(2008/11) November 2008

Olwen, i can take noodles morn, noon and night! my mum said i not putting on wt cos i not eating rice.. sigh.. she refuses to cook me anything but rice (unpolished rice some more). consequently i eat even lesser!! sigh.. i can't explain why i like noodles.. just do...

Heehee.. funny thing is that i nv seen those things during the 7th mth! i see them aft it! hahaha... but when i got meningitis it was the 7th mth.. :p

peanut and jo,
ur lunch sounds yummy!i had a salad, scrambled eggs and toast.hee..

hui,
agree agree..as long as dun eat excessively.=> hubby shared half boiled eggs with me last sunday, havent had it for so long. felt so good to eat it with toasted kaya toast!

hmm...mayb i'll see if i have energy to drive to quality hotel tonite to eat the porridge aft watchin movie.hahahah...u think if go late at night still must make reservation??

bear
umm.. actually last time i got a fren also got 3rd eyes and after telling me the encounters, he said actually he;s not supposed to tell people.. or else he'll see even more.. Then another fren wil tend to see such things when she's ill..

olwen, I do buy ibets. hehe.

carol, my dog is like having fits type but its due to the lump on her head. We do give her her medication to control seizure and supplement for her brain.

bear, u eat so little? how can?
You can see things? So uneasy ... somemore must act as if you cant see them.

wah, dunno if i will go that late..maybe 9pm+ ba..but if almost 10:30am might as well wait till 10:30pm rite?? but i think hubby just checked its $9.80 aft 10pm.

Bear: brown rice bee hoon is v nice. & u just need to scald it. eat w normal food. my son loves it in soup. especially when my mum's maid puts sotong & prawn. yums.

u had meningitis? then all the more must take care. v dangerous illness. can affect the brain.

peanut, Jo: my tea lady auntie again tio. this time is her son's wedding date. $2,000. can't imagine ever seeing tt amount of winnings in my life time.

Peanut,
ginseng chicken y cannot eat? can eat mah..

Haru,
i cant take half boil egg.. eat liao vomit out leh
is very nice with butter sugar toast @ yat kun :D

olwen
wah she so wang.. u go touch touch her to get some luck. Or mayb sometimes these aunties hor got pray to dunoe wat so easily dio bey bio lei.

Hui
i keep hearing cannot eat ginseng during pregnant lei cos too bu for baby already.. thats y i so long never eat ginseng chicken..
Mayb i will ask my gynae nex time

Some findings.

Pregnancy and Breastfeeding

Ginseng has been used traditionally in pregnant and breastfeeding women. Animal studies and early human research suggests that ginseng may be safe, although safety has not been clearly established in humans. Therefore, ginseng use cannot be recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding. Neonatal death and the development of male characteristics in a developing baby girl after her mother was exposed to ginseng during pregnancy has been reported.

Many tinctures contain high levels of alcohol and should be avoided during pregnancy.

i have not tried brown rice bee hoon. sounds healthy! does not taste like normal bee hoon? my hubby not really into brown rice pdts so i'll end up cooking for myself if i buy it! thinking of cooking it with just some meatballs or chicken and lots chye sim w a side chilli padi w soya sauce..mmm..

hui,
oh dear, really ah? ya kun and YY kafei dian are my favs!!

minkybear: i must tell my husband then! he keeps pestering me to take the wild ginseng which his mother bot $300 worth. i won't be surprised if tt's the thing which gave me the nightmare.

peanut: i touched her hand donno how many times but i never tio. then again, i don't personally buy, only my husband. so maybe the luck cannot pass from her to me to him?

haru: brown rice is just like normal bee hoon, just healthier cos the rice is not polished.

Can i ask u hor nowadays those malaysian confinement lady dun ahve to go back at 2 weeks to chop their passport? cos the one which i going to hire say now dun need to go back 2 weeks to chop passport le though the last one i employed she need. but she say hor if she ganna tax levy we must pay for her and thats like $100 over?!?!?!?!?!? got such things???

bear,
this pregnancy i also never ate much rice. i dun really like rice leh. last pregnancy i ate a lot, no rice cannot.

hui,
i LOVE half boiled egg, but now cannot take right? cos its semi raw?

leg cramps:
i think my MIL say not enough salt tats y leg cramp? i also dunno. kekeke...

quality hotel's porridge:
i think u can only do reservations before 1830 hrs. after that cannot le, tats wat happen when we wanna reserve a table. n its better to go before then lor, after tat really a lot of ppl.

Haru,
i belief in eating moderation wun do harm.. :D
by the way when we hit 7 months we can take coconut like mayb once a week or once every 2 weeks to "tao liang" :D

minkybear
thanks for the info.. tts y better to be safe.. my MIL was telling me her niece pregnant 6 mths then miscarry cos the MIL let her eat some ginseng stuff.. but of cos it may not be due to that oso

olwen,
any particular to recommend? i'm going grocery shopping (not really grocery shopping, more like snack shopping since i dun cook,haha!) this weekend.

milderina,
both my family doc and gynae says its ok, as long as in moderation. once in a while is ok. => same goes for sashimi.

Milderina,
u can check with ur gynae

Haru,
previously i ask my auntie working in chinese medical hall abt ye sheng ren shend :wild ginseng" she say can eat

oh yah i jus remm that time when i ask my gynae abt bird nest.. she say can eat but avoid those with ginseng...

olwen
better avoid.. somemore its wild... mus be super bu lor tsk tsk..

haru,
actually hor i ate a few times when i carrying my 1st daughter. then now hor she 18 months le still allergy to eggs so i dare not take with this one cos i am kinda of blaming myself dunno is it becos i took the eggs...

but i do think its fine too la with moderation.

hui,
the coconut hor that time i took not enough seah. i think i only take during my 8th month n only took 3 up to delivery and my girl still got quite a bit of the white discharge on her when she is born. eekekek.....this time must eat more. lolx

half boiled eggs.... i love it but i think during pregnant period cannot eat as they are not fully cooked yet...

milderina,

i was told nowadays no need to got back to chop passport on day 14. My previous one last yr said she need while my frens's said no need. I just closed 1 eye let her take the day off to chop passport. the one i engaged this time round told me no need to chop passport as her pass can let her stay up to 30days or something. but she nvr say anything abt tax or something leh...

kash,
my previous one got go back leh, but this one hor she say if she go back ganna tax i must pay for her cos she say now very strict as she ganna 1 time.................

your employ your current one how much? my one charging mi $1.9k. then plus levy $2k over???

milderina,

i took a lot of coconut from 35 weeks onwards last time. My gal was borned with no whitish thingy on her leh... must be the coconut...

hui, i think i took up to 3 times a week..

haru: erm... i don't look at brands. normally at fairprice, my husband will just buy whatever is on offer. but how to eat the bee hoon if u don't cook?

peanut: yah boy. some more it tastes so yucky. i read minkybear's article it can cause male characteristics in female babies. my goodness. i only have tt one precious girl. i don't want to make her "bu nan bu nu", so poor thing.

kash,
yeah lor they say the coconut will clear the whitish thingy. this time must drink more. kekekeke........n its like so shiok one hor? kekeke..............always looking forward to that time. cos it also meant that baby is coming.

btw, when u say a lot is how much? twice or thrice per week? i think that time mi 2 weeks once or something. tats y no enough.

Eh i m confuse.. wat's the difference btw ginseng and paoshen??? my MIL wants to boil ginseng and cordyceps for me to drink! so far i have refused her.. i hate cordyceps! its like drinking essence of WORMS!! heehee. for those who dunno, cordyceps are worms who kena parasitised by a type of fungus.. GROSS leh!

Anyhoo, i got a fren whose hb is a Chinese Sinseh.. will ask her to ask him abt all these things.

Re: raw stuff
Aiyoh i say so many times liao... S'pore standards very clean. u won't get any samonella infections from raw stuff so can just eat.. As for eating half boil egg, it can't be passed as an allergy to ur bb (Sorry Milderina). The egg's protein would have long be broken down. Unless u have been taking half boiled egg everyday! then there might be a possibility of the uncooked protein crossing over to ur bb's blood.

I hate coconut leh.. think my bb will come out bloody.. nv like the smell of fruit juices.. got this funky raw smell... eat coconut shavings on kueh kueh count or not? hahaha...

Jo, no choice leh, yesterday was really weird. i simply have no appetite.. my hb volunteered to get me chilli crabs i also not interested.. sigh.. but today appetite is back. may be its one off..

Olwen, ermmm i dunno why but the brown rice beehoon sounds gross leh.. heehee. i m not a health nut lah.. my family takes unpolished rice cos my dad is a diabetic so unpolish rice breaks down slower for him.

Hui,

Depending on you want to believe old wives tale or modern doc.

Cause old wives tales they say cant eat payaya, banana will have what you just said.

Bt my doc say everything also can take just maybe not pineapple just eat in moderation. moderation mean a small portion maybe a palm size?

bear,
cordyceps is good stuff seah. kekeke....
per pack is like $500 over???

i took pao shen but not ginseng.

hui,
my mum tell mi dun eat too much curry, cos inside got the yellow powder n papaya.

old wives tale dun wear yellow n let bb sleep under warn light.

but hard to advoid for asian leh due to our skin type i think. u can only prevent it from going to high.

hui,

i not sure abt juandice thou... perhaps next visit we can all check with our gynaes and see whether they have any remedy?

milderina,

i took up to 3 times a week... heheee... coz weather was so hot and drinking it was superb! I bought from supermarket and put in the fridge so can drink anytime... i really drank a lot i think...sometimes juz every 2 days once... heehee

bear,
me too... i am not a healthy person.. and i hate brown rice... i had cordyceps once this preg as my mum made liao...i told her not to cook anymore coz tasted horrible...

re :ginseng,

i tot it is a NO NO to have any herbs during preg?

but i add a few pieces of pao sheng when i make birds nest though...

Bear,
reali ah.. but i dun eat ginger leh.. i hate ginger..

Minkybear,
ya lor.. my mum when have me eat alot of pineapple.. so is up to we to belief anot..

Milderina,
CURRY! my fav leh.. maybe try to eat less this round

to eat or not to eat:
i think hor a lot of things depends on individual believes. if u think can eat then can eat. wakakka... sometimes a lot of ppl say this cannot eat but when i wan to eat hor i will come up with some excuses n eat a bit. kkekekekke....

So nobody can tell me the diff btw paoshen and ginseng?

Kash, my gynae said the same thing.. no herbs for the first 12 wks.. coming from him i m rather surprised cos my gynae is super nonchalant one.. spotting also say normal. I dun like to drink such things lah.. i told my hb if she wants to make then make me bird's nest.. i like that..

Milderina, i loooove curry!

Hui, no u dun have to eat ginger.. like things cooked with ginger also cannot..

Bear: sigh. then u stick to normal bee hoon & kway teow lor. i am v into brown rice. but i get v hungry soon after eating it. digested v quickly.

Minkybear,
sori forgot ans ur question..moderation to me is like eat small qty and long long eat once.
but i still scared of pineapple leh even thou my mum had alot when she's having me..

Hui, jaundice is not just the food u eat.. but also how the bb's liver is... the earlier u deliver, the higher chances of ur bb having jaundice... cos ur bb's liver isn't function 100% yet.