if he took too long to come back. These 2 dogs mean the world to me...cant imagine not having them in my life.

Amore - same, my maid only help to feed them, clean them when they pee / poo and change their drinking water. Hubby havent been very on in walking the dogs recently, I promised my dogs that after I give birth, mummy will personally bring them for their daily walks.

Dreamyjo - i didnt shave down my dogs lar, but they have been having puppy hair cut for a long time. I cant stand having to comb and groom them everyday when they were having long coat...esp. after their walks. Checking for ticks is really back-breaking when they have long coat, so decided to keep it short and easy maint. Maid did shown an interest when my hubby bathe the dogs, but I just cant let myself pass the responsibility to her. Especially when my dogs' skin quite sensitive, if bathe not clean, wait got skin issues again.

Milderina: correct me if I am wrong but I thot was passed thru on 17 Aug, means those born after 17 Aug qualify for 16 weeks? lesgilated i thot only means putting into formal writing/legislation, but actual date still 17 aug..

cc,
i think those bbs tat are born before 31st oct might not compulsory get it depending on the company. i think fifi can explain more?

Carol
LOL! I totally understand what you mean. My dogs mean the world to us too. Yah yah, I can't imagine the maid losing one of my dogs. This is a nightmare and must remain as one.

I also only allow my maid to cook &amp; feed for dogs, pick up their poo after walks, and clean their legs after the walks. I still groom them myself. And it's quite amazing that at 9 months, I'm still bathing them. Not easy but at least I trust myself. Hee. I will bathe my dogs while my husband will blow-dry them.

Really afraid the maid will ill-treat the dogs because in reality, we treat the dogs better, like letting them sleep with us in aircon room while her room is not air-conditioned.

cc
I think I read in earlier posts that for those born from 17 aug to 31 oct, companies are ENCOURAGED to give the mothers the full 4 months ML. It's not by law. However, for babies born after 31 Oct, those are by law.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

karen - lol! ya...think I treat my dogs better then my maid. I actually can still bath the dogs lar, but lazy to do so le, so hubby will bath and I blow dry lor...we are opposite.

I just went for my checkup today. Doc says got 70% to 80% chance I will be able to have a successful VBAC.. But have to wait till next checkup see baby's weight first den can decide... But anyway, am so excited already la, finally can feel how contractions is like..haha..

Btw, to all mummies who have popped, CONGRATS!!!

Recently I've been super paranoid, keep thinking what if I'm out alone and waterbag burst or what, although its still early... haha.. Anyone like me too???

Mildy:
So good. My gynae never give me HL leh. I wish have. Actually now I am considering whether want to induce anot coz I have so much problems sleeping and basically quite jialat the whole time.

Re: 16 weeks ML
Ok its like this. Until the legislated effective date, government cannot force any company to give the 16 weeks. They can only encourage by paying for the leave if its given. So...

if baby born between 17Aug-30Oct &amp; EDD is before 31 Oct - encouraged only.
if baby born on or after 31 Oct - must give 16 weeks
if baby's EDD is on or after 31 Oct - must give 16 weeks

Re: Induce Baby
Can those who had their babies induce please share with me your experience? I'm considering asking to be induced but cannot decide good or not.

carol,
Ya. From the way my mil get along with the maid, my sil got more complaints from mil with maid like children's clothes not wash, do her work slow etc ...My mum told me that she don't like to have stranger in the house. So won't be getting 1 so soon.

Fifi,
Thanks. That's good news for us.

COngrats, vincy, chillipadi, olwen, Jenn...so happy to hear mummies popping out their babies so soon....noticed it is really quite early frm their EDD...i woner who is next after seeing vincy popping so suddenly hahaha....

<font color="aa00aa">Carol</font>,
Yup yup... big dogs easier to train. hehehhe.. they are "gentle giants" lor.
Only looks big and fierce but in actual fact are softies. I find the smaller breeds more "garang" leh. Thks God my maltese is not a barker. But she still can't control her pee-pee leh. Everytime my door bell ring... she will get so excited and pee. *aiyoh... headache*

<font color="aa00aa">Sabre</font>,
Tat's good news!! Wishing you a safe VBAC delivery.

Wow!! You still can bend over and bathe your dogs? *pei-fu* If it's me... once I bend over too long... that's it liaoz. Cannot stand up, plus my back and pelvis will be super painful. Somemore my dog is maltese, so I'm quite particular that her coat is white-white after her bath. So will scrub and scrub. Lucikly got my maid to help... nowadays I'll just need to give my dog her daily brush-down can liaoz.

Dymples
Not really bend over. We place the dogs on a slightly higher stool. From Ikea. Then I sit on a small stool. A little bending to reach out, but other that, ok ah. Plus my tummy not very big to begin with, hee.

Wah.... then your dogs must be berry kuai to stay on the stool bah. Mine har... will go round and round and round. Somemore need to tie her up first... or else...
she will run out of the tub. *lol* Maybe she's still puppy lah. Only just pass 1-yr. How old are your dogs?

Dymples - submissive / excitment pee need some time to get over de. One of my gal used to have that too, but after a few months and once she get used to us and know we are harmless, the submissive pee stops.

<font color="aa00aa">Carol</font>,
The funny thing is... when she first came, she will only hv a little excitment pee. Then it stoped. But recently, dunno how come.. start again. And this time, she will really pee-pee alot lor. I dunno how come. Past few days like that liaoz. For example, on Monday, my maid bring her down for morning walk at 6.30am. Doggie pees and poos. Then at 10am when delivery man comes, she will pee all over the floor. *faintz* wondering whether she got bladder prob or not. *worried*

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Post Natal Massage</font>,
Any ladies here going to have those Jamu post-natal massage? Cos I'm really keen to have it done but dun know which massage lady to go to. I've read so much various feedback from the various threads till I blurz. Anyone got good recommendations?

I've tried Mdm Noor for pre-natal massage. Her massage skills are good. Really relaxing after the massage session. But I find her response to my sms berry slow leh. Plus she seems really busy. Then I tried Maya Mummy pre-natal massage. She replies to my sms promptly and her massage skills not bad. Only thing is her package like kinda ex. $500 for 7-sessions for post natal.

Afternoon ladies,

Wow, didnt log in since yest afternoon and good news has been spreading.keke

Congrats to JENN &amp; VINCY.. Hope i am not too late.

Mildy,
That's a good weight of your baby! U still worry about her weight though.. So now u can rest well at home since u are entitled to HL.. keke

Fifi,
Normally gynae will only induced patients when there is a need. Eg, for my case, my baby has already engaged and my amniotic fluid is running low which may affect the baby. So i was put on drip like babyzel to induced. Or you want to talk to your gynae and hear their advice?

Ya, now had to screen all over again, very disappointing. At first I tot get a mature one (ex is 36 with 3 kids) will be better, now think about it, should select those younger one. Very vex over this. Now will pop anytime, where got so much energy to trouble over the maid. Life is tough...

Dymples,
Thats strange. You might want to bring her to the vet to check. One of my gals who is 4yo and sterilise is already suffering from incontinence. Going to bring her to the vet on thursday for a check-up before I do go and deliver.

Jynnsan,
I will try not to take one with too much age diff from me. If much older, they will think I am too young and no respect. But if too young, I scared abit too immature. Preferable choose someone which is 1-2 ranking in the family and have siblings, so that at least we know she have helped to take care of siblings before.

Jynnsan,
Do not be too lenient to them at the beginning. Me too, been too lenient to my #1 maid from Phillipines, let her call back a few times for the 1st few months and subsequently, she will take advantage of it. She work for me for 13mths and at the end we also send her back. She will still raise her voice to me too, but that is towards end of her 13mths.. Sometimes have to be strict to them from beginning so that they know there is a limit btw employer n employee.

Jynssan &amp; carol,
What u said is true, if they are too old, they tends to have their own way of working, won't listen to your instruction. Both Indo n Philippino really have a lot of different, both pros n cons..

Hi Jynnsan, I'm oso choosing a maid now. Very tired looking at the profiles. Some passports not ready, got to wait at least 2mths. I'm choosing a Indonesian maid.

sabre,
haha, you are not alone. i went for yoga just now and walked around town all afternoon and i felt quite nervous. me too happily shopping (bot cot mobile and mini laundry basket for baby's clothes) so never really tot about it too much but i really took my time to walk about.=P