(2008/11) November 2008

Enne: my bro in law is v cheeky. cos my husband always teaches my son early bird catches the worm so my bro in law said to my husband what abt the early worm? get eaten by the bird???

Morning ladies.

olwen,
Is the snow mountain stall 2nd flr @ amoy FC near to the fish soup stall or the other end? I'm working near to PWC building.

olwen-haha.. cute reply. HAPPY birthday to ur HB.. going anywhere for celebration after ur DS???

Yen-morning too!

Bear:
Yah... we are all here for you. That's wad forums are for. For us to make friends, share information and support each other. Sometimes when I am feeling upset or simply tired out, rambling to friends in the forums really help. Coz you will find others who have similar feelings even though not identical. Anyway, juz look on the bright side. At least your company supports you and values you.

Olwen:
All the best for your DS. And Happy Birthday to your hubby.

ohayo~ ladies...

drag myself to wake up today...woke up & got a block nose.. recently i realise i machiam cant hear alarm rang... my hb have been gg work late due to tis... fainted...duno y lidat. haiz.. i'm always a light slper de.... died.. mus get another alarm clock liao

yday was window shopping around in metro & kiddy palance... metro has so little variety for the stroller.. am tinkin to get combi cos of the light weight but it look abit crampy... any other recommendation? i need someting not too heavy cos i might be gg out with bb myself somedays. & dun tink i have strength to carry heavy stroller around... oso becos no vehicle has to take public transport.

morning ladies,
me so hungry this morning, didnt feel like my usual cereal breakfast so end up ta pau bee hoon.yum!

lovedogs,
so far, i have gained about 3-4 kg. i think as long as its not excessive weight and a balanced diet is maintained, its no prob.=>

so the hospital will have the different brands and types of pumps avail for rent?i think thats quite good. but that means will have to ask hubby to go out and buy soon aft delivery right? or can we just breastfeed directly initially since its the confinement period anyway?

bladers,
i know how u feel. i was plannin to get a pedi next weekend, but thinkin twice now. coz thinkin the pedi could buy my baby some nice clothes!hahah..i guess its normal maternity instinct. but nevertheless, its good to also pamper urself a lil.

olwen,
all the best with your DS today! am sure it will all go well. =D

TGIF!!! yipee!!! think i'll ask hubby to bring me for thosai and teh tarik for breakfast again tom.hehehehe...

Fifi: taka also has additional 10% off for cardmembers this weekend. maybe add up to total of 30%. i'm not sure. i may go tomorrow morning. but depends on my mood after the scan today.

Olwen,enjoy your DS today.
kids are quite cute sometimes. haha..

Bear, the pilates peachypeach will go find out this sat. she is going for a tour at the place in singapore shopping centre. so far nothing is confirm yet.

Yen: PWC bldg is v far to walk to amoy! but anyway, snow mountain is in the third row (taking the second row as the one w the long q fish soup stall). it's just opposite the baked rice & spaghetti stall tt hardly has any biz.

enne: thanks but i am so worried whether there will be any celebration or not
as u can see, i am a v pessimistic & depressed person by nature.

fifi, haru: thanks for the well wishes, hope they will carry me & babies thru.

Olwen
Are you worried about ur detailed scan this afternoon? Heee. I am exactly like you, a very pessimistic & paranoid person.

I dun gain much weight, I get worried. I havent feel much baby movements yet, I also get worried. Luckily my tummy is getting bigger, so I feel abit more assured baby is growing

Guess we should all stay v positive, stop reading about negative/scary stories, and basically lead a happy life. Sometimes being blur and ignorant can be such a blessing.

minkybear: thanks. my son is a 'lor soh kia'. during his own birthday last month, he reminded me EVERYDAY for the preceding 3 weeks to order & collect his power rangers cake.

sunshinekid: hi, how r u? u r probably small built so u will not feel much movement yet. for my first pregnancy, i was too busy doing tons of OT tt i didn't realise my son had started kicking until i was on holiday in NZ, more than 5 mths pregnant. this time round, felt 2 of them started wriggling v early on. the littlest one also started moving last week & i am just turning 20 weeks. sigh. but one thing for sure, i am really ballooning. i am as big as i was when 7 mths pregnant w my son. feel like Po in kung fu panda, cannot even see my toes.

Olwen n Sunshinekid be more positive. things happen for certain reasons n good things happen to those who are patient. cant feel bb don worry they take their own time n pace.remember slow n steady win the race. haha..
olwen, po quite cute leh.so you must look really cute now.u must seem really busy thats why your son scare you forget his bday cake.

sorry lately din post much.. cos boss around and he walks without sound.. always appear suddenly behind me so not v convenient..

bear,
... understand.. i not an ambitious person.. i'm a poly grad and i din bother to further my studies cos i prefer to relax after work instead of having to study part time. Super lazy one me..

re. weight: me also gain only 1.5kg since 1 mth back.. actually only 0.5kg from my pre-pregnant weight cos i lose some during 1st tri. Doc pressure me to increase another 2kg by nex mth..

alibaba:
If you are going out using public transport often, I think just go for the lightweight combi. Its 4.2kg and really really light. But cost is about $406.

I bought a Capella stroller. When I got it, the saleperson told me that in general, combi strollers are lighter but tend to be slightly narrower. Capella ones are slightly heavier and the one I got is broader (heavier but I would usually be travelling by means of car). Broader may be more comfortable (and got bigger basket) but if public transport, weight might be an issue. Anyway, all strollers can be rolled even when closed so the concern about weight would only be when you need get on/off buses or when their are steps.

haru:
I think if want to try pumps, go to the breastfeeding organisation there and test better. They have all the main pumps.

I intend to order the PIS from US before delivery (or latest is I return home after delivery). Estimate about 2 weeks can get. If before delivery, I will just not open first. If *touch wood* not able to BF, then sell off. We get it cheap, selling shld be easier. If after delivery, then just latch on first lor. I'm only scared that baby might not want to latch all the time and if I "skip" feeding times/expressing times, milk supply would decrease. I read that if we can, shld try to latch/express 8-12 times a day for a start to help stimulate milk production.

You also eat thosai/prata during weekends? I also like to do that. Last Sat before I slept, my hubby told my baby to sleep early and he would bring us for prata the next morning. In the end, my baby woke up at about 3-4am and move non-stop in my womb till she had the prata. Lolx.

olwen:
I dun have taka card. I only have Robinsons and Isetan. If Robinsons sale nothing good, i may juz buy the steriliser from Metro or Tangs coz I got UOB credit card points. They have instant redemption for vouchers. Isetan vouchers need to redeem online (muz wait) and Tangs is the most wu hua (i.e. lowest amt of pts needed for $10 value of voucher).

Sayang your babies before the DS ok. Cos they need to be cooperative to let the sonographer check everything. I had to go back on another 2 days before the sono managed to check everything. My baby girl refused to turn to show us her back (to check spine).

Sunshinekid:
I'm also very pessimistic de. When my baby moves less in the morning or not moving when I wake up, I worry le. My husband always have to tell me not to worry, my baby is just sleeping a bit more.

olwen,
its amazing how you are able to differentiate which baby is moving!! guess its true that mummy knows best. =>

olwenlim, u can differentiate which of the 3 is moving inside meh??

I tink I start to feel bb movement liao
Yest nite after dinner while watching TV she moved a few times. Probably she's enjoying her dinner (after mine) or the sound from TV.
hehehe....

Weight - I am back to my pre-preg weight.

i ever saw a mum in my company last time... tummy v big but mother looks like she suffering from anorexia !!! really thin until jia lat.. so i guess bb stil growing well cos taking away her nutrients..

Jenn & guru Bear: (sorry i change your nick for u), both really shd watch kung fu panda. Bear maybe got to wait for the dvd cos u r so busy. but for Jenn, i really recommend. v v nice. & super funny. i watched it for free becos of my co family day.

Hi MTBs,
I have 2 packets (220ml each) of Anmum Materna Low Fat UHT milk (Honey Flavoured) to give away. High Folate, high calcium for pregnant mums.
Expiry is 22 Aug 2008.
I think supermarket is selling 3 pax for S$4+.

I am totally lactose-intolerant so giving it away don't wanna waste. Got it as part of goodie pack during my gynae visit.
Self collection in Pasir Ris, just PM me / email me [email protected].

minkybear: po is cute but i am not. i'm just fat now. i'm not actually busy. just tt like i sd, my son is v lor soh. everyday i leave the office at 6.30 to catch the pte bus home. my big boss frowns when he sees me going but don't care. i'm not going to risk going later & stand/squeeze in the train.

fifi: i sayang them everyday but i am so scared they will still give me a bad surprise

haru, lilian, i can differentiate roughly becos the doctors did point out who is where. & also the boy is the most active. last week i felt like he was trying to poke his head out of my belly button.

Yo morning mummies, TGIF!!!

1516049.gif

Fifi:
How would you grade capella stroller, my hb & i are actually starting to source around for one and we came across this brand, but it is stated that the weight is 11kg???

bear>
yup i saw a few model for combi . super mechanical wt 4.9kg @ $238 but look narrow & no cursion at the side. Well lite wt 4.5kg @ $364.80 look slight more comfy. Ultra Light weight wt 4.2kg @$405.55, more spacious & comfy with reversible handle. All prices are from Kiddy palace. i even compared capella. the closing part not as smooth as combi. but outlook like as comfy with combi. Price definately cheaper. ha

fifi: how much is your capella? if all goes well this afternoon, i got to start buying more things soon. does it have a shoulder strap?

jynnsan:
I haven used it yet so I can't grade it. But it feels sturdy and quite easy to manage when i was trying it at the shop. I got the S705 model (bigger model) and its supposed to be 7.4kg. Each brand has a number of models with different weights and sizes. Really depends on what you need and want. I find Combi is lighter and good for those who travel without cars. Capella is abit cheaper but heavier but seems more comfy (broader and cushiony). Hard to tell which is good also coz each baby has different preferences.

alibaba:
Compare after closing how you can roll it too ok. I did that and that's why ended up with the S705 Capella over the other Capella. Some close le can only roll sideways, some close le can "drag" kind of roll.

Olwen:
I got it at $285. Usually is $299. I know CC sells it at $280 though but $5 cannot cover petrol and parking if I were to travel to CC to buy. I bought at BK coz they had a promo for the Britax carseat that i wanted.

Hi ladies, back to my usual schedule again.. took some time to slp in today cos i have been working non stop since sun. feeling a bit blur.. almost fell this morning while climbing the stairs. bleah...

Olwen, Fifi, Peanut, actually nobody really knows how miserable i m. Before i got preggie, i had insomia cos everynight i would be thinking of starting a family.. most of the nights i usually just cry myself to slp. my hb was completely helpless lor but we had lotsa arguments over it. Now preg liao i get all the shit from my co. really tired.

Minkybear, okok! let me know which one u guys are gg for.

Olwen, ur son so cute leh.. can see next time he will be those super responsible type. everything do properly then go and slp.. hahaha.. gd luck for ur DS today! do update us on it ok? happy shopping too! Thanks for ur recommendation for Kungfu Panda.. Life is so busy that i dun even watch tv.. i dun even know how to turn it on.. bleah...

Re: stroller
Have u guys heard of Pegprego or something? issit gd? i noticed that Maclaren's strollers like got not enough paddings!

Oh yes, i received all ur details, with the exception of one of u named Sheena Ho? ur email went to my spam box and before i can access it, i accidentally deleted it. can u send again? [email protected]

olwen,

i read abt amoy st? which store selling what? heehee... i go there to eat sometimes and so far i like that fish store but super long queue...u working in raffles/shenton area too?

haru,

i know hospital definitely does the renting but what brands gleneagles carry i am not sure. i am sure they have medela as I think every hospital carries them. I suggest u can ask gleneagles CS staff when u go for their hospital tour. it depends on u after delivery. I started expressing abt 6 to 7 days after delivery. The purpose is so that i can sleep at nite while let the CL bottle feed EBM the baby at nite. I wake up once a nite to express during the period. I did not want to 100% latch as I do not want bb to reject bottle, so that hb can help feed baby and not 100% only i can feed loh...i did more latching only after CL left esp during the day time as I was alone looking after bb...where got time to expreess, wash and sterilize right... but in the evening, i will express and let hb bottle feed the last feed so as to let bb still remember bottle and let hb bonds with bb. and I am also the lousy and timid kind, do not dare to latch in public, so i always bring EBM out last time. so u can wait till abt 2 weeks later before u decide which brand of breastpumps will suit u...

bear,

i am using peg perego. it is good. i had a capella initially but find it quite filmsy so we changed to peg perego.

as for maclaren, from what i heard from frens using it is that it will topple very easily if u have no baby or weight sitting in front. so not as good. What i like abt peg is that even without any bb or weight in front, u can hang any heavy stuff or even stand behind the stroller, it will not topple. The sales staff at Baby hyperstore will demo that to you :p
obnly minus point is that it is not as light weight as i want it to be
coz dun buy a stroller where u can't lift it into the carboot yourself, in case hb not ard.

olwen, I've watched the preview of the movie =") really enjoyed myself too.. laughing away most of the time..

Bear, *hugz* most impt is ur BB now wor.. dun be sad k, BB can feel it de..

SAHM:
I still put on make up only if i have to travel anywhere beyond my area =P still ai mei.. ya lor, we are still young to be "yellow face wife"

alibaba, we decided on the combi comfort 4.2kg and reversible... reason being, it's light, single hand foldable, reversible (able to see BB face to face) and our means of transport is MRT which means no heavy strollers.. the well lite one is not reversible, the miracle turn is $600+ not worth it..

Hey Lovedogs, thanks for the intro Peg Perego. the Maclaren for infant's one is heavy enough to hang things behind without bb weight. the stroller i m interested in is abt 7.2kg. I can handle it myself (at least i think i can haha). but i m still looking around. now whenever me and my hb go out, we will count how many different brands of strollers we see.. so far its quite even, Maclaren and Cosi being the most popular while Peg Perego and Graco coming in close.

Jenn, ya i know... i m trying to stay positive lor.. that's all i can do.

<font color="0000ff">lovedogs</font>
wow, admire u leh.. u working still can use single &amp; manual? how did u manage to do tat? i use manual coz i tot i stay hm mum, can latched on &amp; hope can save some $. But it was until few mths later, i was down w fever &amp; #1 stay w mum for 2 days. I was so weak but forced myself to pump. I wished mine was an electric &amp; i ended up getting tat when i got well. Manual works well but can be tedious hoh? Tis Uno seems gentler than manual..

<font color="0000ff">sunshinekid</font>
hihi, nice to hav such an experienced mum here! my #1 oso yr 2006 @ sept, how abt ur girl?

<font color="0000ff">pkum, mosh, jenn, happy</font>
me SAHM too, let's aim not to be 'jaundice-looking' ..hee

<font color="0000ff">meowie</font>
sat is 12.30 till 1.45, only 1hr 15mins

<font color="0000ff">dreamyjo</font>
haha, u so funny! actually i was alrdy 4cm dilated when i went for my 39wk check. tat's y labour seems to 'look' shorter. had my show when gynae tried to remove his hand aft chking my cervice &amp; i delivered tat day. i opt for epi as advised by gynae. He feel no point going thru all the pain where i will left w no strength to push my bb out. I oso tot since it's my 1st, not knowing wat to expect, i might as well take it as 1st time will usually takes longer. Although i didn't experienced any pain &amp; could still pushed, epi makes me shivered badly &amp; i cant control my bowels, embarrassing..

salute u on planning to go natural lei.. i didn't know thyroid can b this serious, it is scary to hav heart racing right? pls take care &amp; must remind yourself not to overstrain or carry heavy stuffs lei.. then ezit safe to do yoga?

i started later, 23wk till 38wk, in total 15 lessons, jus nice coz the package is a block of 10 or 5. i only do frequent squats at hm &amp; attend lessons once a wk. i think d trial will be v easy for u since u did d 'real' stuff before!

<font color="0000ff">pilates</font>
my gf gave me her instructor's contact at orchard hotel. It is not a class for pre-natal pilates but she has been under her before she got preg. I can PM shld any mommies here are keen..

<font color="0000ff">olwen</font>
hav fun viewing all your bbs later, your sono going b so busy!!

<font color="0000ff">bear</font>
i hav peg perego &amp; maclaren. Peg is heavy but v stable despite hanging heavy stuffs. can also reclined all d way bk &amp; width is wider than Maclaren. i oso bgt their infant car set tat can attached to stroller which i find it pretty useful but jus for infant stage only. Maclaren is lighter n more suitable for toddlers coz they like to sit upright. but risky to hang any stuffs, will topple..

Bear don sad sad la.. be happy! haha...
ya looking at the peg perego pram too. the weight is actually not that much abt 5. something i think. close fight with combi. bt seems more stable.if you interested can go baby avenue to take a look it is like a "car show room" hehe...
if nt you can go to www.baby-avenue.com

jenn> sama sama.. tinking to get the ultra light weight one. but the color only blue &amp; orange if not wrong.. color not nice. haha.. if we get together can get more discount??

Bear: hi, i donno how to refresh without posting a message so missed your earlier one. *hugz* take good care of yourself, right? u r our guru so u know u r strong.

Fifi: $285! ouch. i was thinking more like tt amt for twin stroller
is BK baby kingdom? next to baby hyperstore?

lovedogs: yes, i was telling dreamyjo to get avocado milk from the fruit stall called "snow mountain" on the 2nd flr. i work just opposite dreamyjo. where r u working?

Jenn: Po is so cute &amp; funny, right?

have a good weekend mummies. i'm off this p.m. for u know what. still feel v nervous.

Olwen, have a good weekend. try not to worry. have a good lunch later.
tell bbs be good hehe.. SMILE!

So what are you ladies having for lunch? me bored.. dont feel like eating haha..

btw toking about topple. tat means combi sure topple if carry too heavy weight without bb lor?? cos combi v light..

fifi> yday i did try to close the stroller oso, capella one i tried. got the drag feel.. but i forgot which model de. it's about $180+ bah..
for combi one, i tried to close half &amp; nv manage to close into 1/4 cos no assistant around to help. still duno can roll around when close anot...

alibaba, Cheong Choon selling the stroller at $385. Only thing is they left with blue colour only.. anyway, i also prefer the blue one, though mine is a gal.. lol~

Olwen,
Enjoy watching your 3 darlings on the screen

Jenn,
Yes, combi is definitely a good buy, I also got that cos it is light weight but mine can reverse the handle. I got it at $130.

Bear,
Cheer up and look forward to your baby's arrival. Sometime it difficult to prevent what colleague/peer say and do during pregnany. The onli thing you can do now is to be "thick skin" and pretend nothing lor.

lovedogs,
thanks for explaining about the breastpumps!so nice to have someone experienced to share the info. my sister did not BF so she has no clue too. got to remember to find out bout e hospital tour soon too.

hey Bear,
take e weekend to unwind, relax and enjoy ok? pregnancy should be a phase that both you and hubby get to enjoy together, can look back next time and think of all the special moments and memories.

I am going to get hubby to take more pix from now on since my tummy is getting more obvious already. dun want to regret not taking any photos for keepsake after the baby is born!

Enjoy lunch mummies!!! =P

Bear: Dun be sad. Cheer up. We know and I'm sure your baby knows. Your baby will be extra nice to you next time coz of all the sacrifice and suffering you go through in these 40 weeks. Hubbies tend to be helpless and also useless at times but I'm sure your hubby cares a lot about you and knows what you are going through. He is probably not giving you enough support coz he does not know how. But anyway, dun stress, here you have so many of us who will support you. You can do it. Jia You.

Pegprego is good but like quite ex wor. And heavy. Not sure. But I know its rather good and popular. Macharen strollers are popular in SG although I also dun quite like them coz they look like not enuff padding (dun look very comfy) and are more expensive.

Olwen:
Yah BK is Baby Kingdom. The one near Baby Hyperstore. I was actually considering between a $175 Capella &amp; the $405 Combi. I wanted the Combi coz its light and I dun own a car. But my parents and hubby all think getting a bigger more comfy stroller is better coz they feel I would hardly go out on my own without car or maid or hubby. Car (although I dun own one, I can borrow dad's car as they live 5 mins away from me) or Maid or Hubby can help with a heavier stroller and I have a baby sling if I am going out alone with baby. My mum also feels that a bigger stroller would be better coz my hubby's work often involve outdoor events. Bigger/heavier stroller more stable.

alibaba:
All the strollers hor, quite easy to close with 1 hand de. Just that each have a certain technique which you have to get used to. First few times I try all the strollers also fail to close properly. Lolx. Go to kiddy palace, ask the salesgirl to show you all. After that then decide.

Re: strollers
I haven't really research abt Peg Pegero. must do it soon... Alibaba, we tried to hang our stuff on the combi stroller.. it toppled leh.. but its like that one. u need wt to keep it stable but we gals can't luge it around! have to see how it fits into our lifestyle. For me, i drive so and we like to take super long walks at the beach with the dog so we wanna get something stable. then attach my doggie's leash and make him pull the stroller! hahaha!

Olwen, gd luck for ur DS!! hope everything is gd with the 3 babes! rem to tell us the last one's gender!

Thanks for all ur encouragement ladies. I think the most apt description for me is that i dug a hole for myself and now in the process of burying myself in.. its really miserable. sigh... only bb's kicks are keeping me gg.

Eh, any of u have swollen legs yet! i got them! funny thing is that i only walked for an hr then kena liao! isn't it too early to get it?

stroller>> we should be getting well comfort.. more spacious than miracle turn.. and lighter. but there is a new model with brighter color and even more spacious. but i forgot the model name, it is featured on july-mother and baby mag.

i am thinkin to buy frm cheong choon or baby kingdom, becoz both place gives discount. if i m buyin more things from cheong choon, i may get the stroller from there.

SAHM: i think i better do something ... haha.. i oso dun to be 'jaundice-looking'

Kungfu panda>>> so hilarious..