(2008/11) November 2008

enne,
i also BF for 3 months plus, but its total Breastfeeding. my girl had very high jaundice but i dun care leh, cos i dun wan to give her FM leh, so wat i do is i eat less ginger lor. tats y didnt had a good confinement. after come back office its impossible to continue cos my office is not nursing mum friendly at all. not 1 single bit. hai...

happy: everything ok now? hope no hfmd in taiwan hor. the situation here is getting to epidemic.

yen: wow, yum yum. i really like the western food stall there leh.

greengrape: wah, u so funnee! like blood birds nest???

mildy, enne: what r u all collecting from raffles place?

HI ladies,
talking abt breastfeeding.. I have total breastbeed my son for 8 months exlcusively. Hmm, don't think it is long as compared to some mummy who can bf till the kids are 2, 3 yrs old.
Initially, nipples will crack and bleed.. But after u have master the technique and with proper latch on, then it is a breeze like what mildy said.. So everytime very easy, just lift up shirt and feed..

Enne, since u have a bad experience in bf ur no1, think u shd try again this time round cause u already have some experience.. Bf is good good good..

Milderina-Me no choice ler..my MIL was doing confinement for me and its kinda bad if I keep insisting to total BF when I knew she wants my bb to recover from jaundice asap so in the end its partial BM and FM lo.. I did feel kinda down coz of this.

olwen-nursing wrap.. hehe..

joyce-thanks.. that's very encouraging!! hehehe.. I definitely will try very hard!! somemore now 4mths ML ler.. more time to BF at home. hee. So what makes u stop BF at 8mths?

Mildy, Enne, Happy, Kash,
Did your breast change shape (haha, out of shape) after u stop bf???? For me, it become shrink and smaller after i stop.. sad sad.. But now bigger liao lar cause preggy mah.

enne, happy, mildy,

i BF for 5 mths. 1st mth was TBF. Then 2nd mth when CL left, I tried to have the last feed using FM while i will express and freeze my BM. Coz I was told bb with FM will sleep longer! (SEE WHAT A BAD MUMMY I AM...got BM but dun want to give!)... then 3rd mth onwards i will give last feed FM maybe once a week coz i want my gal to remember the taste of FM and do not reject it when i stop BFg. I actually carried on for a few more weeks of Frozen EBM for my gal after i stopped. and I recalled pouring away about 10 bottles of frozen EBM after i tried to taste it. it was sooooo yucky i tot spoilt! then realised it is normal. Then got another 6 bottles i gave it to my dog as my mum stored in her freezer but her freezer got frozen raw meat too...

joyce,

dun talk abt breast size leh...so depressing... after BFg, shrink till even smaller than before... warrao... dunno why hor...

enne,
i truly understand how u feel man. cos my mum tat time also keep nagging mi though i have confinement lady, but hor i dun care lor. i was also very streess, cos i know i wan to give BM to charlene but scare that her jaundice wont go down.

joyce,
mine kinda of become slight bigger but hor saggy leh.......sad sad.........

Enne, haha.. actually i felt guilty to stop at 8mths cause i went to Japan for a week of holiday.. Really guilty.. But i just console myself that i had already done a good job
Otherwise, my aim is to bf him till he is 1 yr old. So for this time round, think i will bf my baby girl till she is 1 yr old.. my aim.
Anyway, if u need moral support, just log in to forum and i am sure all mummies will def support each other!

joyce,

u went for 8 mths very good liao leh... my target this time is 6 mths only leh... i also hope to go for a holiday before i return to the workforce...now thinking if BFg, how? pump and throw? hiaz... i salute you liao.

But i wanna ask u, when u TBF for 8th mths, how did ur boy take the taste of FM? My concern is if I go on to TBF, the worry is that the baby may reject taste of FM?

Kash & Mildy, ya lor, become smaller still ok, but shrink like papaya really make us sad.. But mildy lucky, become bigger lei.. Any tips??
I heard that if u total latch on, ur breast tends to change. But if u total pump out, then your breast may remain the same, wont sag or so. Is that true?

kash-hmm I never really taste my own BM before ler.. izzit so yucky? but I heard if u eat fish it will have fishy smell.. like what we eat becomes what the milk tastes like??

Milderina-^5.. mine too.. I think size same la.. but really saggy lo.. can feel the difference when before not preg yet.. no more 'perky' liao.. sad hor..

joyce-haha but 8mths is a good enuf time liao.. heard at least 6mths is good enuf..

alibaba,
just saw your post. tomorrow last day for nursing wraps, wat are u waiting for? hiak hiak hia....

minky,
bo see her today leh....

Enne,
I BF for 3mths plus but not total Bfing too.It is my wish to total BF for at least 6mths but but but... haiz... i din manage to make it.Tat time i was so stress when i dun hav enff supply and kinda of down,almost go into post natal blue too.

olwenilim,
Thanks. Eveything so far so good.There is HFMD here too and situation is jus as bad like sin.

Kash,

i do it this way.. Mix and match. For eg, he is taking 4 milk feeds a day. then i start to give him 3 breastmilk and 1 formula, then a few days later slowly increase to 2 breastmilk n 2 formula. But all have to do it gradually. But hor, i remember that sometimes he will reject formula too, then what i do is i mix formula and breastmilk. Hmm, i heard that it is not good to mix, but i had no choice. Then i remember that every night i will bf him to sleep, then when i try to give him bottle, he will like lean over me and ask me to carry, wanna find my neinei for milk milk

Is good to go for holiday to relax.. Yes, i know some mummy actually pump n throw so that the supply is still there when u r back.. But hor, very tiring.

joyce,
i dunNo leh, but all my friends commented that my breast actaully gotten bigger after delivery my girl even after i stopped BF. last time is barely B, now full B? kekeke.....but really saggy lor, n got stertch marks...............hai.......the sacrifaces.....

Enne, i taste b4.. FROZEN breastmilk is the yuckiest!! It has a strong metallic smell which i thought is spoilt too initially. Some baby actually reject frozen breastmilk..

Mildy, what nursing wrap?

*Salute to all mummies that manage to BF

If i can BF for 3-6 months, think i will be very happy.

Heard that during bf, we must increase our food intake, else when there is not enough fat to convert into milk, it will take the fat in our breast. Therefore our breast will shrink.

Mildy,
dun complain liao, u have upgrade but we downgrade..keke.. Haiz, i remember after i stop bf that week, i really wanna cry after seeing my breast shrink n sag.. really like those grandma one..

greengrape,
Dun worry, with all the support from mummies here, u will be able to bf your bb.
is that true? if yes, then i must eat more n more during bf so that my nei nei wont shrink..

<font color="119911">Nursing Bras</font>,<font color="ff0000">Haru</font>
I read to get max 2 1st to see you through the delivery and confinement, and then after/during confinement when u know how comfortable u are with BF, then decide whether to invest in more..

Maybe other 2nd time mummies can enlighten us if this is true? hee,

mildy,

yah loh, can share how ur breasts become bigger after u stop BFg? mine no stretch marks but shrink terribly
BUt i think i did a fair mix of direct latch as well as express leh... but in total, i think i latched more... coz i find i cannot dun latch for more than 2 to 3 days... will get super engorged eventhough i tot i empty my breasts everytime I expressed... nothing beats the latching of a baby... immediately can soften the hard part....

joyce,

when did u start to mix? After CL left, I tried to let my hb use bottle to do the last feed. So I nvr let my gal to have the habit of latching till sleep. HOwever, when she wakes up at say 5am etc, i bo pian, have to latch her in bed... coz by tat time, breasts also very full liao...

yah man! the frozen EBM tasted and smelt horrible... like cod liver oil...but my gal that time hor, still drink happily. My dog too...

kash-I thot mine would shrink plus I did eat 1 pill to stop.. but didn't ler.. but for me maybe I pump more than I latch.. I know sounds silly but I hope it shrink lo but it din.. and now preg again becomes big which sometimes feel heavy..

kash,
hahah... i really dunnO leh. but i know when my milk come in my breast really ballooned tat time. maybe becos its saggy so when i wear bra become like bigger? for mi i direct latch on all the way. i bo express. think the 3 months plus i express less then 10 times?

jo,
yes, its possible. most babies comes out ard 37 to 40 weeks.

Enne &amp; Mildy,
Nursing wrap arh.. think i dun need it cos i always go nursing room to hide.. keke

Kash,
I start to mix only when i abt to stop bf, which is when my son is abt 7months +.. it takes a while for him to accept formula milk. I always lazy to pump, that's y i latch him on b4 he sleep which is not a good habit though.

Drugstore Stuff Update:

Pkum: Paid. Pls PM me your address. Confirm normal mail?

Kash: Paid. Wtan say she will collect for you. OK?

Glad: Paid. Collect this Sunday right?

Yen: Paid. Confirm with me about Sunday hor.

Greengrape: Paid. Pls PM me your address. Confirm normal mail?

Wtan: Tmr we chat on MSN.

Shortgal: Paid. Will send your parcel this weekend by normal mail.

Peanut: You going for steamboat?

Gin78: Let me know abt collection.

DMK: Paid. Let me know abt collection.

Blessed Mum: Paid. Let me know abt collection.

Bear: Are you going for steamboat huh? Tmr we chat on MSN.

Joyce: Paid. Will send your parcel this weekend by normal mail.

Jynnsan: Paid. Will send your parcel this weekend by normal mail.

Bibi: Paid. Will send your parcel this weekend by normal mail.

Bluebear: We settle when we meet.

Milderina: Let me know about collection.

Sunshinekid: I think postage will be about 80 cents or so for normal. Let me have your address hor. You have my bank acc right?

Enne: I think postage will be about 80 cents or so for normal. Let me have your address hor. I sms you my bank account.

kash-haha no la.. I am not big size to begin with ler.. somemore I am short.. thats why aiya.. makes me look so improportional now when preg...... feel like a penguin.

Jo-shd ask ur boss to not let ur HB go for the company trip coz still u will be heavily preg that time ler.. cannot don't go har?

Fifi-Received, so total is how much including postage?

kash,
no leh, when i say bigger or its from a not full B to full B only. hee hee... so not big la.

fifi,
i wan postage so total i must transfer how much huh?