(2008/11) November 2008

Sunshinekid
Wow...based on your description, from the boiling to the cooling down, lots of time needed before can bath ler.

And if the bathroom too small, cannot fit in a big bathtub how?
Kash had mentioned earlier, the herbal water will stain the towel. So really cannot rinse with water?

my fren now in confinement just called me this morning to complain how miserable it is to not able to bathe, keep sweating and pumping milk... so tiring and pek chek

mosh
heheheee... i purposely one neh... bought mixture of choc chips with pecan nuts & no nuts one..

today overspent liao.. $9 for lunch, $9 for cherries, $4.5 for cookies, $7 for cab.. -_-.. toking abt my saving plans.. chey..

greengrape
wat sunshinekid said shd be correct, cos my fren's also like that. Patience patience.. jus wait for 1-2hrs then can bath already. within this time u will be occupied with bb stuffs

mosh
need to bath one lah.. hygiene v impt.. for me i'll bath everyday, but hair mayb every after 2days ba.

Good afternoon ladies ...

Saw the topic on CDA to pay cord blood thingy. What if I have registered with cordlife? In future, once I get the CDA for my bb, I can use to pay the annual fee? And how abt the registration fees I have paid? Hehe.

mosh
kekekee.. u also work at raffles place? yum.. so crunchy.. e choc chips jus melt inside e mouth

greengrape..
my big boss not in mah =P he coming back in few days time so i quick quick take a long lunch today.

mosh
u living with ur mil? will she be doing confinement for u? if not then chap siao her, anyway she wont know if not living under 1 roof. Or mayb she doesn't know abt this herb thing? tell her got such things and TCM say its ok as long as u get the herb to bath.

mosh, must bath during confinement de lah ... imagine u sweat then jus clean ur nipple area then straight breastfeed ... very unhygenic and can affect the bb. Shld tell ur MIL must bath using the herbal one.

<font color="ff6000">misaryeo, sherline
Looks like breast milk indeed works for sore &amp; cracked nipples!

Fifi,
After seeking advice here, maybe will just standby a Medela or Mothercare nipple cream in case the pain is unbearable! Hopefully, the breast milk helps cos thought that BB may swallow the nipple cream. I bought the Avent Starter Kit, if BB can get use to using Avent then maybe can also consider their BPA bottles.

Bear &amp; mummies who bought BB cots,
Did u gals get the convertible ones and what colour did u gals choose for the cots? Am torn between White &amp; Natural Wood. Like White better but may be more difficult to maintain as may turn yellowish in time.

Alibaba,
U can get the packaged herbal bath at Hock Hua where the the herbs are packed in a sachet without spilling all over the tub. They have the M'sia packaging at $1.30 &amp; S'pore packaging at $2.00.</font>

GreenGrape,
Ya lor, think it takes about 4-5 hours to cool down leh, esp I am someone who need alot of water to bathe + washing hair :p

The water will stain? I cant recall that leh.

Im staying with my MIL and she will be doing confinement for me lor...
she very particular abt bathing during confinement one... last time my SIL also doing her confinement here at my house, my MIL tell her cannot bath wor...

Think if cannot bath I will go crazy also... will have to try bathing without her knowing lor...

sunshinekid
??!! need 4-5hrs?? zun bo?? so long ah.. then i mus ask the maid to prepare it much earlier lor. i tot 1hr enuf for the water to cool down.

mosh
If staying together how to bath without her knowing one.. v difficult... unless drug her and let her sleep for a few hrs.. kekekee...
u try tell her abt the drugs.. and tell her CL &amp; TCM SAY USE E HERB CAN BATH TA STAMP NO PROBLEM..

Peanut,
I think it's true leh. Btw, I must qualify that my tub is very big. Kekeee.. My maid start boiling since about noon time, so i bathe around evening.

This time round, I am gg to get her to start boiling in the morning, so that I get to bathe in the afternoon when the weather is still warm.

Peanut, lucky u! i had to work through lunch.. sigh... so much things to do.. lunch was quite lousy too.

Ya i agree with u gals, MUST BATHE! so weird leh, don't bathe.. we live in the tropics.. we will be accumulating dirt and all.. I m bathing man I don't care! Also i not gonna top up with boiled water... can u imagine how many times u gotta boil water just to bathe? a bit ridiculous! just gonna bathe with warm water and the herbs lor... and do wat Kash says, blow dry hair immed.

Nikki, i got the bed that is convertible into a toddler bed. i didn't get white precisely becos i dun want it to turn yellow.
i choose dark wood becos it went with my furniture.

Sunshinekid
The maid just busy boiling water will take up alot of time liao... Then the rest of the housework cannot do finish. Those with no maid chiam ler

RE : Herbal water

must buy a big big pot to bowl leh... that time my CL boiled for me so i dunno how long she took....

but what i meant is that i used the herbal water to shampoo my hair, then rinsed off the shampoo. after that, used normal shower water to rinse off again.... like that hor, my towel still stained
Also, the pot used to boil the herbal water, choose 1 lousy one coz after that, ur pot will stain badly... anyway, i used the herbal water for abt 14 days to bathe only... after that i bathed normally liao as i dun find the herbal water as clean as the noraml water loh....

Kash
Is that part of CL job to boil herbal water for us to bathe?
Hehe..if it is, guess the kitchen stove will be on 8 hours a days liao... CL boil water for bathing, CL cook lunch/ dinner for me, maid cook lunch/dinner for IL.

greengrape,

yes CL's job..she basically will prepare the water for u to bathe by boiling it, pouring it into a big pail for u in the bathroom. She called out to me when it was ready...i juz walked in the bathroom can liao...heehee.. after shower, she will also go into the bathroom to clear up the pail etc.....

kash,
maybe i will do that too. Just use herbal bath for 14 days, then back to normal shower bath. keke. Scare the herbal bath will become sticky on my body and I intend to breast feed my bb.

Nikki,
I bought mother care nipple cream @$5 (promo price. usual price $10) from parkway parade branch on sat. Not sure if other branches are selling the same price too.

Kash, how much water is enough then??? one big pail like not enough leh... the herbs stinky or not?

I can imagine the electricity bill man... sure all up one.. and its only to BOIL water!!

Oh ya, ask u 2nd time mummies... when u are near ur EDD, must u wear pads everyday just in case ur water breaks? or just wear pantyliner will do?

yah tts y my fren say waste a lot of gas.. hhahaa... but i guess i'll try to limit e amt of water to those red tub that we normally use in toilets. So during wash hair days, i've to use lesser water on my body lor wahahaa....

hi Bear and minkybear,
thanks for the info! there is such thing as coconut husk mattress??so weird!

peanut,
wah, i have not eaten famous amos cookies for long time!! going to taka for the mooncake fair later with sis and hubby.heeheh..think i'll be munching on all the snacks later too.=P

Jo,
i think u can arrange for ur future annual fees to be paid via CDA but they prob wil not refund u for the reg fee.

nikki,
i bot the white as it blends better with my home decor. and i think more neutral colour for girl. and easier to match bedding. the side railing can be lowered and mattress height can be adjusted. can also be converted to toddler's bed in future.

Bear,
i think you can carry some normal liner and pads with you closer to EDD, but i think to wear the liner all the time quite a hassle..hmm..i'm not to sure too!

Nikki> oh. so the herbs are come in packed bag form. lidat i no need worry. haha.. i felt quite messy after bathing if the herbs are all over the place. hehehe.. bo bian.. duno anytin about it.

peanut> i tink tat time my sil's hor, use v big pot &amp; use charcoal to boil the water. machiam leave it for whole day lor. also the whole ting was at the corridor somemore... the red tub or pail u mean? if pail, wash hair sure not enough one....

i heard even wash face brush teeth oso mus used boiled water too... our maid will be keep busy boiling water nia.lolz

alibaba
yah yah the pail.. wahahaa... for bathing without hair wash its enuf one. but if washing hair then need to use less on body lor.. ah bo then get a slightly bigger one.

yah as long as use water they shd be boiled one.. but i tink brush teeth use tap water shd be ok lah.. dun tell me the mouth will be painful also meh

alibaba
hey good idea leh use charcoal.. !! no gas wasted.. But put at corridor no problem meh?? Mayb i can suggest this to my MIL wahaha.. then my maid has to raise the fire everyday.. wahahaa.. so funny

looks like i have to get a couple more pails..to soak cloth nappies as well as for bathing the herbal bath. i have no clue how to go about with the herbal bath. i still tot can just use normal water from the shower heater.hahah..

Herbal bath - tot can use water from the heater too...like tie it to the shower head or something?! :p

Cloth nappies vs disposables: Are u all getting a mix of both? My SIL was telling me abt using cloth nappies..will probably use in 1st mth since CL is here, but after that, the tot of washing already made me sianz...but MIL said that it would save more $$ and it's more breathable..

Mooncakes- anyone gotten yet?? Feel like getting the durian/mango from Gdwood Park and the yam teochew ones from Shi Zhen...hope to go Taka too, then sample all the free samples hahaaa...

peanut> i oso duno about the brush teeth de, i heard so need to use boiled water. ha.. mus ask Experienced mummy here :p lolz u wanna save utility ah! fainted.. i tink it's dangerous leh. haha. caught fire how! lolz..

glad_gal> i wanna get the durian one.. is the mango one nice?? if so i'll get 1 box each, split to 2 pcs of each flavour to my parent. haa.. taka mooncake fair started liao ah?

bear,

i have 1 super huge pail at home and that was enuff for me to wash my hair and body. after that, i will use the normal shower to do another round of quick rinse. Honestly, i dun like it leh...the herbal smell at all.. but it is still better than not bathing at all....kekekekee...

bear,

utility bills high coz a lot of cooking, slow cooker also non stop to boil the red dates drink... sterilizer etc... then i on the aircon 24 x7 hrs... so think almost $300...

alibaba
wahhaaa.. yah lor wahahaaa... if put outside our door lagi worst, got fire we cannot run out!!! Wait gena newspaper headline "Energy-saving effort led to family and new borned trapped in fire"

Yup! It started after the babyfair :p
Actually not just Taka (tho it is probably the biggest), other places like Tanj Pagar and Raffles Pl mrt and some shopping malls also have 'mini mooncake fairs'....
Mango - I didnt get to try the sample but it looks gd and my family likes mango n durian so will wanna get a mix :D

greengrape,

i dun like that drink but bo pian...and yes, u buy the ingredients and the CL will cook for u. CL also will wash all milk bottles, ur breastpumps etc...they also assemble for u. U just need to rest and breastfeed. I did not even change my gal's diaper until the day CL left...

glad,
i will be using both cloth and disposable. prob use cloth for day and disposables for night. Will only prepare like 12 cloth nappies, so once its all soiled will just use the disposables. prob only use the cloth nappies for the first month esp baby's bottom is delicate. =>

i bot 4 yolk mooncake from Da Zhong Guo at chinatown on sat. will check out taka moooncake fair later aft work. hee..

lovedogs,
did you use any body lotion to apply after herbal bath?

eeerkkk... i find myself having bit of body odour lately.. not sure if its becos of our rising body temp.. v conscious.. hav to dap dap some perfume at armpit area to cover..

Confinement: So troublesome ... still must use herbal with boiling water? Think I will rinse myself with herbal bath for the first round, then shampoo and body wash then use warm-hot tap water for 1st rinse then herbal bath for 2nd rinse and final round rinse with warm-hot tap water. Anyway, I'm alone in toilet ... nobody knows mah. Hehe.

Brush teeth &amp; wash face still must use boiling water? Use warm-hot tap water can le lah.

peanut> yah la! later confinement til caught in headline sia... use gas la.. lucky my house one is govt one. no need to order gas tank when finish. lolz..

re: red-date &amp; longan drink
can use slow cooker ah.. my mil said no gd use slow cooker, later the longan will turn sour. duno her la.. let her do her way....

i even have fren suggest me to drink chicken essence ev morn. double boiled it with corden blue! fainted. i told her lidat, ev day i will be too drunk to BF bb. lolz.

Kash
You made confinement sound like a holiday,
"U just need to rest and breastfeed."

Guess i need to learn how to take care of the baby myself from the CL , else when CL leave i cannot manage.

greengrape,

i stand by the side and see how she does it before she leaves... so no problem... once she left, i also handled bb alone...no problem at all...

haru,

no lah, after the herbal bath i still feel yucky nvr apply anything...

jo,

i wash hands, brush teeth and wash face with normal water. wash my wound also with normal tap water. i even drink plain water as well also lots of nagging from CL... but who cares...

kash
my fren say after confinement when she started washing all the bottles etc, her hands really got painful lei.. so i tink tap water really caused "wind"